Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hoodwinked
I am pleased with this product. It is necessarily quite large in diameter but the wings do not need to be too large. This product has the balance right and as soon as I took it out of the box I was impressed at the apparent robustness of the hood. It is certainly well made, but its size might prohibit leaving it on the lens. This will depend on camera bag space and...
Published on 4 Sept. 2009 by Mr. T. Frost

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit too pricey!
Just bought the JJC version of this, and it makes so much more sense (at less than a tenner!). Injection moulded products like this cost less than a £1 to produce (depending on where it's manufactured), so a £30 mark up on the Canon one is pushing things a tad.
Have checked the JJC for moulding/manufacturing faults & the finish is pristine & defect free (very high...
Published on 12 April 2012 by Gaz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hoodwinked, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. T. Frost - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EW-83E Lens Hood For EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L U, EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (Accessory)
I am pleased with this product. It is necessarily quite large in diameter but the wings do not need to be too large. This product has the balance right and as soon as I took it out of the box I was impressed at the apparent robustness of the hood. It is certainly well made, but its size might prohibit leaving it on the lens. This will depend on camera bag space and storage sytem.
Other than that it will always be my contention that Canon should provide this hood with the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit too pricey!, 12 April 2012
This review is from: Canon EW-83E Lens Hood For EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L U, EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (Accessory)
Just bought the JJC version of this, and it makes so much more sense (at less than a tenner!). Injection moulded products like this cost less than a £1 to produce (depending on where it's manufactured), so a £30 mark up on the Canon one is pushing things a tad.
Have checked the JJC for moulding/manufacturing faults & the finish is pristine & defect free (very high quality!)

Hey if your pro/semi-pro or value for money isn't an issue, then you'll obviously feel you have to choose the Canon option. But the 20 quid I saved on this has gone towards a Hoya Pro ND-8 filter for my 10-22mm, so it's worth bearing in mind if you've already splashed out a substantial amount on a 10-22mm lens or similar (which should have had a lens hood bundled with it in the first place).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it worth the. Money?, 19 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Canon EW-83E Lens Hood For EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L U, EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (Accessory)
Well it is a neccessity to have this hood on any of the wide angles lenses that you buy from Canon. Totally agree that Canon are seriously annoying their customers by not providing it with a very expensive lense set (in my case the 10-22mm EF-S).

Apart from the justified rant, this hood is robust but large, well designed and gives the lense a great feel of adequacy. It breaks down the flare and glare completely and you really shouldn't use the lense outside or in most cases inside without this hood.

On a marketing note would we really not choose the lense at around £650.00 if Canon decided to add the hood for an extra £30.00! I think not so shame on you Canon for making the shopping experience that little more difficult for your customers.

Just remember that if you have a number of lenses in your bag and like me you have a hood for each of them, this hood doesn't or probably won't sit inside the other hoods as it is quite large in diameter. However due to the fact that it is quite short in length it should fit nicely on it's side somewhere at the top or bottom of your bag/case where space is restricted or in un-used in most cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, though a bit pricey., 10 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-83E Lens Hood For EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L U, EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (Accessory)
Ordered yesterday afternoon. Arrived this morning. Shame to have to buy this essential item and agree with so many other comments; it ought to have been included in the box when I first bought the lens. In fairness, I knew it wasn't and I still made the choice so can't really complain.
The inside of the hood is a very fine fuzzy, light-soaking / non reflective material. As well as the obvious optical reasons, I wanted to add a little protection to the front glass without actually adding more glass bearing in mind I'll often be using a polariser so a further additional screw ring might well become visible in the frame. This does the trick offering limited protection at the front. It also keeps the lens up off the ground if you put your camera down on a wall / floor / grass etc. It's certainly not visible in the frame.
I doubt that paying the extra 20-25 odd quid for a branded Canon hood was that critical, there are much cheaper alternatives I could have used, though I guess I could also have cut up a washing up liquid bottle and attached it with tape which would have cost virtually nothing at all!
It's well made and fits perfectly. If you can afford the extra 20 quid you won't regret buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Canon or Kaiser ?, 11 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-83E Lens Hood For EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L U, EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (Accessory)
I ordered a Canon 83E for my new lens and paid for a Canon product. What arrived (in the correct Canon box) was a Kaiser c83 lens Hood which is available on Amazon website for about £5 less. The Kaiser appears good quality, and no doubt will fit the lens, but why should I pay for one thing and get something else ? I have e mailed Amazon and await their response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but necessary, 17 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Canon EW-83E Lens Hood For EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L U, EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (Accessory)
Good quality product bought to complement the Canon EF-S 10-22mm lens. Hoods are a must have item especially with wide-angle lenses but like others, I'm a bit peeved that Canon don't supply these with their non 'L' series lenses. This is especially galling considering the EF-S 10-22mm costs MORE than the EF 17-40mm L which is supplied with this very hood !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not cheap, but effective, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
M. Keil (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-83E Lens Hood For EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L U, EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (Accessory)
At nearly £30, this is not a cheap lens hood and I agree with other customer grievances that when paying nearly £500 for a lens, a lens hood really should be supplied with it.

However, this is a very good lens hood which is an essential piece of kit for an ultra-wide angle lens like the Canon 10-22mm for which I bought this for. The plastic is strong and durable and screws tightly over the lens without any movement afterwards.

The inside of the hood is lined so no reflections can occur. On the outside of the hood is a red dot which you line up with the red dot on the lens to mount the hood quickly. This is a genuinely useful feature.

Overall, this is a decent lens hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lens Hood for my 17-40/f4L, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-83E Lens Hood For EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L U, EF 17-40mm f/4.0 L USM (Accessory)
I purchased this because I recently bought a second hand Canon 17-40/f4L lens and it didn't come with it. I chose the original one because on other occasions I bought knockoffs that had a very limited life span (flimsy plastics and awful finish). The price is steep compared to aftermarket options but the built quality of the original is superior. Having said that I really feel that Canon is testing the limits of it's customers and that will eventually backfire...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, but doesn't fit if using a UV filter, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This came badly wrapped in just torn polythene, which makes me think it is, at best, a grey market product. It isn't branded Canon product but at this price, you probably knew that already.

It is nonetheless a useful piece of kit, though the manufacture lacks finesse and the overall finish isn't as polished as it could be around the external outer rim. No matter, you're buying it because you know it's going to be bashed instead of your £500 lens.

Now for the bad news. It doesn't fit if you take the belt-and-braces approach with your lens. You can use this hood, or you can use a lens filter, but you can't use both at the same time. The shallow thread around the inner rim doesn't allow it.

I use a Hoya UV filter on top of my lens, partly for the shooting benefits and mostly for the protective benefits, so you may not be affected if you have another brand of filter.

But I don't know anyone with expensive speciality lenses who doesn't use filters as a matter of course. So, cheap as it is, it was money wasted for me, and the search for the right lens hood continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lens hood., 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Canon Lens Hood for canon EF-S 10-22mm

Good product especially for the price, and yes i would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews