Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be Afraid - Essential Listening
A recent BBC series about jazz described the year this album was released (along with those by Dave Brubeck, Charles Mingus and Miles Davies) as the year that changed jazz and this album as one of the key influences and the start of free jazz. For many listeners this could be a major turn-off - but don't be, this is fabulous listening.

Coleman has an original...
Published on 26 April 2009 by Lewis Graham

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The record was crooked, but the music fantastic!
As I write in the headline is the record crooked.
But the music is some of the best from Ornette!
Published 5 months ago by Preben Klitgaard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be Afraid - Essential Listening, 26 April 2009
By 
Lewis Graham "lewisgraham" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A recent BBC series about jazz described the year this album was released (along with those by Dave Brubeck, Charles Mingus and Miles Davies) as the year that changed jazz and this album as one of the key influences and the start of free jazz. For many listeners this could be a major turn-off - but don't be, this is fabulous listening.

Coleman has an original approach to jazz that focusses on not on chords but individual expression. The opening moments of the first track, Lonely Woman, has Coleman and Cherry playing together without chords but it all merges to be exciting, emotional playing. The remaining tracks build on this and as a piece this creates a memorable album.

like many jazz enthusiasts, I have lost whole evenings to free jazz and wondered why I'd bothered. This album shows what can be done in the hands of a master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Ornette Album, 23 Feb 2009
By 
Scott Mcgowan "scotmcg" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In my opinion this is the finest of Ornette's albums from the Altantic era, his debut for the label, and an album imbued with a drive and momentum all its own. In many ways, aside from it being one of the great "free" jazz records, I often consider it to be one of my favourite "blues" albums of all time as well. From the affecting "Lonely Woman", to the terrific "Eventually", Ornette's musical aesthetic is perfectly summed up with this recording. Of course, there's many more fine albums to get by this great musician, but for me this one remains the one I return to time and again, twenty years on. The group is outstanding, and as an example of improvised music it's right up there. You have to "go with" Ornette Coleman as a listener, but his musical message is such a powerful and engaging one that to "expect the unexpected" soon becomes a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the jazz records which everyone should own, 16 Jun 2007
This is the ideal place to start for anyone interested in Coleman and a recording to rank along Kind of Blue and A Love Supreme. Coleman's departure ("abandonment" is too prejudicial a word) from the chord-based blues and jazz tradition gave him a reputation for difficulty before his forays into free jazz but, as I once read, the startling thing about "The Shape of Jazz to Come" is how melodic and rhythmic is it. "Lonely Woman", stately, mournful and passionate, is one of the finest openings to an album ever but the quality does not abate. The interplay between Coleman and Don Cherry on cornet is spellbinding and the Haden-Higgins bass and drums section is integral in propelling the music with a frequent spring and swing (witness Haden's bassline, including the bowed opening, on the centrepiece "Peace").

This is not a recording to fear or from which to shy. It is groundbreaking but accessible. I had the pleasure to see Coleman live a few years ago on his 75th birthday. His engaged and even ferocious playing belied his frailty and disarming modesty and compelled me to return to his blueprint literally of the shape of jazz to come. To paraphrase someone, this recording is, and is intended to be, seminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an impostor, a visionary, 2 Jun 2001
By A Customer
It seems scarcely believable now that anyone could have regarded Ornette Coleman as an impostor. He was widely misunderstood when he came on the scene, often booed offstage and denied club dates by ignorant and insensitive promoters. Even seasoned musicians walked out on him.
It's interesting that albums with such grandiose titles (The Shape of Jazz to Come, Change of the Century, Art of the Improvisers...) should be in many ways so measured and reflective. But what is clear is that this was unashamedly challenging music.
Ornette Coleman had invented something he called harmolodics, used to describe an implied harmony that emerges from the melodic line. The Shape of Jazz to Come is a supreme example of this new approach to making jazz. The music this quartet made was quiet, but the revolution it initiated was wholly indiscreet. No-one could be indifferent to Ornette Coleman. People called it "free jazz" and Ornette himself made a now seminal album of that name a few months later (Atlantic probably wanted to exploit the buzzword of the year), attempting to encapsulate the concept.
Free jazz actually developed into something quite different. But there is no question that the sense of freedom evoked by Ornette's visionary juxtaposition of spontaneous improvisation and structured composition is overwhelming, and justifiably caused both artists and critics to rethink the parameters of the music all over again. Shape contains the first recording of Ornette's most well-known composition, "Lonely Woman", and the stirring "Peace".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new world of jazz..., 13 Jun 2010
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shape of Jazz to Come (Audio CD)
CD1: The Shape of Jazz to Come, Studio album by Ornette Coleman, Recorded May 22, 1959, United States, Running time approx 38 minutes. Original release label Atlantic Records, Producer Nesuhi Ertegün.
The Shape of Jazz to Come was one of the first avant-garde jazz albums ever recorded. It was recorded in 1959 by Coleman's piano-less quartet. The album was considered shocking at the time, because it had no recognizable chord structure and included simultaneous improvisation by the performers in a much freer style than previously seen in jazz.

CD2: Something Else
Studio album by Ornette Coleman, Recorded February 10, 1958 - March 24, 1958, Running time approx 42 minutes. Original released on the Contemporary label. Producer Lester Koenig
Something Else is the 1958 debut album by jazz saxophonist Ornette Coleman. It is said that the album "shook up the jazz world", revitalizing the union of blues and jazz and restoring "blues to their 'classic' beginnings in African music".

This is another welcome release from Not Now Music and they have plans for many more such reissues from the essential jazz catalogue. The sound quality is excellent and the liner notes once more by Peter Gamble make interesting reading. The packaging looks good and if you have bought a few of these in recent months then you will know that they are a quality production. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So this is free jazz !, 28 April 2009
By 
M. G. Czubkowski (Notts,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shape Of Jazz To Come (Audio CD)
Being a newcomer to Jazz i was told to buy this CD,im told its a classic,I listened to it,then played it over again.I have never heard sounds like this before,im amazed at the level of playing skill,Listen to the 9 min" peace" or the blistering Eventually.It blew my socks off.All done with a plastic Sax by Ornette Coleman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 1 Feb 2006
By 
D. B. Dalglish "king_dom" (Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I always find it terribly irritating when people tell me 'owe yes, its a classic' about any album. What have they told me? Absolutely nothing, and so often this is the case with jazz 'classics'. The word 'free' is also often thrown at this album, but is infrequently explained. Well, it is a classic and the word free does have something to do with it. The music here is certainly not of the free jazz scene we see later, in artists such as Albert Ayler, Pharoah Sanders and in some of Coltrane's work to name but a few. The rhythm section thumps along with the thrust of a bop band, especially in tracks like 'Eventually' and 'Congeniality'. However, while Coleman's sax isn't screeching high and low, it is varying much more in improvising than others were doing at the time. It has the makings of a genre in it, but remains firmly attached to its own time.
Whats really fantastic about this album, is that it has that semi 'free' element to it, while maintaining the freshness of bop. There's something about the way its recorded, that makes it quite a breazy record. The later musings of free jazz officiandos tend to be brooding and dark, but this is much lighter on the pallet. A great album, could be a starting point, but be warned: if someone's told you this is free jazz, then you're in for quite a shock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Free jazz, But Don't be Scared, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Lewis Graham "lewisgraham" (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shape Of Jazz To Come (Audio CD)
A recent BBC series about jazz described the year this album was released (along with those by Dave Brubeck, Charles Mingus and Miles Davies) as the year that changed jazz and this album as one of the key influences and the start of free jazz. For many listeners this could be a major turn-off - but don't be, this is fabulous listening.

Coleman has an original approach to jazz that focusses on not on chords but individual expression. The opening moments of the first track, Lonely Woman, has Coleman and Cherry playing together without chords but it all merges to be exciting, emotional playing. The remaining tracks build on this and as a piece this creates a memorable album.

like many jazz enthusiasts, I have lost whole evenings to free jazz and wondered why I'd bothered. This album shows what can be done in the hands of a master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New to me, 23 April 2010
By 
Ian Mason - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's a new type of jazz for me being used to swing and be-bop but it's growing on me. The title is very apt. My next purchase may well be "Jazz of the Century" also by Coleman and which has its 50th birthday this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value!, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Scott Matthews "smelectric" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm still working my way through this one. I think it represents excellent value for what is probably a landmark jazz album. It isn't as discordant as I was led to believe and I find it pleasant but not outstanding and certainly not the Greatest Jazz Album of all time as one Amazon poll recently claimed. Nonetheless, I'd recommend purchasing this to anyone developing their knowledge of jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shape Of Jazz To Come
The Shape Of Jazz To Come by Ornette Coleman (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews