Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Meet the Fockers [2004] [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Meet the Fockers [2004] [Blu-ray] [US Import] PERFECT PICTURE AND PUREST DIGITAL SOUND AVAILABLE!

Domestic disaster looms for male nurse Greg Focker [Ben Stiller] when his straight-laced ex-CIA father-in-law [Robert De Niro] asks to meet his wildly unconventional Mum and Dad [Barbra Streisand and Dustin Hoffman]. Its family bonding gone hysterical haywire, in...
Published 5 months ago by Andrew C. Miller

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outside of the circle and off the chain.
After the huge success of Meet the Parents in 2000, it was inevitable that a sequel would follow. In fact as a write this a sequel to this sequel is due for release later in the summer! With that, it's no surprise where the writers would go with this particular movie. What kind of parents would call their son Gaylord? And are they likely to be on the same wavelength as...
Published on 6 Mar 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outside of the circle and off the chain., 6 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
After the huge success of Meet the Parents in 2000, it was inevitable that a sequel would follow. In fact as a write this a sequel to this sequel is due for release later in the summer! With that, it's no surprise where the writers would go with this particular movie. What kind of parents would call their son Gaylord? And are they likely to be on the same wavelength as Robert DeNiro's priggish ex CIA operative Jack Byrnes? Course not. Cue poles apart comedy as Dustin Hoffman and Barbara Streisand play Gaylord Focker's {Ben Stiller} "new age" parents and drive the Byrnes' to distraction. Even the pets are cut from a different mental cloth, while the addition of Little Jack 'L.J.' Byrnes into the mix only adds more comedy fuel for the fire.

It's not rocket science writing, it is in fact a very basic comedy formula. That of thrusting different characters, from very different backgrounds, together under one roof for one very long weekend. Can intended newlyweds Gaylord & Pam (Teri Polo) survive their parents and suspicious skeletons in the closet? Well there's no prizes for guessing correctly how it's going to pan out. But thanks to the cast attacking the material with such gusto, and with skillful comic timing, it all folds together neatly for a fun packed and enjoyable 115 minute movie. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meet the Fockers [2004] [Blu-ray] [US Import], 11 July 2014
Meet the Fockers [2004] [Blu-ray] [US Import] PERFECT PICTURE AND PUREST DIGITAL SOUND AVAILABLE!

Domestic disaster looms for male nurse Greg Focker [Ben Stiller] when his straight-laced ex-CIA father-in-law [Robert De Niro] asks to meet his wildly unconventional Mum and Dad [Barbra Streisand and Dustin Hoffman]. Its family bonding gone hysterical haywire, in this must-see comedy the critic are calling “A laugh riot!” (Larry King)

Cast: Robert De Niro, Ben Stiller, Dustin Hoffman, Barbra Streisand, Teri Polo, Blythe Danner, Owen Wilson, Spencer and Bradley Pickren [Little Jack], Alanna Ubach, Ray Santiago, Tim Blake Nelson, Shelley Berman, Kali Rocha, Dorie Barton, Jack Plotnick, Wayne Thomas Yorke, Max Hoffman, Angie Jaree, R. Martin Klein, Allan Kolman, Connie Richmond and Jinx [the cat]

Director: Jay Roach

Producers: Jay Roach, Jane Rosenthal, Jon Poll, Nancy Tenenbaum and Robert De Niro

Screenwriters: Jim Herzfeld and John Hamburg

Composer: Randy Newman

Cinematography: John Schwartzman

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, French: 5.1 DTS and Spanish: 5.1 DTS

Subtitles: English SDH, French and Spanish

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Universal Studios

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – 'Meet the Fockers' is a mild comedy with Ben Stiller and Robert De Niro, and was a surprise box office sensation when it was released in 2000, leading subsequently to preparations for a sequel, which was thought would never materialised. The sequel wasn't released until 4 years later, with the ingenious premise that, instead of focusing on Teri Polo's parents from the first film (played by Robert De Niro and Blythe Danner], we'd visit Ben Stiller's parents – hence the title: 'Meet the Fockers.' Admittedly casting of Barbara Streisand and Dustin Hoffman as Stiller's hippie dippy parents was a stroke of genius. But the association of "genius" and 'Meet the Fockers' begins and ends there. I never saw it at the cinema, but I am glad I waited for this Blu-ray release.

The basic premise of the sequel is that Ben Stiller is traveling with his soon-to-be-wife Teri Polo and her parents [Robert De Niro and Blythe Danner] on their RV road trip to visit his parents. If you'll remember from the first film, Robert De Niro is a hard-nosed former CIA Agent, so there's a lot of stuff that involves him being uptight, hilarious, I know. The cat from the original film, Jinx, is also on-board the RV (for some reason). Harkening back to the earlier film, the cat can flush the toilet. So if you're wondering if Dustin Hoffman's pint-sized Chihuahua will have a run-in with the cat, wherein the cat flushes the dog down the toilet, well, and my friends you are in for a real treat.

I was struck this time around by how weird it is that Ben Stiller was supposedly brought up by these incredibly sexually liberated parents, yet he himself is a total uptight dweeb [who I personally am not a great fan of this actor]. Also what's really crazy is that a lot of this second film concerns itself with a young child, in this case Ben Stiller and Teri Polo's nephew, who again is part of this road trip for reasons I can't entirely understand. So you have Robert De Niro and his wife reacting to the outrageous exploits of Barbra Streisand and Dustin Hoffman; you have everyone reacting to a baby (and the baby reacting to everyone else); and you have a cat flushing a dog down a toilet, hilarious. One of the weirder subplots in the movie is Robert De Niro becoming suspicious of Ben Stiller has illegitimately fathered a child a number of years ago. First off – who cares? Secondly, it's just lazy plotting and it's the kind of broad silliness that the film often falls down on, but it doesn't make it any less annoying or trite.

But surprisingly this film ended up making more than $500 million worldwide, with yet another sequel released at the end of 2010. If you made the silly mistake of seeing the first film, then ‘Meet the Fockers’ is a total vast improvement, as ‘Meet the Parents’ was total rubbish and was so very unfunny, on top of all that how the hell was it a big hit, especially with the terrible Ben Stiller in it and they call him an actor, what a joke.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘Meet the Fockers’ has a Blu-ray transfer of a 1080p image in an aspect ratio 1.85:1. The best thing about this image is the astoundingly vivid and gorgeously saturated colours. Dustin Hoffman's bright red shirt is a wonder to behold, and it never radiates into blooming territory. The Florida landscape locales that look very lush, with wonderful turquoises, and the kaleidoscope of party umbrellas during the closing wedding scene are also quite beautiful. But, oh, what edge enhancement and other artefacts, especially when Jack holds up the little graphic signs for Little Jack's edification, ugly white halos surround the black lines. There's rampant edge enhancement throughout the film, and over and over we get a lot of shimmer on things like Robert De Niro's salt and pepper hair, as well as moiré and aliasing on things like Jack's blue pin striped sport coat. If you can get past that (and it's frankly not always easy to do so), this Blu-ray sports a nicely sharp image with good fine detail, decent grain structure, excellent depth of field, and very good contrast. But it's the colours that will probably linger in memory as being the best thing about this transfer.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – As in the mindless vacuous ‘Meet the Parents,’ we are given a perfectly serviceable 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio mix that simply doesn't have a lot of opportunity to strut its stuff. There's certainly decent enough surround activity, within the confines of a dialogue driven comedy, but it's limited to things like the roar of an RV panning through the sound field, or party noises at a nightclub. Otherwise, we have excellent fidelity during the talking scenes, with everything crystal clear and easy to hear, anchored solidly in the front channels. It's hard to get very worked up about a sound mix like this, but there's certainly nothing wrong in any way with this DTS track. It does its job absolutely professionally, with no problems to report.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Feature Commentary with Director Jay Roach and Editor/Co-Producer Jon Poll: Like 'Meet the Parents,' this features commentary with director Jay Roach (who previously helmed 'Parents' and the three 'Austin Powers' features) and his editor and co-producer Jon Poll. Unlike the 'Meet the Parents' disc, this doesn't have a livelier and extremely weird commentary with the cast; this track is mostly technically oriented and will please only hardened fans of the franchise (are there hardened fans of the franchise?)

Bloopers [11:03] Sometimes bloopers can cause caustic intolerance of endless bloopers, but I will admit that in this never-ending string of bloopers, screw-ups, and flubbed lines, there are some amusing moments mostly with Mr. De Niro, which if had been not included, would not be no loss.

Deleted Scenes [15:45] I know it's shocking that a film that feels like a loose selection of deleted scenes from the first film should have its own cache of deleted scenes but, hey, it does. There is some mildly diverting stuff in here but it's mostly pretty lame. You can very easily skip this.

Inside The Litter Box: Behind-the-Scenes with Jinx The Cat [4:02] Apparently a feature on the 'Meet the Parents' disc about the damn cat wasn't enough. There is still at least four minutes of new material to explore with the cat that flushes the dog down the toilet. Skip.

The Manary Gland [3:05] Oh yeah! I cannot believe they included this silly item. SKIP this if you feel you might be offended.

Fockers' Family Portrait [5:59] Split into separate brief chapters on Greg, Roz and Bernie, offering the actors talking about their characters. Ben Stiller, Barbra Streisand, and Dustin Hoffman talk about bringing the Focker family to fully formed life. This is flimsy stuff and can easily be avoided.

The Adventures of a Baby Wrangler [5:32] This is a brief documentary about the two young children that play the baby in the movie named Little Jack. I know, it sounds terribly exciting. Thankfully, it's over in less than 6 minutes.

Matt Lauer Meets The Fockers [7:57] A fun interview segment with the cast. It's called synergy, people! NBC is owned by the same parent company that owns Universal Pictures, so they thought it would be a great idea to have Matt Lauer talk with the cast (most likely for the Today Show segment). I really love Matt Lauer, I think he has a droll wit and he makes this fluff piece more palpable, if far from essential.

Finally, 'Meet the Fockers' like many of the actors in the cast, who are slightly old and tired. It's a warmed over re-tread of the "hey, let's make people squirm" formula that inexplicably made the first movie a box office smash. To most critics, they felt at times things were not that funny, but I must be a very rare find, as I thought it was quite funny in places, so even if you might feel you are not a fan of the film, I would still recommend this Blu-ray disc, especially if you are a fan of either Barbra Streisand or Dustin Hoffman. The video transfer not that pristine, especially for a Blu-ray disc, the audio mix is workmanlike at best, and the special features have already been exhibited on the previous DVD release. Still despite this, I really liked this film and I am glad it is in my Barbra Streisand Blu-ray Collection, but as to whether you are keen to purchase ‘Meet the Fockers’ then maybe you should hire it out first, but personally I am glad I own this Blu-ray Discs.

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars average sequel, 12 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
Ben Stiller (Zoolander) stars as Greg Gaylord Focker, an uncomfortable man who takes his fiancé's family to meet his parents, who prove to be quite different people than Jack Byrnes (De Niro) would ever imagine.
The sequel to the popular 2000 hit comedy Meet the Parents is intriguing, if slightly bizarre and predictable, with a strong cast leading the way.
Very similar to Meet the Parents, this sequel uses physical humour, embarrassing situations and a variety of characters to justify the comedy genre and does so well enough with a few good moments involving Ben Stiller. However it does feel very comparable to the last film and like so many other comedies, it is a tried and tested format but works well enough.
Like the first film, its all about meeting people who are very different and the contrasts work well, with Hoffman's (Rain Man) and Streisand's very unique way of living compared to Byrne's professional and organised way of life, its interesting to observe different lifestyles.
The plot is fairly consistent with up and down moments but coming towards the end it really goes off track and exaggerates a bit.
The acting is good enough, though with the list of A-listers here you would no doubt expect better.
The direction isn't the best though the settings are good, and the use bus is interesting to see and a unique device.
Overall its an average comedy with a few good jokes. The acting and direction isn't the best but it's the writing that lets the film down the most with not enough intensity and interest to really get the characters going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Almost good!, 2 Sep 2008
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, I haven't seen "Meet the Parents" so I had no preconceived ideas about what to expect ... other than the fact that I tend to like Robert de Niro films.

The obvious stars in this film were Streisand, Hoffman and de Niro. Stiller just seemed like someone who'd gatecrashed a party and did very little of note throughout the film. Anyone could have played the part.

The plot was as you'd expect from a mainstream family comedy ... just a one-gag situation (ex CIA meets hippies) with a few additional scenes thrown in to get the laughs. It really did seem as though someone had a few jokes and simply wove them into the script as several were underplayed (the bathroom privacy scene, as noted in another review) or the "long lost son" which was dragged out for far too long.

I would also have to agree with the reviewer who suggested that the film just tailed off into nothingness. "Quick ... we're running out of time ... let's wrap it up in a hurry!"

However, apart from those grumbles, the film WAS fairly entertaining with a few good laughs (mainly provided by Hoffman and de Niro) so if you've got a free evening and just want some light entertainment, you could do a lot worse than this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More fun with Greg Focker and co..., 4 Dec 2014
By 
Katie85 (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
This is the sequel to 'Meet the Parents' and is full of funny moments and mishaps just like the first.

In 'Meet The Fockers', it is getting close to Greg and Pam's wedding, but the two sets of parents have yet to meet. The Fockers clash with the Byrnes as they are so different and they have to try and learn to cope with each other. Much of the humour comes from Greg being embarrassed by his family and also the introduction of the Byrnes' baby grandson has some interesting moments.

If I am honest, i prefer 'Meet The Parents' but this still has plenty of laugh-out-loud moments and is a film I am happy to watch now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars under rated and very funny, 11 Jan 2008
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
This type of comedy might not be everybodies cup of tea, but most will find this really amusing.

Disaster prone Ben Stiller is still trying to impress future father in law Robert De Niro. So a meeting between the two sets of parents seems to be an obvious next step.

Unfortunately, one of his parents is a sixties hippie who won't grow up and the other is a sex therapist, marvelously played by Dustin Hoffman and Babara Streisand.

Robert De Niro is prudish, ex c.i.a. agent, who beleives in control, organisation and winning at all costs. He does not like the idea of his daughter marrying into a family of weirdos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy gold, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit that I never really liked meet the parents. I was therefore a little sceptical when ordering the sequel.
But I was wrong, this film is great and far funnier that the first in the series. It's also a delight to see DeNiro back on screen with Dustin Hoffman (they were great together in wag the dog). It's also great to see Barbara Streisand back in the acting saddle, and she is hilarious too.

With so many great actors in one film, they must have had a great deal of fun making the movie - and it would have been nice to have seen more of that in the DVD extras.

With that in mind, I'm going to order little fockers on the strength of this great little sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
Funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. B. jones "" Dusty "" (wrexham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
loe it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meet the Fockers, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet The Fockers [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed it had us laughing all the way through have now got all three versions when will the next one come out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meet The Fockers [DVD]
Meet The Fockers [DVD] by Jay Roach (DVD - 2006)
£2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews