Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis's first ever motion picture. With big stars of the day
In this first Elvis movie, we see our hero as a young western farmer, too young to have joined his older brothers fighting in the American Civil War. He and his family believe the eldest brother, Vance, to have been killed a while ago, and Clint (Elvis) falls in love with Cathy, Vance's fiancee. They eventually marry, and then the fun starts, as all 3 older brothers...
Published on 3 Sep 2001 by A L Goonan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check what you order!
I ordered this expecting the film "Love me Tender" but it's just a compilation of songs from different concerts - my mistake as I didn't check the packaging carefully enough. It's ok, but not as good as the film - much of the content is on other dvds, and many Elvis fans will already have much of it. I should have checked the back of the box first Elvis Presley: Love Me...
Published 15 months ago by Lorah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis's first ever motion picture. With big stars of the day, 3 Sep 2001
This review is from: Love Me Tender [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In this first Elvis movie, we see our hero as a young western farmer, too young to have joined his older brothers fighting in the American Civil War. He and his family believe the eldest brother, Vance, to have been killed a while ago, and Clint (Elvis) falls in love with Cathy, Vance's fiancee. They eventually marry, and then the fun starts, as all 3 older brothers suddenly return home from the now ended war. Vance of course still thinks that Cathy is waiting for him to return so they can marry. A fairly bland, yet pleasant story line, acted well by all involved, including young Elvis, who still has blonde hair at this stage of his career. The descision to add 3 further songs to the title theme is a bit of a mistake in my opinion, as these songs do not fit well into the storyline. But it's nice to see Elvis performing them I suppose. Trivia Fact: Elvis's mother, Gladys, was so upset by the original ending of the film (where Clint dies) that the studio called the actors back and made them shoot an extra scene. This had Elvis, superimposed over the graveyard scence, singing an extra verse of Love Me Tender. A good film, showing us that Elvis Presley was more than just a singer. Without a single acting lesson, he does an admirable job as Clint Reno. Well worth watching even if you aren't a diehard Elvis fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check what you order!, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this expecting the film "Love me Tender" but it's just a compilation of songs from different concerts - my mistake as I didn't check the packaging carefully enough. It's ok, but not as good as the film - much of the content is on other dvds, and many Elvis fans will already have much of it. I should have checked the back of the box first Elvis Presley: Love Me Tender [DVD], but assumed, since I was looking in "Film & TV" that it would be the feature film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis's first effort at film-acting, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Me Tender [VHS] (VHS Tape)
An interesting first film for Elvis. He plays a young farmer at the time
of the American Civil War, who marries his brother's girl-friend because
the brother is reported as having died in action.
Unfortunately for all concerned, the brother was not killed, and when he
returns home, he is devastated to find that his girl-friend is now married to
his brother.
Elvis tries hard to be a film actor, but shows traces of his inexperience. He
sings a few songs of which "Love me Tender" is the sweetest, and the most
well-known. This film makes you want to see more of Elvis as an actor -
which happens later in "King Creole" - perhaps his best role in films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Me Tender [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
What can I say it is what it is a DVD of an Elvis film. The film quality was good and the price reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic Elvis, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Me Tender [DVD] (DVD)
The usual high content of early Elvis. The quality of the dvd was good and up to expectation. Very happy to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Me Tender [DVD] (DVD)
Great quality - arrived on time and as described! Very happy with the purchase. . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis DVD, 24 Aug 2009
By 
J. Johnson (Hertford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this thinking it was the DVD of the film 'Love Me Tender' for my husband as he is a big fan. What it actually is is a load of different songs. That's fine but it's not what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Me Tender (DVD), 20 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Love Me Tender [DVD] (DVD)
Elvis Presley Sings a few songs, but mainly acts in his first movie, shows his ability. Amazon correctly priced, described, and delivered promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 14 Oct 2010
This review is from: Love Me Tender [DVD] (DVD)
ANY ELVIS FAN NEEDS TO SEE THIS AND REALISE WHAT ACTING PORENTIAL HE HAD X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Me Tender [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Me Tender [DVD]
Love Me Tender [DVD] by Robert D. Webb (DVD - 2005)
4.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews