Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for 3 only - but they are well worth it, 30 Mar. 2007
By 
Ms. E. J. Baker "Elle" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
There are 3 in this set worth buying this for. The best and the 5* is the Gambling Man, absolutely first rate. The acting by all is faultless, Sylvestra la Trouzel and Robson Greene are quite simply outstanding. The whole story is told however with real professional acting and with real passion for the story. It it stands out by a mile as the very best by far. The Tide of Life however is also a very good adaptation and if you want to see two sides of Ray Stevenson acting as both a good guy (in the Dwelling Place) and a bad one (Tide of Life) then its an even better investment.
Dinner of Herbs is a good and entertaining adaptation, not as good as the book but worthy of being included in the 3 best. It is unfortunately adapted from TV and broken into shorter and much edited episodes but its still very enjoyable and can be followed as a story.

The remainder however are really not and I can't recommend them as either entertaining to watch or good adaptations from the books. Each to their own however and if you buy this and like them then you have a really good extra bonus on top of the 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing discs, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my Mams birthday coz she loves them but I just bought it second and when I came it was all wrapped up as thought I had bought it brand new but when she opened it some of the discs were missing and had been replaced with what my mam says are the boring ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic cookson - grab a box of chocs and a tipple, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
All great stories from one of the best. Great for afternoons and early evenings by yourself. Great acting from the likes of James Purefoy, Emilia Fox, Brendan Coyle to name a few. Averaging 2 and half hours a disc, put your feet up and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars biased, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
I love Catherine Cookson each one is excellent always with authentic costumes and sets and pretty good acting too good quality picture and sound and nice case to keep collection together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD CONDITION, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
BOUGHT AS USED, BUT THE BOXED SET CAME BEAUTIFULLY PACKAGED, AND LOOKED NEW. GREAT PRESENT FOR A COOKSON FAN WHO IS HOUSEBOUND AND WATCHES LOTS OF TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 24 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this product for a christmas present for my nan.
She loves Catherine Cookson books and she now enjoys the dvd.
Quick delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
Great box set, contains a really good selection. Good value for money and is in quite a compact box for ease of storing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Birth, Death, Love and Marriage, 15 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent Catherine Cookson collection, but should make it easer to see
what films the set contains as I have now a duplicate set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived in excellent condition which as advertised, very happy with the item I purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD] (DVD)
got them all as single dvds but will do for a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catherine Cookson - Birth, Death, Love And Marriage [DVD]
£15.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews