Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it
I'm a little conflicted about this film: it is currently my four-year old son's favourite film and he is watching it pretty much on a loop so I have watched it (or at least parts of it) many times.
The film bears little resemblance to the original TV program, in fact it is really an action adventure/quest movie that just happens to use the Magic Roundabout...
Published on 8 Sep 2005 by John E. Davidson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Improves on a second viewing
I have seen this film more than once as my son likes it. The first time I sat through it I experienced the intense disappointment felt by some other reviewers that the script was nowhere near as witty and clever as the late Eric Thompson 1970s original. Whilst that can be expected, given that Eric Thompson has sadly passed away, the makers of the UK version of this film...
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by bayman15


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it, 8 Sep 2005
This review is from: Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I'm a little conflicted about this film: it is currently my four-year old son's favourite film and he is watching it pretty much on a loop so I have watched it (or at least parts of it) many times.
The film bears little resemblance to the original TV program, in fact it is really an action adventure/quest movie that just happens to use the Magic Roundabout characters. The plot is simple: there is an accident, caused by Dougal's love of sugar, which releases Zeebad (Zebedee's evil twin) who wants to turn the world to ice. Dougal, Ermintrude, Brian and Dylan embark to a quest to recover 3 diamonds that are needed to stop him.
People, like me, who grew up with the original TV series will have some problems with this film as it lacks the magic that made the TV series so special. However, the CGI animation is slick and very well done and the voice cast approach the whole thing with great gusto. Tom Baker has great fun as Zeebad, Joanna Lumley and Jim Broadbent are very good as Ermintrude and Brian but as usual Bill Nighy as the hippy rabbit Dylan steals the show (he finally get worked up when he realises if the world is turned to ice there will be no grass).
Not really for adults, and certainly not for hardcore fans of the original TV show but my son loves it (hence the decent rating).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made & good fun, 17 May 2014
By 
Mr. P. A. Busby (SE UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the expected characters in a full-length fun feature that's not taxing or particularly challenging to understand. Zebedee wake his evil Alter ego-like character (Zeebad) so the world has to be saved from a big freeze. This is an Anglo-French film that was well received in both countries but failed to make much impact in The States. The animation is best described as clean-edged & colourful. Good fun if not too memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one for the fans, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I gave this to a young female relative who had been watching it for free on youtube until it was removed. She was very happy, but she is a fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic roundabout, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
My son loved this and has not stopped watching it. Arrived quickly and when told it would. Very happy x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it TEN if I could!, 20 July 2005
I loved this movie. When it came out in the cinema, I admit I was skeptical...How could it possibly compare to my (albeit rather hazy) memories of the original series?
However, I needn't have worried. Pathe have come up with an all-new, action-packed story (though I admit the plot WAS very simple) using our favourite characters from yesteryear that will appeal to kids and adults alike. Look out for the little in-jokes and movie references that will have you laughing aloud...And watch the kids faces when you have a giggle at the jokes that go over their heads ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Bought this for a neighbour after discussing garden snails. She did not know that all snails are called Brian - poor woman, must have had a sheltered childhood. Anyway her kids love the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A much loved DVD in my house! Entertainment for adults and kids alike. Catchy songs and great storyline. Very recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film., 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Brilliant film, well we all thought so anyway. This film was a great price and unexpected fast delivery - so very happy. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good moive, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Kids loved it so it is good too get for the kids and keep them cool so get it ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DAMAGED, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
i ordered this film as a birthday present, but when it came it was all damaged, looked like a dog had bit through it, gutting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004]
Magic Roundabout [DVD] [2004] by Frank Passingham (DVD - 2005)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews