Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BLU RAY IS UNCUT!
Full limo scene etc. is all there. Gives it the 12 certificate too (the dvd is PG). Makes the upgrade to blu ray even more worthwhile - ok the picture and sound aren't exactly reference quality but it's the best your going to get.
Published 4 months ago by Ben Reid

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give that guy a break!?!
Yes I accept that a one star review of this bloody brilliant spoof film is a little harsh but he has a point. I bought this film for all the funny stuff I loved when I watched it many times on the TV. Aswell as the arena fight, the seduction scene was the one I was most fond of. So imagine my unfortunate surprise when this version just dances right past it. It's a real...
Published on 15 Jun 2008 by Jake Rowlinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give that guy a break!?!, 15 Jun 2008
This review is from: Hot Shots! - Part Deux [DVD] (DVD)
Yes I accept that a one star review of this bloody brilliant spoof film is a little harsh but he has a point. I bought this film for all the funny stuff I loved when I watched it many times on the TV. Aswell as the arena fight, the seduction scene was the one I was most fond of. So imagine my unfortunate surprise when this version just dances right past it. It's a real shame and the only reason I can guess they took it out was that it was a 'sex scene' and so raised the classification rating up from a PG. It's lucky i've got the proper version on VHS cause otherwise the lack of the taxi scene with a cheeky bit of the Pointer Sisters' "I'm so excited" would have been even more of a bummer. Basically, if you have seen the film before beware, this whole segment under fire is A.W.O.L. But if you havn't seen the film, don't let this put you off getiing it 'cause the rest is some of the funnyest material to come out of America. This has always been one of my very favorite comedy films and it IS just a shame they didn't feel the need to release the whole film, who cares if it's put up to a 12A or whatever? The full film is definately worth five stars, i've simply given it three, as it lacked the scene I loved so much i've written a review stating how much it was missed by a fan of the full film in all its wacky goodness. All the same...one star? I don't think so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Comedy- 1 Star DVD, 24 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Hot Shots! - Part Deux [DVD] (DVD)
This film is one of my all time favourite spoofs,one i always enjoyed on TV and VHS but be warned when getting the DVD-the film is edited.the entire scene with Topper Harley and Michelle in the back of the limo then in Michelles bedroom has been removed! this scene is one of the funniest of the movie! Whats left of the film is still funny but theres no reason this scene should have been cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of cuts but still funny, 5 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. C. Webb "Ceri" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Shots! - Part Deux [DVD] (DVD)
Hot Shots [DVD] [1991]

both the original Hot Shots and this, its sequel, are among my favourite films, but I can't help being disappointed with the dvds which have had considerable cuts. while the films are still funny, they are not as funny as they were in full. If I had known about the cuts, I may not have bought the dvds. however, without the full versions being available this is the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hot shots part deux, 5 Aug 2011
This review is from: Hot Shots! - Part Deux [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with the other reviews.I was left feeling bitterly disappointed by the cuts made. Particularly the limo scene. Can anybody tell me where I can buy an uncut version please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BLU RAY IS UNCUT!, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full limo scene etc. is all there. Gives it the 12 certificate too (the dvd is PG). Makes the upgrade to blu ray even more worthwhile - ok the picture and sound aren't exactly reference quality but it's the best your going to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High flying comedy on Firmer ground., 19 Oct 2002
Hot Shots part Deux is one of those true glories.....A sequel which excels it's predecessor. Following on from the aviation antics of the first film this one finds the lead character, Topper Harley, living up to the Rambo and Commando traditions as he leads a mission to rescue a group of soldiers held prisoner by the malevolent Saddam Hussein (No...Really).
He's assisted in this endeavour by his love interest from the first film as well as an elite squad of soldiers (Including Robocop's Miguel ferrer and Comedian Ryan Stiles).
The film manages to integrate and pastiche a great many war films, and quite a few others as well (Including Star Wars and Terminator II......There's even a Wizard of Oz gag in there).
Whilst the plot is not much to write home about, the dialogue is wonderful, and you find yourself concentrating intently on the film so you don't miss any of the sight gags (Like the Map in the briefing room, which shows the Team's target, located between lands shown as 'Iraq' and 'A hard place').
There are some great performances...Charlie Sheen manages to get through the whole thing with a clean deapan style, whilst Lloyd Bridges leaves no scenery unchewed in his role as the president of the USA.
It's not Shakespeare, and in it's favour it never aspires to greatness, but as a work of comedy it excels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - SCENE MISSING, 13 Jan 2008
This review is from: Hot Shots! - Part Deux [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is incomplete!!! There is a scene missing. Don't believe me? Check the run time. This region 2 release runs for 83 minutes, the region 1 release runs for 88. If you have seen the full film the missing scene is the car ride and "Basic Instinct" spoof which I thought was really funny.
I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Region A/B/C, not the best image quality but it's an old movie, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Confirming this is actually region A/B/C, all 3 logos are on the back and it plays fine on my North American Blu-ray player in the USA! Unfortunately, the image quality is not that great; I was a little disappointed. It's definitely better than the DVD on my 55" widescreen, but still looks noticeably grainy. This is still the best quality release format to date and the price is right. It was still incredibly cheap and easy to buy here on amazon.co.uk and ship to the US, even with the shipping it was cheaper than many domestic Blu-Rays! I also bought Hot Shots!, Naked Gun 2 1/2 and 33 1/3, none of which are available in the US yet. Hopefully if more people start buying the UK versions, they will release in the US in better quality/remastered versions. This is certainly not one of the greatest movies ever made or nearly as well made as the first Naked Gun and Hot Shots films, but it does have a few very funny moments...considering the other crap, unheard-of movies they put out in Blu-Ray, Paramount could at least release this on Blu-Ray in the USA by now...c'mon already!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REGION 2 (BRITISH) HOT SHOTS PART DEUX - UNCUT!!, 1 April 2014
Just to clarify; this Blu-ray release of Hot Shots Part Deux is uncut. It includes the Basic Instinct spoof sex scene. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all of my items turned up exactly as stated i am very pleased will defo buy from this seller again great film very very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Shots! - Part Deux [DVD]
Hot Shots! - Part Deux [DVD] by Jim Abrahams (DVD - 2005)
£3.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews