Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent set
This set is a major investment, but one that is well worth making. It contains 34 CDs of truly wonderful music, superbly played. Scarlatti's 555 keyboard sonatas form a remarkable and very rewarding body of work and they are immensely varied - passionate, serene, humorous... every mood or emotion you could think of is here somewhere. I never tire of them, and always find...
Published on 22 May 2010 by Sid Nuncius

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars question rather than review
Is this just a reissue of the original or a new issue. The original box had some form of DRM which meant it could not be ripped to hard disc storage. Can anybody tell me if this can be ripped to a memory stick to play in my car for instance?
Thanks
Published 2 months ago by Sandy Adam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent set, 22 May 2010
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works (Audio CD)
This set is a major investment, but one that is well worth making. It contains 34 CDs of truly wonderful music, superbly played. Scarlatti's 555 keyboard sonatas form a remarkable and very rewarding body of work and they are immensely varied - passionate, serene, humorous... every mood or emotion you could think of is here somewhere. I never tire of them, and always find something fresh and new when I listen to them.

You do need to like the harpsichord if you're going to buy this set. I certainly do, and especially when it is played as well as this. These recordings by Ross are regarded as landmarks by many, and I wouldn't argue with that. His playing is technically brilliant, and he brings out all the variety in these amazing pieces. What also shines through is his sheer love for the music - every single sonata is played as though it really means something and he makes this monumental compendium a pleasure from start to finish.

I cannot recommend this set too highly. I have owned and loved the original Erato discs for years and still play them regularly and with immense pleasure. It is a set to last a lifetime and if you have any interest in baroque music or the keyboard in general, I urge you to give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can be ripped to PC..., 4 Feb 2013
By 
E. A. Duns (devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works (Audio CD)
This wonderful set has some rudimentary copy protection, but if you download the brilliant and free FairStars CD Ripper you can quickly and painlessly have all 34 CDs on your computer in the format you require - MP3 good for portable devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monument to Scarlatti and Ross, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Timothy P. Ashurst (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works (Audio CD)
This recording is an essential for any lover of the Baroque.
Ross here created, I feel, the yardstick recording by which any future Scarlatti cycle will be judged.
I cannot adequately review this performance, simply because any review would end up as a meaningless jumble of superlatives - everything about this recording is exactly as the most particular listener would want it. The accompanying notes are exhaustive and highly informative.
Listening to this, one cannot fail to be moved to sorrow that Ross did not live longer - but at least he left us this monument to Scarlatti's, and his own, genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scarlatti., 6 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works (Audio CD)
this beautifull music played by the best harpsichordplayer ever gives me great joy! It is a shame this musician died far too young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars expectations too high, 16 May 2010
This review is from: Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works (Audio CD)
I had read so many glowing descriptions of this recording that I was concerned my expectations might be too high.
On the contrary, it's time we re-evaluated our opinion of the harpsichord. I had already accustomed myself to
the harpsichord from the Bach gesamt Werk which is excellent. Ross elevates the instrument to another level.
Oh, and Scarlatti does his bit too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works (Audio CD)
Excellent recording and all cds and packaging in top condition. Many thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must., 6 Oct 2007
This review is from: Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works (Audio CD)
Do you think that just because you can't copy the cds you can rate this as only 3 stars? You need to lack something to do so.

This is just the only version of Scarlatti's works you need to own. You could do without Belder's good but not good enough version, and the same could apply to Lester's recordings.

This is a must by the best harpsichord player in the last 30 years.

A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars question rather than review, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Sandy Adam "Cultured Scot" (Perthshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Is this just a reissue of the original or a new issue. The original box had some form of DRM which meant it could not be ripped to hard disc storage. Can anybody tell me if this can be ripped to a memory stick to play in my car for instance?
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works
Scarlatti : Complete Keyboard Works by Domenico Scarlatti (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews