Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something really was going on......?????
Something really was going on......when a newly divorced Frida went into the studio with a certain Phil Collins!

The result was a rocky, enjoyable and gutsy attempt to sound as little like Abba as possible but still do her voice and style justice.

Tracks like Turn the Stone and the even better title track are 10/10 and should have has huge sales for...
Published on 22 Jun 2006 by David J. Eaves

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something's Going On
Anyone who loved the tunefulness and fabulous production values of ABBA's hits will NOT be impressed by this album, whose songs are mainly weak and produced by Phil Collins to sound rather tinny and devoid of aural texture. Even Frida's voice, the beautiful sultry instrument behind "Fernando", "Knowing Me Knowing You" and "I Have A Dream" sounds somewhat harsh and hollow...
Published on 1 April 2010 by Simon B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something SO GOOD is going on here, 1 Mar 2010
By 
Stephen J. Pool "noodle22" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Something's Going On (Audio CD)
i still listen to this album on my ipod all these years later.... the songs just keep getting better as i come to understand them lyrically and musically.... take the time to connect with this album and allow it to envelop you.... whenever you think you've played it enough, take a rest from it and wait for it to call you back - year after year....Something's Going On (Bonus Tracks)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somethings' Going On, 25 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something's Going On (Audio CD)
Love all the tracks. If you are an ABBA or Agnetha fan and have not listened to Frida's solo work, this is definitely worth buying to add to your collection. The album is a great mix of rock/pop, pop and pop ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1st ABBA songbird flies the nest and Something Truly Cool Was Going On!, 25 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something's Going On (Audio CD)
Frida's post-Abba debut is a delightful grower-not quite as radical or indeed focused as its' wickedly cool but undervalued and misguidedly received 1984 follow-up 'Shine', but a wonderful way to fill the void left by the supergroup splitting. Opener 'Tell Me It's Over' could easily be an Abba song, considering where they were musically at the end and THAT is a good thing-no yappy happy 'Dancing Queens' or pantomine 'Thank U 4 Music's here! It's a rousing rocker with a cool angry and snide delivery-and great lyrics. The contemplative 'I See Red' is delightfully oddball, 'I Got Somehting' is another crashing rocker, the folksy ballad distilled in sadness called 'Strangers' follows and the Giorgio Moroder written and produced rousing folk-like 'To Turn The Stone' is the best thing he ever did-so glad this unlikely and non-chorused creation was given a release. The huge thump of the title track is next and pounds with stadium promise. The loveliest song on this album though is 'Threnody'-meaning funeral song and sounds like something created in an enchanted forest, surrounding a lake of everlasting life with fairies and fauns flitting all about-aching sad and brilliantly evocative and one of the few times Roxette's Per Gessel didn't half-compose something that sounds ripped from middle-American rock radio! He so oftne does that-it's what Roxette are mostly about.

'Baby Don't You Cry No More' is the weakest tune here-the big band sound verges datedly towards embarrassment in the middle part and 'Here We'll Stay' was also actually the worst with the unloveable android voiced bald midget of self-love Phil/Swill Collins screeching the not terribly afrie lyrics into a seething mass of molasses. BUT thankfully this release gives us the FRIDA ONLY version as a bonus track so I never have to hear that loser again. She makes the song so much better and also it was released as a single like this-good, if it had to be but others should have made the cut first. The lyrics now I read them are nowhere near as sickly as I thought-no doubt changed with the loser gone. To close up, the Bryan Ferry written tune 'The Way You Do' is a charmer and lastly is the stripped down tiny ballad 'You Know What I Mean'-the most beautiful thing that loser Collins ever wrote-and best of all he's not anywhere on it. A wicked album a real 9/10 and the follow-up 'Shine' is even better as the songs are more focused, better directed and cohesive and she above all sounds at home and totally comfortable with the material-not always obvious on this album, plus on 'Shine' she gets to really be herself-as good as this album is and boy is this good. Frida, unlike Agnetha, who is more easy listening, is an album person and this and the follow-up are so good they are up to Abba's standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gritty, dignified solo outing for Abba's First Lady, 12 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Somethings Going on (Audio CD)
By the time Frida got around to recording her first English-language solo album in 1982, the public had decided that enough was enough, ABBA-wise. As it turns out, even the band themselves felt that ABBA was running on fumes at this point. Their singles were no longer reaching the UK Top 10 (including, bafflingly, the beautiful 'The Day Before You Came'). It was always going to be difficult to score a hit or earn credibility if your name was attached to ABBA, when the whole world was fawning over Adam & the Ants.... Added to this, 'Something's Going On' was not what the hard-core ABBA fans expected. Crashing drums, crunchy guitar figures, eloquent bitterness and an abandonment of the dance-floor failed to pull in the boys and girls for whom 'Fernando' and 'Super Trouper' were cutting edge. At the time, Frida was adamant about two things. Firstly, if Phil Collins wouldn't produce, there would be no album. Secondly, there would be no Andersson/Ulvaeus compositions recorded. There was no point, she argued, in doing a solo album if it was to end up sounding like ABBA. The first single, 'I Know There's Something Going On' underlined this. Sounding like a meeting between Pat Benatar and The Cars, it hinted at the style of album to come.
The album opens with a speaker-wrecking volley of snares at the start of 'Tell Me It's Over', a rocker which manages to be gritty, bitter and bouncy all at the same time. Next comes the reggae-ish 'I See Red' (a real highlight), which really ought to have been released as a single. A hat-trick of gems is completed in the album's next track, 'I Got Something'. This wasn't commercial enough for single release but just listen to that vocal! Great guitar figures and punchy brass underline Frida's performance to great effect. The wispy ballad, 'Strangers' is pretty but no big deal and Bryan Ferry's composition 'The Way You Do' cannot be counted among his finest moments. Still, the graceful delicacy of Frida's interpretation of Collins' song 'You Know What I Mean' more than compensates. 'To Turn The Stone', with its Pink Floyd-ish guitar work, is another strong track.
As a set, 'Something's Going On' is cohesive and satisfying. Only one track jars and that is the closer, 'Here We'll Stay', a breezy, lovey-dovey duet with Phil Collins. Tracks 1 through 10 are the REAL album, where Frida works through her post-divorce wounds and agonies. Overall, 'Something's Going On' has worn its age rather better than its successor, 'Shine', its sound being more organic. This is not an album for fans of ABBA's perkier, sweeter hits. It must be seen as a stand-alone item.
Oh, and by the way - comparing this with any of Agnetha Faltskog's solo output is a pointless, subjective exercise that does neither women any favours. They are both great singers in their individual ways. If you like your music with a bit of grit, try this album. If ABBA's ballads and dance tunes are as heavy as you get, then try Agnetha's more light-weight work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion both Frida and Agnetha still have brilliant voices even though they have choosen different styles. Absolute gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LIke it!, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Liliana Nigro "Mary Talltrees" (Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something's Going On (Audio CD)
You can say without reading the label that Phil Collins is involved in this project. Great performance by Frida, but that's not news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stepping out from Abba, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something's Going On (Audio CD)
I had 3 or 4 LP's of Abba during their popular time,but now many years later I have Abba Gold,and More Abba Gold on CD, which are added to my ipod.I just happened across this album while just looking for something new to add to my extensivly used ipod.I was not sure what to expect so I sampled some of the tracks of Mp3's and liked what I heard. Abba it is not !! and in my own opinion better than some of the popular Abba tracks.I felt that the main sound of Abba was Frida and Agnetha,with backing from Benny and Bjorn, but away from Abba it is very obvious that they are superb on their own with some very pleasing tracks and great arrangements,"To Turn The Stone" is for me a superb,no not superb " beautifull "track,I can feel the hairs on the back of my neck stand up each time I play it,but different tunes affect different people.I gave a vote of 4 stars because two of the tracks do not come close to "To Turn The Stone " but that is only my opinion,overall I feel it is a great album.I also purchased Agnetha's CD " Eyes of a Woman" which is even better than this one,well worth considering also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The voice, female version., 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Somethings Going on (Audio CD)
A voice is a voice. Frida's voice is something beyond. I still remember her singing 'The winner takes it all' the song that deserved to be used as title for one of the best LPs by ABBA ever.
Definitely this CD is not to be considered as Frida's best performance but it can give you a taste of her wonderful vocal capabilities.
Frankly speaking I bought this CD just for one song: 'Threnody' was the b-side of 'Something's goin' on' 45" RPM vinyl. It's always matter of life or death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well crafted pop album with songs from Bryan Ferry and Phil Collins whom also produced this little gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frida, a back vocalist to Agnetha? Nah..., 26 Jun 2004
By 
Eleni -. Maria Petratou (Athens , Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somethings Going on (Audio CD)
(In reference to A music fan from London's review)
Frida was never a back vocalist Agnetha, as Agnetha was never the main vocalist of ABBA..
She (Frida) has perfomed some of the most brilliant moments of ABBA, such as Cassandra, When All is Said and Done, Dancing Queen, Money Money Money, Angel Passing through my room, I Wonder, Fernando, Andante Andante Kisses of Fire, and that's not all...
This album rocks and it's definately one of the best produced in the 80's!
:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Something's Going On
Something's Going On by Frida (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews