Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got For A Reason
Brought to add to ageing set of cd's, in NOW collection. Now just got to replace a few more then i will have full set.
Published on 15 April 2012 by Idiot

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now thats not what I call music!
I recently purchased the Now 61 album. The first cd was very good and I enjoyed listening to it. Unfortunately, the second cd is useless! Its a shame that a double album can only produce one decent cd!
Published on 17 Sep 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got For A Reason, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
Brought to add to ageing set of cd's, in NOW collection. Now just got to replace a few more then i will have full set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ALBUM, 21 Aug 2011
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
This is a good Now album and it is better than Now 60.

43 TOP CHART HITS

COMPACT DISC 1 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.James Blunt- You're Beautiful 1 40 Weeks(June-Mar)
2.2Pac ft Elton John- Ghetto Gospel 1 22 Weeks(June-Apr)
3.Coldplay- Speed Of Sound 2 17 Weeks(May-Jan)
4.Gorillaz- Feel Good Inc 2 39 Weeks(Apr-Apr)
5.The Black Eyed Peas- Don't Phunk
With My Heart 3 16 Weeks(May-Sep)
6.Audio Bullys ft Nancy Sinatra-
Shot You Down 3 17 Weeks(May-Sep)
7.Jem- They 6 15 Weeks(Mar-July)
8.Natalie Imbruglia- Shiver 8 12 Weeks(Mar-June)
9.KT Tunstall- Other Side Of The World 13 19 Weeks(May-Oct)
10.Oasis- Lyla 1 13 Weeks(May-Aug)
11.Razorlight- Somewhere Else 2 22 Weeks(Apr-Jan)
12.Bodyrockers- I Like The Way 3 39 Weeks(Apr-Feb)
13.Kaiser Chiefs- Everyday I Love
You Less And Less 10 25 Weeks(May-Mar)
14.Caesars- Jerk It Out 8 10 Weeks(Apr-July)
15.The Killers- Smile Like You Mean It 11 6 Weeks(May-July)
16.Hard-Fi- Hard To Beat 9 18 Weeks(June-Feb)
17.Weezer- Beverly Hills 9 8 Weeks(May-Feb)
18.Rob Thomas- Lonely No More 11 10 Weeks(May-July)
19.The Magic Numbers- Forever Lost 15 6 Weeks(May-July)
20.Jack Johnson- Good People 50 3 Weeks(June-July)
21.U2- Sometimes You Can't Make
It On Your Own 1 9 Weeks(Feb-Apr)

COMPACT DISC 2 Chart Peak Weeks On Chart

1.Akon- Lonely 1 16 Weeks(May-Aug)
2.Mario- Let Me Love You 2 15 Weeks(Mar-July)
3.Gwen Stefani ft Eve- Rich Girl 4 12 Weeks(Mar-June)
4.Will Smith- Switch 4 22 Weeks(Mar-Aug)
5.MVP- Roc Ya Body(Mic Check 1,2) 5 14 Weeks(June-Oct)
6.Mariah Carey- It's Like That 4 11 Weeks(Apr-June)
7.Nelly- N Dey Say 6 7 Weeks(June-Aug)
8.Bobby Valentino- Slow Down 4 10 Weeks(June-Sep)
9.Faith Evans- Again 12 6 Weeks(May-June)
10.Joss Stone- Don't Cha Wanna Ride 20 4 Weeks(July-Aug)
11.Roll Deep- The Avenue 11 7 Weeks(July-Sep)
12.Charlotte Church- Crazy Chick 2 18 Weeks(July-Jan)
13.Rachel Stevens- So Good 10 6 Weeks(July-Aug)
14.Inaya Day- Nasty Girl 9 8 Weeks(July-Sep)
15.Deep Dish- Say Hello 14 7 Weeks(July-Sep)
16.Freeloaders vs The Real Thing-
So Much Love To Give 9 7 Weeks(Apr-June)
17.Kylie Minogue- Giving You Up 6 8 Weeks(Apr-May)
18.Girls Aloud- Wake Me Up 4 9 Weeks(Feb-May)
19.Crazy Frog- Axel F 1 16 Weeks(May-Sep)
20.Tony Christie- Avenues And Alleyways 26 3 Weeks(July-Aug)
21.McFly- You've Got A Friend 1 14 Weeks(Mar-Nov)
22.Heather Small- Proud 33 3 Weeks(July-Aug)

Best Songs:

COMPACT DISC 1

James Blunt- You're Beautiful
Audio Bullys ft Nancy Sinatra- Shot You Down
Natalie Imbruglia- Shiver
KT Tunstall- The Other Side Of The World
Bodyrockers- I Like The Way
Caesars- Jerk It Out
The Killers- Smile Like You Mean It

COMPACT DISC 2

Akon- Lonely
Will Smith- Switch
Roll Deep- The Avenue
Rachel Stevens- So Good
Inaya Day- Nasty Girl
Deep Dish- Say Hello
Freeloaders vs The Real Thing- So Much Love To Give
Crazy Frog- Axel F

Artists repeated from Now 60

The Killers- Smile Like You Mean It
U2- Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own
Akon- Lonely
Gwen Stefani ft Eve- Rich Girl
Nelly- N Dey Say
Joss Stone- Don't Cha Wanna Ride
Kylie Minogue- Giving You Up
Girls Aloud- Wake Me Up
Tony Christie- Avenues And Alleyways
McFly- You've Got A Friend

Artists that appear on Now 62

Coldplay- Fix You
Gorillaz- DARE
The Black Eyed Peas- Don't Lie
KT Tunstall- Suddenly I See
Oasis- The Importance Of Being Idle
Kaiser Chiefs- I Predict A Riot
The Magic Numbers- Love Me Like You
U2- City Of Blinding Lights
Akon- Belly Dancer(Bananza)
Gwen Stefani- Hollaback Girl
Mariah Carey- We Belong Together
Rachel Stevens- I Said Never Again(But Here We Are)
Girls Aloud- Biology
McFly- I'll Be OK

7 Number 1's

James Blunt- You're Beautiful
2Pac ft Elton John- Ghetto Gospol
Oasis- Lyla
U2- Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own
Akon- Lonely
Crazy Frog- Axel F
McFly- You've Got A Friend

Release Date: 25 July 2005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Now thats not what I call music!, 17 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
I recently purchased the Now 61 album. The first cd was very good and I enjoyed listening to it. Unfortunately, the second cd is useless! Its a shame that a double album can only produce one decent cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
There is not much to say apart from the person loved it and it was a great present for anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Now That's What I Call.. another unbiased review (3.5 stars), 2 April 2006
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
Coldplay, Gorillaz, Oasis, err Crazy Frog? Yes, it can only be volume 61 of the ever-popular Now series with yet another bumper 2cd edition of 43 top chart hits - as says at the back, and as always a debatable topic - mind you 7 no 1's is nothing to be sniffed at, even though the frog and Mcfly are amongst the batch (sigh).
The inescapable (and recent US no.1) You're Beautiful kicks things off here with the summer smash from James Blunt and is followed by the excellent Ghetto Gospel, Speed Of Sound and Feel Good Inc which opens up cd1 in brilliant style, a rarity of some kind in recent editions. Black Eyed Peas, Audio Bullys, Bodyrockers, Kaiser Chiefs, Hard-fi, Rob Thomas etc keep up the pace for the majority of the album, but dear oh dear - cd2 (gulp).
Mario's Let Me Love You, Will Smith's Switch, Gwen Stefani's Rich Girl are all bright sparks on an otherwise infuriating side 2, with Nasty Girl, Lonely, Roc Ya Body and So Good facing the wrath of this particular reviewer and less said about that poxy amphibian the better - who actually bought that mess?
But Tony Christie's 70's classic (no, not Amarillo) Avenues And Alleyways and Heather Small's hope song to end all hope songs Proud are all nice touches to finish off on a somewhat rewarding note - but my god, the songs you have to endure to get there!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong as it ever was, 26 July 2005
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
School's out for the summer, and so is the latest Now, laying its now traditional claim to the kids' holiday pocket money. Not to mention the kids of somewhat older years.
The tracklisting really speaks for itself. In reflecting the mainstream pop elements of the UK chart since the last volume at Easter there is in fact very little on this collection that hasn't been on the Beeb's Radio 2 playlist, but there is still quite a lot that were on Radio 1's, so, as ever, it aims, and largely succeeds, in appealing to the great majority of pop music lovers, young and old.
Contrary to some observations it is still as up-to-date as usual - no less than 20 of the tracks were still in the UK Top 40 on its release date. As the advert tells us, seven of them have been No 1, and many more were Top Tenners. And one lesser-known statistic is that 13 tracks are either covers of, or use samples of, old hits.
Overall, it's as strong as it ever was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 16 August 2005 - Delamere Forest somewhere in England, 17 Aug 2005
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
Been out for the day today and made the choice of putting Now 61 in my car. What a superb choice!!! Every track is listenable and fantastic. James Blunt, Jem, Weezer & Deep Dish to name but a few. Even Crazy Frog was a classic today! If you have a few quid to spare my advice is to invest in this classic compilation. The Now That's What I Call Music compilations always stand and deliver in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what can i say?, 5 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
any album with the kaiser chiefs coldplay and 2pac is always going to be great!however the inclusion of charlotte church n crazy frog ring it dwn a bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appears Brill!!, 24 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
I always buy the Now albums,but am often disappointed by the number of songs I actually want to listen to, however it is different this time, as many look good. It looks better than Now 60,which I thought was really good!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta get 'em all, 6 Aug 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Music! 61 (Audio CD)
The British versions of the Now Music series always give you a big bang for your buck (or pound sterling), but this one is the best I have seen for a long time.
Forty three tracks of big songs make this a must for your 2000s music collection, as it includes artistes like:
James Blunt; the eternal 2Pac (with Sir Elton John, no less); Coldplay; Gorillaz; Black Eyed Peas; Oasis; The Killers; Weezer; Natalie Imbruglia; Rob Thomas; surfer dude Jack Johnson; U2; Akon; Gwen Stefani; Will Smith; Mariah Carey; Nelly; Faith Evans; Joss Stone; Charlotte Church (in a totally different and unrecognizable pop reincarnation); and Kylie Minogue.
It has some good songs that I wasn't familiar with, like the tracks by Audio Bullys (featuring THE Nancy Sinatra); a catchy one by Jem, titled "They"; an excellent vocal performance by K T Tunstall; Razorlight; Kaiser Chiefs with the addictive "Every Day I Love You Less and Less"; Caesars; M.V.P. (I'm still bouncing to "Rock Ya Body"; Rachel Stevens; and in typical UK fashion, a couple of "Dance" music tracks, including a funny version of "Axel F" by Crazy Frog.
Starting with a roar, it finishes less loudly with Tony Christie singing the retro "Avenues and Alleyways"; McFly with a version of James Taylor's "You've Got a Friend"; and Heather Small with her powerful vocals on "Proud".
An album that is guaranteed to have you bouncing around the house.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now That's What I Call Music! 61
Now That's What I Call Music! 61 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews