Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Comeback
I was anticipating the new Backstreet Boys album and it is Amazing!!!. But i think 5 stars is a bit high if Micheal Jacksons 'Thriller' was sometimes given 4 stars i'm sure this can't get 5 as thriller is in a different league no doubt.
I do encourage you to buy this for both fans and neutrals.
OK now i'll rate each track in my view. I am not a massive...
Published on 21 Sep 2005 by yvnnmcken

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Change is good...sometimes
The backstreet boys are back,just like they promised in their 'Backstreets Back' single when they said:"As long as there'll be music we'll be comin back agaaaain".
The album features many new songs that are nothing like their previous work but with an overall suithing new sound.
Although i praise change,this is a bit too much,once a group change's its style...
Published on 18 Jun 2005 by Mr. A. Zarea


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Comeback, 21 Sep 2005
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I was anticipating the new Backstreet Boys album and it is Amazing!!!. But i think 5 stars is a bit high if Micheal Jacksons 'Thriller' was sometimes given 4 stars i'm sure this can't get 5 as thriller is in a different league no doubt.
I do encourage you to buy this for both fans and neutrals.
OK now i'll rate each track in my view. I am not a massive Backstreet Boys fan like some as i usually like metal and rock i.e. Slayer or Metallica. But Backstreet Boys are one of a kind so you've got to respect them, and they make good music.
Incomplete- I'm sure youve heard it. 5/5 excellent start.
Just Want You To Know- Maybe you've heard this, again quite rockie and new- 5/5
Weird World- Good But Not The Best 4/5
I Still- Nice chorus again not the best but good- 4/5
Poster Girl- Jazzy and cool 4.4/5
Lose it all- nice track, slowish- 4/5
Climbing The Walls- great track- 5/5
Beautiful Woman- good, cool beat too- 4.7/5
Safest Place to Hide- slow, mmm you may skip it if a neutral although its quite good- 3.5/5
Siberia- amazing basically- 5/5
Never Gone- nice, may get boring although i like it- 4/5
Bonus Tracks- Song For The Unloved- quite emotional and a nice easy listening track, this should'nt be a bonus- 5/5
Rush Over Me- another easy listening track and another tune to add to the album- 4.8/5
Movin On- Acapella, Nice, May skip this track- 3.2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL MASTERPIECE + AN A** KICKIN' ALBUM!!, 15 Sep 2005
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
First things first, this is not the same Backstreet sound you fell in love with as a teenager!! It's been almost 5 years since the last album and the boys/Men are now trying to move into a style more fitting with their growth as adult musicians and I tell ya for the entire "Never Gone" it actually works pretty awsome! Whether their audience will follow (which they should 'cause they have all grown up now) remains a fairly straight forward kinda question, which i just answered.. oops! But yea the group has made an incredible transition with their trademark harmonies intact.
Also, because the last album "Black and Blue (2000)" noticeably suffered from the group's exhaustion with public scrutiny and private difficulties, on "Never Gone" the sound is hugely relaxed and extremely confident. Power-ballads like the first 'chosen-itself' single, "Incomplete", the smashing "Crawling Back to You", featuring Prince's drummer, my own personal favorite "Lose It All" and the dark n mysterious "Siberia" soar with great n professional vocal confidence. Even songs in which the Backstreet Boys stretch their skills, like the intricate vocal blending on "My Beautiful Woman" or the collaboration with Five For Fighting's John Ondrasik on "Weird World" or even Max Martin's rocking "Just Want You To Know" sound almost effortless.
I'm sure the Boys themselves are totally aware of the fact that the old glory days of their teen pop style; (i.e. the "Backstreet's Back (1997)" or "Millennium (1999) era") are past.. so this time around "Never Gone" is definitely a very significant stylistic shift in focus! It IS in fact, very well needed and the group has accomplished the shift successfully. Afterall NG's packed with potential No.1 Hits and have without a doubt fully satisfied the millions of their loyal old + NEW fans around the world!
Definitely worthed the wait..
.: Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regrouped and respectable, 17 Jun 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
After the rise and fall of the boy band phenomenon, and nearly five years after their last album, the Backstreet Boys bounce back with a new mature sound and a sure fire hit album.
Their most personal album to date, the songs reflect the experiences of their growing-up period, and elevates them from teen pop idols to mainstream pop giants.
The first single "Incomplete" is a haunting ballad, starting quietly, and then building to a swelling crescendo in the footsteps of Coldplay. "Five for Fighting" fans shouldn't miss "Weird World" for a fresh dose of Jon Ondrasik, and there are other stellar contributions, including master hit-maker Max Martin, particularly on the excellent track "Climbing the Walls". There are also a couple of bonus songs not listed on the Amazon listing.
One thing that remains unchanged is the Boys' ability to put together an album of stinker-free songs, and this one has several with "hit single" written all over them. Look towards "Never Gone" as a very-possible next in line.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Comeback for BSB!, 14 Jun 2005
By 
Nisha (Binghamton, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Backstreet Boys' latest release "Never Gone" is classic Backstreet with a
slightly updated sound. It is full of great songs that will have you
playing them over and over again! By now I'm sure you have heard the first
single "Incomplete" What a great way to start off the CD with a gorgeous
ballad.
While this CD lacks a lot of the up-tempo songs their previous albums
had---I was expecting a rockier sound, but most of the songs are very
pretty and the album flows really well. Standout tracks include 'Climbing
the Walls' a beautiful and emotional song, and 'Siberia,' which is a
really pretty ballad and puts you in a romantic mood. This CD is destined
to be one of the top albums of 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Backstreets Back And Its Great!, 13 Jun 2005
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This album is possibly the best the boys have EVER done. it has a mixture of songs and if you are a doting backstreet fan u will love this album. Poster Girl has to be the best song but i am not forgetting the new single Incomplete which literally sends shivers up your spine.
5 out of 5
This is worth every penny so buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relax, it's a Masterpiece, 27 Jun 2005
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Backstreet Boys + Max Martin = Perfection
This is the best album Backstreet Boys have recorded so far (and I love their other albums). I almost can't believe how good it is. As well as the perfect songs co-written by Max Martin, especially Climbing the Walls, and I Still, the other songs are just outstanding, there are no words to describe. This album proves that Backstreet Boys are not just a boyband gimmick and their career is not even close to being over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Backstreet's Back!, 15 Jun 2005
By 
Ms M (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Well, it's been a long time coming, but well worth the wait. A great album bringing a more mature and mellow sound from 5 talented men who have entertained the world for 12 years. This album moves away from the musically synthesised bases of the 4 previous albums to a more instrumental feel, to give better music and stronger vocals to the listener. The DVD is a good bonus to the CD, with behind the scenes footage when the 'Incomplete' video, plus the full length video of 'Incomplete', photo gallery, and a digital bonus track not on the album.
The track 'Never Gone' is particularly moving, especially when you realise it was written by Kevin about his late father.
Bottom line is, it has been played constantly on my stereo since it arrived on my doorstep Monday morning. Fans - prepare to be thrilled. Non-fans- prepare to be converted! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Backstreet Boys never any doubt, 15 Jun 2005
By 
C. Parker-buttle (somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Fantastic, this album is more of the multi talented with voices of angels Backstreet Boys, its not just the words that are amazing but the music blows you away as well, its the perfect package, love all the songs especially Poster Girl which you just have to move to
You listen to every single track over and over again never skipping and lose yourself in every song, You feel amazingly good and feel like take on the world let alone real life after listening to this album, The sun is always shining when listening to this album.
The dvd is an added bonus and the guys make you laugh at some of the things they do, but you also get to watch some of what they went though to make the video for incomplete.
An outstanding album,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what a come back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 6 Oct 2005
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Nearly a decade since their initial success and after a three year breather, i think!!!!!!!!!!! Nick Carter, Howie Dorough, Brian Littrell, AJ McLean and Kevin Richardson are making music together again.
This album has a more rock theme, which i feel is fantastic they know how old they are and don't feel the need like some bands to stay in the pop scene.
It has some fantastic songs my favourites being Poster Girl and Safest Place to hide, hopefully these songs will be realised!!!
An album must for all fans!!!!!!!
Roll on the tour in a few weeks, i'll be there 20th October at Wembley, Long live the Backstreet Boys as there album says they were really "never gone"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the wait, 23 Jun 2005
By 
joy b. (milwaukee, WI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Never Gone [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
this album is great! great lyrics and great vocals. i love every song, this album proves that BSB has staying power. this cd is my 3rd copy i am from the US and this copy has unreleased track that was not on the US version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never Gone [CD + DVD]
Never Gone [CD + DVD] by Backstreet Boys (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews