Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel
Unlike Battlefront 1, this sequel's major selling point is that it allows you to experience warfare in the completely new environment of space. Command posts are not used in these space battles, but instead you play until a certain amount of points is reached. Points are earned in several ways and are distributed according to the method you have earned them. For example,...
Published on 22 April 2006 by GHV

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I waited with anticipation and was disappointed
I had read so many reviews on this game, and the previous version. So may raved about it, and being the original was the best selling star wars game of all time, so I thought it has got to be worth a crack, as I love the films.

I got a copy recently, and I was under whelmed. OK positives are the star wars elements, the music, the film clips, and playing as...
Published on 13 Feb 2008 by Darryl Curtis


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel, 22 April 2006
By 
GHV (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
Unlike Battlefront 1, this sequel's major selling point is that it allows you to experience warfare in the completely new environment of space. Command posts are not used in these space battles, but instead you play until a certain amount of points is reached. Points are earned in several ways and are distributed according to the method you have earned them. For example, although killing a foe provides you with just one point, destroying one of the enemy capital ship's vital systems earns you 20 or more points.
These vital systems can be disabled on both the outside and the inside of the ship and include its engines, sensory relays, life support systems and the command bridge. During space combat, you spawn in your capital ship's hanger where a variety of different spacecraft are stationary and awaiting a pilot. This game offers slow, powerful bombers like the Y-Wing and Tie Bomber, fighters (good all-rounders) like the X-Wing and Arc Fighter, and small speedy interceptor craft such as the Droid Tri-Fighter and A-Wing.
During space combat, you can choose to either dogfight in space or you can infiltrate your enemy capital ship's hanger and plant devastating time-bomb explosives to blow apart the vital systems inside. Either way the space battles are a nice new addition to the game.

There are still many land battles to be fought however, and this game introduces several new land maps as well as keeping some of the classics from the first (such as Hoth, Mos Eisley and Kamino). These include the hazardous Jabba's Palace, with armies clashing in the gloomy corridors and even in Jabba's expansive court- some falling prey to the rancor lurking below. The murky Dagobah map is also a new addition, featuring Yoda's hut and a familiar X-Wing half-submersed in the swamp. The Jedi Temple on Coruscant is added, as well as a fiery Mustafar map from the latest film. The Death Star is also a welcome new addition, with violence ensuing down its clean corridors, hangers and even the prison facility as seen in Star Wars IV A New Hope. These however, are just some of the new maps and others include Utapau, Mygeeto, Polis Massa, Leia's Blockade Runner and a few more.

Also a new feature is the ability to play as your faction's heroes. To be able to access this, you must first reach an amount of points during a game. Like with space battles, these points are given due to certain actions performed (killing foes, capturing enemy's command posts, etc). Hero units include Chewbacca, Han Solo, Yoda, Leia and Luke Skywalker if you are playing as the Rebel Alliance. The Empire has the deadly Boba Fett, Darth Vader and Emperor Palpatine. Yoda, Mace Windu, Anakin Skywalker, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Ki-Adi-Mundi and Aayla Secura are the Republic's heroes. And finally, Confederacy heroes are Count Dooku, Jango Fett, Darth Maul, Sidious and General Grievous.

Overall, this game has many improvements over the last. The space combat, the new maps, the ability to play as heroes and the upgraded Galactic Conquest system are all examples of improvements within Battlefront 2. I feel that this game does its excellent prequel justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games of its type, 25 Dec 2005
By 
Owzat (Cyberspace) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this expecting a lot and at first I was disappointed, finding it hard to control troops and getting killed too often. But once I got the hang of it I found myself hooked (tip - refine your skills over and over on a training mission). You can play various game types but Galactic Conquest for me is the very best. You fight a long campaign buying bonuses and various types of troops to battle for control of all the planets. Moving your fleets across the map you either engage enemy fleets above planets or attempt to conquer or defend planets.
I found the space battles a little odd at first but you work your way to 180 points to win the battle by completing objectives such as destroying the enemies engines and command bridge. You can also land on the enemy ship but I have yet to fully explore this. Some of the ground battlefields are a little too open, others perhaps too vast making it difficult to be involved at times as you run across ground trying to find the battle. If I have one criticism this game can be a little too quick, with only 150 reserves on either side you can find the battle over before you can apply any real strategies. On the flipside once you've been killed you can continue the battle so even if you aren't very good you're not out of it too quickly. Victory though can be completed without you feeling you've played much of a part. It can also mean a great amount of the wonderful battlefields themselves can go unexplored as the battle is long over before you've covered every inch of ground.
The bonuses are perhaps the most tactical part of the whole thing. You can choose a leader which can be a jedi wielding their light sabre, bcta tanks to continually replenish your side's lifeforce or garrison bonus to add a few reserves if your's drop too low. Maybe a little extra thought could have gone in as some of these seem less useful than others as indeed do some leaders. Han Solo for instance with his blaster is nowhere near as effective as Yoda and his light sabre. Vehicles can also play too much of a part, on Yashyyyk (Wookie home planet) the battlefield is too open and the enemy can use vehicle firepower to overwhelm your forces. The only defence I have found effective is the sabotage bonus to damage the vehicles making them easier to destroy.
All in all this is a fantastic game I recommend to anyone, it is very time consuming to complete but highly addictive. You can play Galactic Conquest as the Rebel Alliance, Empire, Trade Federation or the Republic so there are plenty of variations giving this game plenty of life once you've completed it for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Star Wars game ever, 15 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
This is probably the best Star Wars game ever. I was a HUGE fan of Battlefront 1 and I have always been eagerly awaiting its sequel and I was nowhere near disappointed. You can at last play as Jedi, which I thought was the biggest thing missing from the original. It never even crossed my mind to play in space! The new locations are fabulous, like Utapau, and Mustafar, and of course Coruscant! It is the only game where you can play all 6 episodes! You can play major characters like Luke, Han Solo and Yoda, and minor characters like Boba Fett, Aayla Secura and Ki-Adi-Mundi. It is true it is missing Bespin and Dune Sea, which are the only let-downs. Overall I think it is a fantastic game, and the best Star Wars gamers can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, even if your not a star wars fan !!!!!, 1 Nov 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
The game that was the best selling star wars game ever just got even better !! This game is the greatest star wars game i have ever played on and is one of the greatest games available on the PS2. With tons of new levels including battles in space like the one above Coruscant. Battle in the jedi temple, mustafar and even Utapua along with many more. The grpahics have been immensly improved and the gameplay is a whole lot better. Play as a wide selection of jedi, sith and different heroes on different levels. Great storylines and a good training mode if your new to the game. All new veichles and units for each team including 2 special units avaiable on each faction. The AI has significantly improved since the last game making for even better battles. All new game modes and the galatic conquest mode has changed since last but is even better.Definitley worth buying for any age espcially fans of the films a great game overall. !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 13 Feb 2006
By 
xurgon (surrey, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game after hearing really good reports on it. From then on its the only game i have really played. Before i bought the game, i wasnt really a big star wars fan, but now i am! You can fight in loads of different places, from big open battlefields(hoth,geonosis) to small places with winding corridors(jabbas palace, tantive VI). You can play as rebels, republic, CIS or Empire. The jedi are really fun i just love force pushing the droids into the lava at mustafar! they arent really a tactical thing; the kills dont count, but its still awesome.
The space battles take about 2 days to get used to, the controls are quite tricky, but once you've done that you can just have so much fun. Landing in their hanger is really easy, and sabotaging their systems and ships is really cool. You can be the famous TIES, the X wings, the jedi starfighters and many more.
The graphics are amazing, the maps have so much detail. You can command people to follow you, i once had 3 wookies following me! you can fight loads of battles from the movies. you can even set the reinforcements to 750 and have a massive battle. personally i havnt tried the multiplayer yet, but it sounds really good. the heroes are funky, i really like the mos eisly one where its all heroes versus all villians.
BUY THIS GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play The Movies, 11 Sep 2006
By 
Michael Heaney "Metal It Up" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
I was a huge fan of the original Star Wars Battlefront and I saw the first screens of this game I new it was going to be amazing. I was not disapointed. Everything about this game is stunning from the graphics right through to the gameplay. Throw the awesome sound effects and Star Wars soundtrack into the mix and you've got someting special on your hands!

The game itself is similar to the first game but has a few major additions thrown in. The first notable change is that there is a great single player mode called rise of the empire where play as the 501st clone/stormtrooper division. In this mode you take control of clones in overy major Star Wars battle in the movies and loads that are not! You'll get to play some first class missions. (marching into the jedi temple as anakin/vader is just amazing!)

Other new additions include space battles! There are two modes of play here with assault and capture the flag both being great. You can also play as jedi or hero characters depending on how well you do during a battle!

But its still in multiplayer where this game shines. Both online and split-screen are great and will eat into your social life! Come on lucasarts we need a PS3 sequal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 15 Feb 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
Well when I got the first Star Wars Battlefront game I was amazed at it. It blew me away. My friend went out the next week after seeing the first one and brought Star Wars Battlefront 2. I went round and played it. It took a while to get used to because the controls were slightly different but when he allowed me to borrow it...

I was over the moon. I took it homw and played and played and played. The story mode was fun even though a little frustrating at times. The Glactic Conquest was sheer brilliance. It kept me entertained for hours. It will keep you entertained even if you are not a Star Wars Fan

Overall

Graphics: 9/10-Great enviroments

Sound: 9/10-Great soundtrack and quite good voice overs

Gameplay: 8/10- Can be a little frustrating

Length: 9/10-Takes a while to do all of the Galactic Conquests and story mode...Will keep you entertained for hours.

A must Buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knight fall, 3 Mar 2006
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
Star Wars battlefront, is generally a great game. I particulary enjoyed galatic conquest and story modes. I like instant action mode, but I don't think there's a way to stop it looping round with the same levels instead of exiting to the main menu.
The space battles are VERY repetitive and you never really need to take the risk of trying to land inside the enemy ship, as you can get enough points just by taking out the frigates (very easy) and then the shields + systems.
Some of the heros, like Han solo and Princess Leia are very weak compared to Grieverous and Vader.
The medals awarded are fairly nice rewards, although its hard to get 4 critical hits in 1 life.
I would buy this game just to choke or give a blast of electricity to the Han solo and his annoying commentry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace game!!!!, 27 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
After reading, and wacthing reviews and trailers i decided to get this game as a christmas present. I had read reveiws saying how bad it was, and how it was a let down. Well all i can say, is that this is far better than the first battlefront. The graphics are more detailed, the AI are ten times more accurate and smarter, and the space combat is amazing, not to mention the fun being jedi and other heros. Although this game is meant to be an online game, the offline gaming is fantastic and great fun.
If you loved the first battlefront, then you must buy this one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have..., 7 Nov 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) (Video Game)
Not being the largest 'Star Wars' fan around, I found myself rather reluctant to play the game around my friends house. 2 days later, I bought the game and have yet to regret it.
The game itself is fantastic (especially if you like your war games) as this puts you right in the middle of a battle! At one point you are a rebel soldier, fighting on the ground, destroying tanks, shooting the enemy and capturing command posts; the next you are in a star fighter, trying to shoot down as many enemy fighters as you can!
The game also has a new campaign mode which differs greatly from the original game. You find yourself as a clone trooper amongst many others in the elite 501st legion. As the game progresses, you will contest in battles that have appeared in the films, including a battle on the famous death star!
In a nut-shell then, this game is a must have for all you games console owners. If, like me, you aren't a big star wars fan, do not be put off by the title as the fact it is 'star wars' is irrelevant!
You must buy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2)
Star Wars Battlefront II (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £7.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews