Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tekken is back.........and boy its great
Well Tekken is back after a slightly dissapointing run on the ps2 so far. Tekken 5 though more than makes up for the poor Tekken 4 it is groundbreaking and totally new for the beat em up genre which, lets be honest needed some new life.
So, what makes Tekken 5 so great ? Where do I start.Firstly the graphics are amazing,matching those of the fantastic Soul Calibur 2,...
Published on 3 July 2005 by 12488

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not different enough
I love Tekken and have been playing it for many years but couldnt help being disappointed with this one. It just doesnt have enough that is new, the developers must also think so as they have had to add the first three games to make up for what it lacks in playability!

The gameplay has slowed down even more than Tekken 4 which is against the whole point of...
Published on 27 Jun 2005 by Mr. H. Grewal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tekken is back.........and boy its great, 3 July 2005
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
Well Tekken is back after a slightly dissapointing run on the ps2 so far. Tekken 5 though more than makes up for the poor Tekken 4 it is groundbreaking and totally new for the beat em up genre which, lets be honest needed some new life.
So, what makes Tekken 5 so great ? Where do I start.Firstly the graphics are amazing,matching those of the fantastic Soul Calibur 2, clothes and hair flow beautifully and the characters are gorgeously detailed.Secondly the gameplay surpasses even Tekken 3 and Soul Calibur 2, making it the most fluid and exciting fighting game to date.
There are also lots of modes in Tekken 5. The usual Time Attack,Story,Practice,Survival,VS and Team Battle modes are all there but there are a couple of new ones. Arcade is a fantastic new mode lets you build up your own character through the rankings and since the opponents are customised it makes up for the lack of online play, sort of anyway. Customise mode is also good as you can change your characters appearance. Finally arcade versions of Tekken 1,2,and 3 are all playable making this game an essential purchase.
There are also 30 characters in Tekken 5 compared to the 19 in Tekken 4. Old favourites like Jin,Heihachi,Julia,Nina and Yoshimitsu all return, as well as unexpected comebacks from Wang,Bruce and Mokujin.There are also 3 new characters to get to grips with, Raven, Feng and Asuka adding 3 new fighting styles.
The locations are also superbly detailed and the wonky surfaces in Tekken 4 have thankfully,gone. This is most definately the best Tekken so far and was well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to its Best ! ! !, 23 Jun 2005
By 
Max Payne (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
Ever since Tekken 3 graced us it has been a disappointing time for Tekken fans. Tag Tournament was just a graphics improvement and Tekken 4 lost originality. I had my doubts about Tekken 5 but after playing it I never looked back.
The graphics are absolutely outstanding. It's as if you are playing an Xbox game. The fighters are superbly detailed and the background effects are fantastic. This also gives me more confidence that Resident Evil 4 will still look great when it is released on the PS2. The stages also look sublime, whith a mixture of enclosed and open arenas opposed to Tekken 4 when the arenas were just too small. They are also interactive so hitting the ground or wall causes it to crack or break which adds to the effect.
There are 3 new characters: Raven, a ninja working for a secret cooperation, Asuka, who uses Kazama style martial arts and Feng Wei, a chinise kempo artist who killed his master. This adds to the roster of returning characters from previous games such as Baek Do San, Bryan Fury and Anna Williams. This also adds to old favourites like Kazuya, Paul, King and Law.
The best thing about Tekken 5 is that it has gone back to basics. Instead of trying to get you tactical in Tekken 4 it has gone back to being an all out beat em up like it should be. Namco have learnt it shouldn't try to be something it's not. Some additional features include the Devil Within, an action side story playing as Jin, the ability to fight for money and customise your characters clothing and even Tekken 1,2 and 3 are playable. Sure it won't last long in single player, but it is awsome in multiplayer. Tekken is well and truly back, and with Tekken 6 planned for PS3, it's back with a bang!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King of Iron Fist returns, 11 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
I ahve always been a fan of the Tekken series, and this game is certainly no exception.
It seem here that Tekken has gone back to it's roots, reintroducing some of the older characters (Ganryu was an interesting surprise, and Baek a welcome old friend...)
The arcade mode is brilliant, no longer a dull copy of the story mode, but an opportunity to rate your skills and rise through the ranks to eventually become a tekken master.
There is also now an opportunity to gain gold and alter the character's appearance, with many comedy moments.
The Devil Within (a Tekken Force style minigame) is a little disappointing, with Jin being the only playable character, and the fighting style much simplified in comparison to previous Tekken Force game modes. However, it is an essential tool if you want to get cheap visual upgrades for your character.
This is more than made up for however by the Archive history settings, where you can play Tekken 1 to 3, and also Starblade (after unlocking the extra), a spacey shoot-em-up.
The character's move lists have all improved, and they have thankfully removed the switch-style throw from Tekken 4. One thing they did get rid of from Tekken 4 however is the few seconds of movement before the round starts, which I always found very handy for getting into set stances (particularly for Lei).
So Overall:
Graphics: - 10/10
Gameplay - 11/10
Longevity - 10/10 - the arcade and customise settings really improve this, adding incentive to mastering every character
Buy this game, you will not be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lasts ages and i just cant get enough, 25 Sep 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
WAPP, THUMP, SNAP! as soon as i get bored of one character, i just choose one of the other 35 or so people and then learn their moves to go through the story mode with them. Multiplayer is great too because if who you are playing against is a beginner, they can button bash and still do quite well (my 8 year-old sister even beat me once...) The characters are well thought out, (although 3 of them are useless and they have the lamest moves)and it is great fun to change character every other match so that you get a good variety of gameplay. It may seem the same over and over, but it isnt. This was my first tekken game on a console (except tekken advance on GBA)and the graphics are awesome. This is weirdly replayable for years on end and the moves are extremely satisfying to pull off. GETTTTTTTTTT ITTTTTTTTTT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its up to u, 25 Jun 2006
By 
d mcb "d man" (N. Ireland, Belfast) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
this is a fun game one of the best i have ever played admittedly the end baddie is extremly hard to beat but that just gives u an excuse to keep playin
i got the game the day it came out and i'm still playing it.

customizing your characters is fun it gives u feeling that their yours
if u were a first time buyer of tekken games i would advise u to get tekken3, tekken5' and when it comes out tekken 6

happy gaming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got me blisters, but OH WELL..!!, 27 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
Teenagers you'd love this game! This is one of the most addicting AND Annoying! game ever. The graphics are excellent. the mini movies (between the game) are brilliant as well. The sounds not bad at all. You have to complete the story mode to Unlock a new character which makes it addicting as you would want to see whos the new character gunna be and whats he like (special powers, etc etc.) *BUT* the annoying bit is the last person that you have to beat in Story mode. you could check other reviews from other websites and they would tell you that it hurts their figers and hands cuz of repeatedly pressing buttons (pretty funny). but ITS WORTH IT, (having blisters :> ) so GET IT..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Latest Installment Of Tekken, 15 Jan 2006
By 
Ms. L. M. Whiley "last-slice-of-cake" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
The next Tekken game has gone off like a firework; it has brung the series into a new generation with its intense graphics, 3D gameplay and many other modes of enjoyment.
In this new game, we see all our old friends brought back, such as King, Heihachi, Law, Yoshimitsu and Paul. Many faces have vanished or died, such as Armor King, Gon, Kunimitsu and Eddy, but the losses are well made up with the new appearnces. We are introduced to Steve, Feng, Jinpachi, Devil Jin, Jack 5, Christie, Marduk and many others.
A very decent game to buy for quick or extensive play, and brilliant for multiplayer. Way to go, Tekken! Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless!!, 5 Aug 2005
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
When i put Tekken 5 into the PS2 i didnt quite now what to expect. It had been a long while since Tekken 4 had been released and since then the Mortal Kombat series had really gathered pace, the wrestling games like smackdown and def jam went to a whole new level, even Dragonballz looked tight. Plus the console release was frought with delay after delay.
I was not disappointed... far from it. This has to be one of the most playable games in console history and definately the greatest beat em up of its kind. The fighting styles are actually real; Karate, Wing Chung, Taekwondo, Capoeria (sp), other styles of kung fu, mixed martial arts a long with other fighting styles are all excellently represented here and so so life like its untrue.
The gameplay is superb; while moves are not too difficult to learn (unlike MK for eg, speaking as a veteran though) the timing and execution require a great degree of skill. Combos have been brought to a new level with juggling, although it gets a bit silly sometimes in my opinion, and the new characters are fantastic, not just lazy roster additions. Asuka Kazama, Wang, Baek and Raven especially are the standouts for me but im sure everyone will have their personal favourites.
The arcade mode has been revolutionised with the grading system; starting with Kyu, then dan, then various ranks which you attain by beating opponents of all grades although the further you go up the rarer the possibility of a ranking match. Absolutely fantastic i must say where as in tekken 4 it just gets monotonous now there is a real challenge behind every fight. The scenary has all changed as well, the graphics are faultless and even the in game soundtrack is pretty cool.
Anyways ive completed it with Lin Xiaoyu, Hwoarang and Baek and intend to do so with the likes Wang and Raven sometime soon. It is highly addictive and i think about it all the time, i was thinking about it now b4 i decided to write this review. The training mode has beeen abolished but practice is still there which is a necessity.
Also 'weak' characters from the last game such as Christie and Xiaoyu have been vastly improved and are now on a par with the faves Hwoarang, Law, Jin and Steve etc. All the existing charcters have been given new moves and a wider variety of move combinations.
The one disappointing aspect, im sure youve heard echoed elsewhere, is the abscence of Tekken Force a real innovation in my opinion. I think Namco should have expanded on this concept imo, have heard rumours that there may be a game dedicated to this concept, not sure though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but why no online play?, 24 Jun 2005
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
When I rented out Tekken 5, I was quite skeptical. I mean, if a beat-em-up has been going for this long, it starts to flake off parts, lose its brilliance.
Ohhh how wrong I was.
Tekken 5 is the best installment of Tekken yet. The story mode, unlike Tekken 4's, is easy to follow and makes sense. I'm not saying Tekken 4 was a bad game, I loved it, but Tekken 5 makes it's predecessor feel drab in comparison. No, I'm not kidding.
First up is the ability to customise your characters. Unlock new outfits, kit your person out, kick ass in style. Repeat. For some reason, it just makes a game feel more wholesome if you can customise your character.
Another part is the awesome new minigame, Devil Within. It's a variation of Tekken Force. I won't go into depth here, but trust me, it's ace.
My only niggle is the lack of online multiplayer. Considering the expanse of PS2 Online, it seemed a done deal that Tekken's new installment would be online. But it wasn't. Oh well, maybe next time.
All in all, Tekken 5 earns a four out of five. A brilliant game altogether, but would've been the most complete beat-em-up if it had been gifted online play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tekken 5, 27 Jun 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tekken 5 (PS2) (Video Game)
My son and I have been fans of Tekken right from the original, through Tekken 2 and 3 (on the Play Station 1), we seemed to have missed 4 (although reading the reviews here it looks like we didn't miss much) and this weekend we took on the new challenges of Tekken 5.
When spending £30 plus on a game you do expect something special for your money and I'm more than happy to report that this game brings that and plenty more besides.
It's been a long time complaint of the Tekken series that you cannot design and adapt the various warriors, well in this one you can! Hundreds of combinations of costumes and extras.
The fight scenes are visually stunning with some great animated backdrops, and I love the exploding floor surfaces when one warrior bites the dust. The characters are absolutely fantastic, both in their movements and their design. The characters you know and recognise from previous games and been extended and improved and the new characters are an interesting addition. The punches and kicks and the combination attacks look superb and range from the easy to the tricky to master. Very challenging. One final mention for the absolutely gorgeous looking female fighters! Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tekken 5 (PS2)
Tekken 5 (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£32.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews