Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman box set: You'd be Bats to miss this
A fine box set collecting the four Batman films released from 1989 to 1997. All films are the single disc versions, extras are very limited.

Batman: Tim Burton's 1989 reimagining of the Batman universe is a masterpiece. Totally eschewing the rather camp and comic Adam West style, and taking a dark path that better represented the gothic graphic strip origins...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by Victor

versus
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD box set. No extras.
This box set is worth getting if you're not looking for all the behind the scenes extras etc. that usually come with dvds. As a box set it is certainly lacking since there are no extras but I bought it just for the films so I'm happy.
Published on 8 Jan 2006 by Kidder


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman box set: You'd be Bats to miss this, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Batman Legacy (Batman/Batman Returns/Batman Forever/Batman and Robin) [DVD] (DVD)
A fine box set collecting the four Batman films released from 1989 to 1997. All films are the single disc versions, extras are very limited.

Batman: Tim Burton's 1989 reimagining of the Batman universe is a masterpiece. Totally eschewing the rather camp and comic Adam West style, and taking a dark path that better represented the gothic graphic strip origins. It was the film that set the trend for later morally complicated superhero tales with its musings on vigilantism. Burton was also rather inspired in his choice of Jack Nicholson to play the Joker, who plays a villain so charismatic and colourful that you almost favour him over the dour, brooding bat.

The film centres around the essential nature of the Batman. He is a vigilante, willing to cross the law so that he can uphold what he sees as justice for those who cannot fend for themselves. During his fight against the underworld of Gotham City he inadvertently creates a monster in the form of the Joker, brilliantly played by an unhinged Jack Nicholson. He must then fight to destroy the Joker and end the reign of terror he unleashes. At the same time he must also be Bruce Wayne, playboy billionaire, and control the conflicts within that arise from his two very different personas.

With big thrills and a decent lashing of humour along the way, along with Burton's trademark Gothic stylings this is a lot of fun that really entertains, but also a film that has a well thought through and interesting plot and character study that means it delivers on many levels. Superb.

Batman Returns: For some reason, this sequel to the original and impressive Tim Burton Batman film failed to hit the mark for me. I don't know why. Filled with Burton's typically twisted Gothic vision, with great actors in the form of Christopher Walken and Danny DeVito as the villains and a very sexy Michelle Pfeiffer in the leather catsuit it should have been a treat. But for some reason I just couldn't get into it.

Burton once again takes us on a dark trip into the soul, examining the motivations of all the villains and heroes. Michael Keaton once again impresses as the brooding Bat, walking the line between dark and light and with the split personality. The villains, while never quite matching Jack Nicholson's gleefully manic charismatic showing as the Joker all do well with memorable showings. But it really doesn't gel. Maybe it's not as dark as the original, not quite as coherent in focus now that there are more characters to look at and understand, or perhaps verging into silly at times. But for me something just does not click and it's not a film I rewatch that often. 3 stars.

Batman forever: After the supremely dark and atmospheric films with Tim Burton at the helm, the studios decided to try and go for a younger audience and hired director Joel Schumacher to helm the third film. The tone is lighter from the outset, though with Burton's hand still on the tiller in the form of producer it manages to reign it in a bit and gives a film that is the right mix of dark and camp. Val Kilmer dons the cape for this outing, and he proves to be an able Wayne/Batman, here mentoring young Dick Grayson and trying to prevent him following the same dark path. He manages to bring across all the facets of the character very well. Tommy Lee Jones has gleeful manic fun as Two-Face, the ultimate split personality. He's a bit camp and schoolboyish at times, but it's all good fun. Jim Carrey almost steals the show as the Riddler, in a role that was just perfect for his brand of OTT mannerisms. With a host of great one liners and some good ideas, this is a decent film, and probably the most entertaining of the series. It's not as dark as the first two to be sure, but it does what it sets out to do effectively and delivers a couple of hours solid entertainment. I kind of prefer the darker tone of the first film, but that's just a matter of taste. 4 stars.

Batman and Robin: I know it's a controversial view, and I am probably inviting the opprobrium of the Burton fans upon my head, but I thought Joel Schumacher's first Batman film was a pretty decent affair, managing to blend the darkness and the campness effectively to provide a good solid entertainment. So why did it all go so terribly wrong for this, his second (and perhaps mercifully) last Batman film? A film so bad that its main star (Clooney) apologised to fans for it.

First of all the script. It's just TOO campy, with too many bad jokes that make it seem more like a `60s Adam West episode rather than a continuation of Burton's dark vision. And this really hurts the film. Where there could have been great characterisation - Freeze has great potential with his devotion to his wife - it is ruined by bad jokes. Where it should have been dark, gothic horror (the creation of Bane and Poison Ivy) we are fobbed off with a third rate cartoon style that would have embarrassed the `60s series. Secondly is the plethora of characters. We now have 3 villains and three heroes to concentrate on, and as such none of them get proper screen time and it comes off as feeling like a mess and certain characters are just not used to potential (Bane is criminally mistreated here, and the whole Batgirl strand seems little more than an excuse to repeat the Michelle Pfeiffer `cute chick in leathers' role. As such no-one really makes an impression, certainly not on the heroes' side. I never thought I would say this, but Arnold Schwarzenegger walks away with the acting awards! Managing to convey some of the dark potential of Freeze. He also seems to be the only one who is having any fun. Uma Thurman as Poison Ivy is pretty dire, though that is more through bad direction than her ability.

In all a terrible effort, especially after the majesty of Burton's originals, and the good solid fun of Schumacher's previous effort. 1 star only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD box set. No extras., 8 Jan 2006
By 
Kidder (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Batman Legacy (Batman/Batman Returns/Batman Forever/Batman and Robin) [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is worth getting if you're not looking for all the behind the scenes extras etc. that usually come with dvds. As a box set it is certainly lacking since there are no extras but I bought it just for the films so I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the first two and some great extras, 3 April 2011
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I were looking to buy any of the original Batman series on Blu-ray, then I'd quite happily go for the darker Tim Burton titles as standalone releases. However, for only a couple of pounds more you get not only films three and four but also some extensive, fascinating bonus features that justify the purchase.

In particular, the final part of the 'Shadows of the Bat' retrospective that appears on the Batman & Robin disc includes some refreshingly candid interviews. The more colourful Joel Schumacher instalments were a result of studio interference following the comparatively weak box-office performance of Batman Returns. While those who provide the film's financing have a duty to protect their investment, once they start dictating what happens creatively, disaster usually ensues. This documentary is a salutary tale for budding executives everywhere and shows how things can go horribly wrong when they cross the line, bringing a hitherto successful franchise to a halt.

One could argue that Schumacher was not the best director to have taken the series forward, but given a dreadful script that went into character overload and had to shoehorn in as many merchandising opportunities as possible, it's hard to see how he could have succeeded. Thankfully, his future projects, such as The Phantom of the Opera (2004), were more in keeping with his theatrical sensibilities.

This set includes some fine picture transfers and all the soundtracks are in Dolby TrueHD 5.1. Each film is contained in its own standard Blu-ray keepcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman for moment, 16 Nov 2009
Batman Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 1.0: Brazilian Portuguese, Latin Spanish.

Batman Returns Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English 5.1, German, Italian, French.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Latin Spanish.
Dolby Digital 1.0: Castilian Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese.

Batman Forever Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Brazilian Portuguese.
Latin Spanish 2S.

Batman & Robin Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Brazilian Portuguese, Latin Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reasons to get this set, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Others have discussed the reasons to get these Blu-rays seperately and,yes, I can see their point. But hear me out here.

For around the same price as the first 2 films alone you're getting all 4 movies.
The third movie is entertaining and still has some Burton influence.
If you have kids then the fourth movie is not wasted. I know so many kids who love Batman and Robin. Besides, despite its faults the film has Uma and Alicia for the dads and George for the mums!

The transfers are all pretty good (though Batman will never look as good as the more recent Anniversary Blu-ray release) and the extras span all four discs including music videos and interesting retrospectives as well as interviews with DC's staff.

So, there you have it, plenty of reasons to buy this Blu-ray set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars And where is the Batman?, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Andrew Driscoll (Merthyr Tydfil, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a box set that goes from the sublime to the ridiculous!

It contains the four Burton/Schumacher films from the 80s and 90s, which are a mixed bag.

The first two films (the Burton 2) are outstanding, Michael Keaton is an unexpectedly excellent Batman/Bruce Wayne, the tone is dark, there are some outstanding performances from the antagonists (in particular Jack Nicholson's Joker in the first). These two films are worth the entry fee alone.

Then Burton left us and we moved to Joel Schumacher directing. Keaton also gone, replaced with Val Kilmer. This gives us the third film, Batman Forever. Mixed bag here, Jim Carrey essentially plays an slightly OTT version of selfish as Riddler, and it's perfect, he plays deranged/crazy perfectly. On the other hand, Tommy Lee Jones is horribly miscast as Two Face (Dent being played by Billy Dee Williams prior to this, but I can't see that working either).

The tone isn't so dark anymore, it's now a bit crazy, a bit over the top. Val is decent, Robin is added to negative affect. Bit I still enjoy the film.

However what loses the set a star is Batman and Robin. Oh such a bad bad film. Awful performances from new Batman George Clooney (I can only assume Val read the script and got out of Gotham), Arnie dropping puns for the entire film as Mr Freeze. An awful representation of Bane (now of course done much better), Poison Ivy is about the best here, but far from even passable.

Generally speaking, this is worth picking up for the first 3 films, then use the forth as a coaster. Decent extras are present also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman Box set., 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Box set is all you need if you,re a Batman fan. It has the first 4 Batman films all in one. I think it has been updated as the other Box set had 4 separate Blu-Rays in each case. now theres just to cases with 2 Discs in each one. I suppose it,s to reduce storage problems if you haven,t alot of space, being it,s half the Thickness of the original Box set. A very good Buy, really pleased with my order from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all Batman fans, even if..., 4 Mar 2014
By 
Sara "SG" (PT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must have for all Batman fans, even if Batman Forever and Batman & Robin (3rd and 4th respectively) are disposable. I wanted the 2 first ones from Tim Burton but the price is an excelent opportunity for every fan collection. BTW: I confirm the Portuguese (portugal) subtitles are very good and all the extras have them. These extras are very very cool to watch too. Just buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bat Pack!!!!, 5 Aug 2010
By 
George Henderson "GMH" (SLIGO ROI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The four movies presented here vary greatly in quality Batman (1989)being undoubtedly the best and the last two Batman Forever
/Batman and Robin being distinctly weaker.The offer price is a big draw here.You get 4 movies on blu-ray for 17.99.Batman (1989)contains an impressive set of extras docs detail the history of Batman the character and the development of the movie
and if that weren't enough theres an extensive making of also coupled with brief hero and villain profiles and prince music videos and a Burton commentary this disc alone justifies the cost.Batman returns carries on the extensive extras in similar vein.All the movies look good on blu-ray apart from the odd grainy bit here and there and the sound is spot on.Well worth the asking price and a decent companion piece to the later movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holy Smokes Batman......, 2 April 2007
This review is from: The Batman Legacy (Batman/Batman Returns/Batman Forever/Batman and Robin) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a decent enough boxset with the first four feature films of Batman. This boxset contains the single DVD editions of the movies, which have little in the way of extras.

So this boxset is ideal if you just want to own or make up your Batman movie collection, however if you want more indepth viewing buy the 2 DVD Editions available seperatly or wait until there is a new boxset with the the 2 DVD Editions and the recent 5th presequel movie Batman Begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews