Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing on TV ever!!!!
I got into 24 very late (I missed these 4 series when they were on TV) and after the void left by the finishing of the X Files I firstly bought Series One of this on video and was blown away!!!
When I finished series one I then purchased this and got stuck into the rest of the series 2-4. What can i say, every episode/hour is an excellent example of how to write a...
Published on 28 Feb 2006 by Mr. G. Charlesworth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit repetative
I thouroughly enjoyed the first series, it kept me glued to the screen wanting to know what happened next.
With the second series I got a distinct feeling of de ja vous. The wife/girlfriend in peril. The daughter in danger.
Series 3 and 4 were not much better. They must have tried really hard to include so many cliches into each series.
The framework of...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by Mr Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing on TV ever!!!!, 28 Feb 2006
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
I got into 24 very late (I missed these 4 series when they were on TV) and after the void left by the finishing of the X Files I firstly bought Series One of this on video and was blown away!!!
When I finished series one I then purchased this and got stuck into the rest of the series 2-4. What can i say, every episode/hour is an excellent example of how to write a taut and exciting TV programme and trying to watch just one episode is hard work as that then turns into 2 or 3 or sometimes 4 until you reach each days conclusion.
All in all day one is the best but the plot twists and excellent characters throughout are engaging and a joy to watch, real edge of the seat stuff!!!
If you haven't already checked out 24 do so now if you love excellent thrillers. You won't be disappointed.
Long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest TV series of all time, 29 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
If you haven't seen any of these, so much the better for you, as you can now watch all 4 series back-to-back without knowing any of the many twists. Of course it goes without seeing that YOU MUST GET THIS! The story revolves through all series around the CTU (counter terrorist unit) in LA who combat various threats to national security. As well as the action packed plot about the federal agents, there is always an intelligent and gripping political plot where the president's administration is being subverted by shady political groups. I won't give too much away about the details. The "24" of the title refers to the real-time structure of the show where all the events pass continuously. This definately gives the show pace, but it is not what makes 24 so good. That is down to the clever plots, twists and explosive action. You do not actually get 24 hours of program as Sky's atrociously long adverts leave each episode at about 40-45 minutes, another reason to buy this on DVD, and I have alltogether given up with watching it on TV as big ad breaks and week long gaps between episodes ruin my enjoyment of 24.
So, it breaks down like this
24 S1
Plot and twists: 10/10
Characters: 9/10
Acting and scripting: 8/10
Excitement: 10/10
24 S2
Plot and twists:9/10
Characters:10/10
Acting and scripting:10/10
Excitement: 10/10
24 S3
Plot and twists:6/10
Characters: 5/10
Acting and scripting: 5/10
Excitement: 7/10
24 S4
Plot and twists: 9/10
Characters: 8/10
Acting and scripting: 8/10
Excitement: 10/10
So, I hope by now this is already in your shopping basket. For full spoiler free enjoyment follow these rule
-Watch in order
-Do not read blurb on episodes or on back of box
-Do not look at DVD art
-Do not look at opening credit names if you know the actors
I know it sounds stupid, but I've had many plot twists ruined by not adhering to the above
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best show ever, 28 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
This has got to be the best show ever to have been put on tv. Kiefer Sutherland is excellent as the the gorgeous Jack Bauer. I was instantly hooked on this fabulous show. It is so addictive that I couldn't watch anything else until I had finished the entire box set. Bring on series 5!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24, 31 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
By far the greatest TV drama ever. The everchanging fast paced events that occur in real time is one of the contributing factors to this. From series 1-4 the quality of the episodes never faulters. Kiefer Sutherland plays the role of a CTU federal agent to perfection. His character has many differnt dimensions, that will constantly leave the audience surprised. You will be hooked by the first episode of any of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24 : Series 4, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
It arrived in the post yesterday. Those who know how addictive it is will understand how I've watched the whole 24 hours already!
As usual, viewers won't be disappointed. I won't give anything away, but needless to say the writers have got it spot on, yet again, although during the "previously on 24" sections, there are different camera shots than from the original episode. Maybe that's deliberate tho. I haven't watched the extra DVD that comes in the box yet.
I can't wait for Series 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 3rd ever review - mine all mine!!! I wrote it!, 11 Aug 2005
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Tick - boooooom tick - booooom. Watch one episode of one series and it is this noise, the passing of time, that will remain etched upon your mind, endlessly repeating, for hours.
Well... maybe that's a touch melodramatic, but drama makes this show what it is, one where lives are expendible and back-biting and treachery are just around every corner.
The format is the same for every series. Threat to USA, bad guys are planning something big, Jack Bauer (Counter Terrorism Unit special agent) finds them, he gets kidnapped/tortured/attacked (delete as appropriate), he escapes (miraculously), kills the bad guys, makes his way to the BIG BOSS and usually takes him out too. The glory of America is returned. Somewhere along the line, Jack's family get kidnapped/killed and CTU desert him as a 'rogue agent'.
It's a good idea, the whole thing shows in real time, so one day really does take 24 hours to watch, nothing is ever what it seems to be, and the story is only wrapped up within the last 5 minutes, so it certainly keeps you watching.
However, the question I am asking, with a season 5 showing in America in January is 'How many bad days can Jack Bauer have before it all becomes TOTALLY unbelievable?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set!, 9 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic! Best box set I've ever owned! Full of special features to keep you ocupied for hours... scratch that... DAYS!! And a brilliant way to catch-up before the release of Season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit repetative, 7 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
I thouroughly enjoyed the first series, it kept me glued to the screen wanting to know what happened next.
With the second series I got a distinct feeling of de ja vous. The wife/girlfriend in peril. The daughter in danger.
Series 3 and 4 were not much better. They must have tried really hard to include so many cliches into each series.
The framework of the stories was good, the presentation style interesting, some of the characters were three dimentional and interesting (only a few) shame they didn't pay more attention to the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best TV Show Ever!, 10 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
If you've never seen this show you must have had your head well and truly buried in the sand for the last few years. If you are one of those people, you now have a chance to redeem yourself and own all four seasons in one box set! However, before you do so, here is my review of each superb season:
Season 1: 7/10
Probably the worst season in my opinion. Starts off full of tension and excitment but does begin to drag in the second half. Although I'm not a critic of the show's unbelievability at times (after all, such things are meant to be an escape from reality), the constant perils befalling Jack's family get a little tedious. However, this is still brilliant TV, and would have gotten a higher rating from myself if it weren't for the better seasons to come.
Season 2: 9/10
A huge improvement on the first season with a lot more action and higher stakes. The plot is gripping from start to finish. My only two criticisms with this season are: 1) The first half of the series is much better than the second. 2) The constant trouble Kim finds herself in which just becomes an annoyance.
Season 3: 10/10
For some reason, reviews on here seem to quite critical of this season , which I regard as the best of the lot. The storyline is gripping and tight all the way through, and unlike Season 2, improves significantly in the second half leading up to a great climax. Also absent are the perils of Kim which effectively makes this a flawless season in every sense of the word.
Season 4: 8/10
The main problem with season 4 is the fact that the plot is all over the place. Whilst this is a contrived effect by the script writers to demonstrate the chaos experienced in trying to catch terrorists whose true aim is never clear, it does also have the effect of taking some of the depth out of the show for the fisrt time in its existence. Also, the idea of gradually introducing past characters throughout the series stinks of it selling out. On the plus side, the beginning and ending of the season are the most dramatic yet and things are well and truly set up brilliantly for the forthcoming Season 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Very speedy delivery and item exactly as advertised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24 - Season 1-4 [DVD]
24 - Season 1-4 [DVD] by Kiefer Sutherland (DVD - 2005)
£17.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews