Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And nothing less than...
Albums like this NEED five star reviews, otherwise, well, it's like a personal insult to music itself. Calling this any less than a classic is a crime. If Trent Reznor were to have a love child with Thom Yorke and Jeff Buckley, and if this child were to collaborate with Godspeed You! Black Emperor to perform the latter half of Sigur Ros's ( ), chances are it would sound...
Published on 29 July 2005 by Elliot Davies

versus
0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars depressing
Ok, this may seem like a harsh review, but I need to balance the raving reviews everyone else has given it, because theyre what encouraged me buy it!
I have 'open heart zoo' and there are some fantastic songs on it, however I also found towards the second half of the CD things started to get depressing....this album appears to continue that trend.

Ive...
Published on 22 Oct 2007 by Mr. R. J. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And nothing less than..., 29 July 2005
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
Albums like this NEED five star reviews, otherwise, well, it's like a personal insult to music itself. Calling this any less than a classic is a crime. If Trent Reznor were to have a love child with Thom Yorke and Jeff Buckley, and if this child were to collaborate with Godspeed You! Black Emperor to perform the latter half of Sigur Ros's ( ), chances are it would sound like this. This is dark, dark music. Music to soundtrack a slow descent into a very personal hell, the only escape being a treacherous pathway constructed from the ruins of desecrated churches and cathedrals guarded by bipedal cyborgs of death.
"Guiltless" is as unnerving an opener as you'll ever hear: Ominous bass, drums that threaten to explode at any minute, strings that can only be descrived as evil, upsetting electronics and demonic whispered vocals. I'm tempted to call "I Am Chromosone" this album's "Dali", in that it's an industrial tour de force of epic proportions with ambient interludes. However, it is so much more. Whilst "Dali" is an explosion of energy, "Chromosone" is a veritable supernova. The coda in which Martin screams "Revolt" to an accompaniment of music that could effectively reduce even the most hardened of metal fans into a pile of quivering jelly is unforgettable.
Grech succeeds in mentality, yet he is an absolute master of the calmer sound. "Lint" is a moment of true beauty, so faint it's almost inaudible, so powerful it's unforgettable. "Venus" is almost pastoral, perhaps one of the most beautiful love songs ever penned. "Erosion and Regeneration" is genuinely scary, in which Martin recites a spell/prayer over a brooding backdrop.
Look at the adjectives I've used! I've had to use a thesaurus to describe this album. That alone is a reccommendation, words almost failed me. Put simply, this album is "not like other albums". It's bigger, bolder, better and will stand the test of time longer than anything else that could possibly be released this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long way from radio-friendly unit shifter land, 9 Aug 2007
By 
C. O'Brien (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
After his under-recognised debut Open Heart Zoo and three years away tussling with "legal problems", alt-metal wunderkind Martin Grech could have been forgiven for edging further towards the rock mainstream. Hell, it revived the fortunes of maverick innovators Cornell, Reznor and Keenan, whose long shadows run right through Grech's work like the words in a stick of Brighton rock.

Sophomore effort Unholy is a long way from radio-friendly unit shifter land, though. Opener Guiltless drops the soaring choral melodies of Open Heart Zoo for a cracked, thirsting whisper which threaten to close in on the listener like a cage. And just when you think you've got the thing pegged as standard gothic angst, in comes a meltingly beautiful, aching love song called Venus, as smooth, lyrical and...well, lubricated as music ever gets. Mr Grech has plainly fallen in love of late, and far from taking him down the road to romantic cliché, raw emotion shows on every song. For every angsty bellow about "prisons of duality" and "heads on a plate", there's lushness and lust so strong and universal it overturns all notions of genre.

This is an unhurried album. For all its strange melodic strength, there are passages which are happy to meander off into swirling atonal soundscapes that at times recall medieval plainsong. I Am Chromosome is old metal mingled with deconstructed Johnny Greenwood-esque experimentation as Grech imagines himself metamorphosing into a tree; elsewhere there are whispered fragments of poetry, spooky voiceovers, choirboys, unearthly screams.

The high point might be Worldly Divine, a sinister 6/8 bear-stomp which recalls the glories of goth pioneers the Banshees, but Unholy sees Martin Grech beginning to take leave of all his influences. Too visceral to be called prog, too tender to be called gothic, too wild for the mainstream, this is the sound of an original talent taking flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars listened to it for 6 monnths now and...., 2 Jan 2006
By 
B. Shamsuddin "bazeeem" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
it continues to mesmerise me. If you're bored of everything you hear, and long for something with more mystery, depth, anguish, and feeling, then buy this.
This album is something for true music lovers, rather than followers of (musical) fashion. It ought to appeal to those who like Classical, Baroque, Orchestral & Choral Music, as much as those who are into Industrial, Metal, Rock, & Indie. There is no Genre it fits into, the Music on this little cd is Overblown & Understated, Wild & Restrained, it has moment of sheer pomposity as well as breathy minimalism.
The combination of a range of unusual instrumentation, rhythms, timbres, and the unnerving qualities of Grech's voice are combined in an utterly beautiful manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go see the man live if you can!, 10 Jun 2005
By 
R. E. James "ruthelizabethjames" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
Having owned the first album (Open Heart Zoo) since it was released in 2002 I have considered myself a fan of Grech. However, having only one album, and it being one on which you can hear the artist experimenting and attempting to discover his style, I didn't consider Grech to be one of the musical greats. After hearing most of this album, and having now had the pleasure of seeing him live, I can safely say that he is destined to be considered just that by many.
Martin has had time to discover his style now, being unable to release any music during the long interval between his debut and this latest release (due to a record label conflict), he has had no option but to experiment out of the public eye, I do believe that has done him some good. At least if this offering is anything to go off it most certainly has. In terms of creativity at least.
The themes are another matter, and by this I don't mean to say they are poor or poorly illustrated, only that they are not particularly positive. Grech claims to have taken much of his inspiration from visual artists (named in the above review), and it may seem strange to say so, but I will do so anyway, you can actually hear that in the music. The music on this album paints a vivid picture, coupled with the lyrics (and of course Martin's unique vocal style) this album takes you on a dark and uncompromising journey.
Martin has often been compared to the likes of Radiohead and Nine Inch Nails, a delicate and imaginative mix of styles, and I can hear echoes of both in his work. It is about time, I think, that someone also mentioned Akira Yamaoka, a fine musical artist who also paints vivid pictures with the use of fascinating soundscapes.
Radiohead, Nine Inch Nails and Akira Yamaoka might sound like a bizarre mix of styles but Martin pulls it off beautifully, and whilst being reminiscent of these artists he has a style all his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNHOLY? What do I think?, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
I can't really say much more than what everyone else has already said but I own this album and it is really good! I have listened to it numerous times and will continue to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As dark and intense as it gets, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
Martin Grech is one of the underrated music artists of our generation. He possesses one of the most powerful voices around and he really pushes the boundries of music, something only a select band of musicians do these days. At times you hear Nine Inch Nails, Radiohead, Jeff Buckley and Deftones. Grech takes all these influences and makes his own unique work. 'Unholy' is as dark as its title makes it out to be and then some. The entire album is full of evil string sections, screams of despair and ominous ambience. It creates imagaery of graveyards, gloomy cathedrals and mental asylums. This is very dark stuff (as someone said music for a descent into personal hell). It's hard to get into at first but once you do its well worth the wait.

Opener 'Guiltless' starts with echoing drums and heavy guitars, before unleashing the most terrifying string section ever heard in music. It shows straight away that this isn't an album of catchy tunes and happy themes as it is pretty much the opposite. A special mention goes to 'Erosion and Regeneration' which is hands down to the creepiest song ever made. Starting off with quiet sad ambience, until Grech begins to speak over the chilling background noise in a distorted manner that could freeze bones and it builds to a swirling sinister climax. 'An End' sounds like Pink Floyd doing an acoustic song as the apocalypse takes place. 'Holy Father Inferior' is a 9 and a half minute epic. The guitars go about there eerie work, strings shimmer and Grech has never sounded more powerful.

'I Am Chromosome' is as heavy as music gets. Its better than 99% of metal out there. Yet it shows Grech's amazing versitility, as one minute the riffs are bashing your skull in and the next its all gentle piano's. It also has one of the best climax's to a song ever, with some unworldly screaming as the guitars tear the walls down. 'Worldly Divine' is also riff heavy and has a pounding drumbeat. It flows along on its wicked heavy riffs before plunging into pure creepy ambience.

However it does have its moments of sheer beauty. 'Venus' is a pure love song and manages to be pure emotion and avoid any cliches, building upwards with Grech's voice echoing wonderfully. 'Lint' is so fragile it feels like it may break, managing to float along aimlessly yet strike so deep. 'Elixir' is a magnificant finale. Starting off with some sombre yet uplifting sounds (It reminds me of Rome in the Roman times for some reason). Its not long before it builds in an eerie fashion to an explosive end. Hidden track 'Sun' is also a delicate, beautiful acoustic number.

So if you like challenging music thats willing to push the boundries then this is for you. Even if you don't its worth giving this a try for how good it is. All i can say is well done Martin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as openheartzoo, 4 Dec 2009
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
Very good, buy it if you're a fan, but not as good as openheartzoo in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlast some descent music for 2000, 12 Feb 2006
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
For a while i had given up on new artists and bands just pushing them aside as many of them are no good, just many have so much advertising its hard to try and miss them anyway, martin grech doesnt do that and doesnt need to psychologically make you like his music because the time has come for this master to arrive and fill us with pain, doom and reality for this music is soooo beautiful in a dark way it has to be my favourite of 2000 nothing can compare this artist , its godly its a must buy if you dont buy it you will probably miss out on the best creation in a decade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i agree, 13 Jun 2005
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
absolutely. you have to see this man live to appreciate him fully. has the most gorgeously innocent voice and attempts so many styles with huge success from complex apocoliptic metally dirges to soulful acoustic hymns. you genuinely get the impression that there;s soething of him in each song, and as i say, he's amazing live. by far the worst crowd i';ve seen at a gig yet still he created such a beautiful atmosphere. the a;lbum is one deserving of a place in any collection and a far more rounded group than the already sublime open heart zoo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 17 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unholy (Audio CD)
It's hard for some artists to top their first album but Martin Grech's Unholy does. It's an album that at times is harsh and at times sad and cold. If you like music in the vein of NIN then Martin Grech could be an alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unholy
Unholy by Martin Grech (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews