Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars35
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
32
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2005
Unfortunately, when this DVD was released, I didn't have enough money to buy it, so after a couple of agonising months of my friend watching 'Elegies' again and again, he lent it me and I finally got my grubby mits on, what has to be said, could be the single greatest music DVD in the history of music DVDs. Let me tell you all: the wait was most definitely worth it.
This is not just a DVD with a live show and the band members acting like idiots like most run-of-the-mill DVDs are these days. This is far better. Yes, there is a live show as the Brixtom Academy with Machine Head musically tearing every crowd member apart like 5000 sacrificial lambs, and there are clips of inspring vocalist/guitarist Robb Flynn, ace of bass Adam Duce, lead axeman Phill Demmel and powerhouse drummer Dave McClain occasionally having a good time, but to be honest, this pratting about is not what the DVD is about.
To me, the greatest feature of this overall brilliant DVD is The Making Of Through The Ashes Of Empires. From the exhilerating highs of headlining the With Full Force festival and playing to thousands upon thousands of people and the frankly abysmal lows of being eventually forced to write a (probably never to be released) radio-friendly song and sitting in front of a camera selling themselves to record companies, this documentary grabs the whole length of time from MH's 2001 release Supercharger to the American release of the hellishly metal Through The Ashes Of Empires and rams it through your skull, forcing you to take everything in. It is an awesome piece of video, a real credit to Machine Head for laying everything out for fans to see.
The promotional videos for 'The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears', 'Days Turn Blue To Gray' and 'Imperium' are included as well, as well as short clips showing how they were made, which is interesting as well as fun to watch.
This DVD is the best DVD I have personally ever watched, and I can say that truthfully. It may have something to do with SF Bay Area thrashers Machine Head being my favourite band of all time, but even people who don't consider The Head to be their favourite band watch the DVD every night for 2 months. Surely that conveys the pure awesomeness of this release. Surely that makes you want to part with your hard-earned cash for this masterpiece of video technology.
If not, you're missing out on the best. I mean it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2005
wow this dvd is the best well recomended for any metal fan or Machine Head with a Sneak Peek At Life On The Road With Machine Head which is so ace :)> it as three muisc videos which rocks with the making of them and the making of The Ashes Of Empires well recomended go on peeps go get this dvd!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2005
never seen machine head live but after seeing the dvd i cant wait. this is the complete collection from machine head. a full concert of all there best known songs plus there studio videos as well. behind the scenes documentary. it has it all. go buy it you WONT be dissapointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2005
Many live DVDs offer little beyond an hour and a half of average concert footage, often spliced with unnecessary diversions from the show itself (Korn - 'Live' being an example, while being a great gig and DVD it was full of frankly odd CGI sections which added nothing at all to the package).
Machine Head's first DVD is nothing like this. For one, the gig itself, filmed in late 2004 at Brixton Academy in London, is to put it lightly, stunning. The band are on what must be very close to top form throughout, and give both new and classic songs a thourough run out here for over 90 minutes. The concert is intercut with behind-the-scenes footage, but there's an option to leave these out if you so wish!
Not only the show itself impresses. There are three videos to be had here (including Imperium), and their respective 'making-of's as well.
There is also a very good insight into the last few years of Machine Head, documenting their struggle to find a new record detail after their split with Roadrunner, their search for a new guitarist, and the band asking themselves if they really wanted to carry on as Machine Head. It's almost a mini-Some Kind of Monster, but with less group therapy and less Lars.
This is near-essential for any Machine Head fan, and even more so for those who've never been fortunate enough to see the 'Head live for themselves. Well worth the money. 5/5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
Machine Head – Elegies
If you’ve even seen Machine Head perform live then the quality and quantity of this DVD will come as no surprise, if you haven’t seen them live yet then this DVD will show you see exactly what you’ve been missing all this time.
Machine Head have starked around in the dark outer reaches of the Metal world for over 10 years, regularly stepping into the lime light to claim new members to their own dark cult, training them in the ancient art of thrash & head banging.
However after many years dominating the out skirts of metal and with over 1.7 million in world-wide sales under their belt, Machine Head have returned to claim their rightful succession to the throne.
A DVD full of live, full throttle extremes from both the band and audience alike, with superbly typically over excellent performed set list that is so Machine Head at their very best.
But wait that’s not all the DVD also has a generous amount of behind the scenes footage as well as their past video releases. So in short if you like or love Machine Head buy this DVD, however if you have not yet tasted the sweet nectar that is Machine Head, then you should very definitely buy this DVD.
Rock your socks and shoes off !!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2005
oh god its explosive I need to see this band and with this dvd I might as well have seen them live. You can watch this and stand back and it feels like your there. You can feel the electricity in the crowd. The riffery is tight and the vocals are powefully brutalising. The drums are no less then to be expected with dave thumping along at brakeneck pace. The raw energy is carried through the crowd whipping them into a frenzy while Machine Head with the experience of gods show why they are metal legends at the top of the sound chain. This dvd is nessicary metal viewing for any fan of rock and metal! If you need an idea or dont know what music dvd to buy this is it by far. I work in a music store and this dvd has been selling faster than we can get it onto the shelves I know this is a good choice and i know the second I am finished writing this I will go watch it again. I implore you all to buy this dvd. Machine Head elegies...metal purity
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Elegies was the first live DVD from Machine Head; recorded, just like their Hellalive album at the Brixton Academy in London, three years later in 2004 and released in 2005.

Like with Hellalive, the band play a mixture of material from all of their studio albums up until that point to an excited british crowd, but this time the band were riding high on the critical success of Through The Ashes Of Empires. Their performance is very strong indeed, with new guitarist Phil Demmel giving the band an additional edge. The dual guitar sections from Through The Ashes Of Empires sound amazing on this DVD, they really take on a life of their own in the live environment.

The tracklisting is excellent, presenting the very best of Machine Head, new songs like `Imperium,' and `Seasons Wither,' sound fantastic alongside the all time classics like `Ten Ton Hammer,' and `Davidian.'

The band aren't afraid to drop some of the more emotional, sophisticated music like `Descend The Shades Of Night,' and the title track from `The Burning Red,' confidently bringing the evening to a chilling standstill, before returning to the blistering metal that made them famous.

Visually and in terms of audio, the DVD is pretty great. I personally would've preferred if the film grain filters hadn't been used so often and that the concert was shown in a straight beginning to end session, without the non-live footage in between songs, but ignoring that, the look and sound is great and when you add that to the incendiary performance you have a really great concert recording overall.

The extras feature a short but interesting history on the making of Through The Ashes Of Empires in addition to some music videos.

To summarize, the Elegies DVD is a must have release that no Machine Head fan should be without.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
First of all wow what a dvd. Better than the usual live dvd, Elegies stands out from all others, If you shut your eyes it would feel like you were there. The sound quality is something else not to mention the outstanding visual quality with pyrotechnics and cross cutting that allows you to see the band doing what they do best and the crowd at the same time. When you look into the crowd, you can see and feel the crowds energy and the brutally of the pits during anthems such as “Bulldozer” “Davidian” and “Block”. As the lights go down and “Imperium” smashes, in the sold out 5,000+ crowd at London’s Brixton Academy turns into nothing less that a war zone. Followed by the amazing “Seasons Wither” you know this is going to be something good. Between songs of Machine Heads flawless set there are chapters on the band including interviews with all four members and backstage footage showing you the story behind the band and life on the road. This backstage footage gives you an insight into the lives of all 4 member and almost makes you feel like you know them.
This masterpiece also includes the making of the hits “Imperium” “The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears” and “Days Turn Blue to Grey”. Furthermore it also includes the making of “Through the Ashes of Empires”. This starts off with interviews with members from many of other great metal bands such as Chimaira and Devildriver saying what Machine Head means to them and what influences the band has had on their lives. And if that wasn’t enough you see Machine Head’s struggle with record labels and the lose of a member. You also see the band when they were at their lowest point ever but then prevail with new guitarist Phil Demmel to come back and reclaim the metal thrown. Once again these interviews and backstage footage really gets you really inside the legacy of Machine Head.
Elegies is 5 out of 5! I seriously recommend that everyone buys this dvd or puts it on their Christmas list. Because if you don’t own Elegies you are missing out in a very big way!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
How is it that some bands never cease to push the boundaries of their genre? Machine Head have been doing just that from their debut album over ten years ago, right up until their latest release 'Through the Ashes of Empires'. The trend doesn't stop there. As soon as you place 'Elegies' in your DVD player you know that you're about to view another slice of archetyepal genius from the bay area thrashers.
Most music DVDs contain a live show, and a smattering of videos. That's if your lucky. Elegies on the other hand, gives you all that and more. Not only is there a full concert from the Brixton Academy, interpersed with featurettes about touring, and life in Machine Head. There are three videos, each paired with their own mini-documentaries, containing footage from the shoots aswell as interviews and background from members of the band themselves. There is also an hour long feature on the turbulent period between the completion of Machine Head's 'Supercharger' album, through to the US release of their most recent record, managing to document the harsh realities of a band being dropped by their label, and almost sliding to the point of break-down. As if that wasn't gritty enough, the live show documents one of Machine Head's most brutal and explosive shows to date, with each shot giving you the feeling that you're watching a truly original documentation of one of the most crushing live bands in metal.
It doesn't take much imagination to see this DVD being just as influential in defining those which dare to follow, in the same way as every Machine Head album has before it.
This truly is an essential addition to anyone's collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2005
In 2003 Machine Head returned to from with the amazing ‘Through the Ashes of the Empires’. A piece of studio masterpiece. Two years later Machine Head bring you ‘Elegies’ a live DVD. With the previous track record of Machine Head I was unsure about checking this album out. Every album they’ve produced aside from the aforementioned and Burn My Eyes has been a mediocre effort. However after checking out the set list which contains old and new stuff such as ‘Davidian’, ‘Imperium’ and the incredible ‘Descend the Shades of Night’ I decided to buy the DVD.
What I was expecting was nothing compared to what I got! The DVD blew me away. There is literally hours of footage of the band on here. First things first. The concert footage is some of the most exhilarating I have ever witnessed. The band blew me away and has made me desperate to see them live. It’s not just a live show though. Waiting for you on the DVD are a host of other fantastic features.
While other bands shove on a video or two, Machine Head push the limits on giving the fans what they want. Videos for ‘Imperium’, ‘Days Turn Blue to Grey’ and ‘The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears’ are all included on the package and come with extensive ‘making of’ features, revealing the secrets and the reasons behind the videos. Also included, which can be watched separate or integrated with the concert, is some fantastic footage of Machine Head ‘On the Road’ and a look at what makes the band what they are ‘The Fans’. The icing on the cake however comes in the ‘Making of Through the Ashes of the Empires’ feature. Around half an plus documentary telling all about the hardships the band faced while recording the album, how Machine Head almost failed to be and of course the lighter side of things. After watching the feature I found a lot of respect for Machine Head and realised just how determined this band must be to keep giving their music to the fans.
This DVD is a must see for any Machine Head fan and anyone who is not a fan I strongly urge you to check this out. It is hard hitting metal in a fantastic raw form. Machine Head’s live performance is off the hook and could sell the DVD alone but the extra features just take this DVD in to overdrive and make it the ultimate package for any fan or future fan. A visual best of and then some.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.