Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


131 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A romance beyond conventions, with a lot of self-finding.
The movie's most outstanding point is its capture of emotions. The storyline is simple, but well put: Camille, living a life prescribed for a parish priest's daughter, teaches mythology at a christian college and has a long standing affair with Martin, a colleague. They both are very much under the thumb of the chaplain, who offers them his post but under the condition...
Published on 12 May 2000

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars welcome change
This a an example of "lesbian" cinema that is a quite simply a fine film about adult relationships ,joy ,sadness,loss are all here along with the hurt that goes along with the break up of any relationship.

Well handled ,without the silly "hysteria" that so many modern films employ ,also without the contrived airbrushed sex scenes starring perfect plastic people...
Published on 12 Feb 2008 by rickwill47


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

131 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A romance beyond conventions, with a lot of self-finding., 12 May 2000
By A Customer
The movie's most outstanding point is its capture of emotions. The storyline is simple, but well put: Camille, living a life prescribed for a parish priest's daughter, teaches mythology at a christian college and has a long standing affair with Martin, a colleague. They both are very much under the thumb of the chaplain, who offers them his post but under the condition of their marriage. The change in Camille's life comes through the death of her dog ( a surprise there in store later), because Petra, a woman she meets in the launderette, sees her crying and comforts her. Not by coincidence, they are destined to meet again, and though Camille is at first disgusted by Petra's advances, she soon finds that she is drawn irresistibly towards her, a temptation that proves too strong to resist. The way they fall in love is somehow utterly romantic, no matter what your sexual preference. ( And, as read in a movie guide, "The women are stunners")What is more important here, though, is the falling in love of two beings and two ways of life. The film is underlined by a superb musical score, and the scenes in the circus (Petra's working place) not only lend a touch of magic to the whole thing, they are also really worth seeing. The mood the film conveys is well done, too: always a touch of sadness mingled with mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 23 Aug 2004
Saw this a few days after a weekend realising that life is not all cherries and roses - and since watching this beautifully shot movie, have re-evaluated those thoughts again! Life is great!
What an amazing performance by both leads, and direction is superb, with some real great underscored music to deepen the mood of the plot.
The best film I have seen in a long time, if not for the plot itself, but the beautiful Rachel Crawford could have so easily gone OTT. Instead, her character, Petra is played with real sensitivity and understanding of the human condition.
Love does conquer all, of course, and if it is this beautiful, gimme some now!!
Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars welcome change, 12 Feb 2008
By 
This a an example of "lesbian" cinema that is a quite simply a fine film about adult relationships ,joy ,sadness,loss are all here along with the hurt that goes along with the break up of any relationship.

Well handled ,without the silly "hysteria" that so many modern films employ ,also without the contrived airbrushed sex scenes starring perfect plastic people ,that are sadly part of 95% of similar new films exploring relationships of any type ,but especially "lesbian" cinema.
Enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful erotic and femminine, 13 Dec 2012
This review is from: When Night Is Falling (Quand tombe la nuit) [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
Beautifully shot film. If you like romance and passion it has it all. Bit of stereotyping but that aside this film is wonderful for any straight, gay or femminine woman, the best lesbian film i've seen which makes a nice change cos i've seen alot and have been really dissapointed in the lack of love and passion or the screwed up characters that we are often depicted as. Watch with your girlfriend for added pizazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even if Night is falling - I would buy this, 30 Sep 2014
I apologize that I will be writing about the regular version since I haven't quite gotten around to watching this yet - but hey, the fact that i bought the uncut version despite already owning another copy already speaks volumes! It's one that I have watched repeatedly over the years when the mood sets it. The circus background truly captivates and relationship sweetly tender.
Dislikes - absolutely none I can think of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome film just as good as desert hearts., 2 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. Rebecca J. Connelly "becz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this film so raw and cool it would be great to have a 2nd one it to see what happened to the character's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rainbow, 27 Feb 2008
By 
D. Edwards (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is simply more than just a 'lesbian' film. There's a subtley in the way the film explores different themes including sexuality, religion, convention and also opportunity. While at times beautiful and visually enriching, the metaphors used in the film shouldn't be lost on the viewer, and these play a significant part in helping to explore deeper undercurrents among the protagonists. Thoughtful, sensitive and honest this film does not pander to merely one group of society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy and interesting, 22 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good film which was thoroughly enjoyable. The main theme of lesbian seduction was very appealing. Great storyline and a good ending to the film (which is sometimes lacking in lesbian movies).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing purchase, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly what I wanted. I have not viewed it yet but feel sure I'll be very pleased. Many thanks to the supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insulting rubbish!, 6 Aug 2006
This film is hanging in cliches- black, lesbian circus performer (Petra), brings white, middle class hetrosexual Christian (Camille)out of the closet. Oh but of course- if you meet a lesbian you become a lesbian. Yawn...

The depiction of lesbian women is awful. It takes a freakish sideshow performer to bring this Christian woman to the 'darkside'. As a lesbian myself I found this to be nothing but trite, insulting and demeaning nonsense. These women are self centered and clearly show no caring for the people around them or what they are doing to each other. Petra stalks, shoots arrows through apartment windows and hangs around outside until she, like a child throwing a tantrum is noticed. This is attractive? I am ashamed that this is what is shown to the world as an example of what a good lesbian relationship is about. The score is dire and the circus imagery (set in a grotty warehouse) is simply banal.

This is the worst lesbian film I've ever had the misfortune to see. Be warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Night Is Falling (Quand tombe la nuit) [1995] [DVD]
£23.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews