Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars270
4.7 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Tyre GelChange
Price:£10.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2011
If you want your car to look it's best when clean then you have to get your tyres looking good too.

There is nothing worse than cleaning your car and spending hours polishing, if your tyres are looking washed out, they definitely bring the look of the car down and the car does not seem as clean.

The Meguiar's High gloss tyre gel sorts this very problem out very well and quickly.

A thick purple gel, applied in small volume with an applicator pad (Meguiar's soft foam pads) will give your tyres a deep black glossy look. Not only do they make the tyres look better but also offer some protection to the elements, giving a good water resistance to the rubber.

The gel fills the tyre sidewall pattern and raised print well, no need to apply with anything other than a pad. Simply wipe on and leave to dry.

They do recommend to not apply to thick and to leave to dry for 30 - 45 minutes and immediate driving will cause some wet parts to spray off the tyre onto the bodywork of the car.

The gel also gives you around 4 weeks, before you would need to really apply again, it is quite long lasting when you consider what tyres go through everyday!

All in all, it is the final jigsaw piece in having a nice clean car - A good price and will last you some time.
11 comment36 of 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
I was dubious of using tyre gel after bad experiences with throw off with other products but this Megs gel breaks the mould. Really easy to apply with an amazing berry smell, allow it to dry for a couple of minutes and your ready to go or add another layer for extra gloss. It really is long lasting as well and after 4 weeks my tyres are black and glossy and still bead beautifully. If youve never used tyre gel I recommend this very highly and the transformation from grey/brown rubber to slick black is astonishing. If you apply this correctly there is absolutely NO throw off so your paintwork is safe.

A quick couple of tips; make sure you give the tyres a really good wash and scrub and allow them to dry before application, as this will give the best results. Also dont bother with an expensive tyre dressing applicator just take a craft knife to a cheap yellow sponge, if you cut it into a wedge shape thats about palm sized this works just as well. You dont need lots either, just a few drops will cover half the tyre, then do the other half before spreading the gel the whole circumference. I also recommend wearing gloves as it will dye your hands black after a while.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
I have used countless different tyre shiners / restorers, this is by far the best available. Good value also, a bottle last months and I clean 4 cars regularly. Buying on Amazon saves around a third on the high street price.
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
A good tyre shine. Maybe the best currently available.
All tyre shines don't last long, so once you accept that, the issue is which looks best, has copious applications per container, and has an easy, non- wasteful application.
Having used tyre shine products via sprays in the past, the gel method is so much better.
One, you don't have to wipe excess off your alloys after application, two, it don't blast your face when applying it on a windy day (as sprays can) and three, you don't waste any whilst achieving a much better finish.
My preferred method is to use a normal washing up sponge, the type you can get in packs of 10 for dirt cheap in supermarkets. The ones which are spongy one side, more brillo-like the other. Obviously you don't use the rough side, but rather drop a few blobs of the gel onto the sponge side and apply around the tyre. Apply more if required. Wait a while, however long you like, but say an hour or so, then re-wipe around with the same sponge, but without anymore gel on it, to prevent any spray off when driving. Using this method I've had not a single spot of spray back after driving.
A negative is it is messy and sticky. But this is no issue if you just wear rubber gloves or similar.
In addition, the product lasts ages. I mean, how long does a typical tyre spray last? Not too many applications for sure. Thus far, with the gel, I've used it around four separate times, and you can hardly notice any gel has been used- and there's a lot in the container.
In conclusion, if you're after a tyre dressing product, this is the best available.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
WOW! I wasn't expecting much really from this product, but to my surprise it is excellent! Gives the Tyres a really good, high quality finish! Buy, buy BUY!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
I have to say I have used products like this before and thought they were very poor but this one is excellent. The best part is that you only need to use a small amount so the bottle will last ages. Just use a small sponge to apply and it's Done. For a really deep shine apply a second coat. One tip I would give is use very sparingly or it will spray onto the car bodywork when driving.
0Comment16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2011
Works really well when applied with a sponge applicator. For a really shiny effect wait ten minutes then apply another coat. Very durable and lasts a long time. Highly recommended.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
The best wet look tyre product I have ever used! An absolute must for that final touch after cleaning your car. Other products such as spray on in a can lasts about 1 or 2 months before you find yourself buying more! A bottle of this lasted me 2 years while applied once a week, a little can go a long way, well worth the money :)
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 February 2012
This is good stuff, it lasts for ages, I apply it with an old cotton cloth to freshly washed tyres, and it gives a pleasing wet look sheen, but I also recommend you use latex gloves to apply it and also, when storing it, double wrap the bottle because it is horrid and greasy and tends to leak down the sides of the bottle, making it hard to grasp and perhaps it would stain your car boot upholstery -so be warned! It is like runny and greasy on applying but far superior to car gloss spray cans that go all over everything es. if its breezy outdoors, and risk your brakes getting coated(dangerous!) but it does condition the rubber of the tyres and last a few days.
0Comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
This product is fantastic,it does just what is says on the bottle,and I would recommend it to anybody.once you have applied it to your tyres it does shine for 2weeks or more.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.