Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the title "Greatest Concert Film"
It is more or less accepted that the "Sign O The Times" album represented the pinnacle of Prince's career, with its blend of songs and music styles. The level of creativity it reached has yet to be met by the diminutive one.
On its original (cinematic and video) release this film was more or less declared to be the "Greatest Concert Film" ever made. And so it...
Published on 11 Nov 2005 by P. Fuller

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you can't wait for the official release... note...
... this is NOT the Warner Bros release. This IS the same as the video release, just transferred to DVD... and not all that well- not wide-screen and no menus.
However, although the quality is a bit dodgy, and the cover is in, er, Dutch? I have to say it was an absolute thrill watching this again. The tears of glee watching the hysterics of "Housequake", the...
Published on 24 Mar 2005 by playinthesunshine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the title "Greatest Concert Film", 11 Nov 2005
By 
P. Fuller "peterfll" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince - Sign 'O' The Times [DVD] (DVD)
It is more or less accepted that the "Sign O The Times" album represented the pinnacle of Prince's career, with its blend of songs and music styles. The level of creativity it reached has yet to be met by the diminutive one.
On its original (cinematic and video) release this film was more or less declared to be the "Greatest Concert Film" ever made. And so it is. Prince and his 1987 entourage whiz, slide, jump, bounce and sleaze around the stage during the 14 songs covered. There was a new energy at work in Prince's live shows at this point, having recently ditched his Revolution band the year before. For fans new sidekicks and cohorts were introduced, with Shelia E now on drums, Boni Boyer on keyboards and supporting vocals and the frenetic Cat (Glover) providing enough bump and grind for everyone.
So its a treat to realise that with this DVD release the sound and picture have been brought right up to current day standards. This is no small feat given the age of the material. The sound is fantastic, mixed into Dolby Digital 5.1 format, which will give your surrounds and sub woofer a good work out.
Essential for Prince fans.
Perhaps someone will see fit to do a similar job on the following years Lovesexy Live concerts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you can't wait for the official release... note..., 24 Mar 2005
... this is NOT the Warner Bros release. This IS the same as the video release, just transferred to DVD... and not all that well- not wide-screen and no menus.
However, although the quality is a bit dodgy, and the cover is in, er, Dutch? I have to say it was an absolute thrill watching this again. The tears of glee watching the hysterics of "Housequake", the unapologetic sleaze of "Hot Thing", and the heartbreak soul-lifting pure joy of "Forever In My Life / It"... I canNOT wait for the official digitally remastered wide screen version to come out here... which would rate 5 stars, without question, from all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sign 'O The Times mess with your mind..., 30 Nov 2003
By 
L. A. Stanley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Capturing Prince at the peak of his artistical career, 'Sign O' The Times' is basically a concert-movie, and the best one you'll ever see at that.
As stated above 1987 was the musical peak for Prince, NOBODY could touch him, past or present, at this time and it shows...some of the stuff Prince pulls off in this film is unbelievable, every vocal is outstanding, every musical note impeccable, every move perfectly timed...the songs performed here actually better their album versions.
The video is interlinked with a wafer-thin plot involving a love triangle between Prince, and two of his dancers Cat and Wally.
When I say thin, I mean THIN...the storyline is only there really to give the film some sort of basic narrative structure and to progress the musical performances.
It's difficult to pick standout moments during the movie; Prince is practically on fire throughout the entire duration, but the almost eeiry show-opener of 'Sign O' The Times' and the incredibly funky version of 'Housequake' surely are noteworthy musical highlights.
But what else...?? take your pick...the dance frenzied funk-workout of 'Hot Thing'?, the wonderfully sensual rendition of 'Slow Love?, or how about the rousing, frenetic performance of 'I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man'?.
Near EVERY performance is a show-stopper, but for me the two undisupted highlights in the whole movie are his jaw-dropping versions of 'If I Was Your Girlfriend' and 'The Cross'.
Once I had heard side 2 of the 'Sign 'O The Times' album I never thought Prince could better what I heard on track 2...'If I Was Your Girlfriend' was pure genius and I was thinking "there's no way I am gonna hear something better from the man after this; live or studio'...that's until I heard his quite phenomenal rendition of his unusual-masterpiece on this video.
Believe it or not the track sounds even better sung by Prince in his falsetto, and it's this subtle but excellent change that transforms the song into something even better.
Equally as impressive is the awe-inspiring sight that is 'The Cross'- an electryfyingly awesome rock song which has rarely been performed better than on 'Sign 'O The Times'.
It's hard to figure out why 'Sign 'O The Times' still isn't officially available on DVD, it remains the greatest live document of Prince ever and is an essential part of anyone's collection.
I have nothing else left to say, just BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the poor-transfer Dutch release, 14 Mar 2005
Point 1: This is a fantastic pseudo-live concert movie, from Prince with one of his best band line-ups, belting their way through the material from the criminally short Sign O' The Times tour (it took in only mainland European).
Point 2: This is the Dutch release from 2004 - the transfer and sound-quality are terrible, most likely from transferred from VHS - and very badly at that.
BUT fear not! A bristling *OFFICIAL* release HAS been released, but as yet, only in Canada (REPEAT, THE CANADIAN REGION 1 RELEASE IS AT THE TIME OF WRITING THE ONLY TRUE PROPER, OFFICIAL RELEASE, TRANSFERRED FROM THE MASTER TAPES).
You can get it from Amazon.ca
So, if you order this version, don't blame Amazon.co.uk for your rubbish DVD - you should have bought the Canadian release from Amazon.ca!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince at his Best, 2 Dec 2005
By 
Duncan McLeod (Bogota, Colombia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince - Sign 'O' The Times [DVD] (DVD)
This is without any shadow of a doubt the best performance from one of the world's greatest performers. Prince has made a few suspect incursions into the world of film in his time but this is where he belongs: on a stage making music. There are a few set pieces that are truly inspired including the medley of Forever In My Life/ It and the room-shaking Housequake but there are also a few Over-The-Top montages that the Pint-Sized Purple One is prone to (but you gotta love him for those too).
Other highlights include the formidable I Could Never Take The Place of Your Man; You Got The Look; If I Was Your Girlfriend; a cool cover of Charlie Parker "Now’s the Time" and a swift rendition of his classic Little Red Corvette.
Arguably his best album, already stormingly great on vinyl have a new life breathed into them.
Magic.
Go buy it.
Now.
Well go on then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hype,the Purple One,Prince..at his absolute live best!, 31 Oct 2005
By 
V. J. Hurley (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Sign o' The Times' still remains the high watermark of Prince's musical career. He had made excellent albums before,and,made more after,but,that '86/'87 period,with it's three classic albums('Cherry Moon'/'Sign o' The Times'/'Black Album') was an artisitic statement so great,it showed just how gifted a musician Prince is.
Into the Live Arena,could Prince translate? He always had,and,with this tour,he excelled. This video came with a lot of hype,and,it was justified. It's a thrilling show,with Prince and the band on top form,complete with some funkier-than-thou funk,glorious ballads,and,some of the most searing and explosive rock'n'roll.
A testament to the incredible talent that is Prince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most amazing concerts you'll ever see!!!, 9 April 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is Prince at his very best! - no question. The band are amazing too particularly the horns adds more of a jazzy element not found on the album. I wasnt blown away by the album but the live version is amazing due to its much funkier arrangements.
Wish this was on DVD....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOUDER THAN A FUNKY BOMB!, 21 Mar 2005
This is a 2004 republication on DVD of the "Sign O' the Times" movie, originally released in 1987 and directed by Prince himself. It was shot during the Rotterdam concert, part of the Sign O' The Times tour, which has been regarded as Prince's best tour by many of those who where there in the 80s. Nonetheless, the band is one of the best he has ever had, with Dr. Fink, Sheila E., Eric Leeds, Atlanta Bliss, Miko, Levi Seacer Jr., Boni Boyer and, of course, the beautiful Cat, performing as lively as I have never seen before. Actually, the whole band was touched by the hand of God and the live performance of such songs as "Sign O' The Times", "Housequake" and "I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man" prove it. Not to mention Prince showing his skills playing the drums while Sheila E. takes the mic and goes rapping on the notes of "It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night". Furthermore, Sheena Easton appears in the video version of "You Got The Look". Needless to say, it's a must for all Prince fans and, I dare say, for all the funky and electro-funk lovers.
(Running time: 85 min., Region 0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The live show that isn't live, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince - Sign 'O' The Times [DVD] (DVD)
When Prince toured his "Sign O The Times" album he decided to release a film of the show, and so he recruited a camera crew to accompany him and the band to a date in Rotterdam. The show was filmed, but a decision was made not to take special lighting equipment, instead using the ordinary stage lighting. Upon reviewing the footage it was found to be too dark, yet the sound recording was perfect. Prince decided to return to his Paisley Park studio complex in Minneapolis, build the set on his sound stage, and redo the whole thing.

The end result is a bizarre hybrid of a live sound recording with lip-synched vocals over the top, because Prince and his band mimed the whole thing to the Rotterdam audio. Confused? Don't lose any sleep over it, and just watch the film, as it is electrifying.

First of all, ignore the "plot" as it is flimsier than a TV commercial. Secondly, don't expect the hits - most of the songs here are from the album of the same name, "Little Red Corvette" for example being nothing more than one verse and a chorus. Of the "SOTT" tracks, the titular number is spine-tinglingly good, followed by a hugely exciting double-whammy of "Play In the Sunshine" and "Housequake". The performance of "U Got The Look" is just the video from the single, stuck into the middle of the film as a dream sequence, yet it still works.

Granted, the picture and sound quality aren't great as this version of the film is just a copy from the old VHS edition, but it is still an essential purchase for any Prince fan. Until we get a "proper" release, this will do just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prince, 12 Feb 2008
This review is from: Prince - Sign 'O' The Times [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see Prince this past summer, but I had to keep reminding myself that I would not be seeing the sign of the times concert and that it wasn't 1987. Nothing will ever top this, It's just unbelievable. Prince and The Cat, (Cathey Glover) share an amazing chemitstry that can not be beaten by Mayte, Diamond and pearl or any other of the female stage side kicks he has had in the past. I urge any one who does not own this to purchase a copy immediately as you are missing a classic historical performance. In My opinion some of the best performance's are "I could never take the place of your man", "If I was your girlfriend","Forever in my life" and "Its gonna be a beuitiful night".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince - Sign 'O' The Times [DVD]
Prince - Sign 'O' The Times [DVD] by Albert Magnoli (DVD - 2005)
5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews