Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Spiderman Game
This is a good game and I liked the idea of also switching to Venom for some missions as he is fun to play. In the game you have to complete missions which are made up of generally timed chases and boss fights. I found the boss fights not too tough - you just need to use a good strategy for each one, but the timed chases can be a little frustrating at times. There are...
Published on 26 Sept. 2006 by C. R. North

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All style, no substance
Ultimate Spiderman offers a thoroughly fun albeit simple Spiderman experience which perfectly captures the feel of Ultimate Spiderman’s style but, impressive though it is, comes at the expense of properly fleshed out gameplay resulting in a game well worth playing, but seriously lacking the depth or development to be called great.
The first thing you’ll...
Published on 25 Feb. 2006 by Stephen Stein


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All style, no substance, 25 Feb. 2006
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
Ultimate Spiderman offers a thoroughly fun albeit simple Spiderman experience which perfectly captures the feel of Ultimate Spiderman’s style but, impressive though it is, comes at the expense of properly fleshed out gameplay resulting in a game well worth playing, but seriously lacking the depth or development to be called great.
The first thing you’ll probably notice is that the game actually looks like the comic – from the comic style shading to the use of animated panels during cutscenes – the whole thing looks and feels like the comic and, while the visuals don’t compare to the flair of the best looking games the PS2 has to offer – they don’t try to, preferring instead to capture the feel of the comic. It works great and sets the feel of the game perfectly.
The city is pretty big and there’s tons of area to uncover and explore, and cars and people mill about down on the streets below. Police, too, can sometimes be seen trying to stop criminals. But as you can’t really interact with the people or cars in any way (besides a few random events), I constantly had a feeling of being disconnected from the city – especially as you’ll swing above rooftops at high speeds, getting to know the city is almost impossible. More interaction would’ve been a good thing, adding depth and diversity
The plot arc is a pretty short and feels really disjointed – like the story and free-swinging around the city were two entirely separate things on the same plate. It made the story seem a little shallow – in fact, the story is shallow, there’s not much to it – it can literally be summed up as: Venom is loose, Spiderman tries to stop him, a third party joins in and gets in Spiderman’s way, Spiderman wins; the end - and it mostly felt like instead of giving it depth, they just chose to write in as many iconic enemies for Spiderman/Venom to fight as possible.
You can play as both Spiderman and Venom and the two characters are conveyed perfectly – Spiderman with his dextrous agility, able to swan dive off a building, somersaulting several times through the air before firing off some web and arcing majestically into a swing, landing gracefully and delivering a series of light but lightning fast blows to a thug, webbing him up and throwing him over a lamppost before leaping off to fight another crime.
While venom stomps angrily over buildings, smashing his fists into the stone for purchase - if Spiderman is pure agility then Venom is raw strength – instead of swinging, he leaps great distances, causing craters in roads and rooftops as he lands. His attacks revolve around breaking backs, smashing faces into the ground and feeding off of enemies and innocent civilians alike for ever-needed sustenance. Venom is also able to lob cars around as makeshift weapons, which looks and feels great – as you smash around the city – you feel close to invincible.
The missions themselves revolve around two things – chasing and fighting. In the chasing missions you have to keep up with some villain as they move around the city, you have a time limit on these missions, but it’s displayed as a ‘distance meter’ – if you fall too far behind, the mission is over and you have to restart, these missions – all of them – follow the exact same formula: swing around a set route in the city as fast as you can. The fighting missions are equally linear as combat revolves around working out the AI’s simple attack formula and then exploiting the weaknesses to defeat the enemy. Sometimes the missions feature both chasing and fighting as you’ll be charged with chasing the enemy to a location. Then fighting them. Repeat ad infinitum.
Free swinging around the city, you’ll have a few things to keep you busy. City Events happen pretty regularly, and are random situations where you can prove your heroics by stopping some thugs beating up some guy, saving someone who managed to somehow be hanging off of a skyscraper several hundred feet up or getting someone quickly to a hospital. They are, like everything else in the game, linear and formulaic and limited to just a few scenarios each – but they’re a welcome distraction to simply swinging around.
There are also two sets of non-plot missions dotted around the city which you can attempt whenever you like by standing on the corresponding icons around the city, there are two types. Wait for it. Racing and fighting. The racing missions follow the exact same formula as the plot missions except you’re on a time limit instead of chasing someone. The fighting missions revolve around beating up a few groups of thugs.
But that’s not to say it’s a bad game – while short and sweet, and lacking the depth a serious gamer might expect, it’s a seriously fun romp through Queens. If you like Spiderman, or especially Ultimate Spiderman but have never played a spidey game – it’s very easy to recommend this. The comicbook style cutscenes are a pure joy to experience, the voice talent is perfect and the playable characters feel and play exactly as you’d expect them to.
In the end, the emphasis was on style over substance – and while it works pretty well, as the game is a lot of fun – great games need style and substance. It’s too short, it’s too easy and it’s far, far too linear. But it’s a lot of fun, while it lasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT GREAT, 17 Oct. 2005
By 
M. J. Devine "blade316" (west midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
I have finished this game after a few hours of play and I have to say I was expecting alot more,
The good:
storyline is easy to follow but it would help if you have read the comic before hand.
excellent graphics, the graphics are the same comic book style as XIII
The Bad
The game does become repetative after a while, its usually spiderman must keep up with the villan then have a battle or Venom must keep up with a villan then have a battle ect
Levels are to easy to compleate and there is no way to make it more difficult.
The level bosses and goal tasks become very dull, It is the same kind of missions as Spiderman 2.
All in all a good game which could have been great if more thought and game play had been put into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun game - but a little flawed, 14 Dec. 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
Having played Spiderman 2 and enjoying the ability to play as spiderman, I was looking forward to Ultimate Spiderman. Firstly the story, and comic book sequences are great fun, and link very well to the missions. Also playing as venom was a welcome change, and suited the character well. However I found the controls to be nowhere near as intuitive as Spiderman 2, especially when it came to webslinging around the city. Also the city was a lot smaller compared with the previous game (although there is the addition of playing in Queens). Overall though my main gripe was the missions - the story missions were simply (often irritating) chases and boss fights, and though there were side missions they made no difference to the game. In Spidey 2, by saving civilians and completing races you were rewarded with money to buy character upgrades. That said, its fun while it lasts and I hope they do a sequel that improves on the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Spiderman Game, 26 Sept. 2006
By 
C. R. North (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a good game and I liked the idea of also switching to Venom for some missions as he is fun to play. In the game you have to complete missions which are made up of generally timed chases and boss fights. I found the boss fights not too tough - you just need to use a good strategy for each one, but the timed chases can be a little frustrating at times. There are also side missions collecting tokens, timed races and and assisting citizens, similar to Spiderman 2.

The only thing I found really annoying in this game were the Human torch races which is why I'm only giving it a 4! The later races are very frustating and this ruined the game a little for me. Overall a really good game and I would recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately Rewarding, 23 Oct. 2005
By 
Danny (Bradford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
The first thing that enticed me about this game is that it isn't another movie tie in; this game has its own (very good) plot, taken from the Ultimate Spiderman comic series. You play as Spiderman (bet that shocked you) but you also play as one of the best villains in the books history, Venom. He has his own abilities, qualities and probably smell, and this adition makes the game go another few miles past the standard set by Spiderman 2: The Game. The game has also changed its look, with cel-shaded graphics adding to the comic book feel, and this allows the graphics to flow seamlessly. The new look city is also bigger, with Spidey's home of Queens added, as well as the Baxter Building (maybe just nerds like me appreciate that one). The game has new voice acting, which not only redefines the characters from the moody feel of 1 and 2, but means no more whiney Tobey Maguire.
that's the style, now the substance.
The controls are different, but in a good way. The small changes in web-swinging makes it smoother, and the combat is much improved with more variety which stops it getting boring so quickly. Venom's abilities are huge fun, as you have more freedom to go crazy and kill bad guys as opposed to simply apprehending them, but Spiderman's improvements also keep his section of the game fully playable and fun.
The game also features many characters from the Marvel Universe, and I won't spoil it by telling them all, but I'll give you a taster with an early appearance from Johnny Storm!
All games have their bad points, but for the genre Ultimate spiderman is in, I can't think of any gripes I have with the game. It doesn't fill the full five stars because there is a limit to what you can do, as a lot of gamers found the constant crime solving boring (which is back, but takes less time) but for fans of previous games, all action/adventure fans, this game is worth a doyuble rental AT LEAST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Spider-man? Not quite..................., 30 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a game that i have just completed, and one worthy of a review. There have been quite a few Spiderman games on both the playstation one and the playstation 2. And where does this one rank?
Well, in my opinion it is pretty good, though not perfect.
Ultimate Spiderman has a lot going for it though.
First of all it is great in terms of style. If anyone out there has read the graphic novels entitled Ultimate Spiderman from volume one right through to the most recent one, you will recognise the style straight away. It is exactly the same sort of artwork, and with the same styling - it is highly influenced by the comic Spiderman, and not so much of the film. When this game goes into FMV sequences and cinematics, it is like watching a living, breathing comic! All the classic comic book tools are here - the individual boxes for each scene etc...... In the game itself the graphics are good for the main characters, but you have to say that the New York landscape is a little bit bland.There are only so many buildings you really want to climb up, because most look the same! There are some recognisable landmarks though - the Brooklyn Bridge, the Empire State Building, and the Statue of Liberty can be seen in the harbour off the south of one of the islands. Spiderman and Venom are nicely drawn, if a little basic.
The playability is pretty good too. Both Spiderman and Venom have slightly different characteristics when you are playing as them. Venom is all about power and brute force. He has a huge leap, and tentacles are his main attack, whilst he can replenish energy by consuming various members of the public! Spidey is a joy to play. He is slick and stylish. And as you progress you get a few more additions to his moves - though, maybe not enough for the hardened gamer. These moves are really basic punch and kick moves.
The voices for all the characters are superb too. Not one of them is poor. Peter Parker is excellent, and Spidey has a full list of comic characters to meet in this game such as Johnny Storm from the Fantastic Four, Nick Fury, Mary Jane Watson,Green Goblin, Carnage, Electro and Rhino to name but a few. The only characters missing to really make this superb are Jonah Jamieson and Aunt May.
There are lots of hidden extras to collect too. The token system from many of the other games are here again - such as the landmark tokens, comic book covers and secret tokens. These all open up costumes and artwork in the menu.
The story surrounds the invention of the Venom suit, by Peter Parker's and Eddie Brock' fathers. We then fast forward to the present and we see how people want to gain the Venom suit for themselves and harness its power. The story is pretty good too - it has stayed true to the comic books, so that fans and people new to the series will be happy.

So far, i have covered all the things that make this a great game, so now i have to balance up the review and tell you what makes this a flawed game - and i always hate doing this!

Firstly, it is way too short. I completed this in next to no time. If you concentrate on the plot and none of the side missions or collecting hidden tokens you will get through it very quickly. And there is not a huge amount of variety to completing the side missions. Rescuing someone hanging off a ledge, or saving people from muggers isn't too gripping after you have done it for the 5th time - let alone the hundredth! As for the races against the clock and Johnny Storm - they are so repetitive that you never want to try and earn all the medals, and extras they earn you. The main story is great, but the side missions all feel 'bolted on' and in my opinion will not keep you hooked long enough.
The other thing i really disliked is the camera. It is fine in free-roaming mode, but when you are fighting a boss it almost gives you a headache! The thing is so awkward! There is a boss battle in Time Square where you play as Venom going up against Electro, and the camera drove me to despair!

In balance though, this game is very well done, but the developers didn't really take Ultimate Spiderman to the next level. I had a lot of fun playing it - it is easy to pick up and play - but there was very little reason to keep playing it once the main mission was over.

Where does this come in relation to the other Spiderman games? It is hard to place, but if you can get your hands on the first Activision Spiderman game on the playstation one, THAT is the best one in my opinion. It has loads of extras, great pacing, great side missions, and the action has lots of variations. Admittedly it is graphically a bit dated now, but it is the best by a long way in my view. I would put Ultimate Spiderman in joint second with Spiderman 2 on the playstation 2. They are both flawed in quite important ways, but both have their strengths. Ultimate Spiderman is way more stylish and fun, but Spiderman 2 has a bigger feel to it, and captures the films much better. If you like the comics, definitely go for Ultimate Spiderman. If you prefer the films, then go for Spiderman 2.

Who would i recommend this too? I would recommend this to fans of the comics and the films, and probably to anyone over the age of 10. It is not violent at all - it is comic violence, as opposed to blood and gore!
It is fun and stylish too! But it won't keep the hardened gamer occupied for weeks and months..........

So, all in all - it is great fun whilst it lasts! If the developers took the good points of the game and worked on the weaker elements, there could be a really great sequel to Ultimate Spiderman, and i for one would snap up a copy straight away! The advantage of this game now is that it is quite cheap, and the amount you pay reflects the length of the game, so i didn't feel too hard done by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For kicks this game rocks!!!!!, 14 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. N. P. Hayward "Moved2Review" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
When i game my priority is to have fun and get in to the game enough to enjoy a few hours passing but not enough to feel as if my whole life is being taken over by the quest to complete the game, and this game does the former, it is immensely fun and has an old school kind of sega megadrive feel about it, especially the guardian fights, which i think are just awesome, the difficulty factor is just right, challenging enough and engaging enough to keep you playing but not so hard that you throw down the controler and want to give up, graphics wise it is awesome, this is the first cell shader i had played and i loved it . it made me wonder why all video games aren't cell shading ( for those who don't know what cell shading is, it is like playing an animated cartoon), for this style of comic book game i think cell shading works perfectly, the cut scenes advance the plot nicely and the levels where you play as venom are awesome fun, you can just tear new york apart and leap whole buildings, awesome fun!!
the voice overs work really well and bring spidey to life as the cheeky kid he is in the ultimate spiderman comics, the story follows the comics and not the movies so this isn't a repeat of plot lines you have seen already(unless you read Ultimate Spiderman comics) and i found it great fun, took me about 18 hours to complete and then there are countless side quest like races and defeating gangs, which if you play in context to the main plots, stretches the length of the game out a lot more, the beautiful choreography of spidey is excellent and i've played the movie spiderman games, and this game is in my opinion far far superior in every single way
if you are a serious hard core gamer then this might not be for you, but if now and then you like to play a really engaging fun game that you won;t be dissapointed that you played, then this game is worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read the review for cool tip while playing as venom in free roam mode!, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
Game was in great condition. Great free roaming and to be honest still my favourite spidey game to his day! There is no other game like spiderman! And playing as Venom while free roaming is AMAZING!

When playing as Venom while free roaming, after a while of blowing things up and eating people the army will come and make the experience a little less fun (For some people) and unless you want to spend the rest of the time fighting the army you may want to follow these instructions:

1. While playing as Venom (In free roam mode only!) throw a car and make sure it explodes to start the army mini game (Numbers will appear at the top of the screen when this happens)

2. When the mini game has started, press start and go down to unlockables. Select unlockables and it will ask you if you want to leave the current mission.

3. Press yes and exit the start menu and the army should be gone and you will be free to roam the city doing as you wish without the annoyance of the army!

4. Please note, in the start menu you may notice (While the minigame is active) that it says "Exit Mission". Selecting this does get rid of the army, but as soon as you throw a car it will begin again, whereas the above method stops it until you switch back to spidey!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game but too short, 16 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
Positives: i have played the previous spider-man games and this is definately and improvement and the choice to use 3D comic-strip graphics paid off giving this game a good look. The gameplay is good and handles well. Especially on easy if you think your are quite good at games and have played the previous games you will have no problem.
Negatives: THE GAME IS NOT LONG ENOUGH!!!!!! i know that you still have to collect tokens to complete the game fully but like me, you could probably have this done EASILY in one day of playing, maybe 4-5hours straight to complete
I do like Ultimate Spider-man and is a good game but the length really lets it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Spiderman 2, 4 Jun. 2007
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) (Video Game)
Ultimate Spiderman has got to be one of those games that, although has loads to do upon playing it, only holds your interest for a few hours or at least until when the story missions are over.

I must say that the graphics are beautiful but sadly this game isn't as good as Spiderman 2 because it's a little too wacky (alright I know it's a comic book based game but I still like a sort of realistic feel about them) in that Spidey looks as skinny as Victoria Beckham and the villains he takes on are sometimes almost King Kong huge (Green Goblin is an example and he doesn't even have a hover board!) There is the plus side that you get to not only play as web-head but also long term arch nemesis Venom but in my view he really isn't worth crying home about as, upon completeing story mode, he doesn't get as much freedom as Spiderman with Nick Fury's soldiers constantly chasing him.

However if anyone BADLY wants to play as Venom then just get this game and don't keep whinging about not being able to play as him in Spiderman 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2)
Ultimate Spider-Man (PS2) by Activision (PlayStation2)
£25.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews