Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bogle and beautiful
I hadn't heard a whole lot of Eric Bogle before but invested in this as it was in a sale, and what a bargain. Listen to Leaving Nancy (although the studio version is slightly superior) and it will bring tears to the eyes of any young man who has ever left home to work away as I did back in 75. Also listen to If wishes were fishes that is sublime.
Published on 4 Feb 2006 by Mr. N. Thompson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Singing the Spirit Home
Eric Bogle is one of those singer songwriters who does some great stuff and some that is, frankly, quite dire. Some of the funny songs are really great: Chihuahua with an out of proportion sex drive, the Aussie BBQ etc., and many of the "message" songs are wonderful. Sadly, some make my toes curl. He does make good and imaginative use of sound, so let's praise the...
Published on 14 Oct 2009 by Mrs. Jane Naylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bogle and beautiful, 4 Feb 2006
By 
I hadn't heard a whole lot of Eric Bogle before but invested in this as it was in a sale, and what a bargain. Listen to Leaving Nancy (although the studio version is slightly superior) and it will bring tears to the eyes of any young man who has ever left home to work away as I did back in 75. Also listen to If wishes were fishes that is sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bogle at his very best, 29 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. Philip Eckett (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singing The Spirit Home (Audio CD)
5 cd's of sheer genius. 60 tracks that include many of Eric's best songs. An absolute delight to listen to. Fascinating liner notes with each separate cd give an insight into the man and his music. If you don't have any of Eric's cd's, this set is a great way to hear a wide cross-section of his work through the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Singing the Spirit Home, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Eric Bogle is one of those singer songwriters who does some great stuff and some that is, frankly, quite dire. Some of the funny songs are really great: Chihuahua with an out of proportion sex drive, the Aussie BBQ etc., and many of the "message" songs are wonderful. Sadly, some make my toes curl. He does make good and imaginative use of sound, so let's praise the other musicians too! This set of CDs is a mixed bag, but I think it worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has he made a bad one ??, 17 July 2007
By 
Henry C. Knowles "Aussiephile" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singing The Spirit Home (Audio CD)
I doubt it. I don't have this in particular,but I do have 55 of the 60 tracks on various other albums,both vynil and CD's.If you have a soul this man will move you to tears with some of his songs,others are humorous.I would probably give anything he made 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unsung hero of folk, 16 Jun 2007
By 
John David Charles Hilton "Creative spark...." (Redcliffe, Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eric is known for his evocative protest songs, and he has written some of the finest examples of that genre, but there is more to his talent than that. He can also be very funny indeed. Try 'Little Gomez', a tale of a particularly randy little dog, or "Do You Know Any Dylan?" and you'll soon see what I mean.

Add in a hefty romantic streak and a dose of melancholy and you have a rewarding set.

The CDs in this set are a little over three quarters of an hour long each, so there's a lot of music here. But there's plenty of variety of style and expression to stop it getting stale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful songs, 22 Sep 2013
By 
V. A. Wakeling "Val" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing The Spirit Home (Audio CD)
Wonderful songs; inspiring lyrics, music and singing. Each song has a message and gives food for thought. Very well packaged, received within few days. I am now a real Eric Bogle fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the finest folk songs, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing The Spirit Home (Audio CD)
I was initially surprised to learn that two of my absolute favourite anti-war songs were written by Eric Bogle (Green Fields'... and 'Waltzing...)...then to find so much more in this wonderful set. Like the great Leon Rosselson, Eric's songs have been covered many times by great artists, which says much. The Men They Couldn't Hang's version of Green Fields of France is angry and great by the way....see it on You Tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STUFF, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing The Spirit Home (Audio CD)
LOVED THE LYRICS/ AND GREAT MUSIC amazingly good value so many tunes. never a dull moment. I have no regrets buying this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singing The Spirit Home (Audio CD)
A great collection of Eric's work over the years. It covers all his different styles of music from protest to wicked humour all performed and produced brilliantly, For any one who enjoys his efforts this is an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs well performed, 16 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Singing The Spirit Home (Audio CD)
I only recently heard of Eric Bogel and purchased Singing The Spirit Home and found it to be a set of great albums some very funny others more serious and definitley not politically correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singing The Spirit Home
Singing The Spirit Home by Eric Bogle (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews