Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty UK pop hits of the seventies
The seventies were a decade of contrasts when it came to pop music. There is plenty of variety here with soul, disco, reggae, easy listening, country and hard rock together with plenty of lightweight pop music. Now, I have very eclectic tastes in music but even I won't pretend to like everything here. However I've seen plenty of compilations of seventies pop music and...
Published on 29 Jun 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing
Does memory play tricks on you? Perhaps the music wasn't as good as I remember it. Certainly music was less sophisticated & tracks shorter in the 70s. I have more respect for DJs now - recognising they choose a play list mix with skill. However maybe it was just that the records that were particularly memorable to me were missing from this compellation.
Published on 11 July 2010 by A. B. Neilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty UK pop hits of the seventies, 29 Jun 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
The seventies were a decade of contrasts when it came to pop music. There is plenty of variety here with soul, disco, reggae, easy listening, country and hard rock together with plenty of lightweight pop music. Now, I have very eclectic tastes in music but even I won't pretend to like everything here. However I've seen plenty of compilations of seventies pop music and I've yet to see one that I like all the way through. I suspect that you feel the same, though your pet hates may be different from mine.
Of the fifty tracks here, about thirty made number one in the UK charts and most of the others made the UK top ten, so on that basis alone each track justifies is selection except Daydream believer. The compiler made a mistake by including a Monkees track - they didn't have a UK hit in the seventies at all. Daydream believer was a UK hit for them in 1967 (and for Anne Murray in 1980) but doesn't belong here. Other than that, the biggest surprise to me (and very nice to see it) is the inclusion of Annie's song, because it is rare for a John Denver track to appear on a various artists compilation.
Many big names are here including Abba, Elton John, Dawn, Cliff Richard, Hot Chocolate, 10cc, Mud, ELO, Dr Hook, Barry Manilow, Leo Sayer, Showaddywaddy, Tammy Wynette, Art Garfunkel, the Bay City Rollers, Chicago, Sweet, David Essex, the New Seekers, Bread, Carly Simon, the Osmonds, the Three Degrees and Elvis Presley, but their greatest hits are available individually and they aren't all represented by the most obvious hit here. This is good - it means that if you already have other various artists compilations, there will be less duplication.
A compilation like this allows you to get big hits by artists that only had a few hits (perhaps only one), some of which are hard to find or unavailable outside compilations of this type. Among these songs, my favorites are January (Pilot), Barbados (Typically Tropical), Seasons in the sun (Terry Jacks), Rock the boat (Hues Corporation), Love grows (Edison Lighthouse), In the summertime (Mungo Jerry), Band of gold (Freda Payne) and Yellow River (Christie).
If you are looking for a representative collection of big UK hits of the seventies, this is certainly one of the strongest I've seen. It's not perfect but it's as near perfect as I expect of such a compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Top 50 Hits from the Unique 70s Decade of Music & Fashion!", 3 May 2009
By 
Matloub Husayn-Ali-Khan "Matloub" (South Yorkshire, Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
For me, the 70s decade ushered in new music styles through people like Johnny Rotten and his associates changed the face of music, while punk fashions joined hot pants, platform shoes & the film Saturday Night Fever in December 1977 also added to the change in music tastes as well.

As for this compilation of the 70s and I have several others - I must admit this is by far the best because it covers some of the one-hit wonders songs like 'Seasons in the sun (Terry Jacks)'; 'January (Pilot)' and so on. The total of 50 tracks in the compilation - meant that around 30 were no1 hits & the rest made it to the top ten - with the exception of Monkees track "Day-dream Believers" - which has been included in error. No 70s compilation can be complete without including the big names of: Showaddywaddy, Abba, Bay City Rollers, Osmonds, Dawn, 10cc, David Essex, Leo Sayer, Bread, Chicago, Cliff Richard, Barry Manilow, Tammy Wynette, New Seekers, Carly Simon, Sweet, Hot Chocolate, Mud, Dr Hook, Elvis Presley Elton John, ELO, Three Degrees & Art Garfunkel.

To conclude, for a very comprehensive collection of UK's hits of the 7Os this is by far the best one.

However, personally, speaking the top ten single hit from 1976 by John Miles "Music" is not included in this compilation and some of the more recent 70s compilations have included it - which is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Those Were The Days, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
This CD really takes you back to the glory days of music when everything was new, affordable and durable. Nice buy at a very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i liked it, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
had a good variety of tunes from the whole of decade. plenty for the customers to sing along to during there evening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate 70s Pop, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. A. Nicholls "Mr A Nicholls" (PRESTON,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
I just love the 70s and this Album as 3 CDs and as 54 Great Tracks on it with The Monkees - Daydream Believer , 10cc - I'm Not in Love , Alice Cooper - School's Out , Elvis Presley - Always on My Mind, Johnny Mathis - When a Child is Born and David Soul - Don't Give Up On Us Just a Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars glam rock era, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
another product of quality, tunes not heard for years, brings back memories of when I was a kid and the dumb dress sense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality second hand album, 1 April 2013
By 
Roadrunner (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
Very happy with my purchase. Arrived quickly and in the state that I expected from the description. No complaints at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection!, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Amanda (Diss, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
A good collection although some of my favourites are not there so I had to buy another 70's to go with it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase delighted with the cds, 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
the cds are a great purchase all the music that I love is on them and we had a great night singing and dancing away to them cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing, 11 July 2010
By 
A. B. Neilson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate 70s Pop (Audio CD)
Does memory play tricks on you? Perhaps the music wasn't as good as I remember it. Certainly music was less sophisticated & tracks shorter in the 70s. I have more respect for DJs now - recognising they choose a play list mix with skill. However maybe it was just that the records that were particularly memorable to me were missing from this compellation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate 70s Pop
Ultimate 70s Pop by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews