Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
49
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2003
This was either made just before or after Moore being made Bond, and indeed the director, editor, title designer to mention a few, have all worked on 007 films. Gold has been adapted from an early Wilbur Smith Book (Gold Mine) with some of the more obscure plots removed.
The film is very believable and the underground scence make you appreciate each breath you take.
Brilliant final scene and title music.
My only disappointment was the lack of DVD extras.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
This is an excellent adaptation of Wilbur Smith's novel. While some interesting characters were lost, a main theme remained. I worked for a time at the mine where the movie was shot, and know the man who was the underground manager at the time. He confirmed that the portrayal of the relationship between Big King and Rodney Slater was realistically played and presented. Men at the mine remembered the tumbling of the Rolls down the slope.

For its time, the special effects are really good. Portrayal of some of south Africa's country, particularly the Blyde River Canyon is but a glimpse of this magnificent land.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
This is truly one hell of an amazing film! The trailers definitely did not do this justice. The quality of the picture and sound was absolutely flawless, considering that 'Gold' was originally released back in 1974 (the same year Roger's JB film 'The Man With The Golden Gun' came out in Cinemas). But, Roger, as an actor, has never failed to impress me and this film was no exception. It was an absolute masterpiece! There was some intense heart-stopping action and the gradual love interest, which naturally blossomed between Roger's character (Rod Slater) and Susannah York's character (Terry) added a really nice touch. When I ordered this, I did wonder why on earth 'Gold' was rated a 12. After watching it, I do understand why, as there is the odd bit of language and some of the action scenes do get a little bit graphic in places. But, generally, the film was clean and easy to watch. The soundtrack is also something to be proud of. Elma Bernstein, who actually wrote the majority of the music, really knew what he was doing musically. The main theme, in particular, helps to define the overall theme of 'Gold' and leaves us knowing 100% that this was a film of the 70's. This digitally remastered, limited edition of 'Gold' is worth every single penny and for a complete Roger Moore, like myself, it is a must!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
Exactly as advertised. Arrived quickly,well packaged. Nostalgic trip down memory lane. Loved this film when it first came out and still love it now but has to be viewed bearing in mind that it's of its time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 April 2003
This movie made by former Bond director Peter (On Her Majesty's Secret Service) Hunt and starring then 007 Roger Moore has all the hallmarks of a great fun action thriller. Yet, the action doesn't seem to truly pick up until the latter part of the movie when things start to go terribly wrong in a South African gold mine.
The plot - for what it's worth - revolves around plans to increase the value of gold stocks by flooding a gold mine in Africa, and the machinations employed to keep the manager of the mine (played by Moore) suitably distracted and away from the location to allow the villains plot to succeed.
A great cast supports Moore in this piece including Susannah York and Sir John Gielgud and it moves at a fair pace. The troubling aspect about this movie (and the reason I give it only four stars) is the poor treatment that has been afforded the picture on the DVD - it really does deserve to be redone and remastered.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2010
Fairly exciting adventure yarn filmed in South Africa during the apartheid regime. A syndicate headed by John Gielgud conspires with the son in law (Bradford Dillman) of a wealthy gold mine owner (Ray Milland) to destroy the mine thus enabling the syndicate to profit in share dealing. The general manager (Roger Moore) of the mine is unaware of this and is being used as a dupe by Dillman. In addition to Moore who was playing James Bond at the time, the film utilizes several other Bond personnel including its director Peter Hunt (ON HER MAJESTY'S SECRET SERVICE), film editor John Glen (THE SPY WHO LOVED ME) and title designer Maurice Binder (DR. NO). Their combined particular talents give the film a polish it may not have had in other hands. Outside of the usual noble black man who sacrifices his life to save the white hero storyline, it's good solid action fare. Strong score by Elmer Bernstein which includes the Oscar nominated song Wherever Love Takes Me sung by Maureen McGovern. With Susannah York, Tony Beckley and Simon Sabela.

After years of inferior pan and scan public domain prints, it's a treat to have the film in its original wide screen 2.35 aspect ratio. Thank you, Slam Dunk Media!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Good, solid thriller from Bond alumni Peter Hunt. The plot is reminiscent of Goldfinger but is executed with some panache so that the film has its own identity. The cast are uniformly excellent, special praise for the creepy Bradford Dillman and a Machiavellian turn by John Gielgud. The only downside is that were sometimes left waiting too long between the thrilling action sequences. Hunt made his reputation as an editor, but the films he directed often had pacing issues. All that aside though, Gold is a terrific watch. A rare gem of a British film in the 1970s at a time when British films were rare enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
This is, in my opinion, one of Roger Moore's best films, with lots of fast paced action, although it is also maybe one of his least remembered partly due to the fact that it was made just about the same time as he embarked on the role of James Bond in Live and Let Die. I recommend you try it if James Bond is your kind of thing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Picture quality much better than my old DVD. Movie may not be Oscar quality but enjoyable and good to see Roger in another role.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2003
I can only say I was delighted to find the DVD of this film available, it is (excuse the pun) pure gold, a great early seventies action drama, starring a pre 007 Roger Moore.
In this film Roger Moore is a smooth as ever, and Jane Seymore even smoother playing the silly (married) girl type.
I remeber this film from when I was a kid and the three things that I remember most are: King, the title music (which is of that seventies hi energy orchestral type) and finally the image of a burning Rolls Royce Silver Shadow.
I watched the video last week (a recording from the eighties on BetaMax) and it was still a fantastic film, all the drama and excitement you expect from a film with Roger Moore in.
I recomend this film highly as it is quite simply a classic, sadly a forgotten one, more so because it was made just prior to Moore moving on to 007 fame which I am sure he will be remebred more for than his earlier work.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)