Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A JOY TO WATCH!
Bought this movie on the strength of the last review, and i am very glad i did.It is a kind of British version of The Harder They Come.
Norman Beaton is hilarious and i had a pleasant surprise also seeing Floella Benjamin acting the way she does! Cirtainly not Play School material.
You also get to see the Cimarons performing.
I will not spoil it for you but...
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by M. Williams

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Black Joy DVD
Could hardly understand a word of the dialect, so failed to follow the story line. Was looking forward to great West Indian Reggae
music and very disappointed with the lack of it. This film had very good reviews when first screened, but I did not see it at the time,
and had been waiting for the opportunity to watch it. Sadly this DVD has now been deposited in...
Published 8 months ago by Margaret Watts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A JOY TO WATCH!, 2 Feb 2009
By 
M. Williams (bristol.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this movie on the strength of the last review, and i am very glad i did.It is a kind of British version of The Harder They Come.
Norman Beaton is hilarious and i had a pleasant surprise also seeing Floella Benjamin acting the way she does! Cirtainly not Play School material.
You also get to see the Cimarons performing.
I will not spoil it for you but if you do like good black comedy then this is for you.I think Norman Beaton was on top performance in this film , he was such a pleasure to watch and it's sad he is no longer with us, but he isn't forgotten as long as we have companys that will release this stuff.
Just out of interest,there is a movie made in 1975 called "pressure" also starring Norman Beaton and Herbert Norville about the West Indian community in Kensington. It is available on dvd from Amazon also and is a BFI release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOYOUS!!!!!, 20 Feb 2006
By 
Ms. A. Wright "ali-ali" (birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] (DVD)
WOW!! I HAD THE PLEASURE OF WATCHING THIS FILM THE FIRST TIME AROUND IN 1977 (i was 4 years old) and it is as funny then as it is now.. the film is based on a young immigrant coming to brixton from the west indies, the story line is very similar to the jamaican film the harder they come but in an english version. Norman beaton is absoulutley superb!! i sugget that any body who likes british made west indian comedys to watch this.. you'll be laughin till you cry!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy of a film!!!!!!!, 26 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. G. Regis "Osmium" (London. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] (DVD)
I adore this film!
First of all it is a very interesting piece of fictional black british social history, and whilst the plot is thin the acting/comedy especially from the late great Norman Beaton is superb. My friend loves to quote lines from this film such as 'Me too young fi dat' and many others of a naughty nature. If you are looking for a P.C non sexist film, this is not for you but if you like a laugh then you are onto a winner!
I personally lament the decline of the British Carribean, this film will remind you of some of the good times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Joy - Then and Now, 12 Feb 2010
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] (DVD)
I was on the verge of becoming a teenager when this film hit the screens back in the late 70's. Watching it last night on DVD was truly a trip down memory lane to simpler times before mobile phones, blackberry and BUPIES - there are to many scene to pick the best one! a real social statement of growing up in black britain in the 70's. It also makes you wonder about time before central heating and vile living conditions - Brixton which is now associted with high houses and apartment maybe did have the same ring to such spleadour back in the day. Paul Medford (of east Enders Fame) Norman Beaton Steal the film along with Fionella Benjamin quicker than you can say Play School. Thsi movie will touch your heart and endear you to charecters you that you know or once knew - well worth a watch if only to apprecite how far we have come as community
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars recommended, thank you, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived quickly,item as described, recommended, thank you !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First class movie., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful movie set in 70's Brixton.
The actors the music and the whole movie is first class.
Most of the actors became household names on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Black Joy DVD, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Could hardly understand a word of the dialect, so failed to follow the story line. Was looking forward to great West Indian Reggae
music and very disappointed with the lack of it. This film had very good reviews when first screened, but I did not see it at the time,
and had been waiting for the opportunity to watch it. Sadly this DVD has now been deposited in the local Charity Shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a classic that I wanted for my collection as I saw it many tears ago as a young fella, absolutely love it nuff laughs, highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Joy, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this once on channel five and liked it, so i went out and got the dvd a few days later. If you like a nostalgic look at late seventies Brixton then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Joy [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films of all time i absolutely love this film and think that its well worth the money as films like this are hard to come by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Joy [DVD]
Black Joy [DVD] by Anthony Simmons (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £38.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews