Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars been there done that? not like this you haven't
While we’ve all played through World War 2 so many times we can throw our history books away by now, and while we’re all probably getting a little sick of these games, the fact remains that the best WW2 games out there are some of the greatest fps games on the market. And while sticking to the ‘if It ain’t broke, make loads and loads of them’...
Published on 20 Dec 2005 by Stephen Stein

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good game Shame about the Support
Well IW and Activision release another game in the Call of Duty Series. The game play is great in Single player mode and very challanging. The only part that lets the game down is the companies IW and Activision themselves with their lack of support within the PC community. I have been a gamer of the Call of Duty Series ever since the 1st game came out, but the support...
Published on 26 Mar 2006


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars been there done that? not like this you haven't, 20 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
While we’ve all played through World War 2 so many times we can throw our history books away by now, and while we’re all probably getting a little sick of these games, the fact remains that the best WW2 games out there are some of the greatest fps games on the market. And while sticking to the ‘if It ain’t broke, make loads and loads of them’ gaming maxim may make this World War 2 First Person Shooter sequel to game of the year Call of Duty feel a little too familiar, this is a game which blends utterly frantic, frenetic action with great visuals and a perfect atmosphere to create one of the most intense gaming experiences of 2005.
Call of duty 2 follows the story (there isn’t really an actual story itself – we all know the deal anyhow) of soldiers fighting for the British, American and Russian armies. You start the Russian campaign as a raw recruit, throwing potatoes into boxes because grenades are too expensive, but before you can even finish your training, the area is flooded with German troops. Immediately you’re thrown into the thick of it, into what the game is all about; intense urban shootouts between large numbers of soldiers. There are tons of enemies, and you have lots of friendly soldiers fighting with you, and more replace the ones who die spawning offscreen and running to your position; this is a game where you genuinely feel in the thick of war. The firefights are so amazing, most shooters only have one or two of this kind of quality throughout their entire length, every single level in CoD2 plays out with this level of intensity and quality.
The Russian missions see you fighting brutal territory battles in the streets of Stalingrad, the highlight probably a charge on a well defended building which you then have to defend yourself, dozens of enemies storming at you at once, and as a tank arrives you have to charge out and take it down. Finishing the first proper Russian mission opens up the British campaign, which takes place mostly in Africa. These missions play out largely in the same style – with a few twists. Some missions see you manning a tank in a convoy of tanks pushing forward against German armour positions. It’s pretty great. Progress eventually opens up the Americans’, and it’s absolutely amazingly ace. The firefights are so intense, you often find yourself simply overwhelmed, fire raining from all sides; yet somehow you survive and push forward, only to be pushed back. Playing CoD2 is a draining experience; the game is so intense.
While very familiar to FPS players, CoD2 has a few neat touches that do set it apart from the crowd. For one, there are no health packs any more, you recover by taking cover and sitting still for a few moments. My first thoughts were ‘yeah, because being quiet and sitting still is an excellent cure for mortal wounds!’, but it works well in-game, you never find yourself at a hard spot without health and it’s no more contrived than running over a healthpack to jump to max health. Imagine the halo shield system minus the healthbar, it’s that kind of vibe.
CoD2’s AI is no better than most other games out there, but a very smart touch is that your AI teammates advance and retreat when you do. This means you can stage effective charges against gun nests and clusters of soldiers, especially combined with the awesome smoke bombs which both look ace and offer great cover for charges. It’s a pretty amazing rush to charge through the smoke – literally unable to see anything besides your own gun – to emerge on the other side of the smokescreen, face to face with a dozen rifles. Of course, thanks to the AI, you have a dozen rifles behind you; bloodbath ensues. Moments like this happen all the time and it’s what makes CoD2 so great. It’s no one-man army here.
Visually the game looks remarkably like a much more polished version of the original CoD, which is pretty much what it is – but that’s not to say it doesn’t look great. The character models are especially lovely and the smoke is simply stunning. There are much better looking games out there, but considering how many models there often are onscreen at once, this is an impressive achievement. The sound is also pretty great – all the weapons sound real and pack a satisfying punch, your fellow soldiers shout constantly – which is great for the atmosphere – and there’s a neat cinematic style musical score. Running the game on a AMD 4200+, Geforce 7800gtx and 1gb corsair RAM, the game ran at a constant 25ish fps no matter what was happening onscreen – with the visuals maxed out.
It’s difficult to find fault with the game really; the obvious big one – it’s way too short, ranging between 10 and 15 hours depending on the difficulty you play on, plus the game feels a little overly linear and scripted at times – but it’s far too amazing and intense (first time round) for this to really detract from the experience. While the naysayers may complain that we’ve been here and done that, here has never looked quite so good and that has never been quite as jawdroppingly, adrenaline-pumpingly intense as Call of Duty 2 – by far one of the best single player experiences of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!!!!, 21 Nov 2005
By 
L. Burgess "l_eeburgess" (Bristol, Avon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Where to start...
This game is the most intense FPS ever.
The original game and United Offensive were amazing games, this game improves on them even further.
The battles in it are at times overwhelming, the sheer amount of enemies that attack sometimes leaves you shaking with fear.
The US levels in particular are just a blur of explosions and bullets, it makes you even more respectful of the men who were actually there in the midst of all this hell.
The graphics are brilliant, but I was disappointed with the DX9 performance, especially since Quake 4 runs in the High setting on my PC and runs very smoothly, so Im a little puzzled with the DX9 on this game. So I have been playing it on DX7, but with everything on full even that has superb graphics.
Even with that little gripe this game is still amazing and I recommend you buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EQUALLY AS FANTASTIC AS THE FIRST!!!!, 9 Dec 2005
By 
James Burton (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The first call of duty, for me, was the first game that I thought to myself WOW, this is what a computer game is meant to do!! I found myself emmersed in the action and I completed it in a day and restarted it the same day!!
Call of duty 2, has also done the same. The game play is fantastic and in my opinion improved from the first. Many people have moaned about the new health system and the removal of medi packs, however, the game is better for it. also you no longer get to save it where you want, but it auto saves after every key moment, again people have moaned about that. But it just keeps the action moving.
The graphics are very good. I was unsure whaether to buy this game at first because iv only got a laptop, but i though what the heck. Its true that I have to play with most settings lowered but i still get a fantastic gaming experience!!
Dont be put off if you only have slightly above minimal spec PC, if you dont mind not having the best graphics you will still have the same heart pounding action.
My laptop is an P4 2.8 ghz, 512mb, and only a 64mb geforce 5 series graphics card but it runs ok, some slight jerkyness sometimes(rarely)
This game is fantastic, if you have a good spec PC then im sure this game will litterally blow you away, and if you dont this game will probably still just about blow you away.
Happy hunting!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good single player game..a great multiplayer game, 16 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
i played the first cod games and they were good..so i was looking forward to this game
the graphics have improved alot the characters look more realistic and the scenery is impressive..
the single player game is fun...you fight as russian american and british forces ..with large groups of soldiers doing small objectives ...its fun ...but not the best single player gameive played
well i enjoy online gaming..and the online cod 2 is great
the maps are superb ..the weapons are varied and offer different strengths and weaknesses...the game feels like a cross between enemy at the gate and saving private ryan[2 ww 2 movies]
it feels good and looks good..and is a blast to play
so by all means buy this game for its single player option...but its the online game that offers most pleasure
a good single player game....a great online game that will last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vassili!, 4 July 2007
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I've never played COD1, so I'm not about to compare this game on what it could have been, or should have been. I'm going to review it on how it IS.

Single Player: You don't need to have played many FPS games to know pretty much exactly what's gonna happen, the single player missions are linear (but then, they have to be) and action packed (lots of grenades, violence) but I still think they could have done a little more to immerse the player in the action, I just never feel adrenaline or panic, I just know that if I stand up and shot blindly with my weapon, most of them will be dead, or I will be. It's a little short of tactics, shall we say..But why not turn it onto a harder difficulty? Well the AI doesn't get any better, their bullets just hurt you a lot more..

So although Single Player isn't that great, it's still worth a try, everyone's opinion is different and this is after all, just mine. There will be people who love the single player action, but it's just not for me..Let's move onto multiplayer!

Multiplayer: Quite possibly the best multiplayer FPS game I've ever played, I rate it higher than CS: Source easily. NOW we're talking action packed, and tactics, no more zombie-AI, there are some real good players online and the challenge and atmosphere is unparalleled.

To be honest, I've been as fair as possible with this review, I would highly suggest that people buy this game, for just the multiplayer action! It's quite cheap now, and trust me you'll spend months online having a great time with this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good game Shame about the Support, 26 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Well IW and Activision release another game in the Call of Duty Series. The game play is great in Single player mode and very challanging. The only part that lets the game down is the companies IW and Activision themselves with their lack of support within the PC community. I have been a gamer of the Call of Duty Series ever since the 1st game came out, but the support and patches for the PC have been good, they take a while but 3 months isnt that bad when they release new maps.
But this time with Call of Duty 2 IW and Activision have been taking around 5 - 6 months to release a PC patch, which has disgusted the PC gamers. All you have to do is look at the IW's Offical Forum and you will see all the thousands of complaints.
The Call of Duty 2 PC version sparked the very first strike by PC gamers that called for all servers to be locked down due to the lack of Support by IW and Activision, this has never been seen in the whole history of PC Gaming.
I will say 2 good parts to this game, 1, The AI in SP mode is excellent - always knows where you are and tries to help you out. 2, Graphics are getting better, but you will need a decent graphics card to see the improvements.
What really brought this game down was no PunkBuster (anti-cheat software) that was included in United Offensive (Expansion pack to Call of Duty 1st Ver.) and which was included in the 2nd Patch of Call of Duty 1st Ver. This has seen a rise and rise of hackers and cheaters all over the game.
But due to the lack of Support from IW & Activision and no sign of a PunkBuster for Multiplayer that is why I'm only giving this game 2 stars. If this was all included and the support was better I would of given the game 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game this year so far., 12 Nov 2005
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
CoD was hailed as the best game of last year, and this year I think that CoD2 will grab the title once again. On first impressions, gamers will be amazed by the stunning graphics, real-life footage and attention to detail, which is an improvement on the previous.
Gameplay interaction has been improved, with tonnes of weapons and the facility to play multiplayer on-line is recomended for the more experienced gamer. The game is staged over certain campaigns of WWII starting in the U.S.S.R then into North Africa with the British, then France and Germany with the Americans. Each level of the game is challenging and diverse which will make it hard to realise that you do have a life away from your computer.
As an experienced gamer, I managed to complete the game in 3 days but dont be put off by the fact. I then tried it on the hardest setting and am finding it hard to get by the first campaign.
Who would I reccomend this game to? simple! every living organism on this planet with a pulse, who has access to amazon and who is over the age of 15 (15 age restriction) with a PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beats the rest, 9 Nov 2005
By 
VX "VX" (North east england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I'm not a fan of the original Call of Duty or Its expansion pack for the simple reason that I find them to be too hard, expecting you to do too many things at once. I was in two minds about buying Call of Duty 2.
To my suprise Call of Duty 2 is significantly improved in many ways. The music in the original got on my nerves alot, and thats the first thing thats been improved, its not over powering. Secondly, the graphics are fantastic, my aging radeon 9800 pro works well on the 1280/960 resolution, So its not too taxing on older graphics cards.
Finally, the overall gameplay has been improved, introducing a new and very good health system, wherebye, when you get shot, you need to take cover for a few moments to recover - no health packs involved, then your back on your feet, simple as that! I personally think it's one of the best things the developers could have done with the game.
It also has a more realistic feel to it than the last one, the explosions and weapons sound and feel better. All the missions are good and don't expect you to do too many things at once (unlike the previous titles where they expect you to destroy tanks whilst covering your back in several directions at the same time - running around like a headless chicken!).
In my opinion, there is only one problem with this game, It is simply too short, I completed it within 8 hours and was left feeling a little short changed as far as missions were concerned.
This game oozes quality, its better than all the other 2ndWW shooters without a doubt, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Now ive always been a fan of Call of Duty, but lets start with the Single Player.
Now single player on this isnt much different to Call of Duty 1, it you are still given all 3 campains, Russian, American and British. The Russian Campain is still the fight in russia against the Germans, but this time, you are really pushing at them and pushing hard. The British Campain starts off in North Africa with the desert battles against the germans, but the last few missions in the British Campain take place in France. The American Missions start off at D-Day, at Pointe Da Hoc.
Now onto the multiplayer. If you loved Call of Duty 1 multiplayer then this is the game for you, its got all the Game Types, Weapons that Made call of duty 1 go good. They have even remade some of the classic maps (Carentan, Dawnville, Brecourt, Railyard) and turned them into even more amazing maps. But it doesnt stop there they have added some other new maps that are just as good. Activision have also included a Voice System which lets you communicate to your team via a microphone, very usefull for when you just need that extra bit of back up. There are also some nice new weapons to test out such as the Grease Gun and The Trench Gun (shotgun).
Overall this game has achieved my high expectations and only has a few cons about it. One of which being that the single player just isnt as long as it used to be, its just as good, just not as long, which i think is a shame, because i enjoy going through the missions more that once.
I reccomend this game to any Call of Duty Fan, and those of you who havnt played call of duty then try this, it really is a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shiny graphics, antiquated gameplay, 23 Feb 2006
By 
Hibernia (Cork, County Cork Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of first person shooters, especially WWII based ones. But sometimes a game falls far short of the hype and I fear that Call of Duty 2 is one those. I played and loved the original Call of Duty and bought the sequel because of that. Except for better graphics & scripting, there really aren't that many advances in game play to be found here.
Like its predecessor the in-game experience is more like a concentrated war flick than reality. The game contains three distinct campaigns where you play as a Russian, British or US soldier. The game itself borrows heavily from Saving Private Ryan, Band of Brothers and Enemy at the Gates. If you've seen any of those then you know what to expect. Let's not beat around the bush here, the Pointe Du Hoc level is such a blatant ripoff of Saving Private Ryan that it screams lawsuit. Despite the ripoff clichés throughout, the production is very high. For each campaign you unlock more levels as you progress. The graphics engine has obviously been overhauled and looks very nice. Some levels are very well designed and the detail in the soldiers and levels is excellent. But if you were expecting swaying trees, destructive scenery, doors that you can kick open, foot prints, gravity or anything else – forget it. The scenery is basically a maze to hem you into the level. Aside from scripted effects, and weapon pockmarks, your ability to interact with it is zero.
So the game is a lot more graphically advanced than its predecessor, but the “feel” of the game is virtually the same. Each level consists of a series of objectives which you must complete in order to finish it. While reaching for the objective, scripted events such as bombs go off around you, soldiers shout, and you hide behind walls fighting a machine gun nest or some other obstacle. Your fellow soldiers are pretty dumb although they do kill some enemy for you. The enemy themselves also suffer from spawn-itis, appearing from nowhere (often infinitely) until you overcome them. Once you do, you advance, trigger the next wave and repeat.
Some levels are extremely intense and well designed, others are boring invisible rail shooters. The best levels are those that open up a bit with several paths to the same objective, or where you must defend some position. But there are far too many levels where you plod from one crate to the next along a preset route. One Russian level actually has a visible rail - you must run the length of a field telephone cable which bizarrely goes down tunnels, over buildings and straight through numerous enemy emplacements en route! I wonder if the dev team put that in as a joke. You certainly won't be in any doubt where you are meant to go.
Multiplayer mode is actually distinct and IHMO much better than the single player game. I question if anyone used to Enemy Territory, America's Army or H&D2 would think that much of it but it is very well executed. I also witnessed some suspiciously accurate players through the player cam. No one is that good unless they are cheating. Perhaps they were since the game has no obvious cheat protection (e.g. Punkbuster).
Some other points about the game. It's very short and it won't take you more than 8 hours to finish it. Such an inadequate length screams “expansion pack”, but I won't be biting. The game also has some insidious bugs. There were a number of occasions where the script “stuck” midway or the save point never fired so that you couldn't advance or if you did you just died and kept on doing so forever. The only solution was to restart the level from scratch to fix the issue. Finally, why is there no German campaign? It's absurd to not include one even for reasons of political correctness.
So to wrap up. If you like arcade style WWII games with nice graphics where you don't mind walking the invisible line then you might like Call of Duty 2. For others, this game will feel old-fashioned despite its graphics. There is little strategy here, no depth. You point, shoot, move forward and repeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab9e366c)

This product

Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD)
Call of Duty 2 (PC DVD) by Activision (Windows XP)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews