Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do people moan about having too many songs??
I had to write this review as I can't believe some of the things I've been reading on here about this excellent album. A lot of people are saying this should have been a12 or 15 track single CD album. It completely astounds me that people want LESS material on an album! After all how many single CD albums do you know of where every track is the best thing you've ever...
Published on 30 Jun 2005 by Leegrids

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have we have the best of them?
Foo Fighters fans have been waiting nearly three years for *In Your Honor*. It is an album that has been hyped by Dave Grohl for so long that it arrives having made life difficult for itself, with the task of having to live up to the frontman's declaration that it is the band's best album yet. It also contends with heavyweight double-albums; classic records like the...
Published on 19 Jun 2005 by Cmr Murray


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do people moan about having too many songs??, 30 Jun 2005
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
I had to write this review as I can't believe some of the things I've been reading on here about this excellent album. A lot of people are saying this should have been a12 or 15 track single CD album. It completely astounds me that people want LESS material on an album! After all how many single CD albums do you know of where every track is the best thing you've ever heard in your life? Even the best of albums can have it tracks you might just skip past when you don't have the time. For the regular price of around 8.99 we get two very high quality offerings from Dave Grohl and the boys. I have everything that Foo Fighters have ever released and I personally think this is right up there with the best of them. It also gives Dave the chance to show off the truly great voice he has when he's not doing the trademark Foos 'snarly' tracks!
CD1 goes along at a blistering pace, with standouts for me being Best Of You, DOA, Hell, Deepest Blues Are Black, End Over End and the best of the lot No Way Back. I have already seen them perform these tracks live, along with other classics such as Everlong and Monkey Wrench and they stand up perfectly alongside them.
As everyone knows by now, CD2 takes a more sedate path. It's perfect music for the heatwave we're promised shortly. Highlights include Virginia Moon (featuring Norah Jones), Cold Day In The Sun (sung by drummer Taylor Hawkins) and the hauntingly beautiful Razor (featuring the guitar god that is Josh Homme). It's a great contrast to the usual Foos offerings and I think they pull it off brilliantly.
I hope the band don't read some of the reviews this album has got (not just from Amazon customers I hasten to add.. even NME accused them of over-stretching!), as I fear they might never try something like this again, and in my opinion that would be a crying shame. I like to see bands taking chance like this, instead of producing the same stuff over and over again.
Overall this is two high quality albums for the price of one, and if you're having any doubts about buying it I urge you to put them aside. Don't miss out on this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One That Won Me Back, 1 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. Dominic L. Brown (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
This album is a breath of fresh air for a longtime Foo Fighters fan. A superb return to form after an album ("One By One") that had me wondering if the best of the Foo Fighters had already been and gone. For me, "One By One" was a little too polished and pop conscious, and apart from a couple of classics ("All My Life", "Have It All" and "Times Like These") it seemed like the Foo Fighters, only less so. This has been the trend since "The Colour and the Shape" which originally convinced me that they were a truly great group.
In my opinion "In Your Honour" moves the Foo Fighters into a new dimension, and makes them serious contenders for the most important Rock group of their generation. Back in force are the powerful anthems that they do so well. The arrangements are as skilled as you would expect from Dave Grohl, and the band is tighter than ever, with some superbly controlled drumming and simple, relentless basslines. Put simply, Disc One rocks!
On Disc One, highlights include the great singles "Best of You" and "DOA", and the wonderful "Hell" which features screaming, anguished vocals over a rhythmic, celtic inspired guitar melody line. At less than 2 minutes long it leaves you wanting much more. "Free Me" is a dark riff-based cracker, and its momentum builds perfectly to a truly great finish. "The Deepest Blues Are Back" enters with strummed acoustic guitar and surprisingly sweet vocals, and you might think it belongs on Disc Two, until the chorus explodes. "In Your Honour" and "No Way Back" are also excellent.
Disc Two is an entirely different animal, and it may take a bit of time for many fans to get into, but whilst it marks a totally new direction for the band (and one that doesn't always seem to work) it remains true to their sound, and rewards repeat listening. It includes some of the most profound material they have ever produced, and the acoustic guitars and restrained vocals produce a far more intimate experience. The opener "Still" is a haunting and melancholy ballad, puntuated with huge bass, that never seems to drag its feet despite the slow tempo. "Friend of a Friend" is a brooding piece that uses harmonies more reminiscent of Nirvana than the Foo Fighters, and it seems possible that it is a reference to Kurt Cobain's tortured final weeks. "On The Mend" has a sweeping, almost epic feel and drives along brilliantly over tight and rhythmic bass and drums, with sparkling picked acoustic guitar throughout - beautiful. "Virginia Moon" is a duet with Norah Jones, and is the only number that really doesn't sound like the Foo Fighters at all, but that isn't a bad thing. "Razor" is superb, featuring only Dave Grohl, singing and accompanying himself with excellent fingerstyle guitar work. Disc Two features more than a couple of relatively weak pieces, but overall is a real success.
I have a feeling that I will be listening to this album as keenly in ten years as when I first heard it - both discs.
This is an important album, and one which I can recommend with no hesitation, to longtime fans and new alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good album, 19 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
In this day and age with all the preview hype it is easy to get worked up and then have all your expectations blown to pieces when you hear the album. This was on the buy list but got sent it as a birthday gift. Disc 1 is a good solid album in its own right, though not necessarily moving things forward much. Disc 2 also seems fairly regular stuff. A blinding one CD album could have been made from all this material but as it is there is insufficient progression to make the 2 disc set reach that level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet, 27 Jan 2006
By 
RICHARD RAYFIELD "hellheads" (Swanscombe, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
A double album one rock, one acoustic creates the best one yet but only just. The rock side is amazing No Way Back, D.O.A., Best Of You and The Last Song are probably the best songs the foo's have done. In Your Honour (the song) is an epic of an opener and End Over End is a terrific album closer to settle all things rocking. The acoustic side however for me is boring with only Razor, What If I Do and Cold Day In The Sun being the only songs I can listen to without yawning but if your into acoustic songs you should find it good enough. I only wish they took the aformetioned acoustic song and put them on 1 disc and it could have been an classic. I fought about giving this review 4 stars but the rocking side is just so good it makes it 5 stars. I truly think this is the best album they've done & worthy to be in anyones cd racks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, Wonderful and Immense, don't even come close!, 16 July 2005
By 
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
Foo Fighters- in your honour was the single best album i have ever bought. track 2 on the first disc sets the tone for the whole of disc 1. track 1 is good but average really. my favourite song on this disc is the last one - The Sign. it emphasises all the Foos are about! Disc two is a laid- back acoustic disc. the best song for me on this album is Cold Day In The Sun. i am listening to it as i write this and it is just the right song for you to relax and gather your thoughts to. if you want a mixture of rock and acoustic songs, this is definetly the album for you. This is a perfect sequel to the amazing One By One!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best yet?, 23 Jun 2005
All is right with the world- a new Foo Fighters double album is here- and its a terrific effort. Some reviews have been a bit sniffy, especially with reference to disc 2 (but more of that later). Disc 1 contains some of the heaviest stuff they have ever done and Dave screams his heart out to within an inch of the life of his larynx (warning- singing along with this lot in the car will wreck your voice!). No weak tracks at all with No Way Back, DOA and Free Me noteworthy highlights. If this was the album in its entirety it would go down as a (albeit a bit short) classic.
Now, disc 2 steps things down but there's much to enjoy although it could be accused of being a tad self-indulgent (check out Virginia Moon as a case in point) but Dave should be commended for not sitting back and taking the easy route. Some may be alienated while it might open up a new audience. As disc 2 doesn't have quite the cohesion of disc 1 it means only 4 stars overall but highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Foo's album to date, 28 Nov 2005
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
I totally disagree with some of the comments above, especially the guy who said this album is for die-hard Foo fans only. I've never really listened to the Foo Fighters (I'm more into Metallica etc) but my Girlfriends a big fan so I've been listening to allot of there stuff recently and this is easily my favourite album. Some of the "loud" stuff I admit isn't as good as some of their best stuff but its also better than allot of their other stuff and some of the songs on disc 1 are up there with their best stuff. Disc 2 is easily my favourite, I;m a big fan of acoustic stuff and this is easily one of the best acoustic albums I've listened recently. If your a foo fighters fan then you most likely already own this album, if your not then I recommend this album its worth the money (The price on Amazon is excellent too) just for one of the disc's, never mind both. Buy it..NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE STOP COMPARING TO ALBUM 2!, 30 Jun 2005
By 
James hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
O.K, FIRST THINGS FIRST. If you are a foo's fan reviewing this album would you please stop comparing this album to The Colour And The Shape because they will never better it, it is a classic that no-one one else will get near or better for a long time.
O.k, rant over.
In truth this is the best foo's album since album 2, it is a real showcase of the talent the Foofighters have.
Best Of You, The single that was lifted from the album is a superb emotional song that in truth i really was'nt sure about on first listen but the more i listened to the single the more i realised it is definetly in the top 5 tracks they have written. It is their best single since EVERLONG!
The dynamic and the structure of the song is very different to the normal foofighters material yet still sounds very foo and i think that is what threw me. And that is why Best Of You was a very good choice for a first single, it is not a obvious choice as there are songs that are a bit more catchy and obvious as songs such as 'No Way Back' but Best Of You sets the listener up for disc 1 of the album nicely in how they have progressed as a band in their sound, dynamic and structure of thier songs.
There is more guitar work that is made alot more prominent on this album and You find yourself torn between singing along or just listening to the music alone.
Stand out songs on disc 1 include No Way Back, Best Of You, D.O.A and Resolve.
Alot of people have said to me that the first track , in your honor is rubbish and should'nt be on the album, but i think what they have failed to realise is that it's an INTRO TRACK, A progressive track that does'nt really have a hook but builds and ends nicley for the album to follow.
DISC 2 was something i was really looking forward to as i love the foofighters acoustic sessions on the radio and acoustic verions of their songs on b-sides
For me, making a double album with one acoustic was the only way for the foo's to go as with their previous albums i was getting pissed off with not listening to certain songs because i was in an acoustic or heavy mood, now it does'nt matter. The accoustic album really is'nt something you can just expect to love straight away. Unlike DISC 1 where you can just dive in and listen to a couple of tracks here and there when you're in the mood for them you have to go from from beginning to end, not skip and mess around. You need to do this a few times before you can understand what the foo's have done here. the acoustic album is quite 'concept' and flows like little storys melded into one.
Having said that there are stand out moments on disc 2 and these are; What If I Do, Over And Out, On On The Mend and Razor.
So there you go, dont believe the hype, dont believe the mags, the reviews or me! just listen and enjoy a fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 16 Jun 2005
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
I was expecting a lot from the album based on the first single, 'Best Of You', and I think the impression it gave is slightly wrong, though I have only listened to the album a couple of times and I do really like it, its just not all 'Best of You' quality. I prefere this to 'One By One' (although it was still a good album) and I am sure it will do brilliantly.For 8.49 the album is definatly value for money in that you are getting two albums in one, however I am not sure that splitting the album into rock and acustic was necessarily a good idea. The album may have sounded better with more of a mix between the rock and acustic as a lot of the first album sounds quite similar, however, over both discs there are a lot of great songs, one of my favourites is in fact the song where the drummer takes the lead on 'Cold Day In The Sun' which brings more veriety to the album, though unfortunatly, due to the 'acustic' theme, i think the second half of the album will be left forgotten.
Other songs that should be mentioned are 'Friend of a Friend' which was written about Kurt Cobain when Grohl first met him, the very catchy DOA, Hell and The Darkest Blues are Black, which are the ones I remember best from the few times I have heard it. I will enjoy listening to it again, all foo fighter fans should definetly buy the album, this is their best album yet with the double album giving it much more variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Yet, 17 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: In Your Honour [2CD] (Audio CD)
The best album of the year the best Foo Fighters record ever, even better than Colour and the Shape. The first CD is complete with full on rock anthems, DOA and The Last Song really catching the eye. The album is so hard rock that Best of You seemes mello comparing to the rest which see's Grohl at his best. The Acoustic CD is simpley fantastic, and Grohl's real roots are hear and he excels. Songs like Miracle and Razor are paticular favourites, but look out for an appearance by Taylor Hawkins on vocals in Cold day in the sun. Overall they are garenteed to be the band of the summer, again and this album just continues there sucess.
A must for any Rock fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Your Honour [2CD]
In Your Honour [2CD] by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews