Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be Afraid - Essential Listening
A recent BBC series about jazz described the year this album was released (along with those by Dave Brubeck, Charles Mingus and Miles Davies) as the year that changed jazz and this album as one of the key influences and the start of free jazz. For many listeners this could be a major turn-off - but don't be, this is fabulous listening.

Coleman has an original...
Published on 26 April 2009 by Lewis Graham

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite in shape for me.
Ornette Coleman is mostly just beyond my taste in Jazz. (John Coltrane is mostly within my taste satisfaction range). The Shape of Jazz To Come, certainly demonstrates Coleman's mastery of the alto and a capability in improvisation. It is not one of the completely unstructured bits of Free Jazz that just demonstrates ability in the player but provides no satisfaction to...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Tysonbob


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shape - less, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shape Of Jazz To Come (Audio CD)
Dec 2014 - I heard about this album from the radio as being contemporary with the sublime Miles Davis 'Kind of Blue' - which I adore beyond words. I bought it unheard - hoping for a new listening discovery.
However - to my ears this is very difficult listening and I find it hard to derrive any enjoyment from it, and I certainly do not put it in the same class as any Miles Davis work.
My negative opinions may change in the future - I've not given up on it yet.
I took a 'punt on it' which has not paid off in my case - not yet any way.
It would be nice to have some negative stars on this review section, maybe I could award rotten eggs instead of stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A seminal album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware Buying from Amazon EU, 16 May 2009
By 
M. Brenner (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great CD but don't buy it from Amazon EU unless you want to wait a VERY long time for it. The website said it was in stock and I ordered it over a month ago. They are now estimating delivery in another 2 to 3 weeks. There are lots of suppliers out there so buy this seminal cd that changed the face of jazz from someone who actually has it stock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars posibly true to its title..., 17 Dec. 2009
By 
The O (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shape Of Jazz To Come (Audio CD)
Cutting edge jazz, possibly even to date, stripped to the basics. Original material, looks "kind of blue" in the eye. Even when drifting to fussion experimentations, it still very special."Lonely woman" melody is an all time classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Successful gift, 21 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shape of Jazz to Come (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a gift for a jazz-loving family member. I am pleased to report that said jazz-loving family member was delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The shape of jazz to come, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
L. Tozeland "kj" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shape Of Jazz To Come (Audio CD)
I bought this for my son who plays tenor sax. He loves ska but has more secently been attracted to jazz, which i know nothing about. It's a bit um unstructured for my taste. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shape Of Jazz To Come
The Shape Of Jazz To Come by Ornette Coleman (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews