Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase
Why oh why are there so many fantastic female fronted power goth metal acts wandering around mainland Europe drawing me into there webs of desire. For it is pure desire when it comes to music like this. My ears lust for it.
Only a year on from the release of debut "Lovelorn" Leaves' Eyes has come back with an even better album in the time frame it takes Axl Rose to...
Published on 30 Sept. 2005 by Mr. H

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My Grow
This is one of those albums that must be listened to a few times and may grow. The female vocals could be stronger.
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by SeekerMark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase, 30 Sept. 2005
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vinland Saga (Audio CD)
Why oh why are there so many fantastic female fronted power goth metal acts wandering around mainland Europe drawing me into there webs of desire. For it is pure desire when it comes to music like this. My ears lust for it.
Only a year on from the release of debut "Lovelorn" Leaves' Eyes has come back with an even better album in the time frame it takes Axl Rose to squeeze his beer gut into a pair of bicycle shorts. Quite remarkable considering the quality of the material on offer.
And even better, it's a concept album telling the story of a crew member aboard Leif Erickson's longboat on their journey to the New World 500 years before Christopher Columbus claimed to have discovered it.
Frontwoman Live Kristine says she found her inspiration in Norwegian art and folk music as well as in Celtic melodies, and that combined with her remarkable soprano voice and some excellent compositions has made for a fabulous release. But that's not to take away from the band, for this is very much a band effort. Thorsten Bauer and Mathias Roderer's guitars are a large part of the music as is the almost death metal growls of Alexander Krull (Livs husband in case you didn't know).
Highlights abound with the up tempo metal of "Farewell Proud Men" and the delicate "Mourning Tree" being particular favourites round my way. Sometimes bleak, sometimes invigorating but always fascinating, this is an essential purchase for lovers of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album !!!!, 8 Sept. 2007
By 
M. Thomas (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vinland Saga (Audio CD)
From start to finish, this album is beautiful - words cannot describe how brilliantly orchestrated and well-sung it is.
Liv-Kristine has a voice in a million - shades of Sarah Brightman (but don't let that put anyone off...) or Sharon Den Adel (Within Temptation) in that whatever she might sing, it will sound perfect.
I'm no particular fan of the 'extreme' vocal style employed by Liv's husband Alexander Krull on some tracks, but when combined with the rest of the music it really fits in.
I still think that Sharon Den Adel's voice sets the absolute benchmark for female vocal quality (I've seen Within Temptation live - the acid test - and she sounds just as good even without studio wizardry), but Liv-Kristine on this album is so wonderful that it would be churlish to make comparisons. Think of two beautiful but slightly different objects - they're both still beautiful and your world is made better by both of them.
If you like sweeping epic romantic rock music and beautiful vocals, then buy this album.
Thank God for the internet and the opportunity to find out about bands like Leaves' Eyes - and I also thoroughly recommend everyone to check out Midnattsol. The whole world should hear about these two bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My Grow, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vinland Saga (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums that must be listened to a few times and may grow. The female vocals could be stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 25 July 2008
This review is from: Vinland Saga (Audio CD)
Originally put off by the idea that the theme of the album was the story of the Vikings finding Newfoundland, I now have to admit to being way off the mark. This album is just beautiful with both haunting melodies and rip roaring loud tracks. Even the growls are moderate and appropriate. It's hard to identify any weak links, the tracks alternate between tempo's and all are beautiful. My favourites inlcude the quiet little ballad Leaves Eyes and the upbeat Solemn Seas. When I check my favourites played on my ipod this album is right up there with Within Temptation's Silent Force and Tristania's Illumination.Go buy them all.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Brillant, 10 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Vinland Saga (Audio CD)
Like the epica Vikings this cd is a journey of many different emotions,LIV KRISTINE KRULL,vocals are expressive,moving and powerful but this cd is just not about one person,all the musicians deliver a top class recording here.Vinland Saga is a hauntingly brillant cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the best, 30 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Vinland Saga (Audio CD)
Leaves' eyes is probably more to the likes of older Theatre of Tragedy fans. I think Liv Kristine evolved from the older albums of T.O.T. I am honestly glad that the band departed from her( by her surprise finding a farewell on the website) because I didn't think T.O.T did her justice later on in the electronic elements in their more recent releases. I do hate to push the two bands together, believe me. But we got Leaves' Eyes out of all of this.
This release is a better concept album than Lovelorn, and Lovelorn had a lot of imagination and emotion. This newer release adds some orchestral elements and other languages. It lives up to it's expectations.
There's a lot of female fronted bands, and a lot of competition. I don't see Leaves' Eyes having a problem making a name for themselves. It took Lacuna Coil,in the U.S.,2 years after Comalies was released to make a name for themselves, only because of the likes of MTV2 and Ozzfest. But Leaves' Eyes are touring all over the world in high demand without as much promotion. They aren't as big in the U.S. as Lacuna Coil, but Leaves' Eyes don't have as big of a chance to die out and fade away. They are refreshing. It's worth adding to a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Symphonic Metal - Lite !, 21 Feb. 2009
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vinland Saga (Audio CD)
When you read these songs are a collection of Viking legends you expect plunder and pillage - what you get is pretty and polite so be warned ! This is a poor mans Within Temptation, and like that band, they are carried by their female vocalist with what sounds here like karaoke backing. The project is very much the brainchild of Liv Kristine but my biggest criticism of her is that her singing is lacking in passion as she never moves out of second gear. She has a nice voice and has come up with some nice melodies but sounds closer to Enya than Sharon den Adel or Floor Jansen.

Musical backing is very basic with orchestral chords supplimenting muffled fuzzy rhythm guitars and could have been much more ambitious or dynamic. There are a number of good tracks here (Newfoundland, Elegy and Farewell Proud Men) but Twilight Sun is the only one where Liv turns on any power. I believe there's a DVD on the way which if it has live tracks could put a more energetic and powerful gloss on this music but it's all just a little too twee for me. More like Folk music with grunts and fuzz guitars !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Vinland Saga (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vinland Saga
Vinland Saga by Leaves' Eyes (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews