Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just a basketball film
Sam.L.Jackson shows that education is just as important to professional athletes as sport itself.His character develops from what appears to be a hard-line grades before games teacher rather than coach to a committed successful coach. Instead of him educating the young people, they themselves teach him a lesson as well.

Through his grit and determination, Ken...
Published on 19 July 2006 by MCDee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
I stole this DVD from a friend while I helped him moving out and I have no regrets. Samuel L Jackson is just amazing in that role. For those who like this type of movies, I also recommend "Miracle", also stollen on the same day. Truly inspiring, both!
Published 3 days ago by Joe Bristow


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than just a basketball film, 19 July 2006
By 
MCDee (Perth,Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Sam.L.Jackson shows that education is just as important to professional athletes as sport itself.His character develops from what appears to be a hard-line grades before games teacher rather than coach to a committed successful coach. Instead of him educating the young people, they themselves teach him a lesson as well.

Through his grit and determination, Ken Carter silences all doubters through showing the young people of Richmond that even in basketball there is stuff to learn. He helps to turn immature ballers, into respectable young basketball players.

The film contains some great basketball action, and a great hip-hop soundtrack to make it look and feel like you are a member of the Richmond community and experiencing it first-hand. There is genuine soul and meaning in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than worth a look., 29 Aug 2005
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
I love it when I watch a film that that wasn't big enough to receive any pre-release hype nor did I go to see it at the cinema- and then it proves to be one of the better films of the year. I'm sure we've all watched films like this and this was definitely one of those for me. It is a bit of tired story though team doing badly gets new coach who then saves the day and I think that if anyone else was cast instead of Samuel L Jackson then this film would be lost to mediocrity. For me it succeeded being cheesy without actually being cheesy or corny if you know what I mean and there is an interesting twist to the coaches methods. Anyhow I won't spoil the story for you but it is very good, and if you're a basketball and/or Jackson fan it's worth adding to your collection but rent it first as I don't think I could sit through it too often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 13 Jan 2006
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Great film!!! This is an amazing film, with an immense performance from the legend himself Samuel L Jackson! If u aren't a basketball fan, it doesn't matter although if I was totally honest it may help, it's a brilliant film!

When I bought this film I could not stop watching it! If I was to be totally honest there are a couple of cheesey bits where you may be thinking that's just cheap but none the less it doesn't spoil the film! If you like hip hop it may even be worth getting the soundtrack because of the calibre of it, with songs such as 'Untouchable' by DMX representing. The actors in this film all have basketball skills and two of them can actually properly dunk the ball. This film does not have those shots where a player will takes a shot and you see the ball leave the hand and then the next thing you see is the ball going through the net, the players, in a way, are real! And to be honest I wish I was as good as the actors are.

I think this film is 'Worth every Penny' so there's nothing else to say except, buy it and enjoy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coach Carter - Brilliant, 16 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
I seen this film in the cinema and was expecting it to be alright, after the film finished I wanted to go back in and watch it again, it is a brilliant remake of a true story and Samuel L Jackson plays the part great. Coach Carter is one of the best films I have seen and everyone that I know that has seen it, agrees that is was really good. A MUST SEE film so go and WATCH IT. It is a brilliant story and touching to see what one man does for his school and basketball team just so they can succeed in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up The Oilers!, 10 May 2007
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a true story, this movie follows the amazing story of Ken Carter, who put his students welfare ahead of the teams chances of winning.

The students are locked out of the gym when they break a contract with Coach Carter and he suspends them until they correct their education mistakes, which made national news when it occured in 1999. The special features on the DVD are definately worth watching, you meet some of the team members that inspired the characters in the movie and Ken Carter himself.

Samuel L. Jackson gives a solid performance as Carter, perfectly casted and acted. Ashanti plays a sexy young girl wanting the best out of life, and many of the young stars in the movie play strong roles. Look out for them in future films.

Anyone who likes good basketball or indeed sports films will love this. The fact that this guy ended up with all of his team going to college makes it even more inspiring to watch, as he really made a difference. Very glad they made a movie about it, and you will be too when you watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Samuel L Strikes Again!, 25 Aug 2005
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
This is the true story of Coach Ken Carter, who returns to his old high school in a rough area, to coach the school basketball team. Although it sounds like every other "Team doing badly, new coach saves all" story, this one has more to it than that.
Samuel L Jackson plays (as always) a fabulous part, coach, father, basketball player and truly good person.
I dont want to say alot more, as i dont want to ruin the story. Its definately worth a watch, was thoroughly enjoybale and even brought the odd lump to my throat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ATrue Story NOT about Basketball, 2 May 2007
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
While basketball is used as the backdrop for the movie, Coach Carter really isn't about basketball. The real heart of the movie is in the way Coach Carter begins to turn the lives around of the players on his basketball team by showing them that someone actually cares about what happens to them after high school.

At one point in the movie Carter (played perfectly by Samuel L. Jackson) asks a player why he plays basketball and he responds with "to win the state title" - which of course gets him high fives from the rest of the team. Carter then asks the team who won the state title last year and nobody knows the answer. Carter tries to show his players that high school basketball is not about winning but about discipline, respect and the confidence to accomplish any goal.

If you are thinking about going to see Coach Carter as a basketball movie, I suggest seeing another movie, but if you want to see a truly inspiring story go see Coach Carter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, most inspirational sports film in years, 31 Oct 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
They seem to come out with a couple of these "coach transforms team" movies every year, and I'll be doggoned if they don't keep getting better and better. It's not hard to make a sports movie; throw some B-ball and cheerleaders in there somewhere, and we guys will watch it. It is hard, however, to make a good sports film. Coach Carter is the best kind of sports film because, when it comes down to it, the heart of the story really isn't about sports at all. It's about changing kids' lives and inspiring/threatening them to go out there and make a better life for themselves. Coach Carter succeeds where Friday Night Lights fails - yes, Friday Night Lights is a terrific film, but the message it conveys in the end is that sports, especially winning, is more important than anything else. Coach Carter cares about his kids a whole lot more than he cares about winning.
The basic story is pretty simple. Coach Carter takes over a team of undisciplined players who are used to losing games and underachieving in the classroom. Things are going to change. He tells the kids that they will win if they do as he says, but they will have to earn it, and they will have to hit the books as well as the courts if they are going to play for him. He makes them sign a contract: they have to agree to maintain a 2.3 GPA, attend all their classes (and sit on the front row), and dress up on game days. These requirements go beyond state guidelines for academic eligibility. Initially, many of the players balk, and one even walks. Coach has his guys ready to play, however, and they start out on a tremendous run. The kids get big heads and so some stupid things - and they pay for it. Things hit rock bottom, though, when Coach Carter finds out that many of his kids have not lived up to their agreements: several are skipping class and failing. That's when Coach Carter locks up the gym and cancels practice as well as key games until such time as his team has lived up to their agreement.
The tragic part of this story is not the kids, it's the school administration and the parents. Some of the parents have fits over the stipulations of the coach-player contracts, but the whole community goes apoplectic when Carter actually starts forfeiting games. Let the kids play, they yell, because basketball is all these kids have in life. Boy, that's a great message to give your kids, isn't it? Then you have the school principal who is seemingly satisfied with mediocrity; only half of her students actually graduate, and she seems to think that's just the ways things have to be. She doesn't approve of the academic requirements Coach Carter institutes with his team, and she doesn't like the lockout one bit. Worst of all, she completely stymies Carter's request for academic progress reports from his players' teachers - that's why he doesn't find out half of them are flunking until well into the season. The school board is no better, clearly putting sports before academics. Coach Carter has to fight an uphill battle not only with his kids, but with the very people charged with educating them. That is a disheartening reality in two many school districts today - and few schools will be lucky enough to have a Coach Carter to stir things up.
Naturally, the movie takes us to a number of basketball games, but they don't dominate the story, not by a long shot. The only quibble I have about the games concerns the big game at the end. During the obligatory win-or-lose shot hanging in the air for an eternity, some of the fans in the crowd seem to be smiling. I've lived through a number of these eternity-stretching last shots, and never have I smiled - I've grimaced, certainly; I've gotten down on my hands and knees on many an occasion; I've lifted my hands in earnest supplication to the Almighty; I've grabbed my hair and hung on for dear life - but never, ever have I smiled in such moments.
Based on a true story, Coach Carter is a wonderful, inspirational film, and Samuel L. Jackson is terrific in the role of Coach Carter. This movie sends all the right messages to youngsters, especially those whom society basically expects to fail, using various compelling subplots to validate the whole story in reality. It also serves as a clarion call to parents; you can't always depend on the school system to educate your children - and if you don't care about your child's education, he or she probably won't care either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational True Story!, 11 Jan 2006
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
If you like sport, and basketball inparticular then you will enjoy this film!
But Coach Carter is not simply about basketball. This is a truly inspiring story of care and commitment that the world should pay attention too.
Coach Ken Carter takes over the basketball team not only to teach basketball but to show them another way to live. The boys on the team have strong attitudes and will probably end up leading a life of crime or worse still end up dead in the community they live in.
But Coach Carter shows the boys another path, he commits to them, he beleives in them and teaches them to be the best they can be. Leaving some of them with good careers and much better hopes.
The world should take note that unruly kids need extra support and guidance to help them make it and not simply sent to the headmaster all the time. Kids that are running off the rails can be helped and Coach Carter is an inspiration to us all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coach Carter, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coach Carter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that will make you smile then make you cry !! the best sports film you will ever see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coach Carter [DVD]
Coach Carter [DVD] by Thomas Carter (DVD - 2005)
£3.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews