Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masked Madman
1st Rey Mysterio vs Eddie Guerrero

A classic feud between friends including a

great corkscrew over the ropes - good opener

8/10

2nd Money in the bank ladder match

Jericho v Benoit v Benjamin v Edge v Christian v Kane

A good match although Kane gets up too quickly after getting

hit by a flying...
Published on 30 July 2006 by The Champion

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WWE AT ITS MOST AVERAGE
I have to admit I was was one of those people out there that was so into this Pay Per View that I payed £15 on SKY BOX OFFICE just to feel the emotion of this legendary Genre of WWE/F PPV but did I get my money's worth?
The Show was made up of some legendary moments such as " The return of Hulk Hogan " which I thought was outshadowed by the return of Eugene(hasn't...
Published on 24 Jun 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masked Madman, 30 July 2006
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
1st Rey Mysterio vs Eddie Guerrero

A classic feud between friends including a

great corkscrew over the ropes - good opener

8/10

2nd Money in the bank ladder match

Jericho v Benoit v Benjamin v Edge v Christian v Kane

A good match although Kane gets up too quickly after getting

hit by a flying headbutt from the top of the ladder- wrong man won

9/10

3rd Undertaker vs Randy Orton

A good match in which Orton performed consitently well his dad even came and hit Taker with the cast but in the end it wasn't Orton's night

7/10

4th Trish(c) vs Christy Hemme (w)Lita

Not a very good diva match but Trish dus carry it through

5/10

5th Shawn Michaels vs Kurt Angle

BEST MATCH EVER!!!! Although i like Kurt i believe Mr wrestlemania,HBK,the icon is the best wrestler ever- wrong guy won

10/10

6th Pipers Pit

Wouldn't have been that good if Carlito hadn't shown up. It was good watchin Piper and Steve fight again and drinkin beer

9/10

7th Sumo Big Show vs Akebono

Big show did well considering it was his first sumo match but it took a while to start and was quite quick

6/10

8th WWE Championship JBL(c)vs John Cena

Although i'm not a fan of JBL he did perform better then Cena and did sum kl neckbreakers outside the ring.

8/10

9th World Heavyweight Triple H(c) vs Batista

It just goes to shoow wether triple wins loses or even wen he was in DX he always performs well

9/10

There are also hours of extras including hollywood boulevard WWE and a battle royal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrestlemania XXI review, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
I wrote a review for the american one of this a long while ago so here's a slighty altered version of it
Much more focused and less filler than last year's XX (you could hear a pin drop during the fatal four way tag matches at XX from both respective brands), I think Wrestlemania XXI, although it does have one of two weak matches, It does live up to the hype and shows us that the WWE can still put an incredible show when it needs to.... (as they did again at the also fantastic Vengeance 2005)...
Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio -
A fantastic underrated opener, Eddie and Rey completely surprised me with their perfect reversals and near falls and sets up Guerrero`s heel turn perfectly (even though the storyline is now laughably bad and has go on way to long, including Eddie revealing he's the father of Rey's son and 'sweet jesus' actually trying to gain custody of Rey's son, and at the time of writing has done nothing but hinder both men's career's its made Rey look stupid but not weak, they had him beat Christian last week....sigh), its always hard to pull off a face vs. face match but Guerrero and Rey did it beautifully - 8/10
Money in the Bank Ladder Match - Winner gets a contract that gives them a World title shot that lasts up to a year -
Thoroughly excellent, this match delivered bump after intense bump, of non-stop mayhem, Benoit (who after what looked like breaking his arm, did a DIVING HEADBUTT OFF A LADDER to Kane) and Benjamin (who RAN UP A LADDER and clotheslined Jericho off it!) both delivered stellar performances, Kane was in typical "monster mode" and Jericho and Christian both were great as usual, Edge was very good but seem to do much more than the ending.... - 9/10
Funny intermission involving Eugene who seemed REAL excited to be at Mania and provided some laughs, which was then ruined by Hassan and his lil' rambler Davari beating him up before OH MY GOD ALMIGHTY, ITS HULK HOGAN BWAAAH! So the crowd cheered, and Hulk kicked Hassan's and Davari's asses and people are all excited and Hulk Hogan breaks into his VERY long posing routine and I die a little more inside...(sorry, I'm no "Hulkamaniac")
Randy Orton vs. The Undertaker -
Great storyline leading up to this match about the deadman's winning streak, good ol' Taker delivered another great performance and Orton finally seem's to have escaped the baby face slump he was in and now as a fully fledged heel performed excellently with a shoulder injury, some great near falls and reversal's (choke slam into RKO? INCREDIBLE!), it had a fairly slow start though and really should have been a gimmick match (Casket or HIAC),good seeing Taker coming out on top though (I was ready to stop watching WWE programming if they chose to end Taker's undefeated streak with of all people, Randy Orton) - 8/10
Christy Hemme vs. Trish Stratus - Women's Championship Match -
The beautiful Trish carry's the horribly green Christy (my god, the women's division in the WWE is practically dead if this is the best baby face women's wrestler they can get)through an actually okay match but in the end Trishalicous beat Christy clean with a swift kick - 6/10
Shawn Michaels vs. Kurt Angle -
Man, HBK and Angle are fantastic, what more could you ask for from the two greatest performers of our generation! Intensity fuelled, amazing high flying (HBK did a moonsault to Angle on the announcers table!) technical showcase, this was a blast to watch, it started out Old School as both HBK and Angle applied holds to each other and tried to fight out of them, then it slowly turned to the WWE of today, with each wrestler throwing just about every move in the book at each other, with reversal after near fall after reversal, it was simply poetry in wrestling motion, amazingly paced and both men performed so brilliantly its hard to believe their ages, in a word, AWESOME! (especially seeing the Angle Slam from the top rope!) - 10/10
Akebono vs. Big Show - Sumo Match -
This was...okay, look let's be honest the "biggest match in Wrestlemania history" (Good lord, Tazz and Michael Cole are idiots) never was going to be showstopper (more like a slowslower, or a snoresnorer considering I found it hard to stay awake during those awful promos for this match on Smackdown!) but it was competitive for a...sumo match, even though Show lost (I'm speechless really) - 5/10
PIPER'S PIT, WITH SPECAIL GUEST STONE COLD STEVE AUSTIN: Hell Yeah! First minutes between the Hot Rod and the Texas Rattlesnake were awesome and then the frankly brilliant Carlito came out to tell the two that they were not "cool", getting a stunner for his troubles, then Piper and Austin pop open a few cold one's and Roddy gets "stunned"!
John Cena vs. JBL - WWE Championship Match -
JBL who after holding the WWE championship for 10 months (in my opinion, a underated heel champ, wrestling god reign) and beating top guys; Eddie, Undertaker, Angle, Big Show, Booker T and more in the most brutal, long, bloody encounters in recent memory, loses the title in 12 minutes to John Cena in an awful match, with no near falls, one reversal (count em' ONE ) I realise they had to cut down the match time because of the (boring) hall of fame ceremony, but come on! If there was one match on the card practically crying out for a gimmick stipulation this was it, this was one sided garbage, barely acceptable on Smackdown! Let alone on the grandest stage of them all at Wrestlemania, the disappointment of the year (they sort of made up for it at jugdement day with their voilent I Quit match) - 3/10
HALL OF FAME INTERMISSION: Uh yeah, this covers the ah..... Hall of Fame induction ceremony that took place the day before Mania and then it brings out all of the guys out on the main stage who all get silence except *sigh* Hogan! Still though it's a nice way to calm your nerve's after that rubbish performance by John Cena and JBL, but it only increases your hunger for....
THE MAIN EVENT: Batista vs. Triple H - World Heavyweight Championship Match -
Feeding off their fantastically intense storyline they had on RAW, Triple H did what many thought was impossible, he carried Dave Batista through a fantastic match that went over 20 mins, filled with power moves from The Animal but crucially proper offence from the Game as well it managed to be absolutely blinding, although it didn't hide Batista's weaknesses he more than made up for it (and unlike Goldberg he seems to know the timing of his move's right) in an absolutely mind blowing finish (The look on The Game's face and reaction from the crowd as Batista powers out of the Pedigree is incredible) the crowd was into it too, showing no matter how Batista fares as the World champ he's definitely over with the fans- 9/10
Now WWE get down to releasing a Kurt Angle DVD, I mean if you can make one for (dear GOD) John Cena, then surely you can make one for our Olympic HERO, just make sure you include loads of his great PPV matches and his pure comedy gold promo's as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 25 July 2005
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
There were a lot less matches at this year's Wrestlemania than last year (12 matches at Wrestlemania 20 , only 8 at this event), which I thought was surprising. However, this doesn't manage to lower the quality of the event.
The card is started with a match between then-Tag Team Champs Rey Mysterio and Eddie Guerrero (wasn't this guy main-eventing this PPV last year?). It's a good match, and just what you'd expect from these two. This was the start of the feud between the two.
The Money In The Bank Ladder Match is next (not sure why this is only match #2). You can't go wrong when you stick six Raw superstars and a ladder (actually, quite a few ladders) in a ring together. High spots everywhere. Too many to mention.
The first of two Interpromotional matches follows, when Randy Orton takes on The Undertaker. After watching this a second time, I realised that this was better than I thought. Orton's counter of the Chokeslam into an RKO is impressive.
The fun stops for a bit though, when Trish Stratus defends the Women's Title against Raw Diva Search Winner, Christy Hemme. Nobody expected this to be brilliant, and they were right. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't awful, but the WWE probably shouldn't have put someone with little wrestling ability in a title match at Wrestlemania. Trish has some 'unique ring attire' as JR put it.
Kurt Angle VS. Shawn Michaels? That sounds like a good match for Wrestlemania. Though it starts out a little slow, this match turns into the kind of match you would expect when you put two stars like Angle and Michaels in a match together. Well done to both of them.
After this great display of wrestling, we get...a Sumo Match?? All righty. Former pro sumo wrestler Akebono and the Big Show collide (I mean that literally) on the grand stage. This match was pretty pointless, but seeing Show in a sumo outfit was kinda funny.
The two main events are next. First, JBL defends his WWE Title against John Cena in a disappointinlgy average match. There jsut seemed to be something missing from this match. JBL had held the gold for over 9 months at this point, and the outcome should have felt more important.
The last match of the night is the World Heavyweight Title match between former Evolution buddies, Triple H and Batista. For the second time, Triple H is played to the ring by Motorhead. Both times, they seem to have brought him the same luck... Anyway, the match was better than expected, with HHH even getting busted open during it. A decent finish to a decent Wrestlemania.
This is isn't an event that you should get for just one match. With the exceptions of the Sumo Match, the Women's Title match and the WWE Championship match, all the matches range from pretty good to brilliant. If you haven't got it just now, you probably won't regret it if you buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GREAT WRESTLEMANIA!!, 6 Dec 2009
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
If only the WWE Championship match was good and there was no sumo match this quite possibly would be on the the best Wrestlemania event of all time!!!!! yet its still FANTASTIC.
2005 hosted the 21st edition of the biggest event in wrestling known simply as Wrestlemania, and for the first tiem Wrestlemaniawent Hollywood with a great and unique vibe and some unforgettable parody trailers gave this Wrestlemania a unique feel that will never be duplicated. The staples center in Los Angeles, California hosted the event, and while it wasnt the 70,000 arena that have become a trademark in the Wrestlemania history, this felt as epic and as big as any Wrestlemania i can recall, and it was only fitting the theme of the event was entitled "bigtime" by the Soundtrack of our lives. The event was headlined by the highly anticapted first meeting between Batista and Triple H, John Cena and JBL and of course Shawn Michaels and Kurt Angle. It also contained the very first Money in the Bank ladder match

A great nostalgia moment would occur in which Mohammad Hussan would interupt Eugene and complain why he wasnt a feature on the show. Him and Diavari would beat down Eugene and then out of nowhere, Hogan appeared to save the day as the crowd went absolutely wild! Great Wrestlemania moment, and notably the last for Hogan, infact the last for all these men

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Batista vs. Triple H-Wow, i have never seen such a perfectly done turn in my life! The anticaption for this match was through the roof. Batista had turn on his mentor, won the Rumble after eliminating John Cena and after weeks of Triple H trying to convince Batista to challenge JBL on Smackdown, in the contract signing he would make his intentions clear that he is coming for only one Championship, and that was the game, which led to Batista Powerbombing the Game through a table that was the highest rated RAW segment in years. The stage was set for what was arguably the most anticapted Wrestlemania Main Event since The Rock vs Stone Cold 4 years prior.Great entrance by Triple h in which he was played to the ring by Motorhead, and a rather dodgy entrance from Batista! Anyways the match started really bad, and i mean really bad, i was worried this would be the worst Main Event in Mania history considering the limitations of both men, but thank God these two tore it up after 10 minutes of stalling, and from their the match was a back and forth, physical, bloody affair, in which Triple h showed he can put on a great wrestling match. The final minutes were great, Triple H tried to go for the Pedigree, but Batista reversed it in a modified body slam and then hit an emphatic Batista Bomb for the win. Great, not the best Wrestlemania main event you will ever see but far from the worst-8.5/10

Hall of Fame - Class of 2005- great segment. These big legends were part of the period in the 80's when wrestling truly became worldwide and got a reception their great careers deserved, none more so than the immortal Hulk Hogan, the biggest name in the history of the industry

WWE Championship Match
John Cena vs. JBL-Simply an anti-climatic Main Event. i was really looking forward to this bout, equally as much as Batista/HHH match, mainly because of the superb build and story, and people thinking is this the time JBL finally loses his title after a great and highly controversial 9month reign. Though i knew it wont be a technical clasic, i hoped it would be a great brawl as that is what works for these two men considering their limitations in the ring, but instead we got an anti-climatic, one sided affair in which JBL dominated practically the majority of the match until John Cena out of nowhere won with the FU. However, after second viewing, the match was much better than i remembered, as Cena showed the fighting spirit to counter here and there, that never say die attitude. Maybe when i watch a match with extremely low expectations i tend to be entertained by it more than expected. Not bad, some of the offense from both men was good but could of been so much better, and to top it off i cant recall a single pinfall apart from the one that ended the bout. Yet it was an iconic moment as it was Cena's first of many title wins and he would celebrate with the crowd. Above average match, and damn close to being good, but will forever be a disapointment-6.510

Sumo Match
Big Show vs. Akebono- the least said the better. Not a wrestling match, but i do rate things good if i was entertained, sadly, i wasnt entertained here-1/10 1 for they ended it quickly

Stone Cold Steve Austin on Piper's Pit- great interesting segment. Anytime you get to see Austin and Piper in the ring you are bound to get an entertaining spectacle. Carlito made this even more entertaining and as usual with every Austin segment, he stuns someone, celebrates with a couple of beers with the other and then stuns him. He has done that an uncountable amount of times yet it never gets boring for either me, the live crowd or the majority of the WWE universe

Kurt Angle vs. Shawn Michaels- Stunning, perfectly done. The story, the hype, the build up, the promos, the match. I might go as far as saying this is the greatest one on one match in the history of the World Wrestling Entertainment company. The common perception of what would go down was a good but disapointing match, as both men were past their prime and couldnt possibly pull of a match as good as they can, but this couldnt be any further from the truth!. The stardown before the start just gave me goosebumps. The 1st 10 minutes was ok, as it was mostly mat based wrestling, it did appear to drag on too long but at the end it was all done to play towards the story, however i almost gave it below 5stars because of that, but once they got out the ring , they pulled out all the stops, and left it all in the ring. Springboard plancha on the table, Angle Slam on the ring post, missed moonsault, Top rope Angle Slam, just some of the amazing moves pulled off by two of the best ever. The ending was incredible, the ankle Lock was locked for 2 minutes until HBK finally gave up. Im not sure if this is these twos best match ( 1st Hell in a Cell and vs Benoit is HBK's and Angle's best matches respectively) but the match was maybe the best match in mania history. Watch this instantly, the 1st 10 or so minutes may disappoint you, but the rest will astound you-10/10 and that is RARE

Women's Championship Match
Christy Hemme vs. Trish Stratus- Not bad, considering christy was in this. Trish was basically wrestling herself, and she showed why shes the best modern day female wrestler. Acceptable, but i wouldnt watch this again. A shame Lita was injured as she would of been wrestling Trish instead and that would of been a great inclusion to the show, but we got this instead-5/10

Legend vs. Legend Killer
Undertaker vs. Randy Orton- Wow, why the hell do people look down on this match, at the time it was arguably the best match of Undertakers Wrestlemania streak, and quite possibly in the top 20 Mania matches i can recall seeing! Seriously. The build up was good, though was clearly thrown together to get these two on the show, and with the way Orton had been built for 2years as the future of the industry, you truly believed the stage was set for him to cement his legacy and become the first man to beat Undertaker at Wrestlemania, it wasnt to be but these two tore the house down! the pace was superb, and even though a fair share of moves were botched, the impact of each move was great. Great back and forth physical match that almost stole the show. Orton almost ended takers streak by beautifully countering the Chokeslam into an RKO that had the crowd on their feet and gasping for air when Taker kicked out for a close 2 count. and Orton's Father and Hall of Fame inductee, Bob Orton, who was a crucial part of the story and was begging Taker to spare his son interfered. In the end Taker countered Orton's vain attempt at a Tombstone into a Tombstone of his own for the 3. Superb stuff-9/10

Money-In-The-Bank Ladder Match
Christian vs. Edge vs. Chris Benoit vs. Kane vs. Chris Jericho vs. Shelton Benjamin- The first Money in the Bank in history, a match concept brought up by Jericho and executed by Eric Bischoff. Looking back it was just a chance to get these 6 great upper midcard wrestlers to get on the show and showcase their abilities, but due to the overwhelming success of the match it has now become a staple of Wrestlemania. I think this in my eyes is the est ladder match i have ever seen, and thats saying alot considering the crazy Ladder matches we have seen over the years, no more so than at Wrestlemania. Non stop action from even before the bell rung, as the 5 wrestlers attacked Kane as he was making his way to the ring( great visual during his entrance of flaming tables btw). The match started off at a frantic pace and never slowed down, first they all hit high risk moves onto their opponents( even Kane!) and then once the Ladders got involved, this match reached a new level of craziness. I love Edge how he play his role as an opportunist, as he rarely got involved midway through the match, only to reappear as Benoit was so close to reaching for the briefcase, and was the start of the "Ultimate Opportunist" persona for Edge. Great moments include Benoit hitting a diving headbutt onto Kane from the top of the ladder, and everything, and i mean litterally everything Benjamin did, including astonishingly running up a Ladder to clothesline Jericho! The second best match of the night, the first MITB and though there has been numerous sequels, none have ever topped the original-9.5/10

Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio- Great opener, and dare i say a classic match. While it wasnt as good as their near 5star match at Halloween Havoc in 1997, it takes nothing away from the effort these two men put to entertain the crowd with a great straight wrestling match which set the stage of the event. It is notable that this is the first time Tag Team Champions had battled at a Wrestlemania. Some highly physical moments, and some great high risk spots such as Rey hitting a Corkscrew plancha onto Eddie on the outside. Eddie dominated most of the match with some great submissions and wrestling, but it was Rey who pulled out the victory out of nowhere as Eddie teased a heel turn on his partner. A classic, and sadly forgotten encounter that was also the last Wrestlemania match in Eddies career, and what a way to bow out-9/10

Look at the amount of 8.5 or higher ratings, jus astounding. No doubt that this is a great Wrestlemania, with a great coming out party for the new breed of superstars, mainly, John Cena and Batista, two men whom will finally battle at a Wrestlemania 5years after their first title wins. The DVD extras are great in this, with all of the great parodies included. The Hall of Fame ceremony was arguably the best and Hogan was left speechless by cries of "One last match" by the live crowd. Also included was a good battle royal i rated a 7/10. All in all this is an event that should no doubt be among the elites of your Wrestling collecting, an epic event that is still talked about till this day for numerous reasons. A definite must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 18 Mar 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
Some of my fellow reviewers have stated this is the best wrestlemania of them all,they arent far of the mark in all fairness,this has a great card and lives up to the expectations of that card,i aint gonna say its nailed on perfection but i rate this event highly.
The tagline was mania goes hollywood as that was the location of the event,plenty of promos were shot with a homage to films with WWE stars playing roles and this built up the interest levels to feverish highs,the promos all feature on this three disc boxset so dont panic.
The event started off with a bomb with eddie guerrero going up against rey mysterio,this feud in some ways at this point had run its course but this match was mint and the feud went all the way to summerslam on the back of this great performance from both men and yes this was only the beginning.
Next up was a six man ladder match for money in the bank title opportunity to be used anytime within the follwing twelve months,this was a superb match,didnt last too long and was just great and engaging and everyone played their part,everyone.
After a brief time for hulk hogan to come out and whip the crowd into a frenzy we got a great match between the undertaker and randy orton that was again very good,the match changed and shifted accordingly and in the end the outcome although expected was good.
Next up was the ladies match that didnt move blow back anyones hair with its quality really,trish fough christy hemme in a pretty low key match that smacked of filler yet again,oh no.
But,wait a second,an order of majestic heights was about to be restored when kurt angle went up against shawn michaels in a match that many cite to be one of the best of all time and they have a point in saying that,what a contest,what a show,what further proof could you need of the brilliance that the wwe has when all the stars are alligned and the heavens get involved,brilliant.
Next up was a fun pipers pit,not world class or anything but fun with piper interviewing stonecold and carlito coming out to say hello,we then get a match that had some hype but wasnt that great but then again that depends on whether sumo wrestling ticks all your boxes,this was a contest between big show and sumo legend akebono,not my cup of tea really.
Next up we have a title match between the champ JBL and john cena,this is a quick enough match but is high enough in quality even if the ending didnt entirely convince me,that showcased the quality of both athletes.
Finally after the hall of fame ceremony,we get the world title match between triple H and his once evolution partner batista,this was a great match,simple as that really,triple h does not do average very often and he doesnt do it here,batista busts his gut here giving his all in making a match worthy of the occasion,a great all round wrestlemania when you think about it,well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WWE back on form - but for how long?, 19 July 2005
By 
D. Brewer "dark_mercenary" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
Having read some reviews already, I have to say there are some match reviews I don't agree with. So please allow me to have my say on proceedings:
1. Eddie Guerrero vs Rey Mysterio
As the was the start of their feud, it wasn't a bad start. Lately their feud has gone into the stratosphere but as this was the catalyst they can be excused if it wasn't pitch-perfect. I felt some reviewers have been very harsh on this match so I will award it a little higher.
Mark: 7/10
2. Money In The Bank Ladder Match
Many people have lauded this as superb but although I liked it, it wasn't up there with two other matches on the bill. This was quite good with some supreme spots but the match was over too quickly and the finish was a little disappointing.
Mark: 8/10
3. The Undertaker vs Randy Orton
Given that The Undertaker had recently been saddled with jobbers like Heidenreich and Luther Reigns in his last few pay-per-views, it was only fitting that the legend was given a proper outing against the future of the WWE Randy Orton. The match was absolutely superb from start to finish and the only reason I haven't awarded full marks is that Orton should have won the match and definitively earned his 'Legend Killer' tag.
Mark: 9.5/10
4. Women's Championship Match, Trish Stratus (Champion) vs Christy Hemme
Abysmal. As someone who has seen proper women's wrestling in Japan with promotions such as GAEA, women like Christy Hemme just don't cut it. Trish can pull off a good match given a decent opponent but this well short of anything good.
Mark: 2.5/10
5. Shawn Michaels vs Kurt Angle
What can I say about this match that hasn't already been said? This match was flawless as everyone predicted it would be and was a perfect example of how breathtaking wrestling can be if you get two men in the ring who can work properly. As an old-school fan of Michaels I was surprised to find myself rabidly willing Kurt Angle on to make Michaels' tap - which he duly did. The best match on the card, just edging out Taker vs Orton.
Mark: 10/10
Piper's Pit
Wasn't an actual match but I suppose it was good to see Austin and Piper back, even if the useless Carlito diluted the nostalgia. Although Piper's slurring of his words did make me feel quite sorry for him.
* No mark as this wasn't a match
6. Sumo Match, Big Show vs Akebono
Another huge (pardon the pun) waste of time. For it's purposes the sumo contest was well constructed but as this was a wrestling extravaganza it made it feel flat and out of place. You'd think Vince would learn by now - although the money he must have generated from Japanese buy-rates would have been big given their sport being broadcast on a major American telecast.
Mark: 4/10
7. WWE Championship, JBL (Champion) vs John Cena
Pretty bad, even by their low standards. These two can't work but because Layfield is McMahon's pet (well, one of them) and Cena is currently hot property in merchandise sales they are allowed to contest a main event. This match proves how far down the card they SHOULD be.
Mark 5/10
8. World Heavyweight Title, Triple H (Champion) vs Batista
This match was better than a lot of people give it credit for. The criticism of Batista is sometimes warranted but Triple H is, and always has been, one of the best workers on the roster. As far as this match goes perhaps it did drag on but they managed to make it look decent and Batista came out of it looking like the monster they've billed him as. Plus, this was the culmination of a 3-month storyline which was well worked.
Mark: 7/10
All in all, a very good pay-per-view with two matches in particular worthy of being billed as world-class.
Overall Mark: 8/10
If the WWE can keep producing PPV's like this throughout the remainder of the year, then perhaps they can start to make the money and the ratings they had from 1998-2001.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WWE AT ITS MOST AVERAGE, 24 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit I was was one of those people out there that was so into this Pay Per View that I payed £15 on SKY BOX OFFICE just to feel the emotion of this legendary Genre of WWE/F PPV but did I get my money's worth?
The Show was made up of some legendary moments such as " The return of Hulk Hogan " which I thought was outshadowed by the return of Eugene(hasn't been on TV since) and all the other Hall of Fame inductees who played some major parts throughout the night as well as the return of Piper's Pit which was great due to the class of Piper, Austin and Carlito(don't ask why).
All of the presentation was topnotch from Austin's Gladiator parody to Motorhead's performance of 'Time to play the Game,' as well as the always great Wrestlemania set.
Indeed, Wrestlemania went HOLLYWOOD!
Eddie Guerrero Vs Rey Mysterio 2/5
The match was very stupidly put together as the moves were sloppy and it didn't seem that it was going to be anything special. I don't blame these guys because they were given a very short time to perform because of the sumo match and womens match etc. If you have seen the Halloween Havoc match you won't want to watch this.
6-MAN 'MONEY IN THE BANK' LADDER MATCH 5/5
This match hd you on the edge of your seat all the way through, I could see the word CLASSIC all over it. Not the most high flying match (apart from Shelton Benjamins leap)but for power, pace and ability was a classic and a vintage Mania match.
Shocked by Edge winning contract because he was a very small part of the match.
LEGEND VS LEGEND KILLER 4/5
On paper this match didn't rally appeal to me but after watching it, I was ready for a rematch. It was all in The Undertaker's hands to set the pace and tone of the match and did he ever. The match unusally was a back and forth match which made both men look strong. It was so back and forth you were always wondering s The Undertaker going to keep his record or not, but he prevailed in this great battle through all the obsticles like a run-in by Bob Orton Sr. to retain his rightful record.
Womens Championship
Trish Stratus Vs Christy Hemme 2/5
This match was quite a questionable judgement on WWE's part by putting someone who has never wrestled in any match but a pillow fight against a worthy champion. Well we all knew this wasn't going to be Match of the Night but considering Christy Hemme was only a stand-in for Lita, she done a pretty decent job in saving the match by using some unique acrobats/manuevers.
Shawn Michaels Vs Kurt Angle 5/5
Well it was everything a wrestling fan expected. There may have been two world title matches but in everyones eyes was the main event. May be a bit too much to say Best match ever but it came pretty close. If this match was made of money we'd all be millionares. To break the match down each guy pulled out ever single move which makes them the wrestlers they are. One reason to buy the DVD.
SUMO MATCH
The Big Show Vs Ake Bono 1/5
Why? It's meant to be the biggest PPV of the year and we're paying to see something that could be seen on Europort. But if you look past this fact it was marginly entertaining as mainy people are too embarassed to admit. Could have been replaced easily by a crusierweight match.
WWE Championship
John Bradshaw Layfield Vs John Cena 2/5

Everthing got you built up for this match as JBL's enterence was something special, and the dollar notes with his face on them was just priceless but it was a big let down after all the build up because it wasn't given enough time. Just as things were getting started it just ends, it makes you think were the rest of the match went.
World Heavyweight Championship
Triple H Vs Batista 3/5
Probably one of the most average matches you'll see this year but I would say that's a compliment as we have two of the most hyped overated wrestlers on the planet. After the Raw match last year it was big boots to fill. Batista as champion you must be joken but if takes anything for HHH to drop the title so be it. It feels like the main event was losing a key ingredient and it probably was charisma and wrestling ability.
Overall a well presented Wrestlemania with a few missed opertunities to showcase the talent but because of a few classic matches and extras like the bonus Halle of Fame disc and the film parodies this saves the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WM 21, 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
HERE WE GO

Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio 4/5

Money-In-The-Bank Ladder Match
Christian vs. Edge vs. Chris Benoit vs. Kane vs. Chris Jericho vs. Shelton Benjamin 4.5/5

Legend vs. Legend Killer
Undertaker vs. Randy Orton 4.5/5

Women's Championship Match
Christy Hemme vs. Trish Stratus 3/5

Inter-Promotional Match
Kurt Angle vs. Shawn Michaels 4.5/5

Sumo Match
Big Show vs. Akebono 2/5

WWE Championship Match
John Cena vs. JBL 3/5

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Batista vs. Triple H 3/5

Great Wrestlemania but sadley the 2 main events made the end of the show slow and predictable unlike the first half of Mania 21. Go buy this NOW it was a great night of Wrestling, but when you get it, you should watch the ppv backwards lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WrestleMania 21 Goes Hollywood, 26 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
Eddie Guerrero vs Rey Mysterio 8/10
Money in the Bank Ladder Match
Chris Jericho vs. Chris Benoit vs. Shelton Benjamin vs.
Christian vs. Edge vs. Kane 10/10
Legend vs. Legend Killer Match
The Undertaker vs. Randy Orton 9/10
Women's Championship
Christy Hemme w/ Lita vs. Trish Stratus 6/10
Interpromotional Match
Shawn Michaels vs. Kurt Angle 10/10
Sumo Match
Akebono vs. Big Show 3/10
Stone Cold Steve Austin on Piper's Pit 6/10
WWE Championship
John Bradshaw Layfield vs. John Cena 4/10
World Heavyweight Championship
Triple H w/ Ric Flair vs. Batista 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wrestlemania the Movie?, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] (DVD)
WWE Wrestlemania goes Hollywood! An unforgetable event from the staples centre in Los Angeles. Undertaker vs Randy Orton, Shawn Michaels vs Kurt Angle, Triple H vs Batista for the World Heavyweight Championship are the best matches of the entire grand spectacle in my book. Good to see Hulk Hogan inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD]
WWE - Wrestlemania 21 [DVD] by Batista (DVD - 2005)
£23.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews