Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars36
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2006
I'll start with the usual "if you liked..." stuff. Basically this is in the same vein as "Airplane", "Naked Gun" and all those other spoofs out there. This example is a spoof of Top Gun, and stars Charlie Sheen and Jon Cryer (Who now appear together in '2 and a half men') amongst others. Charlie Sheen was born to be in spoof movies, he is truely hilarious. The dialogue is well paced and very funny and i noticed that this film has a lot of visual gags in it, compared to films such as "Airplane".
As a spoof film the real question is "is it funny?", and the answer is a resounding yes. This movie is guaranteed laughs...
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2005
Hot shots is the best spoof film . its funny from start to finish . i didnt like Charlie Sheen till i seen this and realised what a great actor he is , how he manages to keep a straight face ill never know! . Admiral Benson is one of the funniest characters in it , hes so insane! this movie is great , i recommend anyone go see it! now!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2005
This kooky movie mainly parodies Tom Cruise's Top Gun, but pokes fun at Dances With Wolves, and many others. This is the story of Lt. Topper Harley (played by Charlie Sheen), who is trying to overcome the ghosts that haunt his life. But, the U.S Government needs Topper to fly in a secret mission to destroy a nuclear plant in Iraq. But, between evil capitalists, an insane admiral (Lloyd Bridges), and a band of strange and incompetent pilots, this is bound to be a far from normal mission! [Color, released in 1991, with a running time of 1:24.]
This is an extremely funny, extremely offbeat movie from that king of funny, offbeat movies - Jim Abrahams. If you are familiar with Mr. Abrahams' other movies, Airplane and The Naked Gun, then you know just what kind of zaniness he is capable of. Well, this movie lives up to the standards set by those other Abrahams hits.
The story is quite funny, with lots of slapstick, sight gags, and all around silliness. My daughter bought this movie with her own money, and enjoyed it immensely. In fact, the whole family did. We highly enjoyed this movie, and highly recommend it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
This is without doubt a 5 star comedy all round, one of the greatest comedy films of all time and always will be, awesome story that loosely follows top gun Hot Shots is ridden with finely crafted comedy and fantastic jokes that cannot be ever done again in the same way, the cast is perfect all-round with great effect with the characters! This is Jim Abrahams baby and im so glad it was made!! Its one of those little gems that you keep forever! the only down side is UK version for some reason has slight cuts, the US version is the proper uncut version and the definitive movie!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2001
This film has it all. It works better if you have seen Top Gun. The script is good and you have to concentrate to catch the brilliant background detail. As far as spoofs go this is one of the best and a lotof this is due to the gorgeous and talented cast!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
I've just watched this on tv, never having seen it before.

Its hilarity needs no recommendation from me, but there is a mystery: why, in all the complimentary reviews, did nobody pick out the set piece to the background of "Only You" for special mention. It's the very best bit of the film!

To get 5 stars though, it would have had to equal "Airplane" which, for me, it didn't quite manage.

Douglas Wood
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I chose this rating because it was a movie that made me laugh in a long time.

Again, there was nothing to Dislike.
Packaging, condition of item, customer service and time received item (early). Were excellent.

Friends and family with a much lighter sense of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Classic and still hilarious. Sheen was a marvel at playing deadpan. How the actors managed to keep straight faced whilst delivering some classic one liners is beyond me. Fully recommended to any comedy lover or even top gun fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
It has been years since I saw the movie in theaters but I still laugh out very loud with the BD.
Sadly some jokes are dated but overall is really funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Superb product, brilliant picture quality, Excellent sound quality, very speedy delivery. Would highly recommend this product to anyone who likes this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)