Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


176 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8 megapixal with hypercrystal display
The olympus mju 800 is a superb camera with a 8 megapixal ccd you can enlarge well above a3 size in extremly clear clarity. it has a 3x zoom which is standard on all compact cameras. it has a weatherproof body this is good for being out in the elements but remember the camera is not waterproof, a waterproof case will set you back around 200 pounds. On the back side of...
Published on 20 Sep 2005 by m tennant

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Camera, Poor Shutter Speed
When I got this camera a year ago, it was [...], which for 8MP was a bargain!
Overall, a year on, i'm having to consider buying a new camera. Unlike many point and shoots, this camera suffers from bad shutter lag - meaning that in order to make full useage of the 8MP on offer, one has to take a photo in perfect light, or with flash. The preset modes are not very...
Published on 10 Feb 2007 by Mr. Brian Callagher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

176 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 8 megapixal with hypercrystal display, 20 Sep 2005
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
The olympus mju 800 is a superb camera with a 8 megapixal ccd you can enlarge well above a3 size in extremly clear clarity. it has a 3x zoom which is standard on all compact cameras. it has a weatherproof body this is good for being out in the elements but remember the camera is not waterproof, a waterproof case will set you back around 200 pounds. On the back side of the camera you get an extremely clear hypercrystal lcd display. a Hypercrystal display is much clearer than just your average lcd. The camera has plenty of scene modes for you to use including : cusine, fireworks, documents, snow, sport and underwater ( underwater scene mode must be combined with underwater case). The camera has a high quality macro mode that goes as close as 3cm ideal for fine detailed work. The macro mode on olympus cameras is one of the high points. The camera comes with 32mb internal memory which is not a great deal for a 8 megapixal camera i recommend you buy at least a 256mb xd card to supplement this. In the box you get the camera, a neck strap, an av lead (to hook up your camera to your tv to slideshow your photos through it), a lithium battery, a battery charger, a usb cable ( to copy your photos to your pc), software ( to alow editing on your pc) and an instruction manual. my only complaints are that it does not have a bigger memory included and that it does not come with a case. If You dont mind buying a cse and a memory card then this is a very good stylish camera ideal for intermediate camera users
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Camera, Excelent price, Excelent Service., 8 May 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
The Olympus micro-digital 800 is my first digital camera. For the price, this is the best on the market. This is one excelent camera. Very sharp and very easy to use. It performs particularly well in low light. Catches every detail. You can switch off the flash and still pick up the light. The anti-blurring works very well for me. The scene selection is easy to use and effective. I was looking at the latest Sony's before the purchase but they simply can't compete. It is the right size too. This is the camera for all casual use occasions. The best feature being the LCD display. This is superb. The on camera help screens feature is also very good and necessary as most of the instructions are on the CD. I don't think that the full 8megaPixels are fully utilised to their optimum as close examination of the pictures show noise. But this does not matter as clarity at normal view zooming is excelent. I would recommend going for at least a 512mB xDmemory, but for the most convenience go for the full 1GB xDmemory, as the price difference is minimal. (You Get 500+ pics full res on this card!!!).

Amazon have been very prompt in delivering the camera and the price is the best on the web. Can't fault them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Handbag Camera, 25 Jan 2006
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
I recently bought a Mju 800 for my wife. As an "always-ready" camera for carrying around in a handbag it cannot be faulted: it is lightweight, not bulky and, unlike another reviewer's experience, the camera came with a soft material draw-string bag (I cannot call it a case) that protects it as it rattles around with all the other contents of the handbag.
The results are superb and will easily enlarge to A3 on the best quality settings. The camera is very slick in going from 'off' to 'ready' and seems to focus, etc. quickly - all of which helps to capture 'the moment'. The LCD is bright and clear - quite essential since there is no other means of picture composition (i.e. no viewfinder). I am surprised how long the battery seems to last between charges. The separate battery charger is small and light and does not take up much more room in this notorious handbag.
It is disappointing that there is not more built-in memory. On the best quality settings the camera has a capacity of about 5 pictures and this makes the acquisition of an XD Picture Card essential. A 512 Mb card gives about 125 pictures on the best setting. I agree with another reviewer that the Olympus Master software that ships with the camera is a mediocre product, consider using an alternative. For me the controls are a little small and fiddly but my wife manages well with her smaller fingers. I find altering the camera settings a little tedious as it is all achieved via the built-in software and arrow-keys but this does keep the number of physical controls and buttons on the camera to a minimum. Olympus provide 19 preset settings for common situations that are a godsend for users who do not want to make decisions on ISOs, apertures, shutter speeds, etc. I have a concern that the latch holding the battery in place is a little flimsy; this will get a lot of use over time as there is no in-place recharging.
Finally although the compactness and lightweight of the camera are on balance advantages you do have to be aware of camera shake when taking pictures; you must employ the 'squeeze' rather than the 'press' method but that's good practice anyway.
In summary this is the best camera I have seen for those continuing the 'Box Brownie' tradition or for making a fine record of those occasions when anything more elaborate would be awkward and intrusive. It is not a SLR or field camera replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb buy, 1 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
i am not a camera expert.so i cannot comment much on the technical aspects.but overall i found it more than worth the price.most people cannot believe that an 8 mp camera can come at this price.the lcd display is huge and very clear.i went for a 1 gb memory card which can store upto 500 odd 8mp pictures.so i would recommend at least 512 mb memory card.camera is very light and easy to use.i have not used the software yet so cannot comment on that.the only drawback i found is that they do not provide its own cover and you ll have to buy ur own cover.and the olympus cover for this camera costs 25 £ and eventhough compact and genuine leather is not very impressive as it is open on one side making it not very convenient during drizzling days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 Weddings and not one bad photo!!, 26 Nov 2006
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
As I had six weddings to go to this summer this camera truly did get a good testing ground for different scenes, lighting and environments. The camera is brillant, the perfect size, with easy to understand buttons. It can quickly open and take a photo from being off, therefore not missing a surprising shot. In the sun you can see the screen a lot better than other didgital cameras I have used.

As it has 8mp you can still crop photos but keep the clarity of the photographs. The true test was in a back garden in the early hours of the morning only lit by candles set on tables, by the naked eye I could barely see a thing, took photos of the dancefloor and was amazed when the next day how clear the photos were that were produced.

I can't think of any bad points about this camera, I looked at different cameras for around three months before deciding to purchase this camera and it was the best decision I have ever made.

SUMMARY :-

Good size (not too small to be held, not too big to fit in your bag)

Quick shutter speed to take photos at opptune moments

Good sized and clear screen

Easy to use buttons and controls (including a number of different scene selections)

Fantastic performance in minimal light settings

Movie mode and sound capability (good for digi camera)

Good red eye reduction (only occured in extreme darkness settings)

Zoom capability good (especially near the back of weddings could still get close view of the Bride and Groom)

Good battery life

No you don't receive a carry case or photo card (but this is rare for digi cameras, only cost me an extra 35 for case and a 1GB olympus card which holds an extreme amounts of Pics and movie clips)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Camera, Poor Shutter Speed, 10 Feb 2007
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
When I got this camera a year ago, it was [...], which for 8MP was a bargain!
Overall, a year on, i'm having to consider buying a new camera. Unlike many point and shoots, this camera suffers from bad shutter lag - meaning that in order to make full useage of the 8MP on offer, one has to take a photo in perfect light, or with flash. The preset modes are not very helpful. And while shooting at nighttime with any camera is a problem, with this one it's particularly bad. It takes a lot of effort to get good results. If you're after a point and shoot, i'd recommend something a little cheaper. If you're after something that's reliable and will serve well in at a moment's notice - i'd recommend a digital SLR.

Sadly, this camera is stuck in the middle ground and is difficult to get great pictures out of as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb all round camera, 11 Jun 2006
By 
J. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
I've just got back from holidays so have given this camera a lot of use. I did buy an additional memory card so I could store more pics. This camera is easy to use, great view display, really compact so easy to put in your handbag and I never needed to recharge the battery for the whole of the last fortnight. I've now downloaded them onto my pc and I am very impressed. This is my third digital camera and at last I've found one that I am totally happy with.........definitely to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round camera, 14 Dec 2006
By 
Mrs. Emily Baker "e baker" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
This was my first digital camera so I took sometime choosing one. It has exceeded my expectations anyway. It's first major usage was on holiday in France with 10 friends when it came into it's own - the visual display at the back is a good size and adapts to the surrounding light really well so you can always see the image, this was particularly good when taking night photo's. The menu is easy to use - I have since used it for sunsets, fireworks and more, all with great results. The only feature that is not to my taste, which I discovered by accident and caused great amusement was the background music when viewing the images on the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 21 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
This is one of the best camera's I have ever seen. It is truly amazing. It is worth every penny. The LCD screen is excellent. Many scene modes and great pictures that can be viewed on tv. Very good software supplied. Easy to use. I will recommend to everybody. Also, the recorded footage is amazing quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A few problems but a great camera, 11 Jan 2008
By 
Stuart J. Clark "stuartclark" (South East, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom] (Electronics)
This has been a fantasi purchase the picture quality has shocked everybosy that has used it or seen the photos. the display is great and easy to use. Software is basic but has done everything that I need it to do although it doesnt like me moving photos between folders because of the way it is set yp although think that has had more to do with use error than the software.

I have had a couple of problems with the lens cover not opening and therefore the camera was inoprable. However Olympus were very good and fixed the problem for me within a few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Olympus Mju 800 [8MP, 3 x Optical Zoom]
Used & New from: 109.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews