Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute joy
I bought this aware of the negatives such as the lack of 'extras' and the annoying anti-piracy start to each disc. The anti-piracy warning is 44 seconds long and a small price to pay for the pleasure each 3 hour disc brings, the lack of titles need not be a problem (as noted on another review), simply download the information from any of the many many sites that describe...
Published on 27 Nov 2006 by E. Overington

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very intrusive copyright notice and poorly put together box set
Watching these on TV with my Dad was the highlight of my weekends as a boy. The content still stands up pretty well. Fry and Laurie are excellent in the title roles and overall the spirit of the books is well captured. However, watching these again 15 plus years on and I realise how rubbish the ever-changing supporting cast were. I know they are meant to be one...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by Dr. Matthew Fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute joy, 27 Nov 2006
By 
E. Overington "Travis McGee Fan" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this aware of the negatives such as the lack of 'extras' and the annoying anti-piracy start to each disc. The anti-piracy warning is 44 seconds long and a small price to pay for the pleasure each 3 hour disc brings, the lack of titles need not be a problem (as noted on another review), simply download the information from any of the many many sites that describe the Jeeves and Wooster episodes and finally, extras would have been nice but you can't have everything for such a great price.

This is fantastic, i just love Fry and Laurie in their roles as Jeeves and Wooster, they are both so endearing and eminently watchable. My children also enjoy watching the series too (they are aged 12 and 13 years), so this is not just for older generations. I highly recommend this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, 16 April 2007
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I was going to buy the separate series, but took the plunge and bought all 4 in this set. I'm glad I did. The only problem is that I thought they would last us for months, and they are that addictive that we have got through them in weeks rather than months - never mind, we can just start at the beginning again.

If there is a downside to this truly excellent series, it is the wretched anti piracy leader. You can't even skip past it. Let's face it, if I was into pirate copies I wouldn't have bought the proper version. My guess is that most people who get to see these leaders don't need to because they buy legitmately, those that do need to see them probably see copies with the leader removed - RANT over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never read the books but love this production, 22 Mar 2008
By 
Wilz "wilson9hb" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I tried to read one of these books about thirty years ago and found it rather irritating and silly. Being a fan of the main characters, I thought I would give this set a go. Am I glad that I did. Wooster is silly - theres no other word to use. But the potrayal by Laurie is magical. He genuinely seems to anjoy looking an absolute twit. Fry just seems to feed off the situations and I've never seen better from him. With two great lead characters and really good supporting actors, lavish sets and a production that pays more than enough attention to detail, this can't fail to entertain and amuse. It only goes to show that a series with no nudity, no violence, no swearing, no noisy police chases-in fact nothing at all that you find in the drivel fed to us on a daily basis by current programme controllers- is so refreshingly funny and enjoyable to watch that you begin to wonder what has happened to quality like this.
Get it! I'll bet that you watch it more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 30 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Fry and Laurie make a perfect pair as Jeeves and Wooster. This is a thoroughly enjoyable show, it may have many things to offend readers of the books, but taken for itself it is just good fun for those days when you want something cheerful and light to watch.

There are no extras, but the most serious flaw with the set is the lack of a list of episodes with descriptions, so it can be hard to remember which ones you have watched. There is also a very tedious anti-piracy ad at the start of every disc. But these are niggles, I would encourage anyone to invest in the jollity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Top Hole!, 14 July 2007
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
If ever two people were born to play certain parts then Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry were placed upon this Earth to play Bertram Wilberforce Wooster and his professional gentleman's gentleman, Jeeves (in that order). From the wonderful art deco stylings of Bertie's London digs, to the wonderfully talented supporting cast of some of Britain's finest character actors (I reserve a special mention to the late lamented John Woodnutt for his superb slant on Sir Watkyn Bassett!) then you have this wonderful blend of particularly English humour at it's best.

As one of the previous reviewers noted, this is almost comfort TV, an old friend you can turn to on any occasion. I would also complain about one thing another reviewer mentioned, the frequent chopping and changing from series to series of actors and actresses playing different regular characters.

My favourite episodes involve the wonderful John Turner as Roderick Spode, a wannabe-Fascist dictator and bully boy frequently stopped in his tracks by cries of "Eulalie!"

I say! Spiffing humour and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 7 July 2006
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
But why, might I gently enquire, did Clive Exton, who adapted the scrips from Wodehouse's magnificent original books, introduce so much slapstick? And cut and splice several unconnected stories together? Particularly when the originals as they stand appear to lend themselves perfectly to translation for the screen. The best of the lot are undoubtedly the two adapted from The Code of the Woosters in the second series, which stick fairly tightly to Wodehouse's original novel, and are magnificently realised.

Oh well. Best to accept them as they are. And they really are very good indeed. Direction is generally good, the scripts are slick, and the performances of Laurie and Fry irreproachable. They look spot on too. Some consider Fry too young -I beg to differ; it works perfectly for me, and he's thoroughly convincing.

The rest of the cast are a mixed bag -literally. Spode is played superbly well, with huge enjoyment, as is Sir Watkin Basset and Harold 'Stinker' Pinker. However, things are somewhat complicated in the rest of the cast by the fact that different people take the same role in different series, and occasionally, the same person plays a different character. To cite just a few examples:

The first Gussie Fink-Nottle, in series 1 and 2 for example, is truely brilliant. In series 3 & 4 Gussie is played by someone else (who originally performed the role of Rupert Steggles), who is, quite frankly, dreadful. Same goes for Madeline 'the' Basset. In the first series, she's played by the girl who would in series 4 play Lady Florence Craye (which she was much better suited to, despite being dark, not blonde). The second Madeline, in series two, captures the character perfectly. But the third Madeline, in series 3 & 4 is abysmal. Charlotte Attenborough plays Stiffy brilliantly in series 2 and 4, someone else plays her (badly, and with a completely different breed of dog) in series 3. A raft of other characters had different actors playing them too, to varying degrees of success. Consistancy was clearly a problem.

Never mind. The charm remains, the sets and costumes are perfect, and you can feel youself slipping into Wodehouse's wonderfully innocent world every time you watch one. The music is wonderful, and both the audio and picture quality are first-rate. Despite the problems, the genius of the original author is still easily discerned, and if you like charming comedy, performed for the most part by actors at the top of their game, look no further. I love it. You won't regret buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fry and Laurie and Wodehouse, 22 Jun 2007
By 
S. Aaron "Steve" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
It is like be reunited with an old and dearly missed friend.

Watched the original shows in the early 90's and bought the boxed set mainly to entertain my daughters over the long wet British summer. It is even better at the second time of watching.

The main Cast is backed up with some well known character actors, Robert Daws, Martin Clunes and John Woodnutt et al.

Catches the feel of the inter-war era beautifully. Some very accurate back grounds along with some fabulous 1930's cars. Bertie's Aston Martin and a very nice pre Aston Martin Lagonda spring to mind.

Wodehouse's comic genius for building a plot still works in the 1 hour episode format. Where the story cannot be told adequately in a single hour it tends to be split over 2 episodes .

The only annoyance is the constantly changing cast. Aunt Dahlia is played by 4 actresses, a different one in each series. This is a common practice for a number of the main supporting characters which tends to lose

Fry and Laurie are the nearest thing we have to Renaissance men in the modern age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What ho! Forty-seven ginger-headed sailors!, 2 Dec 2006
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie seem to have been born just to portray Jeeves and Wooster (seriously, I see their faces whenever I read a Jeeves story). I cannot believe how well Clive Exton adapted Wodehouse's books onto the little screen (except for series four), and Anne Dudley's theme sets the tone perfectly. The crew, too have done their jobs well in recreating Wodehouse's 1920s and 30s, with excellent sets, costumes, and music selections for Wooster to play.

Granada Ventures' release of the complete series blows A&E's release out of the water. This is the collection to have. With the interactive and stylish menu, a play-all button, and subtitles, life is good... I just wish they didn't force you to watch that anti-piracy thing at the beginning of EVERY disc (there are eight discs!). Of course, it would be even better if they provided a synopsis of the episodes, even a descriptive title like "Jeeves Saves the Cow Creamer" (the only thing A&E did right). I mean, "Series Two, Episode One" is hardly helpful.

Okay, as near as I can figure with this programme, actors change. Often. It seems the only actors to remain constant are Stephen Fry (Jeeves, duh), Hugh Laurie (Wooster, duh), and Robert Daws (Tuppy Glossop). Scheduling can't always be helped, but it's okay. It can get confusing sometimes, but once you figure out who's who, it no longer matters and the farce continues.

However, because television networks can be fickle, it appears that Clive Exton used up the good bits in the first two series. He takes some liberties in series three (it's okay), and lots of liberties in series four (...). Nevertheless, with a few "selective omissions", this rates five stars. More than five stars.

And yes, I think Wodehouse would have approved this adaptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What ho what ho what ho!, 17 Oct 2007
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone who has ever read Wodehouse will have their own impression, but for my money Fry and Laurie are impeccable. They absolutely nail the Jeeves and Wooster I have been carrying in my head all these years. This set is my emergency stash for when I am having a rotten day. You can put up with a hell of a lot in a day so long as you get to dip in here. I especially like the US-set episodes, when Bertram W Wooster is loose on broadway, and Jeeves picks up piano tips from the top names in Jazz. Uniform satisfaction is delivered. I think you will find this a most agreeable filmic endeavour sir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new definitive Jeeves and Wooster, 3 May 2007
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
It is testament to the performances of Fry and Laurie that they have now supplanted Ian Carmichael and Dennis Price as my visual models for the lead roles. Comic delivery, facial expressions and slapstick timing combine to perfection and the adaptation is fantastic, so that each episode in the life of the eternal bachelor and his guardian angel valet seems fresh even though the plots and themes are somewhat repetitive, and at times a bit predictable. Full marks too for the locations and sets - it's a lot less stagey than the 1970's version. The episodes in the first and second series are generally stronger but the standard is very high throughout. Richard Greene may still be my favourite Robin Hood but Fry and Laurie are the perfect pairing for Wodehouses comedy classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD]
Jeeves & Wooster: The Complete Series [DVD] by Ferdinand Fairfax (DVD - 2005)
£33.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews