Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still leading the pack
Being a long term Whiskeytown/Ryan Adams fan, pre-ordering this CD was a no-brainer for me. However, having been one of those in the camp that found Rock 'n' Roll a little too contrived and Love is Hell adorable, but only in small doses, it was a blast to hear just how back on form this new offering is!
I've had the CD almost two weeks now and the only track I...
Published on 26 May 2005 by Jon Wood

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl lovers beware!
I am now on copy number two of this album and thought I should comment on the quality, or lack of it, of this piece of vinyl. 180g it may well be, but do not be fooled into taking this as a sign of good quality. My first copy arrived with disk one so warped that I did not even bother to risk my stylus. Whilst disk two had a much more consistent curvature, the whole way...
Published on 23 Aug. 2009 by Mr. Tp Simmons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best - but very good, 2 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Cold Roses (Audio CD)
I'm a huge, huge fan of Ryan Adams - and didn't have to think twice about pre-ordering this album, his first of 3 promised for release this year. I agree with all the other comments - in parts, it's sublime, and in parts it's weak. But overall, it's a very, very good album. I don't think he'll ever make an album like Heartbreaker - my, and many other people's, favourite. Perhaps we're just spoilt - his first 2 albums were "off-the-radar" good...fresh, exciting and new.
2 things to conclude with. Firstly, I still feel this will eclipse most other albums I buy this year. Secondly, my friend - a Ryan Adams convert - asked "Is he back to his depressing best?" and I could only answer yes.
Standout tracks, for me, are Friends and Blossom - Blossom in particular is quite stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam's Is Back & He's Brilliant!, 4 May 2005
This review is from: Cold Roses (Audio CD)
"Cold Roses" is the first of three releases from Ryan Adams this year and shows a depature in style from last year's releases "Rock and Roll" and "Love Is Hell". With his new band the Cardinal's, Ryan delivers a series of raw, country flavoured melodies across two CDs. With songs such as "Sweet Illusions", "Meadowlake Street" and the title track "Cold Roses" this is probably the closest Mr Adams has got to re-capturing the sound of his debut album "Heartbreaker" with a bit of early Whiskeytown thrown in for good measure. If you're a long time fan you won't be dissapointed, if you haven't heard of the guy before here is a good place to start. Also try "Gold" and "Demolition". It's all good tho :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middling., 1 Dec. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Roses (Audio CD)
Announcing that he was going to release three albums in one year in 2005, Ryan Adams opened his trilogy with this double album, Cold Roses. Of the three albums, this is the worst - probably a wise move to open with it, but probably a wiser move to either cut it down or not release it at all.

If you take the bonus tracks out of the equation, this album is only a minute or two longer than 2001's Gold and without doubt would fit comfortably on one disc - but it's the aesthetic that Adams wants, the arrogance, the gesture, the look of releasing a double album like so many of his heroes. One of those heroes was Neil Young, who is clearly not only an influence on Adams' super-prolific nature but also on this album. The songs end up sounding like the work of a cover band or a pastiche artist, so close to they veer to Young's electric work.

There aren't really highs or lows on Cold Roses. The album is so defiantly average throughout that the better songs scarcely stand out at all, for the most part. The title rack, 'Let It Ride' and a handful of others are all perfectly passable tracks which take off into the stratosphere live, but here are simply decent.

Only a couple of songs really go any way towards brilliance. Opener 'Magnolia Mountain' may be the closest he gets to Young on this album but it also its finest song, a spiralling, soaring piece of melodic rock that builds and builds across its six minutes. Almost as good is the lovely 'Meadowlake Street,' one of the most restrained songs on the album, the drums don't even come in for several minutes, Adams relying on a tightly plucked acoustic and his lovely falsetto to hold it together until the eventual climax. It closes with a totally out-of-place synthesiser, showing how much it doesn't belong on an album this mediocre.

Luckily from here, Adams's 2005 only got better. But when you consider the great songs on each album, you start to wonder what kind of a truly stunning single album he could have made with the best tunes from each. In the meantime, Cold Roses is only just above Demolition on the Ryan Adams buyers' guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cold Roses: Great, but lacking something, 23 Oct. 2007
By 
F. Cairns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cold Roses (Audio CD)
Cold Roses is a very easy album to listen to, it is a great one to buy if you are just getting into Ryan Adams.
For this album, Ryan is joined by The Cardinals, his backing band and they prove very useful throughout the album, adding feeling and emotion to each track, in particular: "Sweet Illusions".
Altogether, Cold Roses is a good album to have in your collection, but while listening to it, you will feel as though it is lacking some special quality.

9/10 (Great songs, but not his best)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really like this album, 19 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Roses [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I really like this album. This pressing is noisy in places but pretty clean for the mostpart and doesn't detract too much from the enjoyment of the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like an old shoe, 11 Aug. 2006
By 
Matthew Richardson "raferjanders" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cold Roses (Audio CD)
I think this is Adams' best record. It was rather ambitious and well a bit "oh really" of him to put out three records in a year when this stunner would have sufficed.

The musicianship is exemplary and his voice one of the best in the business, full of ache and longing. Meadowlake street really tugs at the old salt water. It's a beautiful album, with a country tinge without really being too country, a crime he is guilty of on follow-up Jacksonville City Nights which just sounds like red-neck hillbilly cracker sonsabitches having a heehaw at their local barn.

Cold Roses though should be more widely known as it is much more genuine than Gold. It shows Adams' strengths as a song-writer and it reinforces all the hype that surrounded him.

Brilliant stuff Ryan, please can we have more like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alt.Country by Numbers, 2 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Cold Roses (Audio CD)
Let me start off by saying that Ryan Adams is a genius. The heights to which he has risen at times are spectacular. Unfortunately he does not reach anywhere near these heights on this record. Don't get me wrong it's a solid, highly listenable offering, but that's all. Nothing on the scale of Oh My Sweet Carolina, Come Pick Me Up, Tomorrow, Avalanche, Shadowlands to name but a few. There is just the odd hint of what he is capable of ("Without any one to love you, what will you blossom into") but for the most part he just seems to be going through the motions here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Grateful it's Ryan, 29 Jun. 2008
By 
Ianham "Ianham" (Ross-shire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cold Roses (Audio CD)
Someone asked why is this CD is brokes comparison with the Grateful Dead.
The answer is ridiculously simple - some of the songs sit comfortably alongside the best the Dead had to offer. Go ask Phil Lesh (Dead bassist) - he regularly includes Magnolia Mountain, Let it Ride & cold roses in his "& Friends" shows.

What these (and the rest of the CD)share with the Dead is that they are rock solid tunes. That means that you can play them in most anyway and they sound not less than good, generally stand out and sometimes extraordinary. They can be short or long and can stand a wayward approach - with Ryan this is a distinct advantage.

The CD is fab not because it is a pastiche but because it genuinely harnesses the vibe of the Dead (at their very best) and provides songs that are in the spirit but not subserviant to the likes of Franklin's Tower or Deal. Ryan is no Jerry Garcia on the guitar (although with Neil Casal he can lay down some spiralling riffs)but he can bring a quality of voice that the the great man had difficulty in maintaining (esp in his latter years).

All that said, you buy this CD for Ryan Adams - his tunes his playing (& that of the Cardinals) . Certainly, it is more of a band record and perhaps Neil Casal should be allowed to share some of the spotlight. That niggle apart this is a fine fine record and should make more folk sit up and wash out their ears.

However great this CD is - and in my opinion it is more a 6/5 standard - it positively pales when compared with Ryan's live shows where the songs can breath. But that is a different story....

I commend this CD to the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in answer to the 2 star vinyl rating, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
wolfers "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Roses [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Ordered mine from US as price was half that of Uk price.I got this and Gold for £28 incl.p&p.
It might take a while longer to come but worth the wait.
My copy was tops.Quality vinyls, gatefold sleeve with lyric sheet and I have to say the quality was stunning, with a lovely warm feeling to the audio, particularly on balllads such as Sweet Illusions and When Will You Come Back Home.
I would highly recommend this VINYL as im guessing the person who gave a 2 star rating was unfortunate in getting a faulty copy or a copy that was just not stored properly by the dealer he/she bought from.
An epic album by any standard, up there with Strangers Almanac.CLASSIC Adams!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
By 
Joseph Scotland (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Roses (Audio CD)
one of his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold Roses
Cold Roses by Ryan Adams (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews