Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still shining
Almost a quarter of a century after its original release, Shine is still a very enjoyable album. The remastering is superb and allows Steve Lillywhite's production to shimmer. In a way, the album has grown into itself over the years. Given its vintage, the album can be judged on its own merits and not by any currently fashionable yardstick.

Frida's two...
Published on 20 Jun. 2008 by T. Kavanagh

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst of all her albums
This album is just horrible, it's over-produced and hasn't dated well at all. Steve Lillywhite at the helm as producer did nothing to showcase her usually wonderful voice. This album belongs to the category of Eighties overblown, synth-driven, effects-laden electro-pop. Her voice is too screechy and strained on many of the tracks. The only thing that saves it is the...
Published on 3 Mar. 2013 by Stephen Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still shining, 20 Jun. 2008
By 
T. Kavanagh "tony" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
Almost a quarter of a century after its original release, Shine is still a very enjoyable album. The remastering is superb and allows Steve Lillywhite's production to shimmer. In a way, the album has grown into itself over the years. Given its vintage, the album can be judged on its own merits and not by any currently fashionable yardstick.

Frida's two English-language solo forays have shown that she had a broader emotional and stylistic range than was often utilised in the brilliant ABBA repertoire. On Shine, she veers from torchy chanson (Comfort Me) to full-on drama (Twist In The Dark - a tour de force, vocally and production-wise) via sophisticated pop - One Little Lie, Chemistry Tonight and Shine. Her own songwriting contribution, Don't Do It, is a simple and affecting pop ballad that has actually managed to improve with age.

Of course, some sounds age better than others. The sparky title track, for instance, sounds like it could have been released this week. On the other hand, the slightly cloying Come To Me (I Am Woman) - probably the most chart-oriented track for that era - is greying a little at the temples. Under the 80s sheen, The Face is a gorgeous song with subtle 60s inflections both in the structure and in Frida's powerful delivery. It's the kind of song that Duffy might have recorded, had she been around at the time. The album's most beautiful lyric is Slowly, a song written by Frida's former colleagues, Benny & Bjorn. Lillywhite's arrangement very slightly misses the point, though. Recorded even a semi-tone lower, Frida could have engaged that gorgeously husky lower register that made Knowing Me, Knowing You so poignant.

This remaster is augmented by the 12" mix of Shine and its great B-side, That's Tough - a song written by Frida, her son (Hans Fredricksson) and the late, great Kirsty MacColl (who also co-wrote One Little Lie, The Face and Chemistry Tonight). It's a shame that extra tracks on the cutting-room floor - including the Chris Rea song Love Turns To Lies - could not have been included.

With 80s nostalgia such big business these days, Shine could even find itself some new fans. Me, I'm delighted to have discovered it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frida shines on this album!, 24 Feb. 2008
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
fridas second solo outing was a huge flop..more to do with the times than the quality..abba and all to do with was was a big no-no!

the album is produced by steve lillywhite of big country fame..and husband of kirsty mccoll who provides backing vocals!

i prefer this album to "somethings going on" i love the whole feel and essence of the album!

track by track

"shine" the first single failed to set the charts alight..but its a powerful track with great vocals that show of fridas voice...the backing track is amazing 9/10

"one little lie" is a powerhouse of a track, written by kirsty maccoll and simon climie (of climie fisher) its a bit of an epic tune...10/10

"the face" is a bitter song about leaving someone! another great track 9/10

"twist in the dark" was released as a single in a few countries..its a bit wierd when you first listen to it..but fridas vocals are amazing and it grows on you 9/10

"slowly" is an abba song that was intended for the album that never came about! its brilliant! great lyrics as you would expect! and its like an abba track without agnetha 10/10

"heart of the country" was written by the late stuart adamson of big country fame..the trademark sound is there...a great track and a missed gem when released as a single in the uk...but then it got no promotion! 10/10

"come to me (i am woman) is a stunning track! maybe the best solo track frida has done...its a classic! its a song about loving a female..mother/sister/lover! amazing lyrics and delivered with perfection and amazing depth 1000/10 no thats not a mistake!!

"chemistry tonight" is more pop than the rest of the album...i want to say its a filler but its not..its another great track 8/10

"dont do it" is fridas own work and its hauntingly brilliant..if she can write epics like this she dont need phil collins! it has the same feel as the last album but its got a great depth....stunning vocals 10/10

"comfort me" is stunning! go back to the visitors and " like an angel passing through me room" this is part two....a huge solitude..a perfect vocal...a fantasic mimimal backing! 10/10

"thats tough" was the b-side of shine. a self penned tracked by frida and her son. its a great track that streches frida vocally..of course she can make it! a hidden gem of a song! 10/10

"shine 12" mix" is a great track its all in the 80s style of an extended track as just extended vocals and reworking of the original..but it adds a new powerhorse to a great track 100/10

the album is a stunning set for fridas vocals.the songs and production are first class..it may be 25 years old but it still has a fresh appeal..a must for abba fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abba fully matured!, 4 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
More "grown up" than the Abba songs and far more poignant as a result.
An audiofile, I purchased in order to upgrade from an old LP and the clarity and dynamic range on this digitally re-mastered CD is breathtaking. It stayed in the CD player for a week! Forget the Spice Girls; the Abba ladies are the true seat of girl (or should I say women?) power! With Shine, Frida develops a sharper edge to her solo style than with Something's Going On and, with less jazzing up than on the Abba mixes, it is possible to appreciate the true depth of vocal talent that this remarkable lady really has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frida 'Shines' alone and far brighter than her wicked 1982 solo appearance., 4 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
This fantastic album throbs into life from the offset with the grinding rock-stadium-esque drive of 'Shine'. Frida's vocals instantly dominate from the start as she flits about joyfully, easily heard above the pouinding musical accompaniment. The soaring 'One Little Lie' is next, straight-talking, credible and forceful. Track 3 is a top gem-'The Face'-could have been where ABBA were as they broke up-haunting, cut-glass, saddening yet confident-what a chorus and brilliant backing vocals again by Kirsty MacColl. The creeping, trickling unothodoxedly set-up 'Twist In The Dark' won't be instant but by several running of this album (and all who hear it will do this) the song will seep right in there for the sinewy, moody piece it is-it would make a brill track on a horrorn film. The ABBA written 'Slowly' is a fantastic, excellent song but the Swedish group Gemimi's version is the definitive one and Frida's one lacks the throbbing air of power, tumultous acocalyptic rattling and thumping 'end of world' drums that their one had-in fact it needed to be a duet and could have been real something as sung with Agnetha-even moreso than 'Just Like That'-which I still haven't heard ABBA do-but also brilliantly captured by Gemini.

Stuart Adamson of Big Country wroe 'Heart Of The Coutry' for her and the mashing of Scandinavian singer and Scottish songwriting is a belter-beautifully sung and very sad. 'Come To Me (I Am Woman)' is another lovely tune celebrating the healing powers and inward strength of the female sex-and Simon Climie should stay as background vocalist like he did here-he can write but as a lead vocalist he sucks embarrasingly big.

'Chemistry Tonight' is another pounder, 'Don't Do It' as Frida-penned and a beautiful, tuneful heartbreaker and 'Comfort Me' is an eerie gothic creeper that conjures up the last track on ABBA's final album somewhat. The addition of b-side 'That's Tough' is also excellent. This album is Frida's zenith-and captures everything she is-it's strong, surprising, focused, beautiful, charged and relaxing. Go buy and love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frida shines, 28 Feb. 2010
By 
Stephen J. Pool "noodle22" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
a wonderful album showcasing frida's talent.... frida is taking a new direction here and often you can here how ahead of her time she was when you here similar sounds in music of duran duran in later 80s right through to madonna in 90s and kylie in 2000s. but of course with this album you get Frida's incredible voice. difficult to choose favourite songs but look out for 'heart of the country' written by stuart adamson frm the band 'big country' and also 'slowly' written by benny & bjorn - it's like the big sister song to the fantastic 'should i laugh or cry' (to be found in bonus tracks on 'the visitors') Shine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frida Shines, 29 July 2006
By 
M. Connolly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
I really liked this album when it was first released and am still very fond of it today.

Quirky choice of songs, free vocal style, great contributions from big Country and Kirsty McColl. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It grows on you, 10 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
This doesn't have the same instant appeal as "Something's Going On", but the voice is as good as ever, most of the songs are good and the production by Steve Lillywhite is first class.

Briefly, the first two tracks ("Shine" and "One Little Lie") are catchy numbers and the following two ("The Face" and "Twist In The Dark") are OK tracks. However, the final six are an extra notch up in class, with tracks 5 & 6 (the Benny/Bjorn penned "Slowly", originally recorded by their fellow Swedes Gemini) and Stuart Adamson's (of Big Country) song "Heart Of The Country" showing just what a great singer Frida is.

These two tracks are, in fact, a couple of notches even higher than the rest of the album. "Come To Me (I Am Woman)", "Chemistry Tonight", "Don't Do It" and "Comfort Me" complete the album set and are pretty good.

However, the aforementioned standout tracks will be the ones which you will probably keep playing, because Frida sings them so well and with something which sounds like gentle compassion, particularly "Heart Of The Country". This is a typical Big Country song - and it doesn't seem strange when you hear a Scandinavian singing a song with Scottish overtones and (it almost sounds like) bagpipes.

In summary, a pretty good album, not as good as her previous album, but still well worth looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another jem from Frida., 8 April 2003
By 
Mr. D. J. Woolrich (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
This album is just superb.
So different from the wonderful Abba. Frida's vocal talents and unique voice are exhibited throughout.
The tracks vary from up-beat to a slower, more reflective style.
I initially purchased this album on cassette years ago and to my delight found it on CD on Amazon. I wish Frida would make some more albums.
You won't be disappointed with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb. More PLEASE!, 28 Mar. 2003
By 
Mr. D. J. Woolrich (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
I bought this album years ago on cassette and when moving house it got lost and to my joy found it on Amazon in CD format.
This lady has a unique and profound voice.
The tracks vary from the up-beat Shine to I am Woman.
So different from the best group of ALL time Abba, but oh SO good!
Please Frida, record more albums! This is one of my favourite of all time. A wonderful album from one of the best female voices of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an ideal follow up LP, 29 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Shine (Audio CD)
First impressions? Well "Shine" the single for a start, I can't really fault, but as the album progresses, I felt that the songs seemed to drift into a world of their own. Exeptions to the rule being title track, "Shine", "Twist In The Dark", "Come To Me" and "Slowly". I wasn't too impressed with the choice of songs, not entirely Frida's fault, her voice remained as powerful as ever. The album is still enjoyable, and the video clips that accompany a few of the tracks are pretty dammed good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shine
Shine by Frida (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews