Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!
It may be old, but its certainly not dated, the storys are gritty and realistic, and still have the power to grab you, mainly due to the quality of the writing, and the excellent, low key performances of the actors, which prevent it looking like 70's kitch.An award winner in its day, and it's easy to see why.
One question.....when's season 2 coming out?
Published on 16 Sept. 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect Region
The DVD would not even play. If buying from the UK, do not purchase this as you will be disappointed.
Published 16 months ago by Camzy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!, 16 Sept. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It may be old, but its certainly not dated, the storys are gritty and realistic, and still have the power to grab you, mainly due to the quality of the writing, and the excellent, low key performances of the actors, which prevent it looking like 70's kitch.An award winner in its day, and it's easy to see why.
One question.....when's season 2 coming out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kojak, Series 1 - That's sweet baby!, 12 Jan. 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Lt. Theo Kojak - probably one of the coolest telly detectives of them all. Played with infinite charm by Telly Savalas, Kojak is a tough New York policeman who is about as straight as you can get, doing his best to keep the innocent citizenry safe. A character with wit and intelligence, a heart, and a no-nonsense approach which allows the rules to be bent if it means bringing a villain to justice. Savalas is perfect in the role, his imposing physical presence filling the screen and his magnetic charm keeping you glued to the set. With his nattily dressed style, deep reassuring voice and well chosen naturalistic sounding `street' dialogue, Kojak is an impressive and believable construct, almost a living being rather than a work of fiction.

The joy of the series for me is that while it has a strong central character in the form of Kojak, it also has a very strong supporting cast, especially Dan Frazer as Kojak's Captain, and Kevin Dobson as Crocker, Kojak's number two. Kojak might have the brain that fits the pieces together, but the detective work shown here relies on a team, all doing the boring stuff of checking files and making endless phonecalls in order to find the clues Kojak needs. It's as much about the team as it is about the main character. That the script writers managed to make mundane policework look so interesting is a testament to their abilities. There is also quite a bit of comic interplay between Kojak and Stavros, played by Savalas' real life brother George (here credited as Demosthenes), which never feels too jokey or out of place - it comes across as tough men doing a tough job letting off a bit of steam, another credit to writers and performers.

This set contains all 22 episodes from series 1, on 6 discs. Beautifully remastered and with great sound, these look and sound fantastic. As far as I can tell the episodes are uncut. It is a real pity that the same care and attention was not taken with the release of later series. There are no extras, and the pilot episode, the Marcus Nelson murders is not included. I suspect this will be in a later release of the Kojak films, expected in March 2012.

An excellent set, a real gem in my DVD collection. 5 stars, no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kojak - Season 1 (Zone 2-4-5, Pal) - Languages and Subtitles, 7 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the zone 2-4-5 (Pal) of Kojak - Season 1 (22 episodes, 1973/74) (6 dvd's). Bar code: 5050582343717 (Universal Studios, 2004)
I'd like to complete the language informations of this edition:

Languages: English - French - German - Spanish
Subtitles: English - French - German - Spanish - Dutch

In the cover only the English (language and subtitles) is indicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just super, 9 Sept. 2007
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I can remember 'Kojak' as the number one TV show from the 1970's. A must see for Saturday night at 9.00 p.m. then!

This DVD box set brings all this back.

A must for a fan from the 1970's - a must for the new fans today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best New York Cop, 17 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Kojak is a terrific show. Great performances and chemistry from a terrific cast. No chocolate box good looks here, these are real characters played believably by real actors in a gritty situation which today's voguing TV cops in their stylised grittiness would do well to take a lesson from. The plots are suprisingly hard nosed and the episodes are often bitter sweet with more of a gallows humour of cops who have seen the seedy underbelly of society rather than other shows of the period the tone of which was far lighter and eventually degenerated into more humour than drama (Starsky & Hutch) or ridiculous premises such as McCloud (the plot of the cowboy in New York worked for Coogan's Bluff because it was a one-off and besides Dennis Weaver is no Clint).
My one complaint is the packaging. Kojak is a New York cop. New York as in Manhattan: an island with a number of bridges, beautiful bridges; the Brooklyn or Queensboro bridges over the East River the washington Bridge over the Hudson. these are good bridges, nothing wrong with these bridges so why is there a picture of San Francisco's Golden Gate bridge on the DVD cover? Dumb graphic designers. Sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still got it., 13 July 2012
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Closing in on 40 years old Kojak is still a joy to watch. I kind of remembered seeing it when I was a nipper back in the early 80"s and Kojak is a tv legend even today.

Half way through the series I've enjoyed every one and New York looks fantastic. The transfer looks better than some blu rays I've purchased.

5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic - and good !, 16 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched about half of this now, and it brings back feelings and memories of watching the original series when I was a kid in the 70s. But, even for those not of a certain age, this is good stuff. I can appreciate much more now how good Telly Savalas is in his role of the honest cop with a conscience, and his solid acting and portrayal of the strong central character carries the show. You also really get immersed in the feel of seedy 70s New York. There are 22 episodes on here, so well worth the price. If you havent seen it yet, or if you saw the original like me, give it a go. Who loves ya baby !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY SURPRISED, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
P. Williams (LIVERPOOL , ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
BOUGHT THIS AS A PRESENT FOR MY PARTNERS BIRTHDAY. WAS VERY SURPRISED . NOT THE TYPICAL ACTION AMERICAN COP SERIES WE'VE BECOME USED TO . KOJACK IS A REAL CHARACTER WITH A VERY NICE LINE IN DRY WIT. VERY ENJOYABLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair today, Gone tomorrow - me old Crocker., 22 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This TV Series did wonders for Bald - Men, for at long last they had a TV Hero they " The - Men" and many Women could look up to, while Children just loved the bit about Lollypop's.

Yes, Kojak set in New - York, was indeed a firm Favourite for many People for various reasons, and not least because of the great acting of Telly Savalas himself, whom would give ideas to his Captain about any Case's, rather than wait for any Order's in Return.

I believe this was Telly Savalas First Major TV Series, having appeared in many previous Bit - Part's in much earlier TV Series before turning to Film Acting as this was at the tail end of a period when many Film Actor's were turning to the Small Screen to find Work.

The Kojak Series being set as previously mentioned in New York, is in many ways like the TV Series, The Streets of San Francisco for whereby Kojak was dodging around Traffic-Lanes, while back in the other SFPD Area they had many long hilly Roads and "Streets" to contend with, otherwise the pace of the Action in both these TV Series is First - Class since Kojak seems to know all the Low Life around his Manhattan - South Police District, and their Father's, Brother's, Cousin's, or "The Family" etc; Coshie - Coo.

Yes, Great Stories, and Settings, - and also well worth a 5 Star-Rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telly is Terrific !, 28 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Kojak is not just a cop with a lollipop, it's a well crafted, well acted feast of great TV. Telly Savalas is superb as the tough cop with a compassionate heart and a great sense of humor but it's about team work too with Crocker,Stavros, Sepstein and the rest of the crew patroling the streets of NYC.

Hope they release the other seasons too !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kojak: Season 1 [DVD]
Kojak: Season 1 [DVD] by Telly Savalas (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews