Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rory the genius
For anyone who isn't familiar with the late great rory gallagher this cd is an excellent introdution to a guitarist who really was a genius . The music covers gallagher from his early days with taste ( What's going on ) right up to the wheels within wheels disc of 2 years ago . It most have been difficult to compile this disc as gallagher has recorded so many great songs...
Published on 30 Jun 2005 by Patrick Joseph Cassidy

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surround sound 4 stars; Standard CD 1 star.
Put aside that your favourite track didn't make the listing, it just emphasises the wealth of Rory's talent.
This is a most welcome release to mark Rory's 10th anniversary, and the tracks have been re-mixed for a surround sound 'experience'. On the whole, this has been done very well. All tracks sound different to the original, for some the difference is slight,...
Published on 22 Jun 2005 by Mark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surround sound 4 stars; Standard CD 1 star., 22 Jun 2005
By 
Mark (Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big Guns - The Very Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Put aside that your favourite track didn't make the listing, it just emphasises the wealth of Rory's talent.
This is a most welcome release to mark Rory's 10th anniversary, and the tracks have been re-mixed for a surround sound 'experience'. On the whole, this has been done very well. All tracks sound different to the original, for some the difference is slight, for others, (Bourbon for instance), the difference is more significant. That's not to say it's not good, but do not expect to hear from this album, the tracks as Rory originally produced them. Generally the vocals and guitar work sound sharper than ever, especially on the acoustic tracks, and this is a real treat. The inclusion of some excellent , previously unreleased, live tracks from a 1974 Brighton concert gives me hope for the release of a new, quality live album in the future.
If you enjoy the surround sound experience and have the equipment to play it, I am confident that you will enjoy this presentation of Rory's work. 4*
However, if you do not have a system capable of playing the SACD, you are probably going to be disappointed with this album. The second layer of the disc plays on any CD player, in normal stereo. It seems that the remixed versions for the surround sound tracks have also been put on the CD layer, with no apparent attention to ensuring that they were appropriately mixed. The result is sadly disappointing. The tracks when played on a standard CD are therefore not only different to the original versions, nor are they well mixed. On a
'Best of' album, it would seem logical to have included on the CD layer, the original versions of the tracks, as Rory had originally produced them. This would surely have been feasible and would have justified the claim that the album represented the best of Rory Gallagher, as opposed to being a re-mix his work. 1*
So, if you have SACD player and enjoy listening in surround sound, buy this album. If not, pick pretty well any of the other CDs from Rory's 30+ year career and you will not be disappointed.
Overall 3*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars compilation 5 stars sound 2 stars, 21 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Guns - The Very Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
my step daughter bought me this to use in the car as I already have all Rory Gallaghers albums, it is very nicely packaged and on the whole a well chosen mix of tracks, where I feel it is let down is in the newly processed sacd surround sound at least when played on a standard stereo cd system. The sound balance is so different to the original tracks that in some cases I would have thought that it was a different recording if I didn't know different. The story could well be different on a surround sound system but I don't have the facility to check
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rory the genius, 30 Jun 2005
By 
Patrick Joseph Cassidy (madrid) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Guns - The Very Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
For anyone who isn't familiar with the late great rory gallagher this cd is an excellent introdution to a guitarist who really was a genius . The music covers gallagher from his early days with taste ( What's going on ) right up to the wheels within wheels disc of 2 years ago . It most have been difficult to compile this disc as gallagher has recorded so many great songs ofcourse , there are some great tracks that are not included here but I think his brother Donal has tried to avoid if you like , those tracks that perhaps most people would have expected to be included on this type of disc . In saying that songs like Big guns , bourbon , shadow play , show the rockin'side of gallagher with some great guitar riffs and slide others , like , just a smile , I'm not awake yet and the glorious , out on the western plains show both the more gentle side and the blues roots of rory .
I loved the music of rory gallagher I still do , this album has taken me back to some wonderful moments spent watching him play in belfast . Thanks rory ! and thankyou Donal for putting this together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I know what I like..., 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: Big Guns - The Very Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
Well I don't know much about rory gallagher, in fact I knew nothing about him before christmas, but I know what I like, and this album is great.As I am new to rory's music, I can't compare the song selection or sound quality with his albums, but if this is poor, his albums must be mindblowing.
Great songs, with some amazing solos and a great run of five live performances at the end of disk 1. As for sound quality, I don't see what there is to complain about,everything sound crystal clear to me. Another nice feature, for any guitarists out there anyway, is the booklet. It may seem like a pretty insignificant thing, but in it rory talks about his influences,guitars and guitar techniques and equipment he uses etc.
Overall this is a great collection for a casual Rory Gallagher fan, or someone completely new to his music. It'll definately lead me on to buy some of his albums, and see what all the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave from Colchester., 17 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Guns - The Very Best of Rory Gallagher (Audio CD)
My big regret is that I never got to see Rory in concert. This is an amazing double CD, not a duff track on it and all as fresh as when they were first made.
Rory Gallaghers guitar playing whether heavy blues or fast rock is amazing with fantastic riffs. He stands amoung the greatest guitar heros Blackmore, Page etc.
The tracks are all quality numbers from a distinguished career spanning more than 30 years.
Just buy it, wait until the missus goes out and crank up the volume - heaven!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Guns - The Very Best of Rory Gallagher
Big Guns - The Very Best of Rory Gallagher by Rory Gallagher (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews