Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6-cup Bialetti Elegance coffee maker
This model is for induction hobs. It's quick to make your morning hit of caffeine and it's easy to clean it. Have tried making coffee at very low heat and at medium heat and at medium-high heat and it doesn't seem to make any difference to the end result which method I use. The only thing to ensure is that you don't leave it on the hob after the water has been used as...
Published on 15 Feb. 2012 by wonky

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for induction hob.
Not suitable for induction hob unless you have the correct size ring. My hob has kept bleeping at me and cutting itself off as the area around it is not covered.
Published on 4 Jan. 2013 by MF @ Cornwall


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6-cup Bialetti Elegance coffee maker, 15 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
This model is for induction hobs. It's quick to make your morning hit of caffeine and it's easy to clean it. Have tried making coffee at very low heat and at medium heat and at medium-high heat and it doesn't seem to make any difference to the end result which method I use. The only thing to ensure is that you don't leave it on the hob after the water has been used as you could get some coffee grounds in the prepared coffee. It is well designed and the water container is raised in the centre of the base, which leaves a moat-like area round the outside which retains a little water, thus helping to prevent you burning the base because the water has gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Expresso Coffee Maker, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
The Bialetti stainless steel espresso stove top coffee makers are excellent quality - I also own a 4 cup in Australia. I would never use an aluminium one because I've seen how the internal stems gradually dissolve over time...into your coffee! I purchased this larger one for an extended stay with family in the UK. I was worried about this being able to work on an ordinary electric stove top as I have gas in Australia, but have discovered that it works fine. I've been using stove top coffee makers for years and have developed a 'method' for the coffee we like (I make strong coffee to which I add hot milk latte style). Bialetti advises putting the coffee in the funnel without pressing it down (tamping) but I have found that if you want a strong, rich brew tamping the coffee lightly helps. Use coffee that is roasted and ground specifically for espresso making (or if grinding yourself, do not grind too fine). Using boiling water from the kettle instead of cold improves flavour. Be careful though as the pot gets very hot - use a cloth or oven glove to screw the top back on to the boiler. Brew on a medium low heat and do not 'over brew' as the coffee will burn and taste bitter: remove from heat when you hear the 'gurgling' sound. Another thing to remember is to prime your new expresso maker by brewing coffee in it several times and discarding. In any case, flavour improves with use! For our type of coffee I have found that the 6 cup size will make about 3-4 mugs latte style whereas the 4 cup makes about 2-3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My tips for great coffee, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
The product is great - quick, strong (except the handle, which shouldn't break if used properly), easy to clean and makes great coffee. Here's my tips on getting the best results -
- Warm the base before adding water
- Use boiling water in the bottom
- Keep the lid down while brewing
- Clean without soap

I have found using cold water and not heating the base first means the water spends a long time getting hot - this entire time the water is mixing with the coffee and taking flavour - I personally find the coffee taste bitter and overdone using this method, by using already boiling water, and pre-warming the base for a few seconds, you not only get your coffee much faster (about 1 minute compared with 4 or 5 minutes), but the flavour is perfect. If you think about a proper espresso machine - it forces water through the coffee in around 20 - 25 seconds, by pre-boiling the water you are getting as close to this as you can - leaving it to heat up while mixing with the coffee is more like using this device as a cafetiere.
Keeping the lid down stops a large portion of coffee evaporating as it comes up, I have found the flavour is better as less concentrated.
I have also found using soap to clean this device detracts from the flavour of the coffee, no matter how well you rinse it after. So I just rinse it with water and no soap.

It's down to everyone's individual tastes, but this is how I use mine to get the best flavour out of my coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handle issue, 7 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
A number of reviewers have rightly pointed out that the handles can come off.
Having bought the item, you quickly realise why. The temptation is to use the handle to hold the top half whilst unscrewing the bottom part. It simply isnt strong enough to allow this - especially if the plastic is weakened through the heat of prolonged use.
So long as you avoid the temptation to use the handle as a lever - just hold the two aluminium halves [not when its hot] - it is a perfectly good product and works very well and delivers buzzy strong coffee [hint dont fill the coffee container more than half way up or you'lll have problems sleeping!
Recommendation, unless you live alone and sip out of little espresso cups, go for a larger option. We have a 6-cup and it struggles to fill two coffee mugs - go 8 or 10 - size does matter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect coffee, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
when it arrived it had a small hole at the water tank . I send it back and they replaced it really fast . The second one is perfect and produces really good coffee. It is easy to use and really beautiful. The only thing that I would like to mention(and this is why I do not give 5 stars) is that is being produced in China. I think that this is something that should be mentioned in the product description. When you buy bialetti espresso maker and you pay for it you expect to be from Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and good, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
J. Buckland (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
Had to replace not very old cafetiere as we changed to an induction hob. This model looks beautiful and is very efficient. Lovely cup of coffee from it. Definitely NOT 6 cups, however. More like 4 espressos or 2 breakfast cups. Otherwise great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
This really is an excellent espresso maker. I have gone through a few stove top coffee makers. Previously, I have bought the slightly cheaper variety that has a kind of alluminium finish. In my experience, the latter work well but soon become hard to keep clean and a kind of mold seems to grow in the water reservoir if they are left for a few days. I've had the Bialetti Elegance now for a few months and it makes great espresso, is easy to clean and still looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for induction hob., 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
Not suitable for induction hob unless you have the correct size ring. My hob has kept bleeping at me and cutting itself off as the area around it is not covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stainless steel, surely not?, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
We've had this roughly two weeks and the inside of this, supposedly stainless steel, espresso maker is starting to get little spots of rust every where! What a shame because it does make a lovely coffee but why pay £25 - £30 for some thing that is advertised as stainless steel but obviously can't be if it's starting to rust.

If you're paying this price seek an alternative brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately dissapointing, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bialetti Elegance Venus Induction 6 Cup Stainless Steel Espresso Maker (Kitchen & Home)
I needed to replace a Moka Express for use on an induction hob, and ordered this to stay with a manufacturer that I knew.
To start with, everything was fine; great looks, great aromas and great coffee- and it is definitely made from stainless steel.
After 5 or 6 uses, the water reservoir started leaking water and steam from around the pressure relief valve seating. This reduces the steam pressure, affecting both the taste and volume of the result, as well as being more than a little disconcerting and making quite a a mess!
The nut that the valve is set into is flat, whereas the water reservoir is curved, and there is no retaining nut on the inside of the valve body; surely not conducive to a good seal?
I considered trying to tighten the nut, but was worried that this would strip the thread and void the warranty, so returned it to Amazon for a (very rapid) replacement.
Unfortunately, the replacement leaked both steam and water to a greater extent the original on the first time that I used it, and is to be returned for refund.
Unlike other reviewers, I had no issues with it working on the smallest ring on my induction hob, nor with any leaks from the seal between the two sections.
A great shame as it is from a respected maker, looks great, and worked well - initially. I will have to look elsewhere......
Amazon have responded to my requests promptly and efficiently - as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews