Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Don't criticise what you can't understand'
'The Times They Are A-Changin'' doesn't progress from what Bob Dylan did on 'Freewheelin''. Rather, it broadens his protest-oriented repertoire. Perhaps the gloomiest of his albums, it seems to be the only one from which his sense of humour is entirely absent. There is a slight shift in emphasis from anti-war songs to the effects of social injustice and hardship...
Published on 18 Jun. 2008 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man they call Bob Dylan........, 1 Jan. 2004
By 
J. C. Eames "Winston" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This being Bob Dylan's third album is commonly classed as his 'protest album'. Rightly so as there a five songs of the like on here. Including 'The Ballad if Hollis Brown', 'With God on Our Side', 'The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll', ' Only a Pawn in Their Game' and the title track.
However after looking past these there is a song lurking here which I have grown very fond of taking the name of ' Boots of Spanish Leather'. I overlooked this song at first but never again, it is a gorgeous love song.
Bob Dylan is capable of writing angry protest songs, brilliant rock songs and quiet, moving love ballads. If it was up to me there would be a copy of every Dylan album in every country in the world!! If you ever want to see a living legend before your very eyes go see him live you will never forget it.
As with all Dylan albums all the songs are great some even greater and this is an essential album. The last song 'Restless Farewell' is a little hint ( i think ) that Dylan had had enough and wanted to go his own way and shake off the protest songwriter image, what followed was 'Another Side of Bob Dylan'. After that certainly did go his own way! If you don't have it take my humble advice, BUY IT !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan's best, 21 Oct. 2001
This is definatly Bob Dylan's best album ever. The lyrics are thought prevoking, fantasticly performed and contain a moral message that is relevant to everybody. Among the best tracks are "The ballad of Hollis Brown" and "The lonesome death os Hattie Carroll". These tracks are about people who's lives have ended premeturely because of circumstances beyond their control, and also people that nobody really even notices are alive, never mind dead. This album definatly beats "Blood on the tracks" which is often seen as one of Dylan's best. Other tracks like "Only a pawn in their game" and "With God on our side" may not be wonderfully performed, but carry a very prominant and relevant message. As with all true protest music, you can't buy the album just for a good tune. It is worth buying it just for the lyrics, which if you really care, you will listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars damn good, 18 Nov. 2007
This review is from: The Times They Are A-Changin' (Audio CD)
if you like freewheelin or any other dylan then youll like this. If your new to dylan then id go for a more famous album (highway 61, bring it home, freewheelin, desire, live 1966)

my favourites on this album are Ballad of Hollis Brown and North country blues - both songs are so powerful and haunting and sung with such precision, leaving me shell-shocked everytime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The difficult 3rd album, 10 July 2011
This review is from: The Times They Are A-Changin' (Audio CD)
There's no doubt nowadays that it was the Press who created the term "protest singer" one which Dylan himself felt uncomfortable with because he wasn't really protesting he was simply a commentator.
So in come the usuual copies-Barry McGuire's Eve of Destruction and the Hedgehoppers Anonymous to actually spoof the whole thing.
The McGuire hit was purposely created to copy Dylan and for my money I prefer this one to any of his acoustic things from the first 3 albums but that's because I like Good Time Music (or folk rock as it became known) which Dylan himself would soon embrace after he'd heard the Animals and the Beatles.
But at the time this was before the first serious book had been written about Dylan and would be a few years before it began to fall into proportion
Until he started doing cover versions Dylan was a singer songwriter but one who would take public domain melodies and pass them off as his own work
Thus for example Restless Farewell was created from an Irish drinking song called The Parting Game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the essential Bob albums, 4 July 2011
This review is from: The Times They Are A-Changin' (Audio CD)
Dylan's third album is the peak of his protest phase. Full of heart-wrenching stories of inequality and poverty (Hollis Brown, North Country Blues) its clear, bitter lyrics cut right to the quick and have lost none of their ferocity in the intervening years. In contrast I think that When the Ship Comes In is one of Dylan's most uplifting songs and Restless Farewell one of his most defiant. This is one of the eessential Dylan albums (along with Highway 61 Revisited, Blood on the Tracks, Infidels and Time Out of Mind) There is no filler on this record - I would recommend an uninterrupted, close listen of these vibrant, pertinent lyrics and the spare playing that accompanies them. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of His Best Albums, 22 April 2013
By 
Bluenote (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are very few albums where every track is worth listening to again and again. This is one of those albums; one of Dylan's early classics. This was one of the iconic protest albums of the sixties with the title track warning the estabishment of the inevitability of change, and then songs such as Hollis Brown, With God on Our Side, Only a Pawn in Their Game and The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carrol vocalising why that change was necessary. Although the world has moved on, the album is as fresh as the day it was made, almost fifty years ago - only the names and context have altered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The times they are a'changing, 27 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The Times They Are A-Changin' (Audio CD)
Possibly Dylans darkest work, this album is full of acoustic work that is is simply amazing. It is not a 'feel good' album, with dark songs such as 'Only a Pawn in Their Game', 'Ballad of Hollis Brown' and 'The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carrol', all the songs on this album tell stories. The songs that realy stand out are 'The Times They are A-Changin', 'Spanish Boots of Spanish Leather' and 'When the Ship Comes In'.
In short: Buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 50 years old, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was recorded 50 years ago. Makes you think... Not his first either, but for me, one of his best. The songs are sublime, and mean so much to me over the years.

I play in folk clubs and The Ballad of Hollis Brown has been a song I have played through the years and is as harrowing now as ever. Boots of Spanish Leather is one of my personal favourites, and God on our Side is possibly the song that influenced me most as a young teenager to reject superstition, and for that I am very grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan`s Eyes Are Opened and He Doesn't Like What He Sees, 14 April 2003
By A Customer
This is Dylans protest album and is my favourite Dylan Cd, granted I haven't heard them all but I have heard all of the ones from the 60's and 70's.
This CD is all acoustic with a little bit of harmonica thrown in for good measure. The opening track lives up to it's name and is one of Dylan't most famous thought provoking songs ever. The lyrics are fantastic with my favourite being "Come mothers and fathers Throughout the land, And don't criticize What you can't understand, Your sons and your daughters Are beyond your command"
All of the songs are excellent 5 star material music. However if you want some happy Dylan music then I recommend you leave this page and buy `Blonde on Blonde`.
My personal favourite songs are `With god on our side` and `the lonesome death of Hattie Carroll`. The latter is Bob showing his outrage at the justice in this country
"William Zantzinger, who at twenty-four years
Owns a tobacco farm of six hundred acres
With rich wealthy parents who provide and protect him
And high office relations in the politics of Maryland,
Reacted to his deed with a shrug of his shoulders
And swear words and sneering, and his tongue it was snarling,
In a matter of minutes on bail was out walking."
The real masterpiece on this album though is `with god on our side`. Dylan just lists off wars and how both sides have `god on their side` he goes one further though and after pondering makes a bold statement
"In a many dark hour
I've been thinkin' about this
That Jesus Christ
Was betrayed by a kiss
But I can't think for you
You'll have to decide
Whether Judas Iscariot
Had God on his side."
outrageous? yes
tongue in cheek? yes
bitter ? yes
brilliant? absolutely
this track clocks in at just over 7 minutes and has a lot of use of his harmonica.
everybody should own a copy of this cd as it is true excellence.
My only complaint about this album is that `with god on our side` should have been the last track. This would have been the perfect end to a perfect album. As he states with absolute certainty the last lines of the song
"If God's on our side he'll stop the next war"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I revisited this album!, 12 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times They Are A-Changin' (Audio CD)
Many years ago when I was a young filly, my X used to play me Dylan albums and make various comments on them. As much as i liked the sound, i never really listened to the lyrics, but I never forgot what my X said to me.
Now revisiting Dylans albums some 20 years later, I can see what my X saw, maybe a little late, but thanks Keith, but more so, thanks to Dylan,..
Buy this album.. and REALLY listen to it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Times They Are A-Changin'
The Times They Are A-Changin' by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews