Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry David continues the mayhem...
In just three years, Seinfeld co-creator Larry David has gone a long way to approaching and perhaps even surpassing his previous creation with this supremely well-crafted sitcom Curb Your Enthusiasm.
The formula is very simple; Larry David, as himself, manages to offend almost everyone he meets which leads to hilarious consequences throughout each show. What truly...
Published on 2 Oct 2005 by D. Brewer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly ludicrous but watchable
The first half of this season is not so good. The story arks are so ludicrous & predictable it tried my patience. Also the acting is pretty poor. Second half fairs better, more genuine laughs & the writing seems to improve. I have watched seasons 1-6 but I'm not sure how I got so far. It's just a watchable show like so many others but wildly overrated!
Published 2 months ago by Mr. E. A. Dobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry David continues the mayhem..., 2 Oct 2005
By 
D. Brewer "dark_mercenary" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
In just three years, Seinfeld co-creator Larry David has gone a long way to approaching and perhaps even surpassing his previous creation with this supremely well-crafted sitcom Curb Your Enthusiasm.
The formula is very simple; Larry David, as himself, manages to offend almost everyone he meets which leads to hilarious consequences throughout each show. What truly makes Larry a genuine telvision gem is that, like most protagonists, he is his own worst enemy and is derided simply for his honesty and un-flinching belief in his right to speak his mind.
But however he manages to get there he always seems to do or say the wrong thing. The first three series were great - this one, if it's possible, is even better. In this series there is one common theme of Larry's initiation into Broadway as the star of Mel Brooks' legendary play, The Producers.
Throughout the series we follow Larry as he prepares for his biggest role to date and another common theme as he prepares to cash in on an extraordinary 10th anniversary birthday present (which I won't spoil for you by saying)!
As usual for Curb, there is a whole host of guest stars with David Schwimmer, Ben Stiller, Mel Brooks and Anne Bancroft being chief amongst them, in addition to the usual wonderful supporting cast of Cheryl Hines, Jeff Garlin, Richard Lewis, Wanda Sykes and the brilliant Susie Essman as the caustic, acid-tongued Susie Green.
Curb Your Enthusiasm is a rare gem of a sitcom which has more in common with The Office and Fawlty Towers than other traditional sitcom fare such as Friends. Larry David, if there's any justice, will go down in sitcom infamy as a character as diverse as either David Brent (The Office) or Basil Fawlty (Fawlty Towers).
But considering that Larry David is a real, living, breathing human being, that makes the excellent Larry David all the more remarkable...
(P.S. For those who are wondering about extras on the DVD's, I have to be honest and say that I don't think there are many to be found but as I never watch extras anyway, I'm not really fit to comment on them.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthusiasm not yet curbed for this excellent series, 7 May 2009
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After three hugely successful seasons, Larry David's straight-faced comedy soap opera shows no sign of running out of steam. Despite other US celebrities such as Lisa Kudrow and Kirsty Alley formulating their own similar shows, Curb your Enthusiasm remains the most cringeworthily hilarious kid on the block.
The first episode sees our (anti) hero in yet another new house, however some things haven't changed, as Larry's determination to pursue his own interests above those of everyone around him continue unabated. As the eve of his 10th wedding anniversary approaches, Larry reminds his wife Cheryl of the promise she made to him a decade ago that he could sleep with one other woman as a tenth anniversary gift. This leads to Larry being accused of having a breast obsession, whilst a chance encounter with his comedy hero Mel Brooks in a karaoke bar, leads to him being offered the lead role in Brooks' Broadway smash 'The Producers'. With this season's story arc firmly in place, Larry proceeds to upset the apple cart once more; accidentally stabbing co-star Ben Stiller in the eye with a kebab skewer, falling out with another doctor, and insulting an IT expert in a wheelchair.
With his now familiar blend of ineptness and stubborn self-belief, Larry David has produced yet another great season of his hit show. With two more series' available on DVD and another being made, there is obviously still some way to go before Larry calls it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Victor Meldrew of Los Angeles., 10 July 2011
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Takes a while to get into the form of humour, but I'm now hooked. If you enjoyed Seinfeld you'll love this. Jeff Garlin provides terrific support to Larry David, playing his womanising manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America's Alan Partridge, 27 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. Simon N. Halkyard (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I stumbled on to this fantastic series by accident and what a joy it is. Larry David is a fantastic actor which is amazing to think he co-created Seinfeld and was behined the camera most of the time. If you enjoyed The Office and Alan Partridge this is absolutley for you ! You will cringe as Larry gets himself into trouble every week - the fights with Ben Stiller are great in series 4. Buy this if you want intelligent and origional humour !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LD, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
peeety preety preety , preeeety good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly ludicrous but watchable, 17 April 2014
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The first half of this season is not so good. The story arks are so ludicrous & predictable it tried my patience. Also the acting is pretty poor. Second half fairs better, more genuine laughs & the writing seems to improve. I have watched seasons 1-6 but I'm not sure how I got so far. It's just a watchable show like so many others but wildly overrated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bought as a gift and the recipient was very pleased. He said the quality was very good, and he is happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the prostitute sequence alone, 24 Jan 2014
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Season four is very good but is worth it alone for The Car Pool Lane episode where Larry picks up a prostitute so he can use the traffic free car pool lane to get to the Dodgers game quicker. The actress is brilliant and impresses Larry by saying "I can do four blow jobs an hour!" The scenes with her are hilarious and he ends up in court for cannabis possession (spoiler alert) he ends up asking Cheryl to pay for the lady of the night when she appears demanding money. There is great stuff too where Mel Brook's producers end up seeing Larry as a total idiot. As usual Jeff Garlin is brilliant - he and Larry are like two big kids and Susie Essman is excellent - always knowing Larry is a big idiot who leads Jeff astray. I would say though I don't really like the "themed" Curbs like the restaurant one or the Seinfeld one, it just distracts from the comedy. Larry David is from a tradition of great comedians like Woody Allen and Mr Brooks and is currently the best there is. I'd love to shake his hand and kiss Cheryl Hines all over. Ps, this is available now for 1.18 from zoverstocks and zoverstocks sell stuff "used" but it is nearly always mint, so grab yourself a bargain and enjoy the best comedy series on tv and Larry bringing his prostitute friend to the game. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best season yet, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you are looking to buy a 'Curb' season but unsure of which one to purchase then I thoroughly recommend you buy this season. By far the most clever storylines and most laughs per episode. Larry has fine-tuned his fictional self and has created, in my opinion, one of the funniest comedy characters in existence (along with David Brent, Basil Fawlty and Alan Partridge). Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value., 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
wonderfull comedy,it is still funny after watching it several times.
I have bought all available dvds .LD rank alongside Seinfeld & Co.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 4 [DVD] [2005]
7.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews