Customer Reviews


There are no customer reviews yet.  Create your own review
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 July 2005
By A Customer
Don't know if its just my copy of the DVD, but it seems to have been edited from the original film - there are short sequences removed here and there, and the whole of the "Friggin In The Riggin" song is gone.
Apart from that, its good to see the chaos that was the pistols relived on this DVD. The live sequences are excellent, and the picture makes an interesting comparsion to the much later "Filth and Fury".
If you liked the Pistols, try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This NEEDS to be re-released!!!, 2 May 2004
This movie is an entertaining look at the sex pistols rise to fame in 10 simple steps, told by manager Malcom Mclaren, its a must see for pistols fans. Although it was released after the death of Sid Vicious and the departure of Johnny Rotten, it still contains rare footage of both, including sid's last ever interview and unreleased studio tracks. Sadly this Film has become a rarity because of the fact it has been discontinued, I have a very bad copy of it on Video Disc and it is very hard to find on VHS, a couple of years ago it was released in Japan on DVD but sadly it wasn't released for long so to find a DVD version is even harder. So Instead of Releasing instead of just releasing Sex Pistols CDs For the pistols 25th Anniversary, Virgin should have released the Great rock n roll swindle on DVD.Hopefully this title will be released on DVD in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle [DVD] (DVD)
not the best film in the world as a little dated but brilliant to have in my collection . More please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "OK, Ready or Rot!", 23 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle [DVD] (DVD)
Indeed, good vintage footage mixed with comedic animation and some really 'bad' acting (sorry guys) - but that was the point! I have been a life-long Pistols fan and have seen the Swindle countless times. It is a timeless classic and a damn good insight into the chaos, the anarchy and the demise of one of the industry's most iconic carnations. My only critism is that Malcolm McLaren knew that only too well and the film is (although tongue-in-cheek), a self-promotion exercise on the part of him which is why John Rotten/Lydon wished no part in it. Worth a watch if you know little or nothing of the Pistols but I strongly recommend watching the Filth & the Fury right after to get right down to the grass roots of what the band really stood for. I agree with one previous reviewer, best scene ....... Sid answering the phone and mumbling "Ok ready or Rot" in response to the 'Receiever' before itching his balls through a pair of stained 'swastika' undies, threatening his own reflection in the mirror with a broken bottle and then pretending he could ride a motorcycle! Sex Pistols - The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This terrible transfer needs recalling - sound is awful, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Neil Wilkes (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst this is one of the seminal films of all time, this version should be avoided at all costs.
The sound quality is so bad it makes me think whoever did this must have been either deaf or asleep at the wheel.
In so-called "enhanced stereo" (enhanced from what, please? inquiring minds want to know) and "5.1 surround" that
to these ears consists of everything shoved through the centre channel with very little - if anything - around the other 4 channels.
TC Unwrap? Sounds like it to me.
Before anyone tells me that "it's from a mono source" I saw this film on cinema release and it was not in mono then. The sound was far superior to this terrible rendition and believe me that turning it up will not improve matters either.
It's a terrible shame. This could be so good if only there was a decent soundtrack to it.
It reminds me of those discs that some idiots buy from the Chinese guys on the street - pirated with a camera in the back of the cinema?
This disc sounds like that.
Avoid at all costs until they make a decent transfer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it but dont believe it......, 25 Mar 2007
By 
For all fans of the Pistols, & punk generally, this is a great peace of fiction based on the Pistols story told by a man with an ego he would like to believe is the biggest!

Malcolm McLaren pretends to be the main man (as he is prone to), but that doesnt spoil some good parts of this film, including some good tracks & performances.

For a true & better film see Filth & The Fury, a film done by The Pistols with, I believe, Julian Temple again, however this film is worth watching- Just dont believe the tripe!!

(BTW Temple apologised for his part in producing Rock n Roll Swindle)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Cash-in' Maclaren at his best - or worst ?, 11 July 2000
There's really not much to merit in this compilation of The Sex Pistols' finest (ie, filthiest!) moments, although it's funny and ironic in parts, but certainly a product of its time. Maclaren was still enjoying moderate success with his controversial Bow Wow Wow project when this was released, so this was clearly another one of his blatant cash-in's on previous 'successes', but at least he was fairly honest about it.
Hvaing said this, it still accurately portrays the snivelling obnoxiousness of the Pistol's at their peak (no wonder, with a grey mid-70's UK in as depressed a state as it had ever been in), and the fact that they were one of the few bands in history that really did make a difference.
Best Scene : You've got to laugh when Sid Vicious jumps out of bed, stands spreadeagled before the camera and vigourously rubs his 'scrot' through his Y-fronts to the sound of a Steve Jones riff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant DVD, as expected, great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a gift for my husband who's a Sex pistols fan! Not my cup of tea but he thinks it's great! So happy with purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oddball classic, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle [DVD] (DVD)
Grew up in this era. This is one of the few films that I saw twice in the cinema (probably because I was in my teens and cat woman took her kit off on it). This is the version where Virgin realised that she was underage and had to rotascope a bikini on her to get past censors and the law. Love the cartoons! God bless the queen eh John?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle [DVD]
The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle [DVD] by Julian Temple (DVD - 2005)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews