Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty accurate
I thought it was a good song, and I thought the last reviewer missed the point a little, because as far as I know, the song is about the kind of thing that happens to guys all the time, and maybe happens worse every once in a while.
Ok, so maybe when you see a cute girl there is little more than lust involved - but it's more about what the lust could represent that...
Published on 8 Oct 2005 by zuppardi

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love it or Hate it
It seems that this simple song has invoked reactions of either love or hate, at least in those people which have reviewed it so far.
As to the slating/loving of the lyrics. To some extent I can understand where the slaters are coming from, but they didn't listen to the last line: The guy who 1st comes up with a plan, then thinks they shared this "moment", at the end...
Published on 23 Sep 2005 by daveyjones101


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty accurate, 8 Oct 2005
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
I thought it was a good song, and I thought the last reviewer missed the point a little, because as far as I know, the song is about the kind of thing that happens to guys all the time, and maybe happens worse every once in a while.
Ok, so maybe when you see a cute girl there is little more than lust involved - but it's more about what the lust could represent that is the main issue. throughout literature and music guys have been trying to articulate this insane sense that when you see someone you like it could mean the end of everything you knew and the beginning of something incredible.
From Dante to James Joyce guys have been getting stupidly hung-up on girls they don't even know. Even if you manage to identify this predilection there's nothing much you can do to change it. But if you do identify it in yourself (and I'm speaking to guys here) then I think you'll like this song. It plays well for that girl you saw the other week / month / year that you haven't been able to stop thinking about even though you know that no matter how many plans you formulate it'll never come to anything because deep down inside you know that what the last reviewer wrote is absolutely true... although not quite true - because there's always this extra little thing that means so much more.
Listen to the song and see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for all, 16 May 2005
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
If you have been fortunate to hear James Blunt's album you will indeed know that this is the best single on the album.
It is typical Blunt style. If you only buy one single - buy this one. If it appears a little sad - it was indeed written from the heart and you can just feel that when you hear it.
Fantastic new singer with a fantastic new single - the album, although meloncony at times, is fantastic too.
Well Done James Blunt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Heart, 9 Aug 2005
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
James Blunt has class, experiences that would shame any fool for deriding his lyrics, and obvious talent for being able to craft such delicate and passionate songs.
ANYONE who cannot see or feel this when they listen to his voice and music has no heart... I almost pity them.
My sympathies to you cynics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love it or Hate it, 23 Sep 2005
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
It seems that this simple song has invoked reactions of either love or hate, at least in those people which have reviewed it so far.
As to the slating/loving of the lyrics. To some extent I can understand where the slaters are coming from, but they didn't listen to the last line: The guy who 1st comes up with a plan, then thinks they shared this "moment", at the end realizes himself that actually he better get a grip and "face the truth". In that regard it is a good reflection on the reactionary way us blokes brains work when we see a cute girl.
As to the lovers of the lyrics perhaps they missed it a bit as well. It isn't a heartfelt song, its just the story of a bloke who see's a qute girl, his brain gets working as it does, then he comes to his senses.
As to the slating/loving of the music and voice. I think the music is fine, catchy etc.
So I will give this a good 3 stars. Therefore I am the first reviewer in the like it camp, rather than the love/hate...
I would still say buy the album and enjoy it (and life) rather than analizing everything and rather than being sentimental... Now I have offended both love/hate camps I will leave it there ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 24 Aug 2005
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
WOW is what I have to say. As soon as I heard this song my jaw dropped as it is one of few songs that made my heart melt. It may be a slow song but it's catchy and WILL get stuck in your head.
James Blunt has a lovely voice that you could listen to for hours on end, he creates beautiful songs in his album along with this one. His album is stunning and should be bought by everyone, but most especially this song, you will be humming it for ages!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS SONG, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
I love this CD but should have read the description better as thought it was an album and not a single, still great though!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great thanks, used it to put in a fame ..., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Great thanks, used it to put in a fame for a present so cant comment on quality of recording ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Really like it but, wish I had bought the album, not single. It was good though, and have enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
love all is stuff will buy more of is not sure what cds are available will look when i get chance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Beautiful, 27 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: You're Beautiful [CD 1] (Audio CD)
There is usually one song, in a pop singer's repertoire, which will forever be associated with a singer for all the wrong reasons. James Blunt has `You're Beautiful', with its uninspiring lyrics, and his vocal approach sounding as if he is singing the song in the wrong octave. You're Beautiful lacks any substance or source to make it worth listening to, that not even aging the song by half a decade can erode.
Luckily, the CD single does have a more palatable song, Fall at Your Feet, done in an acoustic set-up. However, even that gives you the impression that Blunt is a capable of his surprising rise to pop stardom, but you might want to find something more substantial from him to support such a claim.
This single of You're Beautiful is not beautiful, mainly as the edited version makes you want to make a tasteless coaster out of the CD itself, then endure this limpid chart-topper from yesteryear. You will love to hate this single, as the acoustic Fall at Your Feet gives a well-deserved comfort to the ear-bleeding blows from `You're Beautiful', but nothing to make you want to revisit this disc again. If you are a fan of this, then we can hope you gain a speedy recovery from the aftermath of this single, and find some better music from Blunt's back catalogue very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You're Beautiful [CD 1]
You're Beautiful [CD 1] by James Blunt (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews