Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Finch for 2005 - With the album you never expected..
Finch's first album was, in many respects a benchmark at it's time of release, however their 'commercial' emo sounds have been reproduce by so many other bands since then, thus making the follow up to 'What it is to burn' a tricky prospect - Would their sound appear as fresh in such an over-saturated market? It seems every other new band is 'emo' these days, so much so I...
Published on 22 July 2005 by K. A. Graham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done better
Well, I have to say that I was not expecting this music to come out of such a great band. The new release 'Say Hello To Sunshine' does not live up to the masterpiece that is 'What It Is To Burn', which was such a good listen, it was one of those albums I could listen to over and over again. There are a couple of good tracks on the new one, 'Brother Bleed Brother',...
Published on 19 Jun 2005 by lumerz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Finch for 2005 - With the album you never expected.., 22 July 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say Hello To Sunshine (Audio CD)
Finch's first album was, in many respects a benchmark at it's time of release, however their 'commercial' emo sounds have been reproduce by so many other bands since then, thus making the follow up to 'What it is to burn' a tricky prospect - Would their sound appear as fresh in such an over-saturated market? It seems every other new band is 'emo' these days, so much so I for one have no clue what emo is any more. So how were Finch ever going to stay ahead of the game & create an album to compete with the success of their debut?
The answer, it would appear, was to record one of the most original, innovative & daring albums I've heard since the demise of Faih No More circa 1997. Gone are the emo-pop overtones, forgotten are the overly pop sounding melodies & departed are the emo-by-numbers approach to success - Welcome to 'Say hello to sunshine'. From the opening anthem "Insomniatic meat" to end tune "Gak 2" the album never relents, attacking your ear drums with pounding rythmns, inspired & intricate riffs, and some of the best vocals around - Nathan Barcalow is making a strong case for one of the strongest & versatile vocalists around at the moment. The choruses are strong & singable without sounding too 'Pop-esque', the reflective, darker vocals are delivered with real passion, and the screams are nothing short of inspired.
Musically, you would be forgiven for forgetting that 'What it is to burn' was written by the same band that prodcued this masterpiece - there are obvious parallels drawn between Finch and Faith No More, least of all for the sheer musical innovation , but there are also moments in the choruses where they come across like the 'Foo Fighters' with simliar hooks & unexpected chord progressions. Despite being a lengthy album with a total of 15 tracks at no point does the record let up, in fact some of the stronger (& more erratic) songs are in the latter stages of this CD. Seems that Finch have no idea what the term 'Album filler' means; it's refreshing to hear an album that has no obvious weak songs. This is honest rock/metal at it's best - no gimmicks, no set formula, just great music.
It's hard not to make the obvious Faith No More comparison - although Finch don't actually SOUND like them. The simliarities lie more in their want to create something a bit different & also how they followed up their respective debut albums.After 'The real thing' FNM were the talk of the musical press, they had the world at their feet & 'Funk Metal' was a sound that could cement their fame and fortune - so not wanting to be labelled, they created 'Angel dust' which totally destroyed that 'Funk Metal' label & started them on a journey of creativity that inspired a new wave of music through the mid to late 90's. Finch, simliarly with a seminal debut album, had a fresh 'winning formula' sound at it's time of release, they probably could have made a career from remaking the album in a new package - Instead they dared to create a new sound all of tehir own making, for which they should be commended.
So the big question... Will this album appeal to Finch fans? In my opinion - possibly not. But I think for every 1 dimensional emo kid that labels the album 'not as good as the first album' because it doesn't sound like the first album they'll win the respect & admiration of someone with a wider taste in music & ultimately find that there is an audience that wants to hear something original & exciting. And just maybe they can create a new reputation as one of the most promising bands for the new millenium.
So bring on the next albumm - and if their sound progresses even half as much as it did between the first 2 albums I can see them forging a reputation as one of the most original & inspiring bands of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great progress, 20 Jun 2005
This review is from: Say Hello To Sunshine (Audio CD)
This is very different to their debut album. At first it was quite tough to get to grips with as my expectations were very much that it was going to be more of the same as the debut. However, after a few listens it just grew and grew.

The only real similarity between the two albums is the quality of vocals and Nate Barclow's ability to balance emotiveness, melody and screaming at just the right levels. Whereas their debut was much more straightforward melodic fayre, in their own distinctive style, the new album contains much more variety and stamps a much more individual mark on the emo/screamo genre.

It's difficult to single out the best tracks because this changes from listen to listen, but beyond cracking rock riffs there are other jazzy and bluesey moments which break things up well.

The sad thing is that no doubt their core fan base were expecting more of the same as the debut. Whether or not that ws afcator in them breaking up, who knows, but progressing in this day and age, when there is so much competition in an oversaturated genre was always going to be tough.

Lets hope they get back together. Judging by the quality of this album there is far to much talent and promise here to waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revelation Songs!, 10 Jan 2008
By 
M. Boyle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is undoubtedly one of the best post-hardcore albums around, whilst other reviews are quick to compare it to "What it is to Burn", this isn't the same Finch. This is a more mature band with a more of a grasp of writing new and original songs, structuring everything beyond the usual verse/chorus that "What it is to Burn" offered. If there is any way to compare the difference in this album to the predecessor, it's like Underoath going from "They're Only Chasing Safety" to "Define the Great Line".
This is musically a truly outstanding album and although it received luke-warm press at release and perhaps a bit of a slow burner in the fact it'll take a few listens to truly appreciate it, don't let that put you off owning it, I did when it was released only to buy it on the off chance a year later, it is now amongst my most played albums.
If you're a fan of good Post-Hardcore or if you're a Finch fan curious as to what "Say Hello To Sunshine" has to offer, treat yourself. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUCH better than what it is to burn, 3 Jan 2006
This review is from: Say Hello To Sunshine (Audio CD)
After reading the reviews already posted about this album I felt compelled to write my own opinion. When what it is to burn came out I got a copy and though it wasn't a bad album, some good tracks, some not so good, and to be honest I soon moved on to other things. A few years later I notice they've a new album coming out, and I honestly had no intention of buying it. That was before I heard a few snippets from it and thought bloody hell this is a bit different, kinda cool though, and i stuck my neck out a bought it. Little did I know, this is the best damn album ever! It takes a few listens yeah, but what you get out of it is so rewarding; I still listen to it daily 6 months after buying it such is the complexity of the songs, the instrumentation and the intensity of it is just awesome. I've never know of a band undertake such a change from their debut and actually come off the better for it: it's usually the other way around.
One thing to note is the drumming. They have a new drummer for this record and some of the stuff he plays is just incredible. Like other reviewers have said, the guitar parts are excellent, as are the vocals. Every aspect of the music, from the song structure to the guitar effects employed to the changes in pace, is improved from the first album. Reviewers who have said they prefer the first album are entitled to their opinion, but for me I fail to see how anyone can prefer what it is to burn to something so much more intelligent, passionate and intriguing. I suppose it depends wheter you like your stuff with that darker edge: it works for me!
I guess I haven't really said what the album is actually like, I just wanted to say that if you wanna hear rock that has a different edge than that of the punk/pop/rock bands around (like the first album....), then you really won't go wrong with this. Excellent, intense and infectious stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 July 2006
By 
K. Turner (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say Hello To Sunshine (Audio CD)
Such a good album. I loved What It Is To Burn, but this really is a step up. All the songs are complex and interesting, and the album shows a lot of variety, from mellow tracks such as 'Reduced To Teeth' to songs that really will "rip your face off" ('The Casket Of Roderick Usher' - So cool, Nate Barcalow is awesome). It's a real shame about their split and a shame that Say Hello To Sunshine has not been recognised for it's brilliance as it's a real achievement for Finch, but at least we've been left with a great album. It's the kind of album you can listen to over and over and still enjoy it as much as the first time you listened to it. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Different, 15 Mar 2006
By 
D. Callan "DC" (Luton, Beds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say Hello To Sunshine (Audio CD)
Had the album since it has been out. Only now writing a review as i've been listening to it alot recently.
Quite simply it is awesome. It is so different from WITB but superpasses it in every way. Songs are catchier, tunes and melodies differ and each song is individual. WITB, while undoubtdly being great, had alot of repetition with the mix of tune and how the songs felt.
If you really like Finch for WITB you will buy this album and appreciate their greatness even more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done better, 19 Jun 2005
Well, I have to say that I was not expecting this music to come out of such a great band. The new release 'Say Hello To Sunshine' does not live up to the masterpiece that is 'What It Is To Burn', which was such a good listen, it was one of those albums I could listen to over and over again. There are a couple of good tracks on the new one, 'Brother Bleed Brother', 'Reduced To Teeth', and 'Bitemarks and Bloodstains', and the rest are OK, but nothing special, certainly not as good as the old Finch stuff. However, if you are a hardcore Finch fan then I guess you will have to buy the album and find out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Nightmare, 8 Jun 2005
This review is from: Say Hello To Sunshine (Audio CD)
Finch guitarist Alex Linares recently said that when his band play 'Letters to You' the lead single from their debut record he "feels like a four year old kid!" Finch have grown up and on 'Say Hello to Sunshine' they welcome you to their nightmare.
3 Years in the making, this album is no rush job. Nowhere near as obvious and immediate as 'What it is to Burn' and all the better for it. This slow burning album reveals and rewards with each listen, the more involved you get the deeper you are immersed in it's dark world.
Album opener 'Insomniatic Meat' sets the tone nicely and from the off you can immediatly sense the change.A dark brooding track with Nate screaming " This is the worst thing you have ever done" over hushed vocals and a soaring chorus.
It has to be said that Barcalow's vocals sound fantastic. His screaming is more controlled and his "singing" has improved greatly. You can really see the Mike Patton influence throughout the record, check out his demented yelps of "This body is cold and contagious" on the stonking ' The Casket of Roderick Usher'
Fantastic multi layered album which puts Finch firmly at the top of their genre and indeed I think challenges other bands to raise their game up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing leap for Finch., 17 Aug 2005
This review is from: Say Hello To Sunshine (Audio CD)
Being warned even before the cd came out that it was completly different from What It Is To Burn, I still ordered the cd online even before it was released in stores. Hearing their talent in What It Is To Burn, left me without doubt that Say Hello To Sunshine would be amazing. I was correct. By listening to Say Hello To Sunshine, you can hear how they have progressed in their musical talent. The vocals are much more darker and stronger. The guitar riffs are clear and more noticable. The lyrics are powerful and make you ponder about the meaning behind it all. All in all, you can tell how much they have matured. This was an incredible leap for Finch. They didn't want a repeat of What It Is To Burn and they did exactly what they wanted. If you listen to both cd's you will be amazed at how different they are. Though both cd's will blow your mind away and leave you in complete awe, you will be surprised how little similarity there is between the two.
Though Finch has changed, you still cannot compare their music to others nor can you label their genre. Finch cannot be described and for that I feel that I will be a faithful fan for a very long time to come. Ever since the beginning of their career, they have been my favorite band. By listening to Finch and their style used in their music, I'm sure you will understand why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rough but nice follow-up, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say Hello To Sunshine (Audio CD)
Despite being far less known and distributed as their debut album 'What it is to burn' this album is at least worth as much attention. It is a bit rougher than their first one but still is a very nice record with some really catchy blasting numbers on it. And to top it off it has some really nice artwork too. The few songs that are less good in my opinion just didn't make this album go to five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Say Hello To Sunshine
Say Hello To Sunshine by Finch (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews