Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By the fans for the fans
This Greatest Hits compilation CD has been released following the complete remixes of Megadeth's albums released by Capitol records. This is indeed one of the albums strengths: all the songs now sound better than ever and since they were personally remixed and remastered by Dave Mustaine himself sound the way they should.
The tracks on the compilation give an...
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by babyg_pe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality
I bought this to add to my itunes library as I have lost some Megadeth CD's over time. The selection of songs is as you would expect from Megadeth all the best ones, however the quality of these songs is very poor and very low volume compared to other digital purchases I have made both on amazon and itunes.

Better grabbing the CD!
Published on 12 Nov 2010 by Simon Donald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By the fans for the fans, 19 Aug 2005
This Greatest Hits compilation CD has been released following the complete remixes of Megadeth's albums released by Capitol records. This is indeed one of the albums strengths: all the songs now sound better than ever and since they were personally remixed and remastered by Dave Mustaine himself sound the way they should.
The tracks on the compilation give an excellent overview of Megadeth's back catalogue and since they were chosen by Megadeth fans, no good song has been overlooked. There's even tracks from Megadeths pre-Capitol records days and from their post-Capitol days: Mechanix from Megdeth's 1985's "Killing Is My Business...and Business Is Good!" which is no doubt to draw in some Metallica fans curious to hear this version of a song written by Mustaine when he was in Metallica, and Dread And The Fugitive Mind from 2002 "The World Needs a Hero". Unfortunatltly there is nothing from "The System Has Failed" which is by far Megadeth's strongest album since the mid 1990's, but legal issues more than any other reason have stood in the way of putting any more songs released on the Sanctuary label.
Still, this album is packed full of great songs, solos, riffs, lyrics that will have any metal fan banging their head.
The DVD is also an excellent bonus. The sound levels are really poor in the live section (you can barely hear Marty Friedman's guitar!) but the songs included are great and to watch Dave Mustaine doing what he does best is worth more than what you pay extra to get the DVD - check out his solo in Symphony of Destruction and Hangar 18 is even better live.
Overall, this is a much better Greatest Hits compilation than "Capitol Punishment" and with the extra live DVD it is definitely worth a listen/watch. Its just a shame there is no songs from "The System Has Failed" and the notes in the booklet have had little or no input from Dave Mustaine, which is a shame as his notes in the remixed albums are superb...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars starting point, 14 Jun 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Back to The Start (Audio CD)
the best of megadeth....never gonna be easy to whittle it down to 15 odd tracks but they have done a pretty good job at representing the bands back catologue on this cd.

the majority of the essentials are here from the insane thrash of hangar 18 and holy wars through to the drug fuelled paranoia of sweating bullets and in my darkest hour(arguably one of the finest songs any of the big 4 wrote)

they are even brave enough to include tracks for the slightly sub standard albums of the late 90`s...not to everyones taste bu they have a part to play in the evolution of the band

you can see as the band evolved they got more groove and more melodic....the only poor effort is a pointless remix of the mechanix... only done to allow them to put it on this compilation (so in that respect job done) as it is a great reworking of the metallica version.

but we can argue about Horsemen and the mechanix for years...that is not what we are here for....this is a very solid collection of songs....not the best overall but a very good cross section for new comers...if you own the albums leave this alone if you have only heard about the band start here to see what style of megadeth suits you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mustaine Fights Til The Deth, 3 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Back to The Start (Audio CD)
Who would have thought that 20 odd years after Dave Mustaine was told by James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich to clear up his alcohol problems (quite ironic given later alochol related events within Metallica) that he would be able to offer this collection of Metal majestry to the world, appropriately titled Back To The Start (which I still believe is a dig at Metallica for abandoning their musical roots.)In terms of the musical content within this album, well there really isn't any filler whatsoever, the classics come thick and fast (Symphony of Destruction, anyone?) and the album does a very good job of charting the bands alteration in sounds throughout the 20 years since there conception. Whilst diehard 'Deth fans have been (quite rightly) quick to criticise individual album releases (Risk has reserved it's place in the Patheneon of most Overrated Metal albums ever) the collection of songs extrated from those albums on Back To The Start is flawless. If you have any sort of passing interest in Metal music or want to develop your musical taste, Back To The Start is just about the perefect place to,well, Start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 12 Nov 2010
By 
Simon Donald "thugernomics666" (Scotland, Montrose) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to add to my itunes library as I have lost some Megadeth CD's over time. The selection of songs is as you would expect from Megadeth all the best ones, however the quality of these songs is very poor and very low volume compared to other digital purchases I have made both on amazon and itunes.

Better grabbing the CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Back to The Start (Audio CD)
Everything was well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars description, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Back to The Start (Audio CD)
i am sure this says this is the cd and dvd!where is the dvd as this is just the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thrash at its best, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Back to The Start (Audio CD)
Excellent headbanging thrash metal, if your not used to your music being this heavy and loud then stock up on the painkillers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to The Start !!!, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect condition although a bit used....the cd and the dvd a perfect match.live at the fillmore 99 is a must have for every megadeth fan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 28 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Back to The Start (Audio CD)
just what I wanted, I'm not a huge megadeth fan but this has really just started me off. A very good introduction to the band and also sum up of they're greatest hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 18 Sep 2011
By 
Pari Davide (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits - Back to The Start (Audio CD)
I'm not a huge fan of Megadeth, but this collection sounds really good and it's certainly reccomended if you like Metal/Hard rock bands that know how it should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits - Back to The Start
Greatest Hits - Back to The Start by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews