Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Italo Infidelity
I was very pleased to see the somewhat obscure Italian eroflik 'Lady of the Night' finally released in a proper DVD format. Previously this movie only seemed available in DVD-R format editions that appeared to be copied from fuzzy VHS pan & scan releases. As noted this is a Region 2 PAL pressing from the UK - yet another 'good reason' to get a region-free DVD player...
Published on 17 Aug. 2011 by DVD-OCD

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 80's dated, stilted acting rubbish
This film was so disappointing on every level. Wooden acting, dated in every way, dreadful American dubbing (subtitles would have been better), dreary settings and very dreary dull sex scenes. Do not buy this film as you will not be entertained or thrilled at all in my opinion.
Published on 11 Sept. 2012 by ladyluck


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Italo Infidelity, 17 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I was very pleased to see the somewhat obscure Italian eroflik 'Lady of the Night' finally released in a proper DVD format. Previously this movie only seemed available in DVD-R format editions that appeared to be copied from fuzzy VHS pan & scan releases. As noted this is a Region 2 PAL pressing from the UK - yet another 'good reason' to get a region-free DVD player! This version purports to be un-censored & un-cut - which is not all that big a deal as the sex elements are pretty soft-core to begin with - but the UK does have some pretty stringent censorship codes so this unexpurgated version may have reinstated some previously excised material. Regardless, the extent of the sexual action is basically limited to a fair amount of full female nudity and some simulated humping. The simple plot line follows the sexual mis-adventures of the heroine Angelina (played by the exceptionally curvaceous Serena Grandi) as she strays into infidelity from her 'perfect/boring' marriage. Angelina craves passion in her love making and she gets sorta turned on when she witnesses a feuding couple 'make up' after the man smacks his woman around a bit. Not likely to 'play well' with 'feminists', but this IS an Italian flik and such macho antics seem entrenched in Italian cinema. Henceforth, Angelina starts looking for guys to treat her similarly & ends up in a series of one night stands with lovers who tend to degrade her and forcefully make lust to her. Perhaps it was some of this 'violent sex' action that got the film censored - even tho the 'violence' is really pretty light-weight, and it is technically all consensual. While the story, acting, and production values are all decent it is primarily various sex scenes & copious nudity that keeps this one rolling along and Ms Grandi gives the viewer much to contemplate-she's built like the proverbial brick s-house!. She apparently starred previously in Tinto Brass's film "Miranda', and 'Lady of the Night' plays a bit like a darker Tinto Brass effort. A steamy tale of marital infidelity, female sexuality, and, ultimately, reconciliation - it is an easy & enjoyable watch. This version has a (nicely!) dubbed English soundtrack and good clear widescreen picture - extras include only one trailer for another Italian erotic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serena Grandi, 24 Feb. 2012
By 
Michael Davis "Warlock" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I have to be honest and say my only reason for purchasing this was to feast my eyes on the lovely Serena Grandi - surely one of the most beautiful women of the last thirty years. It turns out to be a half decent 80s movie about a troubled marriage, and very much more than just a skin flick. Shame about the dubbing though (no options for the original diaglogue with subtitles). Grandi is a decent actress who happens to have no qualms about nudity on camera (a kind of Italian Helen Mirren, if you will) and should warm the cockles of any but the stoniest hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80s erotica classic, 28 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film when it was shown as part of LiveTV's Exotica Erotica strand in the mid nineties and found it compelling viewing. I have searched for it since and only recently discovered it on Amazon. A worthwhile watch even if it's just a bit of eighties nostalgia you are after. The script is rather twee but that actually adds to the feel I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mmm, 30 Jun. 2014
By 
David Polhill "DP" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I realised when I watched this that I saw it on Sat1 many years ago, but still great to Serena Grandi again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 80's dated, stilted acting rubbish, 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
This film was so disappointing on every level. Wooden acting, dated in every way, dreadful American dubbing (subtitles would have been better), dreary settings and very dreary dull sex scenes. Do not buy this film as you will not be entertained or thrilled at all in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Not strong enough story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Tragically bad film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
love this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Beautiful lady of the night, 14 Aug. 2006
By 
Prasanta (calcutta,India) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased and saw the movie and can't appreciate the beauty of the lady.The price is quite high.The lady is quite aged.And the lady of the night is not beautiful though she has a fine body.The cinema is quite good but a more beautiful heroine(eg,Marushka Detmar of Devil in the flesh) instead of Ms Grandi (sic)should be there.There are many sex /erotic scenes ( which showed all except male frontal nudity) you can enjoy but some of them were not absolutely essential.The story of the cinema is most ordinary type and need not be discussed here.I will not suggest you to buy this dvd with so high a cost.Please find less costly (within 5-7 pounds) similar movie in its stead like Femalian,Frivolous Lola,Virtual encounters (all available from Amazon.com,USA)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD]
Lady Of The Night [1997] [DVD] by Piero Schivazappa (DVD - 2008)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews