Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Is this part of collection?" "No, it's a single piece."
Neil Labute's output has become less distinctive in recent years, made up of remakes of brit flicks Death at a Funeral and The Wicker Man and adaptations of other people's material in Possession and Lakeview Terrace. Adapting his own plays for the screen, however, as with In The Company of Men, Your Friends and Neighbours and The Shape of Things, he is one of the most...
Published on 26 Jun. 2011 by J. Jenkins

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Haven't we been here before?
I, unlike many, was not bowled over by LaBute's previous film 'In the Company of Men'- it didn't stand up as a whole film, it took its title from a David Mamet essay & had that misanthropic feel common to Todd Solondz's mostly mediocre oeuvre (exception 'Welcome to the Dollhouse'). 'Your Friends & Neighbours' continues in the same misanthropic, tired misogynistic manner-...
Published on 11 Mar. 2003 by Jason Parkes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Is this part of collection?" "No, it's a single piece.", 26 Jun. 2011
By 
J. Jenkins (Dudley Port, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Friends And Neighbors [DVD] (DVD)
Neil Labute's output has become less distinctive in recent years, made up of remakes of brit flicks Death at a Funeral and The Wicker Man and adaptations of other people's material in Possession and Lakeview Terrace. Adapting his own plays for the screen, however, as with In The Company of Men, Your Friends and Neighbours and The Shape of Things, he is one of the most singular and arresting voices of the American independent scene.

Your Friends and Neighbours bares all the hallmark Labute characteristics that mark him out as the successor to his hero David Mamet: dialogue so sharp it will have your eye out, profanity to spare and excoriating sexual and emotional bluntness and cruelty. I could not disagree more with the comment that the film is 'unrealistic', the situations and script have an unparalleled level of what I would describe as heightened naturalism. The direction, (the film is shot in static and fixed manner, with long, clean pans from left to right to follow the action) will feel too stagey perhaps to some, but it's another factor in giving Labute's films a completely unique feel.

The plot focuses on the overlapping romantic and sexual entanglements of six friends and acquaintances; a married couple played by Aaron Eckhart and Amy Brenneman; a live in couple played by Catherine Keener and Ben Stiller; Nastassja Kinski as an artist's assistant and alternative romantic interest to Keener's character; and in the film's stand out performance Jason Patric as a ferociously misogynist, borderline sociopath. Compelled to seek out alternative partners and outlets by the clashes in their sexualities, the film is brutal study in the damage they visit on upon themselves and others as they attempt to cope.

The performances by the ensemble cast are uniformly good, but special mention must go to Patric, putting his Speed 2 paycheck to good use here as a producer also, who could set celluloid alight as Cary. The scene where he confesses his favourite sexual encounter, undermining and confusing all that he has projected up to that point, is a tour de force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rewarding satire, 11 Mar. 2003
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Your Friends and Neighbours is a real joy to watch, a constantly revolving series of dialogues and interactions, it is almost 100% character and dialogue driven.
Each performance is excellent which is not such a suprise seeing the cast, Jason Patric excels, and perhaps because his character is the most selfish and egotistical he comes accross as the most honest, his best moment is something of an eye popper.
The hollow nature of modern realtionships is savagely exposed in this well observed, darkly funny and superbly acted film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nasty, funny, depiction of fin de siecle US life., 3 Jan. 2001
Typical Labute. The precarious friendships of three middle-class 30 something American men are sliced open to reveal the wafer thin basis of their relationships with their wives and lovers, their farcical attachments to one another, and their own hollow, disatisfied lives.
Great performances abound from the excellent ensemble of entirely credible actors involved. Jason Patric especially is great fun in portraying the sort of misogynist, narcissistic psycopath that Christian Bale could only guess at in American Psycho. Ben Stiller and Nastasia Kinski are also very good, with the Kinski showing again what an excellent, self-deprecating actor she can be when given the right opportunity.
The film itself is pefectly paced, and whilst some viewers may feel let down by the lack of an all encompasing neatly packaged denouement, that's not what Labute is about. His America, whilst avoiding the florid imagery of David Lynch, employs the same acidic examaning style, which recognises that magnifying glasses can not only reveal, but burn.
I thouroghly recommend this film if you like to see good actors, an excellent, wicked script and sure-footed direction of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soundly brilliant film, 1 Aug. 2005
By 
A. Wilson "adamski177" (newcastle, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Friends And Neighbors [DVD] (DVD)
This is an honest and brutally truthfull dipiction of the lives,loves and miss-adventures of a plethora of 'ordinary' people as they go about their seemingly benal lives.funny and brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Haven't we been here before?, 11 Mar. 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I, unlike many, was not bowled over by LaBute's previous film 'In the Company of Men'- it didn't stand up as a whole film, it took its title from a David Mamet essay & had that misanthropic feel common to Todd Solondz's mostly mediocre oeuvre (exception 'Welcome to the Dollhouse'). 'Your Friends & Neighbours' continues in the same misanthropic, tired misogynistic manner- though the territory it covers is one that has been done to death in American cinema & literature: try 'Sexual Perversity in Chicago', most Philip Roth books, 'Manhattan', 'Crimes & Misdeameanours', 'Husbands&Wives' ,'The Corrections', 'Ravelstein' & aspects of the Campus novel (White Noise, Name of the World, Wonder Boys)- how many more times will we get a professor/lecturer having extra-curricular affairs? Weren't 'Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice', 'Carnal Knowledge' & 'Shampoo' doing this kind of thing, with much more panache, decades ago?
The film feels stilted & theatrical, the dialogue is not that hot- though the acting is a positive factor: the cast are excellent (though Patric's character is a screaming stereotype- one that has been done to death in much Mamet, stuff like Martin Amis & the extreme that was Patrick Bateman in 'American Psycho'). I'm not really sure that this is really a 'fin de siecle' work (more associated with the end of the 19th Century)- I think it has more to do with the empty Western lifestyles that we have been leading for much of the 90s & the 21st Century so far. The repetition of the scene in the art gallery is a silly premise (I take it their looking at the pic we see in the opening credits)- Nastassja Kinski's character a cipher like Patric's- I warmed more to Amy Brennemann- though the denoument (if it could be called that) is a poor, cruel joke. The film is nasty- but not nasty enough reminding me of the 'Fiction'-section in the lame 'Storytelling' rather than films like 'Last Tango in Paris','Breaking the Waves' ,'Love & Human Remains' or 'Close My Eyes'. Misogynistic date-rape fantasies & AIDS jokes seem equally out of date- these were the kind of things satirised in 1988's razor sharp 'Heathers'.
So, a group of people obey strict rules of coupledom, while having affairs on the side & that's about it. It's not cutting, funny, satirical, ironic, knowing, amusing, combatative & it certainly doesn't have enough material for its 99 minutes running time. This is lightweight sub-Mamet fayre- for the real thing try Bunuel's 'Exterminating Angel' (1962)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unrealistic and pathetic!, 23 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Friends And Neighbors [DVD] (DVD)
This is actually one of the worst film I ever seen! the whole plot is just totally unrealistic (the two couples, the men friendship)! However, if you listen to the comments of the director and producer it is becoming a comedy act. Both of the are totally unaware what kind of rubbish they have made, and thinking they are genius!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Friends And Neighbors [DVD]
Your Friends And Neighbors [DVD] by Neil LaBute (DVD - 2005)
£4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews