Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest, but still good.
This 'best of' completely ignores the first two albums and focuses on tracks from 1995's Smash to 2003's Splinter. They've certainly selected tracks that get the most playouts but with notable absences such as "Bad Habit", "Million Miles Away", "The Noose", "Session" and "Beheaded". New track, "Can't Repeat" is a welcome addition, as are the surprise songs "Defy You"...
Published on 21 Jun 2005 by eddache

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits - it's exactly that.
This album is, unfortunately, not a 'best of' compilation and is exactly what it claims to be - a collection of the band's greatest hits. There's a big difference between the two, but many people make the mistake of thinking the titles are interchangeable.

Allow me to explain...
A greatest hits collection is an album containing the songs that were HITS...
Published 20 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits - it's exactly that., 3 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album is, unfortunately, not a 'best of' compilation and is exactly what it claims to be - a collection of the band's greatest hits. There's a big difference between the two, but many people make the mistake of thinking the titles are interchangeable.

Allow me to explain...
A greatest hits collection is an album containing the songs that were HITS (entered the official charts due to record sales) that sold the GREATEST amount.
A 'best of' collection would be an album containing the songs considered to be musically or lyrically better than the majority of the band's other work, regardless of commercial success.
If this album were a 'best of...' then it would contain songs like Meaning Of Life, Dirty Magic, Jennifer Lost The War and Million Miles Away, but it's not; it's a Greatest Hits, so what we have here is a handful of songs that were the most commercially successful. This means the album is full of the band's most radio-friendly material: Pretty Fly, Original Prankster, Why Don't You Get A Job and others of that ilk. Over-produced cheesey pop-rock, basically.

As an introduction to the band it cannot be recommended. Yes, you do get a rough idea how their sound has changed between 1995 and 2005, but it's not a good representation of the type of punk song that The Offspring tend to do very well. In fact, the only real Offspring-esque track on the album is 'All I Want'.

For a proper introduction to the band I would suggest the albums 'Smash', 'Ixnay On The Hombre' and 'Days Go By'; all of which can be purchased for a few pounds/dollars these days. Together those albums will give you a better idea of the type of music the band made before and after the silly 'Pretty Fly' phase that this album was designed to cash in on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest, but still good., 21 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This 'best of' completely ignores the first two albums and focuses on tracks from 1995's Smash to 2003's Splinter. They've certainly selected tracks that get the most playouts but with notable absences such as "Bad Habit", "Million Miles Away", "The Noose", "Session" and "Beheaded". New track, "Can't Repeat" is a welcome addition, as are the surprise songs "Defy You" (from the Orange County OST) and the Wiseguys remix of "The Kids Aren't Alright". Those who are new to The Offspring can't go far wrong with this collection. Essential songs such as "All I Want", "The Kids Aren't Alright", "Self Esteem" and "Gone Away" show some of the best of the Offspring's timeless musical creations. The more chart friendly pop-punk tracks like "Hit That", "Original Prankster", "Why Don't You Get A Job" and the aged "Pretty Fly" are predictable additions to this album but not their best.
Overall, it's a decent overview of the past 20 years of The Offspring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't stop playing it, 21 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have had offspring's albums before when I was younger,but has never been a big fan,may me because it is a greatest hits album but I just love it and have been listening to it in my car for a week now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for new fans....not so great for old school fans, 1 Aug 2005
By 
John Irons "jaggy" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Being a true Offspring fan I brought this album regardless what the chosen tracks were,
Because I have all the Offspring albums I think they could have included tracks like Jennifer Lost The War, Dirty Magic(Ignition),LAPD(Igniton),Kick Him When Hes down (Ignition) + many more like Blackball for example.
The problem with this album is that I've heard these tracks every where a million times and putting them on a greatest hits album just gives the imprssion that the Offspring are reaching the new audiences.
Another small problam is that theres a crap version of The Kids Aren't alright some rubbish dance mix that doesn't appeal to me at all.
Although the Greatest hits album has its negative points... for offspring fans just buy it the songs still rock....actually buy the version with the free dvd where you get to see the new version of dirty magic on dvd...well worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Greatest Hits????, 22 Nov 2006
By 
C. Newman "Skinned666" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Right Okay. They say this is a "Greatest Hits" Album? With other reviews i have seen on amazon, They all complain saying "why was'nt this or that song but on the album. Well maybe it's just because it contains all their singles (greatest hits) to date. Let face it, you not going to get a song from an album that has no airplay to go on a greatest hits album...

In other words this is NOT a fans greatest hits as such..

Just a collection of their singles (Greatest Hits)..

But if you are new to the offspring please start with this one. That way you can find out for yourself whether you like the old stuff but can still listen to the new-ish songs.

Saves money by not getting older albums and not liking it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars similar music, 3 Sep 2007
By 
Ed123 (Jersey, channel islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
i bought this album about 3 months ago and i can't stop listening to it. im kind of confused that after 6 minutes on the wiseguys remix of the kids aren't alright it plays all i want is to be next to you, surely it would have made more sense to put it as one track. if anyone can help me could you recomend some music around the red hot chili peppers, the offspring and system of a down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Barry Adams "pike fishing" (gairloch ross shire scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
great band with all the hits on one disc what more can i say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great CD, great quality. I am using up the rest of this word count midlessly rabling on but I would recommend this CD to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great collection of all the hits. New songs Can't Repeat are also a wonderful addition making the purchase worthwhile even if you have all the original albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what it says, 11 April 2013
By 
K. Nicholl "Mr. Meticulous" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Offspring - Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
a cd, with many of the Offspring's greatest tunes. Despatch / fulfillment was fine, not a lot more to say really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Offspring - Greatest Hits
The Offspring - Greatest Hits by The Offspring (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews