Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julie Andrews!!!
Possibly Peter Cook's greatest and yet most underated piece of work. Not only is the screenplay utterly delicious, but Cook's portrayal of the Devil incarnate (a.k.a George Spiggott) has to be one of the best cinematic 'Satans' of all time. There are clear undertones of their fiery off-screen relationship, but if don't look too deeply, you will enjoy this film for what it...
Published on 23 Jun. 2005 by Mr M Franklin

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golden oldie
This is a fantastic film. Forget the awful Liz Hurley remake, Cook and Moore hit all the right spots in this one.

'So why the three star review, then, if it's so good?' Well, I'm very glad you asked. The film itself is fantastic, but this particular edition has no subtitles. A huge disappointment for hard-of-hearing viewers.

But then it does have...
Published on 11 July 2011 by amazoomer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bedazzled..., 27 May 2010
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
What a great film! Peter Cook is brilliant. Don't bother with the remake with Liz Hurley though, this is far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bedazzled !, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
Yukiko Yamagata (Osaka, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
I've been paitiently waited for this film released as DVD for more than 10 years. Try it and you'll see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD is mismarked!, 26 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie--which is why I give it 5 stars. This review is of the advertised DVD edition. It is marked here on Amazon.co.uk, as well as on the DVD box, as "Region 0", meaning that it will play on any DVD player in any country. IF YOU ARE OUTSIDE THE U.K., DON'T BUY IT--IT IS NOT REGION 0 AND IT WILL NOT PLAY ON YOUR DVD PLAYER! I purchased one (I am in California), and when I attempted to play it on several different DVD players here, a message appeared on the television screen stating "Playback prohibited by area limitations". It's too bad a Region 1 (U.S.A. and Canada) version of this classic film isn't being produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Good evening, I couldn't help noticing that you were making an unsuccessful suicide bid.", 7 Jun. 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
Stanley works in a fast food cafe and flashes adoring looks at his glamorous colleague whilst convincing himself that she's well above his league. Infact, he's never going to amount to anything, he's insignificant, he may as well end it all and kill himself - only he can't even do that properly.

Cue Peter Cook as the dapper devil who spies a chance to win his competition with God and accrue another soul in exchange for a few wishes. From the moment he arrives the film is full of witty dialogue which will have you rewinding the DVD back every few seconds to re-experience some gilt-edged sharp utterance. While Dudley Moore settles down perfectly into the role, Cook almost seems awkard as George 'The Prince of Darkness' Spiggot - but that gives the character an 'not-of-this-world' feel. It's clear that Cook revels in the dark humour though and you can't imagine anyone else in the role - you certainly can't imagine why anyone would ever want to make a rubbish re-make over 30 years later!

It it weren't for the two principle members of cast then this film would probably fall into obscurity, but there is undoubtedly a complex chemistry between the two which makes for a compelling watch, and the stylish sixties London setting also captures a past creative energy which is a delight to experience. As Stanley works through his seven wishes and Spiggot hi-jacks them to satisfy his own wicked sense of humour the film becomes almost farcical, but the duo are strong enough to pull it back so that it never decends into chaos. Faust has never been in safer hands and if Bedazzled doesn't blow you away at first, then it will stay with you, niggling away at the back of your mind and making you smirk when you recall Dudley Moore's desperation or Peter Cook's rapier retorts.

In a nutshell: This isn't a film which has you constantly laughing, you'll laugh at points but most of the enjoyment comes from the exchanges between Cook and Moore. It's a bit like an Oscar Wilde book; you don't necessarily find the story easy to read - but you keep reading because every couple of pages delivers you an absolute gem of a line which is laced with intelligent wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bedazzled, 10 May 2011
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this movie when it was first released many years ago. This is a great copy and the movie is much much better than Liz Hurley's more recent production. That said sometimes the dialogue is a little long winded but the satirical comic genius of Moore and Cook's is wonderful to revisit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pete & Dud at their best on teh big screen, 21 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. M. R. Putt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
I bought the DVD because I had seen this film years ago and had enjoyed it immensely.
I always remembered Peter Cook as the really dry Devil.
If you have never seen this before I envy you; you're in for a treat.

By the way the Liz Hurley/Hollywood re-make is a travesty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past., 27 Nov. 2011
By 
Tough Chops (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
There are several famous scenes in this reworking of the "Faust" story. It is a little dated, but it was made over 40 years ago! The trampolining nuns are still funny, and there are great performances by Pete and Dud AND Eleanor Bron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage fun, 17 April 2012
By 
K. W. E. Page (Leigh on Sea England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny - much better than the later remake. Nostalgic view of 60's Britain. Get's a little lost in a few places, hence only four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is absolutely my favorite movie!, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
My favorite movie - plain and simple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So, so much better than the remake., 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bedazzled [DVD] (DVD)
So, so much better than the remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bedazzled [DVD]
Bedazzled [DVD] by Stanley Donen (DVD - 2005)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews