Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking the rules
Sin City is one of those films that you see posters for, think it looks interesting but don't neccessarily get the point. At least, until you sit in the cinema and get to see the full glory.
That is the word for this film - glorious. Filmed with techniques and a style that haven't been used for a long time, Sin City presents three stories that, whilst not...
Published on 25 Sep 2005 by Jenna Halloran

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Partially Excellent
The whole being greater than the sum of the parts, it was a good film. Running the risk of sounding controversial, I remain uncertain as to the benefit of the colour scheming. It worked in some places (ninja-cannibal and orange man), but not in others (luminous elastoplast).

I also find the Mickey Spillane/ Mike Hammer approach to narration and dialogue...
Published on 17 Jan 2008 by Green Man Music


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking the rules, 25 Sep 2005
This review is from: Sin City [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Sin City is one of those films that you see posters for, think it looks interesting but don't neccessarily get the point. At least, until you sit in the cinema and get to see the full glory.
That is the word for this film - glorious. Filmed with techniques and a style that haven't been used for a long time, Sin City presents three stories that, whilst not consecutive or concurrent, are nonetheless compelling. Each actor lived their character so deeply I could believe that this was all they ever were, who they had ever been. Despite the previous hits, both film and telelvision, spread between Willis, Owen, Rourke and Alba (as the easiest faces to identify), even my Sin City mad friend could see no one else when they went home to read the books!
This film is a rule breaker. The last film I saw that involved thought as an important feature of the script was Dune. As much as I love Frank Herbert's work, I was completely in awe of the way the three directors matched unspoken dialogue with fantastic colour technique to provide a thrilling, astounding vacation into a world that is both different and similar to that in which we live. Black and white filming is mostly restricted to flashbacks within any genre but here it is used to effect, making even the most bloody of scenes somehow softer.
I'm sorry to say I was not impressed with Kill Bill...yet Tarantino's scene was not only bloodless but hilarious. There is a wonderful amount of dark humour to be found within this delightful film - delightful as a study for media students, as the final pleasure for fans of the books and even for those who have never read them before. I am in the last catergory. And I can assure everyone, I loved this film so much I'll happily watch any others that are screened. (And thankfully, I hear more are planned)
If you're a fan, you've seen it all ready. If you're not and you like the difference in films, films that change the rules, that break them, then watch this film. It's worth renting at least once, just to be able to say you've seen a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely stunning looking film, 4 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film, and now I love it even more because it looks and sounds stunning on Blu-ray.

The film is almost an anthology with three vignettes, one starring Bruce Willis, one starring Mickey Rourke and another with Clive Owen. All three stories are totally engrossing and brilliantly acted. This is far and away Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller's best work, Miller went on to direct the very disappointing, The Spirit, which was shot in the same style. Tarantino is even on board as a guest director filming part of the Clive Owen story. The three actors mentioned above are joined by an excellent supporting cast including Benicio Del Toro, Michael Clarke Duncan, Brittany Murphy, Jaime King, Rosario Dawson, Josh Hartnett, Jessica Alba, Elijah Wood and many more, as you can guess it's a bit of an all star cast.

It's shot in a very stylized black and white with splashes of colour, such as blood or eye colour and on Blu-ray the colours really do pop off the screen. I played this side by side with the DVD (which has since been given away) and the step up in quality was huge. Plenty of extras here to keep the enthusiasts happy including the film played with a test audience reaction which is fun. 10 out of 10 film, and thankfully 10 out of 10 for the Blu-ray. A MUST HAVE EVEN IF YOU ALREADY OWN THE DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it's worth the wait, 10 Dec 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The collector's two disc DVD edition of Sin City has finally made it to PAL, and in a beautifully designed tin box, too. I never thought tin could be so sexy! The Region 2 version has all the extras the NTSC discs have, except the Sin-Chroni-City Interactive Game. The package doesn't include the graphic novels either, but real fans will have those anyway.

Are the extras worth the money? Well, I certainly think so. If you're interested in graphics you get a fascinating insight into how Sin City became the stunning, original work of modern film art that it most assuredly is. If you're interested in film making you get commentaries from director Rodriguez, and from Quentin Tarantino and Frank Miller, plus Rodriguez's specials on disc 2. If you're into props, special effects make-up and cars, there's something here for you. You even get Bruce Willis (and John Laurie!) performing at the wrap party.

Plus you get the film, of course. And that lovely tin box. Mmmmmm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hard tin, with some decent extras, 2 Jan 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sin city is a film made in 2005, directed by robert rodriguez [and one scene by quentin tarantino] that adapts three of frank miller's graphic novels for the screen. these are all set in a place called sin city, and tell classic film noir tales, from a private eye getting caught up in a turf war to a tough guy getting revenge for the death of a lady, to a cop risking all to protect a girl from a psycho killer. filmed with computer graphics and motion capture and lots of technology this is the most faithful literary adaptation ever. the film looks like the pictures from the book, and the script follows them totally. brutal and brilliant and fully deserving of an 18 certificate.

the first dvd region 2 release had one solitary extra. a ten minute featurette. the region 1 version had lots, but this version never appeared in the uk. so imagine my surprise when walking into HMV for a browse the other week as I had a few minutes to spare, and finding this had finally come to region two!

And it was worth the wait.

there are two discs. the first contains the cinema released cut of the film, and the following extras:

three commentaries. one by rodriguez and tarantino. one by rodriguez and frank miller. and the audience commentary, which is a recording of how the audience at the premiere reacted. shouting and cheering, mostly.

There are lots of documentaries, most of which run ten to fifteen minutes:

how it all went down: convincing frank miller to let the film be made

a piece about the scene tarantino directed

documentaries about the cars, props, costumes and make up.

Two different cinema trailers for the film.

And a ten minute concert piece, showing bruce willis and his band playing at an impromptu concert the cast and crew held. they're very good as well.

on disc two:

an introduction to the disc by robert rodriguez.

the three stories, plus the short one that starts the film, all recut so they now stand alone and can be watched in any order. the story that yellow bastard is the only one to contain any new footage, but these are scenes that were in the book and not the original cinema cut so it's nice to see them

a fifteen minute documentary about the production of the movie. which is very interesting in regards to technical details of how it was made

the long take: a fifteen minute long showing of the scene tarantino directed

the all green version: the film with no backdrops or effects. speeded up to run no more than fifteen minutes. I'd be tempted to watch this even if it wasn't speeded up. it's interesting to look at.

and a ten minute cooking school showing rodriguez telling you how to cook one of his favourite delicacies.

and as the other reviewer said, this comes in a very sturdy box. I wish all dvds had boxes like this.

This is a brilliant package, and it was worth the wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIN-ful!, 15 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sin City [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is one of the most striking, memorable, imaginative and violent films to have come out in a long, long time. It is a cliched ridden flick where nothing is taken too seriously - especially life - and where anything goes.
Expect to meet hookers, mercenaries, hit men, good cops, bad cops, strippers and thugs in Sin City. This tells three stories, that are ingeniously subtley linked together.
The most interesting story is Bruce Willis' as Hartigan. A cop who protected a little girl when she was younger, and in a cruel twist of fate has to protect her again when she is older (and played by Jessica Alba). It's the most detailed story, with the best character development.
The best character, however, is Mickey Rourke's Marv. A tough, unbeatable and ugly man who is out to avenge the death of a hooker who gave him things he had never dreamed of. It's a slightly simple story, but it's effective, violent, and unlike the other stories in the film, filled with dark humour.
Clive Owen is the weakest main character. He plays Dwight with a lot of gusto, but the character doesn't have the same heart that the others does, as he tries to stop Benicio Del Toro's troublemaker. This story also includes the infamous scene directed by Quentin Tarantino, where Dwights dead body starts talking again. There's nothing wrong with Tarantino, he's a great director, but in Sin City, his scene feels out of place. It doesn't flow with the rest of the film, and jars you out of the mood. It still is an interesting scene, however.
Of course, there are also some brilliant baddies. Elijah Wood's cannibal is creepy, while Nick Stahl relishes in the dirtyness of Yellow B######.
This DVD is sadly lacking in the extras department. the menu system looks gorgeous, and is great fun to watch, but the there is only an 8-minute behind the scenes that doesn't really reveal anything and only just scratches the surface. If you want extras, wait for the special edition that is rumoured to be coming soon.
But Sin City is a film worth seeing, extras or not. It's stylised violence, splashes of colour, and gritty noir is mesmerising, and is a truly unique experience in film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling if brutal Noir receives stunning release to BRD, extended version not as it seems though..., 17 Jan 2010
By 
K. O'Leary (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I believe Frank Miller's Sin City maybe one of the finest films of the last decade. The fabulous cast (too many to list here), all put in some of the strongest performances of their careers, helped by a script which although sounding cliched, is strangely fresh and imaginative at the same time. Factor in the glorious visuals (beautifully composed in black and white with occasional colour keys), and the result is a mind-blowing and hypnotic treat. The movie's ace card is its story telling though; a finely crafted weave of overlapping circumstances and characters that brings the brutality of Sin City "colourfully" to life. And brutal it is too, sadistic even, although it does at least tend to be the villains that endure the more grisly fates - morality is very black and white in the world of Sin City.

There has been much praise of this disk's image quality, and it is top notch; bursting with minute detail, deep blacks and satisfying contrast. However, the DVD is also stunning, and those wishing to upgrade to BRD with smaller HD screens may only notice minor improvements I think. Sound quality is high on the DVD too, but here the BRD is much more improved; bass goes deep and surround elements are accurately placed. Bruce Willis' climatic beating of the Yellow Fiend sounds as if it's actually happening in your living room. Of course if you do not already have the excellent DVD, you'd be better off purchasing the Blu-Ray.

I was a little bit disappointed with the second disk though, which I expected to contain an extended and uncut version of the film in its entirety. What you actually get is the film re-cut into separate episodes (including titles), each one concentrating on a single story thread from the Movie. I don't think it works very well like this, as the original film's greatest strength is how the Character's lives and situations mesh seamlessly into one another, bringing their complex society to life. There are some new scenes, but they don't add much in my opinion. I can't see myself ever watching Sin City in this way again I'm afraid. The disk does also contain an exhaustive library of informative and engaging docs though, covering such subjects as costumes, cars and other props used in the film, with plenty of contributions from the film-makers and even guest director Quentin Tarantino. You also have two commentaries on the main disk, with Tarantino making an appearance again, and a rather strange audio track with audience reactions from an early test screening. The animated menus on both disks are also worth mentioning, they're the best I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete package!, 21 Oct 2005
By 
This film is fantastic. We all know that. But this limited edition box set takes things one step further.
Included in the box set are the 3 graphic novels from the Sin City series by Frank Miller on which the film is based. Before purchasing this box set myself I had never read these books before. They are brilliant! It is truely amazing to see just how closely the film stuck to the plots of the stories in the books. Right down to positioning of objects in frames, lighting and dialogue.
As mentioned before the box set looks great, no tacky materials to be seen! Looks great with my collection!
Superb! If you want this film on DVD then BUY THIS VERSION! Seriously, you will really enjoy reading the books and comparing them to the film itself.
Now I'm looking to extend my Sin City graphic novel collection in time for the release of Sin City 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visceral, Visionary, Visual, Sin City kicks the big un!, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sin City [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Three grizzled stories from Basin City comprise the basis for Robert Rodriguez's adaptation of Frank Miller's graphic novels (Miller along for co-directing duties as well). Man mountain Marv is out to avenge a murdered hooker, Dwight attempts to help the red light girls stay independent from the mob, and aging cop Hartigan is trying to protect a beautiful dancer from a sadistic pervert.

I think the first thing I should say is that I have no frame of reference as regards the adaptation here, I have never read (or seen) a Frank Miller story, but from what I can gather from the IMDb site is that fans of Miller's graphic stories were well pleased with the final result. I'm pleased to see that, because too many times comic book adaptations are roundly panned by the hard core fan base of each respective franchise for not being close to the spirit of the source, so here I'm doubly relieved mainly because I find Sin City to be a majestic assault on the senses.

Sin City is a stark place, full of seedy residents thriving on misery and mistrust, and here we are privy to three stories that only serve to remind us that we don't want to be anywhere near the place. Playing out as some sort of horror comic noir, Sin City is for sure a very violent picture, yet the violence is formed so perfectly in its style, it cloaks the film in artistic class. Once viewed, Sin City is never forgotten, and I for one literally do tip my hat towards Frank Miller & Robert Rodriguez for bringing such a great and interesting movie to the masses. All of the cast do great work, so I'll not single anyone out for praise, the techniques and the whole structure of the piece is quite simply marvellous, and as for the writing? Well get a load of it!

Sin City, a dark horrible place, Sin City, a wonderful wonderful movie. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, Shocking, Mesmerising !, 18 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sin City is an enthralling cinematic adaptation of various stories from the graphic novels of Frank Miller.

The presentation and production values are unusual but excellent, utilising 'green scene' photography to allow the graphic and distorted backgrounds to be rich in detail and reproduce the 1950s American-style 'world' in and around the fictional story location of 'Basin City'.

The picture is largely black and white, with certain aspects accentuated with flashes of vivid or florescent colour; the overall effect is superb.

The stories are violent, sexist and basic; but this does mean the film is not utterly entertaining, shocking or mesmerising. It demands to be watched on a large screen with a good audio presentation, but DVD playback on a decent telly will do !

The 3 storylines are intertwined and feature murder, revenge, rough justice and conflict featuring a wealth of well-known actors such as Bruce Willis, Rutger Hauer, Rosario Dawson and (most significantly) Mickey Rourke.

The cast of characters contain a mixture of the grotesque, beautiful and powerful and compliment the picture and storylines beautifully.

The DVD picture and sound quality are excellent, especially the DTS soundtrack, and there are a wealth of worthwhile extras.

---

The DVD exists in many versions, with this Recut and Extended boxset being the best (it also contains a reproduction graphic novel) as it has both versions of the film.

But watch out, only the USA edition of the Region 1 version has DTS (for the original theatrical release) - the Canadian version, which can be spotted by it having French text on the packaging, omits DTS.

Also watch out - some USA-based Amazon sellers provide the CANADIAN version !

The Scandinavian Region 2 edition also has DTS, but has subtitle anomalies.

There are also differences regarding certain featurettes, but I think again the Region 1 version is best as it has the 'Sin-Chroni-City interactive feature', which is NOT a 'game' as described on the packaging ! This featurette is also on the Region 4 version, but that does not have DTS...

---

Having said all that, whatever version you get will have the main feature, which provides the most entertainment !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive., 28 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sin City [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I watched this movie, aware of both the good and bad reviews, and wary of this being another case of hype. I was hopeful, but then the pre-credit sequence started with its distracting voice-over and distracting visuals... and I thought this would be movie I would hate.
I was wrong. Once we got into the movie proper I got caught up in the story and soon not only adjusted to the visual and narrative style but began to enjoy it immensely, a feast of dark humour, cartoon violence and wild colours. By the end of the movie I was disappointed that it couldn't have gone on longer.
My favourite performances were from Mickey Rourke and Bruce Willis, but in fact everybody was pretty good. Note that I'm not a comic book fan: I don't care if a movie is based on a comic book, the movie still has to stand on its own, and this one does. But, one is always aware of the resemblance to a comic book, both in the visuals and in the dialogue - but this is not a criticism, it is part of the universe that the movie creates, that you are asked to buy into. And I'll gladly buy into it when the reward is this much fun. Nor was it a problem for me that the movie has three mostly unrelated stories: who says that a movie has to be a single story?
Sin City is quite unlike any movie I've seen before, and for that reason alone it deserves high marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sin City [DVD] [2005]
Sin City [DVD] [2005] by Robert Rodriguez (DVD - 2005)
£8.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews